Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Albers Exteriors Inc

Founded 1983 • With Angi since January 2008

4.6

(35) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 1276

Crystal Lake, IL 60039

Description

We are your roofing, siding, window and gutter professionals. Albers Exteriors Inc., has been in business since 1982 as a roofing and siding contractor and is a leading provider of residential and commercial exteriors. We specialize in remodeling and new construction. Albers Exteriors, Inc. is a

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Thomas L.
5.0
08/16/2017
overall experience was an A and would use them again,.
Description of Work
Siding replacement
Category
siding
Dave M.
5.0
06/20/2017
It was very easy to work with Rick. There was a lot of good back and forth getting the details figured out. He was able to match the color of the siding perfectly and the gutters match the trim around the house. All the material was hauled away quickly and everything was left clean.
Description of Work
We had several small jobs. One side of the house needed new cedar siding, part of a soffit, residing an attached shed and new gutters with leaf guards. We also needed casing around doors and windows that needed replacement.
Category
gutter repair, siding, woodworking
Deborah M.
1.0
01/26/2016
I never hired them, I tried to. Their price was reasonable. They weren't the cheapest but they weren't the most expensive. They didn't the work but the way they handled the job was enough. The first time they came on time, but the second time the guy made a call. They were very professional talking to you but, the way the business was handled was very unprofessional. I wouldn't use them in future and wouldn't recommend them. They are one of those companies I tell people to stay away from. They could have returned phone calls. I don't know if it is necessarily the company, I think it is just guy they assigned to my house. I not only lost the insurance bid but the insurance turned around and said if you don't repair your roof, we are going to drop you on insurance. They screwed me all around.
Description of Work
I got an estimate. They came out for the roof inspection twice.
Category
roofing
Erich F.
5.0
09/08/2015
Rick and his guys did a fantastic job on our new house. We're super pleased with the quality of the work and how hard all of his guys worked. We're building a new home and over the last 6 months we've had roofing, siding, and gutters installed. Rick's quote was right in line with other contractors. The big advantage with his company is that he does all of the exterior services. So having a 1 stop shop for this was just what we were looking for. Much better than trying to find 3 separate guys. I think the most impressive part was how hard the guys worked. The siding was done only by 2 guys, in the middle of the coldest days of winter. What I noticed was not just how they were out there working on 0 degree days and in the snow, but that the workmanship was perfect. Joints between the boards were symmetrical and laddered up the side of the wall perfectly. Corner joints were perfect and the soffits were done again perfectly. When it came a few weeks ago to install the gutters I was amazed it was just one guy. Crazy in that it's a big house and part of it is 3 stories tall. But he got it done and we couldn't be happier because now that we've got final grading, the erosion at the site is now under control.
Description of Work
Roofing, Siding, Gutters
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding
Dennis M.
5.0
08/17/2015
They came when they said they would and finished the job quickly.
Description of Work
Replaced the shingles on our roof as well as all gutters and downspouts. They subcontracted the replacement of the copper cover over our bay window.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, replacement windows
Sandeep K.
5.0
08/03/2015
Pretty well. Very Responsive & provide his expertise as requested.
Description of Work
Roofing Services & Exterior Sidiing
Category
roofing
Linda T.
5.0
11/28/2014
Worked with the insurance company with claim, approval and inspection. Very helpful and thorough. A friend at work had had his claim denied. I recommended he contact Alber's and they helped him work with his insurance company as well.
Description of Work
Replaced roof and some gutter and window wraps after hail storm.
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Steve R.
5.0
06/23/2014
He said "Either I send my guy up there to fix it for $300 or you can go buy some roofing tar and patch the corner to fix the problem." I appreciated his honesty and I ended up doing what he told me to do and have not had a drop of water enter the house, from that area, since. My roof will need replaced in the next couple of years and I will not hesitate to contact them first.
Description of Work
Pete, from Albers, came out to take a look at a leak coming from my roof. He took a look at where the water was coming inside my house and pinpointed the area on the roof without going up on it.
Category
roofing
Allen S.
5.0
07/12/2013
They were very good. We also ended up having to put on a new roof because they found damage when they tore the siding off. He set all that for us. We have no complaints. They put gutters which the gutter guy screwed up but Pete the owner was awesome. He made them come out fix it and it looks great now. They did a lot of work the pricing was very reasonable and they did an excellent job.
Description of Work
We used Albers Exteriors to do the siding, replace the roof and put in the gutters for us.
Category
roofing, siding
Reginald A.
5.0
07/20/2012
I was completely satisfied with the work and materials used. The work was started and comleted on time and within the estimate. I recommended Albers to two neighbors which used Albers for their roofs.
Description of Work
We had a new roof replaced on own home and garage, new siding to a dormer and new dutters for the home and gaarage.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding
Paul V.
4.0
04/12/2012
Our location was hit by a hail storm in Spring. We had several companies ring our doorbell asking if we wanted a free inspection. We finally relented and let the Albers inspect. Representative did a good job of explaining the damage that they found (accompanied by pictures) and the process to go through to file a claim with our homeowners insurance and handled the interface with the insurance adjuster. Work was scheduled and actually started shortly before the scheduled date. Once the work was started, crews worked long hours to get the work done as quickly as possible. End product looked good. Company was very responsive and delivered the work on time and efficiently. Company representative was responsive to my questions and helped with the interface with the insurance company.Only slight complaint is that I found some nails from the siding repair that had not been cleaned up, so that could have been more thorough.
Description of Work
Roof and siding was damaged by hail. Albers did a comprehensive inspection and provided video and photos to explain the damage and work that needed to be done. They ended up puting on a new roof on house and garage and replaced some siding on the house and garage.
Category
roofing, siding
Thomas G.
5.0
02/17/2012
The experience was excellent. Mr. Albers was on-time, reliable, did great work for a fair price. We would use him again without hesitation.
Description of Work
Spot repair of siding and roof.
Category
roofing, siding
Frank K.
5.0
06/16/2011
They did a great job except for the caulking on the capping. It was sloppy even after two attempts. It made a great job appear average.
Description of Work
Roof replacement and new alunimum capping on windows
Category
roofing, siding, replacement windows
ANN C.
5.0
05/02/2011
It was excellent. Pat was phenomenal, he was able to coordinate everything and did a great job. He saved us a lot of money by his expertise in this field.
Description of Work
They did total roof replacement.
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Marian C.
4.0
12/22/2010
The job was acceptable. I've would have liked more follow up after the work was done for minor things that needed adjusting. I thought the project manager was inattentive. In the future, I wouldn't rule them out but I would also look for other alternatives.
Description of Work
Albers Exteriors did my roof.
Category
roofing
Rachel W.
1.0
12/12/2010
Horribly. Tyrone Carrington was our representative. From the start he swore up and down that he was honest and there to work for us. (That should have been my first clue that there would be problems. Honest people don't have to tell their customers how great they are.) After picking everything out, he told us his crew would be starting in a week. It takes at least 2 weeks for the city to process permits and that was the week of July 4th. When we didn't hear from them during that week, we called them and asked what was going on. They said they were waiting for the weather to be clear. We waited a long time for the weather to be clear (yet it never rained). We finally got to a stretch of days where no rain was in the forecast, however, we were going to be out of town. We told them NOT to start the roof while we were gone. When we came home, the roof had been done. They had thrown the roofing materials OVER the car parked in our driveway into the dumpster. Evidently they tried to call us to ask us to move our car, but they only called the house phone. They had our cell phone number, but never called. If they had, we would have instructed them AGAIN not to do any work while we were gone. This is just one instance of a number of communication problems that we had with them. They would call us a number of times a day if they needed a check, but would not answer their phones or not call us if we were waiting for them to start a project or needed some information from them. Next, they did our siding. Their sub's were good, but had no loyalty to the company. As a matter of fact, they couldn't stand Tyrone either. Tyrone (or his mother in law Stacey, who works with him) ordered our material wrong. We had a tan color for siding and our trim (J channel, electric boxes, light housings, etc) should have also been tan. Instead he ordered it white. It looked horrible and I requested that they fix it. Tyrone refused and swore that it was correct, even though there are no other houses in the neighborhood that have trim that doesn't match the siding. I finally had to call Tyrone's boss (who also happens to be his best friend) and have him come out to the house to see the problem. Ryan took one look at the house, said it was wrong and they would fix it. They had to bring the crew back out to take off all of the siding, replace the trim correctly and put the siding back up. Tyrone flat out refused to replace some of it because it ate into his profits. The gutters were an issue too. When we ordered the gutters I wanted white. I had to fight with Tyrone and Stacey about my color choice They swore that white wouldn't match and that it wouldn't look good. I had to justify my choice to them before they would order it. Whatever happened to the customer is always right and order the color that customer wants on THEIR house??? If you choose to hire Albers, be very careful and watch them like a hawk. Their instructions were to repair all the damages from a hail storm on the line item detailed list from the insurance adjustor. There were a number of occasions that Tyrone told us everything was finished, but when we checked through the items, things had not been done. This included window wraps, replacing a cupola, and roof vents. They also damaged a screen on our window and promised to repair it, but never did. The futher we got into this project the more we realized that Tyrone is a very shady character. As we pressed him to complete the project and finish all of the loose ends, he tried to turn it back around on us and blame us. He even told the sub's to "watch out for her, she will try to get you to do extra work." Albers has worked on other homes in the area. Some people were content with their experience, others were not. One gentleman finally told Tyrone to leave his house and never talk to him again because Tyrone refused to repair a roofing job that damaged the ceiling inside the house. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT hire Albers to do ANY work for you, no matter how small the job.
Description of Work
We had our roof completely torn off and replaced as well as our gutters and siding.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding
Thomas G.
5.0
10/18/2010
Had a small leak showing up as a spot on my living room ceiling. Mr Albers came and found the problem; a small piece of siding was pulled up slightly. He put a nail in it which fixed it. I put a dot of paint over the nail and you can't even see where it was. The leak was fixed. He wouldn't even charge me. Mr Albers company re-roofed my house and put siding on a bay window of ours several years ago. He did a great job and if we never I had a problem, he would come and solve it.
Description of Work
fixed leak in house siding
Category
roofing, siding
Robert H.
3.0
10/12/2010
I may have used this company had the saleman given me the quote. This company may be a fine one, but without salesman providing me adequate information I simply went to companies that would and used another one.
Description of Work
Salesman did not take time to give written quote. Once he found out it was an insurance claim he wanted to meet with insurance company and said they would do job for whatever the insurance gave them. I told him I felt uncomfortable without a written quote first to see the details of the job so I could make an informed decision. I suggested he do so and we could discuss futher. He never did. So I went to Angie's list and called three other companies who did all give me quotes and information I needed. I did go with another company. All three professional, gave me quotes I requested without question, and I did use one of them to do the work needed.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding
Reginald A.
5.0
09/16/2010
The crew made every effort to complete the job on time. Rick followed up with me for any things I did not like regarding the work, plus he too did an inspection on his own to insure the quality of work.
Description of Work
Roof for house, garage, new gutters and siding.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding
Paul V.
5.0
09/03/2010
Albers was combing our neighborhood following a recent hail storm. Did an estimate, worked well with the insurance company, and completed work very quickly. Brian, the representative, was easily reached and very responsive to questions. Very easy company to work with. Crews did a good job of cleaning up after work and minimum disruption.
Description of Work
New roof and replaced siding that was damaged by hail.
Category
roofing, siding
AnthonyT S.
5.0
08/09/2010
A few weeks after a major hail storm, I noticed signs posted around the neighborhood from many contractors. I checked them out on Angie's list and Albers Exteriors was listed with a good rating. I checked around a little more and then called them for an estimate. They worked closely with my insurance and scheduled the work as soon as the settlement was issued. The work was done quickly, professionally, and with minimum disruption and mess. They completely replaced the roof, replaced gutters and some damaged siding. The repairs look good. Price was reasonable. Our sales representative also managed the project keeping us informed of the status and schedule of work and checking to ensure that it was done correctly. Overall this was a very good experience.
Description of Work
Repaired hail damage on roof, siding and gutters
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding
Daniel K.
5.0
08/04/2010
Damage was due to the early June(?) hailstrom in the NW Chicago suburban area. Albers was all over the neighborhood soon after the storm. I was somewhat skeptical of them but watched as their signs popped up all over the place and as they performed on various of my neighbors homes. The sales guy (Brad) was very patient with me as I did my due diligence and asked loads of questions. Once I hired them the work was done in a timely fashion and as quoted. Brad was all over the job which was good to see. The crews were clean and kept the house and area clean over the few days the job took. Best of all they took care of (stopped) a minor leak that other roofers and I had been trying to find and stop myself for years! I would recommend the firm and if I had the type of need again I would call them myself.
Description of Work
New roof, new gutters, new window trim... deck staining and garage paint job.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, woodworking, house painters
JOSEPH K.
2.0
07/20/2010
Everything went really well, up until the time we were ready to get work started on our home. Our contact, Jordan, was extremely responsive to any/all of our needs until we were ready to get started. We received the claim from our insurance and Albers worked closely to make sure we received enough to cover all of the necessary repairs. That's when we we never heard from him again. We left multiple voice mails, and then got to the point where we could no longer leave messages on his cell phone. We were so disappointed, we did not pursue anyone else at the company to complete our work. We started over again with new bids and selected another company.
Description of Work
We asked Albers Exteriors to come out to bid on some house repairs. We selected them to proceed and they inspected our home and worked with our insurance adjuster as this was a claim we were submitting with our home insurance.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding
Marianne J.
5.0
09/23/2009
The overall exerience was very good, the estimate was very accurate, the quality of work was excellent, and the work was performed in a timely manner. Rick, the owner of comapny is professional and easy to work with and was responsive to any questions we had. If we needed any more work done on our house, I will certainly call on ALBERS EXTERIORS again.
Description of Work
We had our house completely sided with vinyl siding including complete removal of old cedar siding. New gutters, soffit, facia, and shutters..
Category
siding
Joseph G.
2.0
05/17/2009
I would think twice before asking this man to come and look at your house. Now we have a nice piece of the same siding, still bent and tucked in for $100. I think WE had already accomplished that! There was never a quote for time and travel on the phone before he came or we would have called someone to take a look see who did not charge for a look see.
Description of Work
Looked at siding and said aluminum is no longer available. Quoted price for new, bent the one piece that had been caught by wind, indicated it was a result of settling. Popped it in, said now we know how to fix it and asked for $100. Puhleeezzzzz! Really??? $100 for that. Ridiculous. The claim was the cost for his time and travel. He lives in our town, it was on his way home (last stop) and he was here maybe 15 minutes did not even need to get a ladder. I only take comfort in knowing that what goes around comes around!
Category
siding

    Other local Pros in your area

    Natural tree service

    YOUR TREE SERVICE BASED IN GILBERTS, IL WITH OVER 25 YEARS OF EXPERIENCE; OUR EXPERTISE SPANS A WIDE RANGE OF OUTDOOR CARE SERVICES FOR YOUR HOME OR BUSINESS RANGING FROM LANDSCAPING AND PAVER PROJECTS TO BOTH ROUTINE AND EMERGENCY TREE CARE.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Accurate Contracting Service

    Accurate Contracting Services, Inc. is a family owned and operated, BBB accredited business with an A+ rating, that has been serving the community since 1998. Our owner, Ronald Peterson, is a General Contractor with 40+ years of ground up, hands on structural experience. With Ron's knowledge and experience, he has helped homeowners with design, layout and product decisions that can be a difficult and sometimes frustrating process. We pride ourselves on delivering superior products and services at rates that are more than competitive. Accurate Contracting Services has implemented a policy of promoting environmentally safe products and recycling shingles, which frees landfills of a product that never decomposes. Whether you're looking to enhance the look of your house, improve energy efficiency or increase your home's resale value, Accurate Contracting Services will help you decide the best option to fit your needs and budget.  

    Angi Certified

    EXTRAVAGANT PAINTING

    Extravagant Painting takes pride in delivering high end finished projects. Customer service is the leading priority; being a small business owner, I take the time to listen. Extravagant painting makes a point to ensure you, the customer, understand the process before the paint goes up. Painting is a lot more than picking a color and rolling it on. The attention to detail begins with the preparation of the area. Correcting imperfections in the walls and continues throughout the entire project until the final coat. A beautiful room will house memories for a lifetime.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    ASK FOR DETAILS
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Shingles, wood shakes, rubber roofing systems, slate & tile, vinyl, aluminum siding facial, soffits, cement fiber, cedar lap, shake siding, copper, gutters, downspouts, windows & doors.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Albers Exteriors Inc

    How is Albers Exteriors Inc overall rated?

    Albers Exteriors Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Albers Exteriors Inc open?

    Albers Exteriors Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Albers Exteriors Inc provide

    Albers Exteriors Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Albers Exteriors Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Albers Exteriors Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Albers Exteriors Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Albers Exteriors Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Albers Exteriors Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Albers Exteriors Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Albers Exteriors Inc?

    No, Albers Exteriors Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Albers Exteriors Inc offer?

    Albers Exteriors Inc offers the following services: Shingles, wood shakes, rubber roofing systems, slate & tile, vinyl, aluminum siding facial, soffits, cement fiber, cedar lap, shake siding, copper, gutters, downspouts, windows & doors.