Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Northwest Plumbing Co

Founded 1939 • With Angi since January 2004

We are a family owned business for over 70 years serving Nortwest Chicago & the Northwest suburbs. We are fully licensed & bonded by the State of Illinois, we are licensed & bonded plumbing contractor by the Illinois Dept. of Public Health. We fully warrant our work & materials we provide. If you would like more information about us please visit: www.northwestplumbingcompany.com www.northwestplumbingcompany.com. Additional contact name - Jim Krueger. Award winning.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(57) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 57 reviews
Patricia M.
5.0
12/13/2017
Great! I had a toilet that needed a repair before guests arrived for a visit. Tried fixing the problem myself but it did not go well. They are my "go to" neighborhood plumber. They come on time, fix the problem, and don't overcharge. Cannot ask for more than that!
Description of Work
Replaced toilet connector
Category
plumbing
Catherine & CAROL B.
5.0
11/27/2017
Fred came promptly to replace our old bathroom faucet, and gave excellent advice about our ill-fitting bathtub valve escutcheon. Northwest Plumbing has always done good work for us.
Description of Work
Bathroom faucet replaced; information re shower escutcheon.
Category
plumbing
jeffrey S.
5.0
11/03/2017
Fixed sump pump leak (using a screwable fitting), July 2016; gave decent advice on preventing other problems.
Description of Work
sump pump leak
Category
wells
Robert W.
5.0
06/14/2017
Great guys! They were able to work around my schedule and did an excellent job. I would definitely hire again.
Description of Work
Partial stack replacement
Category
plumbing
cary B.
5.0
06/08/2017
The work was completed well. The gentleman bought two different faucet kits for me to decide. He was personable and his work was neat, quick and right on time. Good job all around. I'd rehire again.
Description of Work
Northwest Plumbing replaced my kitchen faucet / hose as well as my garbage disposal.
Category
plumbing
Wayne G.
5.0
05/25/2017
I left a message on a Sunday night and the call was returned as soon as they opened on Monday morning. They worked me into their schedule as soon as possible and the work was done quickly and professionally. Fred explained why the pump replacement was necessary rather than being able to clean out the pump and reinstall it. All around excellent service as usual.
Description of Work
Sump pump replacement (after testing to see if cleaning would suffice)
Category
plumbing
Claudia R.
5.0
05/17/2017
Fast & easy since they knew exactly how to fix the problem.
Description of Work
Valve replaced under bathroom sink.
Category
plumbing
Catherine & CAROL B.
5.0
02/13/2017
Northwest Plumbing quickly replaced the ballcock and flapper, and the toilet is working fine!
Description of Work
One of our toilets was making a hissing sound, and the tank would not fill, unless we pushed down **** ** the flapper.
Category
plumbing
Melanie F.
5.0
11/17/2015
He was on time, fast and courteous
Description of Work
Jim replaced a valve in my sprinkler system, fixed the humidifier and replaced parts on 2 bathroom faucets. And he is always willing to take the time to answer questions I have about other plumbing related issues.
Category
plumbing
Margaret H.
5.0
10/12/2015
Fred returned my call right away and was able to send someone on a day and time that was most convenient for me. His worker came on time and finished the job in 45 minutes. He replaced broken plastic bolts with brass ones, and used a thicker wax ring. He was courteous, professional and neat. Problem solved. No more leak.
Description of Work
Re-set the toilet to fix a leak from the base.
Category
plumbing
Felix M.
3.0
09/25/2015
The work went well. It was grossly overpriced and worse, the company wants to charge me again for the roding. This is a blatant violation of their "one year warranty," although the work was performed only four months ago. This is an outrage and outright fraud.
Description of Work
Installed a new sum pump in basement & roded a condensation pipe
Category
plumbing, wells

Service Provider Response

We are sorry you are "outraged". You agreed to the price for the work that "went well" before we began work. Our warranty applies to installed plumbing, fixtures and repairs to same. We don't warrant drain cleaning as we cannot monitor or control what people put down their drains, we can only unclog them. Then there is also the matter of what condition the drain piping is in and how it is installed (especially when it is in the wall). These, and other factors are all reasons we do not warrant drain cleaning.
Miljana P.
5.0
08/06/2015
The provider responded to my call quickly and agreed to come out at about 1 PM the same day.He arrived punctually. While working on the bath tub drain on the third floor it was dicovered that a rubber pipe was innapropriately installed (by someone who rennovated the bathroom) on the tub drain and the pipe was leaking badly. This was an unexpected complication and abig problem for us because it meant that the tenants would not be able to use the bathroom till the problem is fixed. Although the provider had several additional clients that day, he took the time to help me with this unexpected emergency. He was very experienced and creative and solved the problem by replacing the rubber pipe with a metal one. He also unplugged the drains on the 3rd and 2nd floors and fixed a leaky toilet on the first floor. Considering the amount of work the provided did, his price was very reasonable and I am more than satisfied with the work he performed and the price.
Description of Work
I called the provider due to plugged up bath tub drains on the 3rd and 2nd floors of our 3-flat building, and a leaky toilet on the first floor.
Category
plumbing
BERNARD S.
5.0
07/04/2015
Fred was on time. The sink drain was totally blocked, Fred removed the blockage by taking the pipe apart in the basement . He worked clean and without a mess. I am very satisfied with his work.
Description of Work
removed blockage from a kitchen drain.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
LYNETTE A.
5.0
08/02/2014
AWESOME. I've used these plumbers for years for a reason. They balance quality service with practical advice. This time, I had them out after a home inspection claimed "major plumbing issues". I'm selling the house, and the prospective buyer's inspector claimed there was a leak in the crawlspace and plumbing issues with the second floor bathtub. I quote directly from the report: "Water is leaking to the crawlspace, where copper piping was poorly patched, in small rear crawlspace. This is an inadequate patch, likely in response to a pipe that froze." "Plumbing behind & below the older 2nd fl. tub, needs to be checked by lic. plumber; much water leaked through the 1st fl. BR ceiling after this tub was filled and drained. Quantity of water likely shows this isn't merely due to overflow drain." The buyers backed out of the contract due to the inspection's "major plumbing issues". Northwest Plumbing fit me into their schedule despite my limited availability (I'm moving out-of-state and given notice at my job and my life is hectic and filled with chaos). They fixed the leak in the crawlspace and checked the bathtub. The tub is an old steel tub, and they couldn't replace the gasket without damaging the tub, but they were able to use caulk and a new overflow plate (the inspector had damaged the existing one during the inspection) to resolve the problem. The total cost of fixing these "major plumbing issues" was under $250. I tested the bathtub fix today - filled the tub to overflow... let the overflow run a while, then drained the tub. NO water in the first floor bedroom. Of course, this doesn't undo the fact the prospective buyers backed out due to inspection... but I'm prepared for the next ones! Thanks, Northwest Plumbing!
Description of Work
Repair leak in crawlspace and overflow drain in bathtub (including caulk)
Category
plumbing
Catherine & CAROL B.
5.0
07/26/2014
Fast and excellent job! Also gave good information about cleaning faucet-- vinegar takes lime deposits right off! Will definitely use this company again!
Description of Work
Repaired leaking kitchen faucet and undersink pipe which had become dislodged.
Category
plumbing
beth H.
5.0
05/14/2014
We use them regularly. The last time we used them everything was pretty much fine. Their price was within range and their quality was good.
Description of Work
Northwest Plumbing, Co., replaced our water heater in our condo building.
Category
water heater repair
Ruth A.
5.0
04/07/2014
Fred and Jim are excellent plumbers and have been in the business a long time. They are honest and fix what really needs to be fixed. I highly recommend them, and would use them for all my plumbing needs.
Description of Work
Cleared a slow drain in tub, and fixed a running toilet.
Category
plumbing
John N.
5.0
03/15/2014
Plumber arrived on time, he was very professional and completed the work and was very careful to clean up afterwards.
Description of Work
Installed hot-water recirculating pump (pump & by-pass valve provided by me) on my water tank and installed the bypass valve under bathroom sink on second floor and rodded clogged kitchen drain.
Category
plumbing
Richard D.
5.0
03/10/2014
Very efficient, neat and professional.
Description of Work
Replaced rinsing unit at kitchen sink and rodded several drains
Category
plumbing
John N.
5.0
01/22/2014
Quote just for pump. N.W. Plumbing did a great job--installed the re-circulating system & rodded the drain with no mess or fuss.
Description of Work
Cleaned clogged kitchen drain. Installed a customer supplied hot water re-circulating pump & by pass valve. Price was less than others.
Category
phone wiring, wells, drain cleaning
Shannon S.
5.0
12/03/2013
Mr. Krueger was extremely accommodating on the phone to set up the appointment, was on time, efficient & very personable. I would highly recommend them and will use them in the future.
Description of Work
Had a severe clog in the bathroom sink. Water would not drain at all. Tried plunging & over the counter drain cleaners to no avail.
Category
drain cleaning
Ellen W.
5.0
12/02/2013
He came when he said he would come, did the job quickly and neatly, and was very good. I particularly appreciated that he came the morning I called, rather than making me wait 2-3 days.
Description of Work
He replaced a leaking pipe for my kitchen sink.
Category
plumbing
ILEEN L.
5.0
11/29/2013
It's Sunday night and I discover standing water in my furnace room by the drain. Monday morning, I'm on the phone calling a number of plumbers and handymen. Thank goodness I called Northwest Plumbing because they were able to respond to the emergency situation and come out two hours later-- no one else was even sure they could guarantee to make out that day. They were fast, professional and competitively priced. They are now my go-to plumbing company.
Description of Work
Replaced the ejector pump
Category
plumbing
Shannan M.
5.0
10/14/2013
He did an excellent job. The new configuration works better and also gives me more storage space under the sink. He was prompt, friendly, competent and professional.
Description of Work
Fixed a leak under the kitchen sink and reconfigured and replaced a few pipe segments.
Category
plumbing
Robert H.
5.0
08/12/2013
They are fabulous. I give them all A's.
Description of Work
Plumbing
Category
drain cleaning

Other local Pros in your area

G. Angel Sewer Service

G. Angel Sewer Service is family owned and operated since 1964. We provide professional, expert, and friendly sewer service for your home. No job is too big, or too small. Call us today for a free estimate! Servicing the greater Chicagoland area for over 55 years. our mission statement is Value driven through fair and reasonable pricing, quality workmanship and peace of mind warranties. We pride ourselves on the name of Angel. We are not a Spanish speaking company.  

Angi Certified

DRF Water Heating Solutions

***As a recognized Essential Services Business, WE ARE OPEN to assist you with your water heater and plumbing needs!*** DRF is Chicagoland's leading installer of tankless and conventional hot water heaters. We are also specialists in tankless water heaters. DRF Water Heating Solutions is licensed in plumbing, RPZ/Backflow prevention and irrigation/sprinkler systems. DRF is a utility company trade ally that provides energy efficiency assessments and improvements to residential, commercial and multi-familty properties with guaranteed financial and energy savings. 2009 national Home Depot Service Provider of the Year. 2010 recipient of the the Business Ledger’s Annual Awards for Business Excellence. Better Business Bureau A+ rating. 2011 and 2012 Home Depot Store Choice Mechanical Service Provider of the Year. Recognized by Nicor Gas Energy Efficiency Program and Energy Solutions Center for custom energy-saving design-build solutions. IDPH plumbing license # 055-028138. Call by 2 p.m. weekdays or noon on Saturdays and have your service performed the same day. 24-hour emergency service.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Four Seasons Heating & Air Conditioning

Four Seasons Heating, Air Conditioning, and Plumbing began as a father-son business operating out of a Chicago garage in 1971. They went from home to home repairing furnaces and air conditioners with the goal of offering their customers honest and competent service. No extra charge for 24 hr emergency service. Additional contacts: Chicago 773-413-1505 & 773-413-1028, South suburbs 708-406-3002, Southwest suburbs 815-306-2471, West suburbs 630-210-3352, North & Northwest 847-201-3222 , Northwest Indiana 219-228-8606, and (866) 444-2404. Additional emails - cs@fourseasons-chicago.com, customer.service@fourseasons-chicago.com, fs@fourseasons-chicago.com. Additional fax numbers- 773-284-9484, 847-783-0400. Additional contact names - David Musial. Additional DBAs - Four Seasons Heating, Air Conditioning and Plumbing, Four Seasons Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc., Four Seasons Heating & Air.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

4375 N Elston Ave

Chicago, IL 60641

Other Information

Services Not Offered

No well or septic work.

Payment options

MasterCard
Check
Visa
American Express
Discover
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Northwest Plumbing Co is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Northwest Plumbing Co is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Northwest Plumbing Co accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Visa, American Express, Discover

Yes, Northwest Plumbing Co offers free project estimates.

Yes, Northwest Plumbing Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Northwest Plumbing Co does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Northwest Plumbing Co offers warranties.

Northwest Plumbing Co offers the following services: Full plumbing.