Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ROMA

Founded 1991 • With Angi since June 2007

4.3

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3930 N OTTAWA

Chicago, IL 60634

Description

We are a family owned business and have been waterproofing and sealing homes since 1991. We rely on repeat business and referrals. Customer satisfaction is our top priority.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/14/2022


Olivia E.

ROMA was hired to waterproof our apartment building. They did excellent work and our unit is now leak free.

Description of Work
Waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

06/28/2016


Matt B.

Description of Work
Roma waterproofed my entire house and garage. They worked in phases during the winter months and were able to find warm days to get the work done ahead of schedule. They were very professional. They were easy to work with and work was completed sooner than expected. Price was reasonable compared to other quotes I received. I would definitely use them again for any waterproofing services.

Category masonry, replacement windows

5.0

06/04/2016


Mike T.

It went well. We have a cinder block home that was leaking. After Roma's work we are leak free.

Description of Work
Waterproofed and caulked our home

Category masonry, replacement windows

5.0

07/14/2010


Brett T.

We recently purchased a house and after moving in, noticed that water was leaking through a window sill. Upon further inspection, all window frames (limestone frames on the outside) had excess mortar on the top ledge from shoddy tuckpointing during initial construction. ROMA responded to our call promptly, provided a free quote, and the 4-person crew was on-site less than a week later. Ricky and his team were responsive to our detailed requests. They worked diligently and provided good work, with attention to aesthetic detail. I would use ROMA again.

Description of Work
Washed masonry on front and back of house, removed excess mortar on limestone ledges , caulked and sealed all cracks in mortar and masonry, painted coping stones.

Category masonry

3.0

12/02/2009


Bruce H.

Waterproofing is simply not working. Inspector has tested the waterproofing about 16 mos after installation. The waterproofing effectiveness is very spotty. Appears to be working on certain blocks/mortar joints, while other areas appear not to be waterproofed at all. Numerous attempts to get ROMA to respond have been unanswered over last two weeks.

Description of Work
Sealing of split-face block walls

Category masonry

Service Provider Response

Called back the next day. Informed the member that we could not do anything to the building right now due to weather. Asked him to make sure the scupper boxes and gutters were clear of debris and make sure that snow was not accumulating in these areas on the flat roof top. Since that was the area he was complaining about. We will come out as soon as the weather permits and assess the problem. A few weeks later he then told me that the building was spotty and not working in areas around the entire building not just the top. I informed him that if that were the case, which I highly doubt I would retreat the entire building at no charge. A few days later I was told that he did not want us to touch the building again and was hiring somone else. We were never allowed back to verify or rectify the customer's complaint. Never provided inspection report or name of person who did the inspection. It is never a problem to come back and address a customers complaint, weather permitting. In this case, the customer never gave us a chance, even when I said "in writing" that the service would be free of charge.
5.0

08/07/2009


Carrie D.

It was great. Kristi brought over color samples, and reccomended one that matched our building perfectly. Her crew was fast and on-time. They were clean, never leaving their trash or behind. The work was quite good - it looks very smooth and even throughout the building. Kristi called me every morning to update me on the progress and they finished on their planned date, even though they had to stop for rain a few times. The product they use for sealing is highly rating and has a very long life. Thanks to Kristi for the quality work - we highly reccomended them. Not sure why others have given lower reviews...

Description of Work
We had a split-face block 3 unit building sealed, caulked and generally waterproofed.

Category masonry

1.0

05/18/2009


JACQUELENE H.

It was awful. Their work was very sloppy. There was dark brown caulk applied randomly all over the building. They painted the walls of a parapet with an ugly blue colored waterproof paint they could not be removed. We ultimately had to re-paint over it. Following their work, water continued to come in the building when it rained. We asked them to give us a discount, and they said if we did not pay the full amount by the next day, they would file a lien on our property. We called them numerous times regarding the water, and they did not return our calls. We asked them for the names of the products they used on the building, so we could the work re-done properly, and they refused to tell us the name of the products. We question whether they really applied any water sealent at all. They have refused to return over 10 phone calls. We ended up having all the work re-done by another company. Roma was a complete waste of money and time.

Description of Work
We hired Roma to caulk and seal (waterproof) the split face block of our 3-unit condiminium unit. We were having issues with water seeping in when it rained. Roma assured us they could fix this.

Category masonry

Service Provider Response

First of all we did not paint anything blue. It was light gray on her parapet wall. Secondly, I never had any dealings with this member of the condo assoc. until the day after we started the job. She called me screaming and she was screaming at the crew that she did not like the color. I brought a color chart to her and she picked two different colors and we put samples. She picked one. When we were done she decided she did not like the color again. She demanded a discount on which she was given. We never received any complaints from anyone else in the building. Almost a year later she called about a leak. She was never available to show us where the leak was coming in on her one wall but just described where it was coming in. So one day from her descriptions we went to the home and from the outside searched the wall for the leak. We found no cracks or holes. We tested the wall and the waterproofing was still working. I highly doubt that this building had to be re-waterproofed because the others in the condo assoc would have at least called me, they had a warranty. Also the refusal to tell them what we used was also not true. It is clearly stated on the estimate, and on the invoice, and on her paid invoice. I was warned about this member of the condo assoc. by her fellow condo assoc members about how difficult she can be to work with, but we still took the job hoping that we could still please her is some way. I really thought we did until I was informed about this submission yesterday. Almost two years after we did the job.
5.0

06/16/2008


ALLISON W.

It went very well. They started the job but it was stalled due the rain. They were very prompt on coming back and starting and then finishing the job.

Description of Work
They came and sealed and culked our condo building for us.

Category masonry

5.0

06/29/2007


carolyn G.

The estimate was received when promised at a very reasonable price. Kristi made sure that all of our questions and concerns were answered. The crew came out as promised and did an excellent job. They even cleaned out my gutters at no charge.

Description of Work
Filled all hairline cracks in mortar joints and treated all block (CMU) surfaces on my biding with "Repel," a totally non-toxic material. Eliminating all leaking in my building.

Category masonry

    Other local Pros in your area

    Bald Eagle Masonry

    For over a decade, Bald Eagle Construction has been widely known as the go-to expert for a wide variety of construction projects in Chicago and the Chicagoland area. We’re also proud to be the leader in handling City of Chicago building code violations. From taking care of fixing the issues straight through to dealing with the paperwork. For you that means you not only get the job done to our exacting specifications – you’ll also be assured that any project we start will comply fully with all Chicago Building Department regulations. 11 employees. Uses subs for specialty work. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Ask about Angie's list discount. Award winning.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    AAA-1 Masonry & Tuckpointing Inc

    Specialists in masonry restoration and building preservation since 1954. Licensed masons. Thousands of references. Fully Insured. Free written quotation for work in writing. Extensive knowledge of all aspects of masonry restoration work: mortar repair; parapet wall rebuilding; lintel replacement; chimneys; cleaning, caulking and sealing; and terra cotta/GFRC work. We are just as comfortable fixing your landmarked 100-year-old home as we are grinding, tuckpointing and sealing your 50-unit condominium building. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No extra charge for after-hours service. 65 years of continuous service. Preferred mason contractor of architects and structural engineers. Very informative website found at www.AAA1Masonry.com. Send all inquiries to Info@AAA1Masonry or Robert@AAA1Masonry.com  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    JC & Son Masonry Inc

    8-10 employees. No subs. cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service fees. May contact through email. Additional contact: Jake.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    EXTERIOR WATERPROOFING, GRAFFITI BLOCKING, FIRE BARRIER SEALANT, MASONRY PAINTING, MASONRY WASHING, CAULKING

    Services Not Offered

    BELOW GRADE WATERPROOFING.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ROMA

    How is ROMA overall rated?

    ROMA is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are ROMA open?

    ROMA is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 AM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 AM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 AM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 AM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 AM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 AM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 AM

    What payment options does ROMA provide

    ROMA accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does ROMA offer free estimates?

    Yes, ROMA offers free project estimates.

    Does ROMA offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, ROMA does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ROMA offer a senior discount?

    No, ROMA does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by ROMA?

    Yes, ROMA offers warranties.

    What services does ROMA offer?

    ROMA offers the following services: EXTERIOR WATERPROOFING, GRAFFITI BLOCKING, FIRE BARRIER SEALANT, MASONRY PAINTING, MASONRY WASHING, CAULKING

    Are there any services ROMA does not offer?

    BELOW GRADE WATERPROOFING.