Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

North Shore Aggregate

Founded 1975 • With Angi since October 2003

4.9

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7705 Andrea Ln

Crystal Lake, IL 60012

Description

North Shore Aggregate is family owned and operated. We have been in business for over 30 years. We specialize in exposed aggregate, antiqued concrete, as well as traditional finishes. Contact us for a free estimate....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/23/2020


Tom V.

Awesome, very professional and timely. They did a great job and tons of compliments from neighbors on how good it looks. Thanks

Description of Work
New aggregate driveway and walkway

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

1.0

11/03/2017


Daniel F N.

Didn't bother to call me back.

Description of Work
Left a voicemail message seeking an appointment to provide an estimate to remove and replace my concrete garage floor of my home.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

5.0

05/18/2016


Jack B.

Description of Work
We have a large aggregate patio that was installed 24 years ago. About 400 sq ft of the current patio had cracked and collapsed due to settling around the foundation, a very common problem in our subdivision. We tried mud jacking but it collapsed again after a year or so. We wanted to fix the bad sections without replacing the entire patio, but we were concerned about matching the finish and color. John came out promptly, gave me a very fair price and told me he could get the finish very close. He's a man of his word! We are thrilled with the job. John's North Shore Aggregate team is fast, courteous and professional. Highly recommended!!

Category concrete repair, decks

5.0

03/19/2016


John W.

Team showed up on dates promised and completed work. North Shore Aggregate answered all my questions before they started work as well as during. They never shied away from a question. My driveway looks great.

Description of Work
Removed old driveway & walkway, Poured new cement driveway and walkway.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

5.0

01/08/2016


Linda H.

Happy with results

Description of Work
Very professional

Category concrete repair

5.0

11/22/2015


Deborah G.

They were very efficient, attentive. We aren't quite finished but will need to wait until Spring. This style of concrete is perfect for people who want to avoid the 'white look' of modern concrete. It is really pretty and several people stopped by to find out 'who did it'. The pricing was less than many quotes for plain white concrete we had received. Re stoops-...if you are changing the layout...watch out! We did not anticipate when we redid our stoop in a different direction' that the old steps would leave a significant trace on the side of the building, so we would have designed differently if we had known. Perhaps this should have been obvious and/or is not always the case, so I don't blame the contractors for this. If you are redoing a stoop and having stairs run a different direction, be forewarned....prepare to either extend your stoop out over where the steps had been or design an alternative cover (we are going to put in a large planter)

Description of Work
redid front stoop and sidewalk; dug out side yard to prepare for us to put in patio (we will do ourselves)

Category concrete repair, excavators

5.0

11/13/2015


Jeremiah B.

Since they had received good reviews on the list, I called North Shore Aggregate for an estimate. Shortly afterwards, John contacted me and arranged a date and time . He arrived on time, viewed the project , took measurements and explained what should be done. The next day I had a full proposal in my email box. I accepted it and returned it with a deposit. Received an email a few days later, stating they had received the signed proposal and check. And gave me a tentative date. Due to the weather,John advised me, my work was backed up by a week. He called several days in advance to schedule the work days. In Cary, the building department requires an inspection before and after they pour the concrete. I was pleased this morning when the building inspector passed the apron and patio and told me he did good work.

Description of Work
Removed an old garage apron and patio. Framed and poured a new concrete apron and patio.

Category concrete repair, patios

5.0

08/08/2015


George H.

We used North Shore to replace and resurface our driveway, front walk, porch and rear walk and patio 20 years ago and decided to use them again when it was time to redo some of the same areas. North Shore concrete had held up well, but we had some serious settling issues (which is very common in our neighborhood). North Shore suggested only replacing some sections of the concrete, which would reduce the total cost, and assured us that they could match the existing 20-year-old aggregate surface. Our suppliers needed to replace all the concrete. While the work was being done, North Shore was very professional, answered all our questions and kept us informed of what was happening. They also addresses some issues that came up and made sure we were happy with the finished product. We are very happy with the end result and would use North Shore again.

Description of Work
Aggregate concrete on driveway, front walk, front steps and porch, and rear walk and patio.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, patios

5.0

05/12/2015


NOREEN E.

I am a landscape designer and designed the new driveway and sidewalk. I needed someone to install it for my clients and am very happy with the outcome. He was able to do it earlier than he estimated. I had a time issue and then he had a cancellation, and it worked out great. They needed to take out more material than estimated, so we had a little uptick in price, but not too bad.

Description of Work
remove old and install new concrete driveway and front sidewalk.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

5.0

04/06/2015


TYRONE T.

Work began promptly on the promised date and proceeded according to the planned schedule. The work was completed on-time, finishing the project within 4 days of the start. The patio and driveway look very good. I plan to use North Shore Aggregate for future work.

Description of Work
Removed old patio blocks, prepared and poured a new patio and driveway. Combined, it was approximately 1050 sq. ft.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, patios

5.0

02/04/2015


Jerry M.

We were thrilled with the work done by North Shore Aggregate. We were quoted a completely fair price, and felt the quality of the work was outstanding. Everyone was punctual, courteous and professional. We had a small, city patio that was completely covered in wood chips, and a fence surrounded by half-dead evergreens. The crew removed the existing "backyard," and replaced it with beautiful aggregate. Upon noticing we had a baby in the house, one crew member, Andrew, even suggested we put our son's handprint into the patio! The job was done on time, and exceeded our expectations. We would highly recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
Replace wood chipped area with aggregate. Added stamped and decorative features. Adjusted pitch to avoid water runoff toward home.

Category concrete repair

5.0

09/12/2014


CHARLES D.

John and everyone who worked on this project were dedicated, hard working on time professionals. The work was completed on schedule, for the estimated price and they even made sure I was pleased with the results! I would and I have reccomended Northshore Aggregate!!!

Description of Work
Removed concrete front porch,back porch, patio, front sidewalk and driveway. Graded, compacted, framed, poured and finished new driveway, enlarged porches,sidewalk, patio and wheel chair ramp. After one month came back to pressure wash and then applied a sealer to prevent damage caused by ice melt and other chemicals

Category concrete repair, decks, concrete driveways, pressure washing, patios

5.0

09/10/2014


Gandhi K.

.

Description of Work
They removed our existing wooden patio. We had new concrete patio. |It took sometime to get permit from buffalo grove. But they were adjusting and came back the day we got it ready. We gave 50 % on starting and 50 % when job was completed. Job included disposal of old patio and putting new concrete. |After removing the wood the finish on one of the edge was not very clean. Otherwise the job was very neat and up to the mark. Very satisfied.

Category concrete repair, stamped concrete, patios

5.0

08/29/2014


Carol G.

Description of Work
New aggregate patio

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, stamped concrete, patios

5.0

08/26/2014


DAVID M.

.

Description of Work
They switched our driveway from blacktop to concrete. It took about 2 days.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

5.0

08/19/2014


RUSTY A.

I had asked for an estimate on repairing concrete steps on our front porch. The company responded to my email quickly but warned that their minimum charge for a job is $1400. They explained that this is partially because the ready-mix concrete companies require them to buy an entire truckload of concrete and they do not share truckloads between small jobs. They also warned me that I would have to schedule my job at least eight weeks in advance. I appreciated their responsiveness and honesty but I did not use them because the minimum charge was higher than I could afford to pay.

Description of Work
Estimate to repair concrete steps

Category concrete repair

5.0

06/05/2014


Joel F.

In a few words, it went great. John and his crew did the work about 5 years ago, and it still looks terrific.

Description of Work
Replaced old cracked concrete stairs and walkways with exposed aggregate.

Category concrete repair, stamped concrete

4.0

11/21/2013


Susan K.

It was good and easy to get a quote from them. They were professional and the price was reasonable. One option was to remove concrete from our doorstep and little walkway, remove an asphalt driveway and replace it with a concrete driveway and expand it for a second driveway.

Description of Work
North Shore Aggregate gave us an estimate for 3 projects.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

5.0

09/27/2013


Timothy B.

John was very professional and understood what was need to complete our small patio job. We have been in the home for 10 years and finally made the decision to go with concrete rather than paver or a deck. John came out and listened to what we wanted and came up with a plan. He noticed that our backyard may not have the best drainage so he explained what he would need to do with the porch so it would properly drain. He also found an issue with the steps and the height and that with the porch it would not be within code. His suggestion was to make the porch the same height as the last step. This way the rise of the step would not be an issue. We agreed. Our neighbors built a porch a week after ours was installed and they have the same attention to detail and the porch needed to be fixed a couple of time prior to completion. Glad we had someone who knew what were doing as we never had an issue with inspections. The porch was completed and it looks great cannot wait until next summer when we can use it all season long. Thanks for the great job.

Description of Work
Poured a 14x14 patio in the back of the home.

Category concrete repair, patios

5.0

06/17/2012


Cynthia W.

There was very good communication with the owner about when they would come for the estimate and when they would do each phase of the work. I had one issue that I wanted taken care of and they were totally responsive. The two patios look wonderful and appear to be well-constructed.

Description of Work
We had a smaller and a larger concrete patio removed and replaced by a poured aggregate patio.

Category concrete repair, stamped concrete, patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you (Member name removed) for the great review. We hope you are enjoying your new patios.
5.0

05/17/2012


Carina D.

They were absolutely on time and professional. Andrew was great. He made us comfortable. All the workers were friendly. I would use them in the future.

Description of Work
I used North Shore Aggregate Custom Concrete to to do concrete poring on the sidewalk.

Category concrete repair, patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you (Member name removed) for the great review. It was a pleasure to work for you and your family.
4.0

06/22/2011


Melissa P.

They were very professional and answered all of our initial questions promptly. The workers did put a hole in our siding with a pick ax and performed a slipshod caulking job around the new stoop, but they did reduce our price due to their errors. They admitted their mistakes and apologized. The stoop, itself, is very nice.

Description of Work
Removal of front stoop. Poured aggregate to create a new front stoop.

Category concrete repair, patios

5.0

01/13/2011


Phil K.

I spent $1000 on that job. They were on time and did a great job. They were very cost effective and knew what they were doing. They did what they told me they were going to do. They were very thorough and quick. The job was fantastic and I would certainly use them again. I have some concrete work to do, so I will use them again.

Description of Work
I used North Shore Aggregate Customer Concrete in February of 2007 to have some concrete work done.

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing

5.0

09/04/2010


Ray M.

I called and was given a price for $.60 a square foot. We agreed and were given a timeline to have the service performed, based on the weather holding up. The gentleman arrived as scheduled and power washed the patio. He was going to come back once the patio was dry for the sealing. When the patio dried we noticed some stains that did not come off and we called the company. They were out the next day with a solvent that removed the stains. The patio was sealed the next day and looked AWESOME! Almost brand new.

Description of Work
They had installed a aggregate patio for us years ago. We needed it cleaned and sealed.

Category concrete repair, stamped concrete

5.0

10/31/2003


IRENE K.

CHANGED THE WALK TO HAVE A CURVED FEATURE AND WIDENED THE DRIVE TO CO INSIDE WITH THE WIDTH FOUNDATION OF THE GARAGE. COMPANY MEET WITH US 3 DIFFERENT TIMES AFTER DOING WORK WITH THREE PEOPLE ON OUR STREET. PROFESSIONAL, FRIENDLY, PROMPT, AND PERSONABLE. VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE IN DOING RESIDENTIAL WORK. WONDERFUL JOB. ALL CREW WAS POLITE AND CONSCIENTIOUS AS WELL. HIRE IN THE FUTURE.

Description of Work
THEY TORE OUT CONCRETE DRIVEWAY AND FRONT WALK LEADING TO FRONT DOOR. REPLACED WITH AGGREGATE CONCRETE DRIVE AND WALK AND COVERED FRONT CONCRETE STOOP.

Category concrete repair, stamped concrete

    Other local Pros in your area

    Deck Tech

    Deck-Tech has been locally owned and operated in the Chicagoland area for over 30 years. Deck-Tech’s primary business consists of full restoration and preservation of wooden decks, fences, gazebos, play sets, cedar homes, log cabins and roofs. Additionally, we can repair, extend or replace your deck with our team of certified Carpenters. The advantage of using Deck-Tech services is making one call to have your deck fully restored with our highly trained personnel from our sales representatives, carpenters, office staff and especially our production crews. Accurate treatment and cleaning procedures done the first time.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Deck Tech on Angi
    L A McMahon Window Washing Inc

    Uses ECO Friendly Products. Cost is determined by the job. All Military families get an extra $10 off! Professional washers, all equipment supplied, and all work subject to on-site inspection. Tall ladder and parking fee may apply. Call for info or to schedule an appointment for work to be done. Award winning. Additional DBA - McMahon Window Washing Inc - LA.  

    Prime Time Window & Gutter Cleaning Inc

    Over 50,000 satisfied customers since 1996, we are the premier home improvement company in Chicago and the surrounding areas. Prime Time Window Cleaning provides the best residential home and commercial property services at the most competitive price. Our goal is to make each customer a raving fan and to earn not only their business, but also that of their friends, neighbors, and relatives. If you are not satisfied with our service to your home, you simply do not have to pay! Contact Prime Time Window Cleaning for your window washer Chicago services, as well as other exterior projects, such as gutter cleaning and power washing. We look forward to helping your home look its best! Book an appointment today at 800-480-1360.  

    Offers by Prime Time Window & Gutter Cleaning Inc on Angi
    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Concrete flatwork, exposed aggregate, dyed concrete, footings, stoops, stairs, driveways, patios, walks, custom design and finishes.

    Services Not Offered

    Stamped concrete, mud jacking, crack repair, concrete overlays

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about North Shore Aggregate

    How is North Shore Aggregate overall rated?

    North Shore Aggregate is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are North Shore Aggregate open?

    North Shore Aggregate is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does North Shore Aggregate provide

    North Shore Aggregate accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does North Shore Aggregate offer free estimates?

    Yes, North Shore Aggregate offers free project estimates.

    Does North Shore Aggregate offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, North Shore Aggregate does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by North Shore Aggregate?

    No, North Shore Aggregate does not offer warranties.

    What services does North Shore Aggregate offer?

    North Shore Aggregate offers the following services: Concrete flatwork, exposed aggregate, dyed concrete, footings, stoops, stairs, driveways, patios, walks, custom design and finishes.

    Are there any services North Shore Aggregate does not offer?

    Stamped concrete, mud jacking, crack repair, concrete overlays