Power Plumbing & Sewer Contractor Inc

About

Founded 1960 • With Angi since August 2001

Power Plumbing & Sewer Contractor, Inc. is a family owned and operated business that has been serving the Chicago area and surrounding communities since 1960. We offer full service plumbing and sewer expertise for residential, commercial, industrial, and high-rise properties. Our service has been recognized by our customers with 36 Angie's List Super Service Awards!...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

Rae Lynn - Office Manager, Licensed Plumber & Estimator

+67 more images

Verified Reviews

4.7

(1243) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

1023

4

89

3

45

2

42

1

44

Rating Details

Price

4.3

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

plumbers (1030)drain cleaning (190)sewer cleaning (70)water heaters (70)well & water pump repair (32)drain pipe installation (14)gas leak repair (12)home remodeling (10)appliance repair (8)basement waterproofing (7)excavating (7)water damage restoration (6)
Showing 1-25 of 1243 reviews
5.0

08/23/2022


Oz & Lorraine S.

Power Plumbing was great. I have a very old building and a toilet on 2nd floor that was leaking from gasket. The telephone person was responsive and gave me a call when plumber was to arrive. Tony the plumber arrived on time and was able to immediately diagnose the problem and fix it. He was able to deal with the old existing plumbing, and was very knowledgeable. I was very pleased with the service and having Tony explain what was the issues and potential problems that might need to be addressed in the future (old house/old plumbing) and I was very grateful for his insight and expertise. The price was within standard professional plumbers, and I felt I was treated fairly. I highly recommend Power Plumbers. Special thanks to Tony

Description of Work
leaking toilet

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2022

5.0

09/02/2019


Kristine P.

Angel was great - prompt, responsive, and professional - my only complaint was the cost of the replacement facet which seemed a bit high

Description of Work
Facet needed to be replaced

Category plumbing

Cost $420

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for taking time to review us and providing your feedback. We were happy to resolve your issue with expert service and top quality parts. We'll be sure to share your kind words our team as customer satisfaction is important to us. Thanks again and please feel free to call on us anytime you need us. We're available 24x7. Best, Power Plumbing

5.0

04/25/2019


Rodolfo T.

Puntual, fast, well done and correct price.

Description of Work
They repair a pipe explosed in the basemant due to freezing and change a defective valve

Category plumbing

Cost $180

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2019

1.0

02/01/2019


Cristina L.

Due to extreme cold weather in Chicago, my kitchen and bathroom pipes froze. I found Power Plumbing & Sewer based on their very good reviews. Unfortunately, my experience with this company was poor. I called the morning I discovered the frozen pipes and spoke with the person who answers their phones (I did not get a name). She informed me that they were operating on a very long wait, due to many people experiencing the same issues. As a result, I was placed on the waiting list, which I fully expected. The woman I spoke with very clearly explained their pricing which was a base labor-only charge of $160 per worker, per hour. Overtime charges began after 3pm, at which point the labor cost would be time and a half. After explaining the size of my building (small 4-unit condo building), the woman informed me that a job that size could more than likely be done with a 1-man crew. I was agreeable to the terms she laid out and I was put on their waiting list. I received a call back from another woman at the company - Rae was her name - around 4:30pm the same day. Rae informed me that she had a 2-man crew available to come help and that minimum costs would be $160 per man at overtime pricing (x1.5 base price) with a 2-hour minimum. This meant the minimum charge was now $480 per man for a total charge of $960 minimum before any work was performed. I asked Rae to confirm this price to make sure I was understanding correctly and she very harshly explained to me that due to the extreme, emergency conditions, and due to the size of my building (...which I confirmed earlier in the morning on the first call with this company would only require a 1-man crew), the charge was accurate and justified. I was incredibly disappointed at hearing this and explained to Rae that I simply cannot afford to pay nearly $1000 as a minimum charge before any work is done. I felt misled and mistreated by this company. While I completely understand the dire circumstances that many people are dealing with throughout the Chicagoland area this winter, I feel that Power Plumbing & Sewer's pricing was completely unfair and I am left with the impression that they were trying to unfairly take advantage of customers who are in desperate need of emergency help during these extreme conditions. For comparison, I spoke yesterday with several other vendors with similar ratings on Angie's List who were charging closer to $100 additional for emergency or after-hours service, with no minimum charges prior to reviewing the exact work that needs to be done. Very disappointed with this company.

Description of Work
Pipe Thawing Due to Extreme Cold

Category plumbing

Cost $1,000

Work Completed On 01/31/2019

5.0

12/06/2018


Katherine P.

Throughout the whole experience, Power Plumbing exceeded my expectations. Rae in the office went out of her way to be helpful and was very professional and customer service-oriented. The day of the appointment, Power called me to let me know when the plumber was on his way. Eric did an amazing job and was clearly committed to quality and to making me happy. I will use Power again and will recommend them gladly.

Description of Work
Fix water pressure in kitchen sink and replace thermostatic cartridge in shower

Category plumbing

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/28/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your business and for taking time to review us. We appreciate your detailed feedback and Grade A rating as our entire team works hard to provide a positive customer experience combined with top-notch services. We would be happy to be of service to you again, whenever you need it, and always appreciate recommendations. Thanks again, Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

11/15/2018


Andrew N.

The company's VERY polite operator/dispatcher worked hard not only to get someone to me quickly, but also within the restrictions of my own complicated schedule for the day. Justin showed up promptly and performed the necessary work efficiently and professionally. It was by nature a messy job, but Justin was very thorough about cleaning up after completing the work. Overall, a great experience.

Description of Work
Replace pump in ejector pit.

Category plumbing

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/08/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for choosing us as your plumber. We appreciate your business! We're also grateful for your detailed feedback and will be sure to share your kind words with our entire team who works hard to make our customers have a great experience, just as you did. We hope that recommend us to your network, and please always feel free to reach out anytime you have any plumbing or sewer needs. Thanks again! Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

09/06/2018


JAMES P.

Some serious work involving excavation in front yard down about 8 feet. They worked efficiently and communicated well. The work also involved hydro-jet cleaning and video inspection. We discussed the findings. Some extra cleaning of a branch line and cementing of downspout to sewer was done. They were professional, knowledgeable and flexible, but as one might expect the work was not cheap.

Description of Work
Install clean-out port on sewer connection from house to city sewer. Clean and flush line.

Category drain pipe, sewer cleaning

Cost $4,380

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/23/2015

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for choosing us to handle your sewer project. We appreciate your business and for you taking time to review us here on Angie'[Member Information Removed] List. We are happy to read your feedback and that you were satisfied with how we executed the job. We hope that you'll refer us to anyone looking for plumbing or sewer work, and that you'll call on us anytime you need us. Thanks again! Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

08/16/2018


Dee S.

Very well! After a good deal of online research (but evidently not enough) I had bought a skirted toilet because it would be easy to clean. Unfortunately, the plumber, Mike, told me that he couldn't install it because it could not be bolted properly to the floor, which meant that somewhere along the line it could leak and cause water damage before we even realized it was leaking. This would have been disastrous: we live in a high-rise. But Mike turned a potential problem into a solution by suggesting he go back to Power Plumbing, pick up a nice toilet there, and coming back to install that. And it IS a nice toilet! We are very pleased with it. Mike was also willing and able to haul the old one away (I'll be returning the skirted one.) It's wonderful to deal with people who know what they're doing, like Mike -- and Paul, (who answered my original inquiry here on Angie's List, and Rae, who sent us the insurance and license documentation we needed for building management approval of the project. I intend to recommend Power Plumbing to anyone who asks if I can recommend a good plumber.

Description of Work
Toilet installation

Category plumbing

Cost $860

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/16/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your business AND for taking time to provide such a detailed review here on Angie's List. Customer feedback is important to us and we're always happy to hear that we've successfully resolved an issue to our customer's satisfaction. High-rise plumbing does present it's own share of challenges, but we work in high-rises around the city almost every single day, so our plumbers are skilled in providing solutions like the one we provided to you to ensure you didn't have any future issues. We appreciate the shout-outs and will be sure to share them with our team, and our honored to know you'll refer business to us. We're thrilled to have earned your customer loyalty. Please feel free to call on us anytime you need us. Our best to you, Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

07/13/2018


NANCY S.

They did an excellent job! I will recommend them and use them, again.

Description of Work
Plumbing Service

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your business and for taking time to review us. We appreciate the "Grade A" rating! Please feel free to call on us anytime you need us, and we love referrals so pass our name along to your contacts. Best to you, Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

03/07/2018


Frank G.

We hired Power Plumbing to install two tankless water heaters to replace two aging 40 gal hot water heaters. The job was complicated because the water heaters were crammed into a small closet with a separate radiant floor water heater in front (typical Chicago construction)...so more work than usual was required. Power Plumbing was great during the entire process. They were responsive up front and provided a detailed written estimate which they stuck to. Pricing came in about the same as another estimate we received. They came on time, brought two guys to do the job which took all day, and were completely professional the entire time. The quality of the install appeared to be very good. After they were done, we noticed our radiant heater that they moved during the install was making noises, so they came out again to bleed out air at no charge. In contrast, we also got a bid from another contractor specializing in tankless heaters (DRF), and the up-front process scared us off. Multiple calls with different people who weren't talking to each other, no written estimate, and a "we'll see what's involved once we get there" attitude. So glad in the end we chose Power Plumbing.

Description of Work
Tankless Water Heater Installation

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/05/2018

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your detailed review and the "Grade A" rating. We're so happy to read your review and know that you were satisfied with the entire process from start to finish. Our entire team works hard to ensure a smooth and positive customer experience with clear communication, so we're proud to know we delivered. We hope that we've earned your future business and we always appreciate customer referrals. Thanks again for your business! Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

02/12/2018


ALMA R.

Power plumbing did a fine job and we are very pleased. This review was long over due, but it’s never to late to recognize quality service. I have to say that Power Plumbing provides excellent service and does high quality work. I can say this from personal experience. Jason provided multiple extensively detailed estimates and proposals for ourselves and our condo association during a very difficult time. During this period, Jason, Rae, Paul and everyone at the office was very patient and helpful with me over many phone calls and various questions. Ultimately we personally used power plumbing to replace all the water lines in our nearly hundred-year-old apartment unit. The plumbers, Mike and Lavon did an excellent job. I really like the way that power plumbing operates in that they fully converged on the task, with Jason who did the estimates coming in to make the plan and convey the information to the other two full plumbers who arrived on the scene with two separate plumbing vans. Everyone showed up on time at once to tackle the task at hand and the work was executed at a high level in several days, without the long drawn-out hassles and inconveniences that we have experienced elsewhere. The plumbers worked with a precision and professionalism that was refreshing and enjoyable to witness. They were also very helpful in answering any questions and really educated me on what they were doing. It felt good seeing that we were getting great work done and we got a real sense of investment and creating value from their efforts and the overall Power Plumbing experience.

Description of Work
We decided to replace all of the water lines in our 3 bathroom condo apartment with new copper, this included water service for 3 bathrooms, a kitchen, and a laundry room.

Category plumbing

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business and detailed review of our services. We were thrilled to have been your chosen plumber for your project and pleased to know that we delivered on every step of your customer experience. Our entire team works very hard to ensure that our efforts are well coordinated AND executed, so your feedback means a lot to us. We hope that you'll call on us for any future plumbing or sewer work needs, and we always appreciate referrals. Thanks again, Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

01/25/2018


Adena H.

Nobody likes to spend money on things that others won't be able to see and marvel at, and that's where plumbing falls. However, not attending to the leaky faucet or the lack of a shutoff valve would result in long-term damage that would be more costly. So am I pleased with how I spent my money? Yes. They arrived on time, were professional, and did the job right. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
I needed a shutoff valve installed on a line running from my kitchen sink to my fridge/freezer and a new kitchen faucet installed.

Category plumbing

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/25/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We hear you! While it's true that plumbing repairs are probably not everyone's favorite way to spend their hard-earned money, you're also correct in that failure to maintain your plumbing will absolutely cost you more in the long run. And that's why we're happy to provide prompt and cost-effective solutions for our customers. It's hearing from satisfied customers like you that make our work worthwhile. We appreciate your business and thank you for taking time to review us. Please feel free to call on us anytime you need us, and as we do LOVE referrals, please feel free to share our name. While we do work everywhere, we do have extensive, specialty high-rise experience for buildings just like yours. Best, Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

01/08/2018


Morgan L.

Better than expected. The leak was quickly fixed and he did some additional work that went above and beyond was anticipated.

Description of Work
Leak from work from another plumbing company

Category plumbing

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/14/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We are so pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations as we aim to please. We were happy to correct the issue and take care of everything that was required. We appreciate the review and your business. Please feel free to call on us anytime you need us, and remember that we LOVE referrals! Best, Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

01/07/2018


Mary H.

They were friendly, honest, helpful, attentive, quick, and professional! They got the job done with a quickness that really impressed me. They showed me where the main shut off valve was for any problems in the future. I could tell that they cared about both my satisfaction as a customer and my safety. They let me know every detail of the breakdown of the price for emergency service and union time limits for services performed before they arrived. They even suggested, that if I could hold off, they would come on off peak time so as to save me money. They wanted to make sure that I got the best price and felt safe and satisfied. They went out of their way for me and I will be using and referring them again!

Description of Work
The main water supply valve to the hot water heaters in a 3 tenant apartment building burst.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/07/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your review and detailed feedback. We were happy to help you out in your urgent situation and thank you for recognizing that we endeavor to provide the best solutions for our customers. We appreciate your business and for choosing us as your plumber. Please feel free to call on us anytime you need us. Best, Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

11/14/2017


Janet H.

It went great. Eric had all the parts he needed with him on the truck, including the saw to get the pipe off. He replaced the needed pipes and gave me advice for the kind of new cabinet and faucet to get for the bathroom. He was very professional and I will definitely call them next time we have a problem.

Description of Work
The pipe underneath our bathroom sink broke and it was impossible to get it off.

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/13/2017

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your Grade A review and feedback of our services. We'll be sure to share your comments with Eric as our plumbers always aim to please! We were happy to provide you with some guidance on how to move forward with your bathroom project. Please DO feel free to call on us anytime and keep in mind that we ALWAYS appreciate referrals. Thanks again, Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

10/20/2017


Michael W.

I called at 9:00AM and asked if they could replace my toilet today. Stephanie was very understanding as I am in a wheelchair. She called back around 11:00 and said a guy was on his way. He came, measured the toilet, called them to tell what kind of toilet, and started work. Another guy delivered the brand new toilet and some parts and Joe replaced the toilet and some other smaller jobs. He was cheerful, polite, knowledgeable, and friendly, It was kind of expensive, but well worth it. I will use them again and I would recommend them to anyone. Michael

Description of Work
Toilet broken

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Cost $1,150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for business and we were happy to arrange a same-day appointment for you. We also appreciate the detailed feedback on your client experience from start to finish as our goal is to provide excellence in service. We appreciate the kind words regarding recommendations as we love referrals! Please feel free to call on us anytime you need us. Best, Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

10/07/2017


Daniel K.

They did a great job. I am planning to use them again.

Description of Work
I used Power Plumbing & Sewer Contractor to replace a fitting on a pipe.

Category plumbing

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for the review and "Grade A" rating. Feedback from our customers really matters to us and positive online reviews are essential to our reputation so we're grateful for yours. Please call on us anytime you need a plumber and we'd love any referrals you care to give. Thanks again! Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

09/21/2017


Alexis F.

Communication was solid!! At first I thought, man, I have to wait to get the job done, luckily my water heater decided to wait it out as well. But when Eric came out, on time and extremely polite, I knew it was worth the wait. He was exceptionally informative about what he was going to do and how he was going to do it. Explained everything while I watched, and cleaned up nicely when he finished. It was a real thorough job, he was very particular about the work he did, which lets you know he cares about the work he's doing. I'm glad they came out to do it. It's a different kind of water heater and from what I saw, I would have been lost replacing it!! Here's to years of hot water!!!!!! They'll get my business for sump pump replacement next.....

Description of Work
Water heater replacement

Category water heater repair

Cost $2,770

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We appreciate your detailed feedback and will be sure to share it with our Plumber Erik. Thank you so much for your business and the Grade A rating. We were happy to be of service to you and will be happy to replace your sump pump as soon as you're ready. Enjoy your years of wonderfully hot water! Our best to you, Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

3.0

09/13/2017


Paula C.

in retrospect, I realized that for what they did the time they spent was longer than expected and cost was too high. They gave me a quote for rerouting a plastic pipe for 8 hours for 2 people. But when they explained what they were going to do, I can't imagine it would take 8 hours let alone with 2 people. Thus, it really made me lose trust in the company.

Description of Work
toilet was closed up so they put in a new rubber seal.

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/13/2017

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your business and for taking time time to review us. As you can imagine, it can be difficult to know exactly how long a project will take until we actually have plumbers on-site to fully evaluate what needs to be done. And even given that, jobs can be significantly more complicated once they are started given the state of the existing plumbing/fixtures/etc. In regards to the quotation, we would be happy to discuss this future work needed in greater detail so you have a better understanding of why it was quoted as such. Please feel free to call our office and ask to speak to our Office Manager Rae Lynn if you'd like to do so. Best, Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

09/12/2017


Dawn S.

Erik Magni was punctual and professional and courteous. He worked efficiently and quickly. Erik had all the parts necessary to fix the toilet without having to run to a supply house. The problem was somewhat difficult to fix but he addressed the situation and my toilet works perfectly with no leaks. I kept a business card so I can request Eric the next time I need a plumber.

Description of Work
Toilet tank was leaking.

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/12/2017

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for making us your plumber of choice and your detailed feedback. We appreciate hearing about your experience and will be sure to share with our Plumber Erik. We're happy to have resolved your plumbing issue and look forward to calling on us again, next time you have any plumbing or sewer issues, and of course you can request Erik. We're proud of all of our plumbers and appreciate that our customers want to have the same pro visit. Thanks again! Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

09/06/2017


DONNA U.

Very well. They replaced the toilet after trouble-shooting. I was trying to save the old toilet, but it was not possible. I appreciated their referral to a store that had a new one in stock and got it immediately. Great service all around.

Description of Work
They fixed a leaking toilet issue quickly and professionally.

Category plumbing

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We appreciate your business! Thank you so much for taking time to review us and giving us a "Grade A" . We pride ourselves on providing the highest quality service so we're so happy that was evident to you. Please feel free to call on us anytime you need us and we always appreciate referrals to family and friends. Best to you! Power Plumbing #ChicagosPlumber

5.0

09/05/2017


Christine B.

They really lied to us. I thought they were high. I thought their expenses were high. I'm not real savvy on how much plumbers cost out there because I don't live in Chicago, this is my rental property. Their service was really good. They fixed what I asked them to fix. So, they were real efficient in scheduling. The guy showed up when he was supposed to. My question was to myself I thought the charges were high and I don't know the normal charges out there. His work was quality, it was the price I had a problem with. I would not use them again. I'm going to try someone else because of their pricing. Everything else was really good. As far as the employee that showed up, I thought he was really good and all that sort of stuff, but like I said I thought the prices were high.

Description of Work
Plumbing services.

Category plumbing