Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc

Founded 1988 • With Angi since September 2002

4.4

(48) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6402 W Raven St

Chicago, IL 60631

Description

Free Estimates! Affordable prices - High quality work! Special discount for senior citizens. Member of Better Business Bureau....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/13/2017


Sarah K.

Robert, the project manager, and his crew were prompt, responsive, helpful, tidy and fast. The project could not have gone better and we look forward to working with them on related projects soon.

Description of Work
They opened up 4 bricked-in windows in our warehouse and installed glass block.

Category concrete repair,masonry,replacement windows,garage builders

4.0

06/27/2016


stephen F.

I like them. It was $4000 but it included some stone work. I like their work and of course I would call them again because I have a lot of stone and face brick and stuff in this building. But, they do seem to be a little high priced.

Description of Work
They pulled out some bricks and they rebuilt the wall.

Category masonry

5.0

11/30/2015


Sharon A.

Very good. Great group on guys, very professional my husband and I were very pleased with the job.

Description of Work
We had loose bricks under that they replaced and they put a ledge under a window in the second floor bathroom that didn't have one before.

Category masonry

5.0

11/04/2015


Randall K.

A neighbor recommended Mark's Tuckpointing to me saying they had done good work for them at a reasonable price. I completely agree and was not only quite satisfied with the work performed, but thought the entire process from initial estimates to final invoicing was done professionally and very well. I had gotten estimates from 3 or 4 other firms, and Mark's was competitive with the best of them. What stood out was that their estimate was the most comprehensive without leaving room for differences of opinion or misunderstanding. I worked with Peter, a representative of the firm, during this process and thought he did a fine job in working with me on final details and getting the work started. They were able to start the job within 2 weeks of my signing the contract and completed in just under 3 days. A full-time crew of 3 headed by Casey did the actual tuckpointing which was very thorough and left me quite pleased with the workmanship and the way they handled the job. For instance, at one point the scaffolding couldn't be moved because of a neighbor's gutter being in the way, and without missing a beat, Casey improvised and was able to use a ladder on the neighbor's porch (with their permission) to create a makeshift scaffold. It took about 10 extra minutes and allowed them to get to a difficult spot. I thought they also did a thorough job in the places where "spot" tuckpointing was needed. About 50-60 new bricks were needed in areas where not only the mortar but bricks had badly deteriorated. They seemed to have addressed all of these bad spots. The crew cleaned up at the end of each day and seemed to do everything well. I really can't think of anything I would have had them do differently and would definitely recommend them to others.

Description of Work
They did complete tuckpointing on the top third of both sides of a 3 story building and spot tuckpointing in other areas on the sides and front.

Category masonry,alterations

5.0

06/26/2015


Brandon W.

They were very good. Quick work, though a bit messy--when I mentioned the mess they came out a second time and cleaned it up. After the tuckpointing my wife and I noticed some missed portions and sent photos to Mark. The guys came out a third time to fix it and then Mark did a visual inspection with us. We were having small flooding problems with our foundation before the work, and during the job the workers (with very little english) explained to me that the slate flagstones that lined our foundation were causing much of the problem. With our permission, they removed all the flagstones, mortared the seam between the bricks and the foundation, and 99% of our problem disappeared. We are looking at having some more work done by them including repairing the original gas fireplace and raising the concrete outside our back door. We will definitely work with them again.

Description of Work
Chiseled out and Tuckpointed both common brick sides of our 1920s-era bungalow in Berwyn. We elected to break up the tuckpointing needed on our house and garage, as well as the rebuilding of the wing walls on our front steps. The overall cost was estimated at $14000. We told Mark (our rep) that we needed to break it up due to cost, and they immediately sent me a new estimate broken down by item. Mark was (generally) very prompt, but was always perfectly honest. This was the only company that gave me a specific plan to repair our wing walls that didn't include complete demolition and replacement with bricks that didn't match our existing ones.

Category concrete repair,masonry,alterations,doors

5.0

05/27/2015


Ruth G.

He did a very good job at a reasonable price.

Description of Work
Gave me a cement sidewalk and replaced cement stairs.

Category concrete repair

5.0

01/20/2014


Larry G.

Not only did they have the best pricing out of all we got bids for, they were able to come out within about a week of signing the contract. They were very easy to work with and the work done was done in a timely matter (especially for Nov/Dec weather conditions) with good quality.

Description of Work
Mark's tuckpointed our commercial building, replaced several lintels and parapets.

Category masonry

1.0

06/14/2013


John D.

We initially had Mark's come out because several of the windows were leaking. We're now getting leaking around several other doors and the roof. We had a building inspector come out and several other tuckpointers. The other tuckpointers and building inspector immediately noticed that they used caulk all over our building. The building inspector stated you should never use caulk on a masory building and in several location pealed away the caulk with his hands and showed the masory work falling apart. Additionally, the pertpet wall was tested and it was clearly not seal coated which was within the scope. Mark's Tuckpointing caused more harm to our building by trapping the water in the masory by putting caulk all over the building. I highly recommend not using Mark's tuckpoint.

Description of Work
Tuckpointing work on 3 sides of the building and the parapet wall

Category masonry

1.0

11/04/2012


John D.

Do not use Mark's Tuckpointing. See below for details. Mark's estimate of $3,500 was the average estimate we received from several contractors. They completed the roofing work in October of 2010. Prior to completing the work we had no issues; we hired them for preventative maintenance. Less than 3 months later, our roof starting leaking. We had Mark's come back out to review the problem. They suggested to get the building seal coated. We reminded Mark's that they seal coated the building the building two years ago for over $15K. They said they couldn't figure out why our roof was leaking. I had 2 other roofers review the work. They both said it was the sloppiest work they'd ever seen. Both roofers noted a soft spot on my roof that when you stepped on it water came out. Both roofers said the water was coming from here and the roof needed to be ripped up and repair the damage under the roofing material. After Mark's came out to the review the work, they stopped returning my calls and cancelled multiple follow up appointments. When they finally came back, Mark's said they would patch the area to stop the leak. I told them they needed to repair the damage they caused. Mark's said the repair would be too expensive and they could fix the damage they caused. They haven't called me back to discuss repair options. Don't waste your time or hard earned money. They took a perfectly good roof and maid it leak and now they won't come back to fix the problem.

Description of Work
We hired Mark's Tuckpointing to do the following roofing items for our 6 flat condo building. Eliminate the pooling of water around the downspouts Patch several spots around the roof that needed preventative maintenance Paint the roof with a metallic coating, Mark's Tuckpointing said it would increase the useful life of the roof

Category masonry,roofing

5.0

08/23/2012


DENISE P.

They did an excellent job in a timely manner at a very fair price. If there was one thing I would change it would be the grout (cement) color they used when putting the bricks back in place and the sealant applied around my flashing and green house windows. The color is slightly lighter cpmpared to what was undisturbed. That said, I would highly recommend Mark's. They went far beyond my expectations.

Description of Work
Prior to installing new windows, I was advised to get much needed masonry work down around each window. I invited five companies, three from Angie's List, to take a look at the work needed to be done and to submit a bid. Mark's immediately noticed and advised I needed far more work than just masonry. The steal beams above each window opening were deteriorating, many cracks other than those around the windows were visible, and I had no weeps below any of the windows. Mark's submitted a bid to correct all these problems, plus seal my entire house when the work was completed. They removed several rows of bricks above and below each window to restore the steal beams, which they managed to do, and install weeps.

Category masonry

4.0

08/10/2012


Stephen S.

They were a little messy but did good work.

Description of Work
We hired them for some tuck pointing work.

Category concrete repair

5.0

05/02/2012


LEAH O.

They arrived on Monday and Finished on Tuesday. The old bricks were removed carefully, so they could be reused. The morter used was a perfict color match, so you can bearly tell anything was changed. The new lintels were thicker than the old ones that were removed. Everything was cleaned up after the work was finished. This is the second time we have had work done by Mark's Tuckpointing. We picked them because of the excellent job they did on the building their office is in. The building had been emplty for years. Since the building is near our home, we watched as the repair work was done. Now it looks like a clasic Chicago yellow brick store front again. They know how to repair brick buildings without loosing the buildings original character.

Description of Work
Replaced 8 window lintels. Bricks above the windows were removed, the old rusted steal lintels were removed and replaced. Bricks were replaced and several cracks were tuchpointed.

Category masonry

5.0

02/23/2012


LORI H.

They were amazing. They redid our two sides of our brownstone. They were quick. They make sure that the timing of their work would coincide with traffic and the neighborood, since it involves scaffolding. They are very hard working. They were very trustworthy, like the old-fashioned days. The prices are very competitive for the service.

Description of Work
We had an old brownstone that needed the facade needed to be redone.

Category concrete repair

5.0

02/07/2012


Jason B.

Overall, the work turned out great!

Description of Work
They completed tuck pointing.

Category masonry

5.0

01/30/2012


LARRY E.

We were pleased with all aspects of working with Mark's.

Description of Work
We had a slow leak above a set of [3] windows in our sunroom, top floor. Mark's found the solution to be less work than expected so the contract price was reduced appropriately. Replacing lintels was not needed. They tuckpointed where necessary and secured flashing on the roof.

Category masonry,remodeling

5.0

09/15/2011


Cheryl M.

We contacted this company to pour concrete for a new patio and to repair siding on the addition of our house. We left a message and heard back from someone that afternoon. A gentleman named Dan came out to our house a day or two later to give us an estimate. We were really impressed with his knowledge and especially his candid suggestions to what we could or should not do. He listened to our short-term and long-term goals (we plan to remodel in a few years) and gave us some good ideas. We did not use them because their cost was higher than what we wanted to spend on a temporary fix. We will, however, keep his card for when we are ready to remodel.

Description of Work
Contacted this company to pour a concrete patio and repair siding. We did not use them but will keep their card for the future.

Category concrete repair,siding

5.0

09/02/2011


Katharine W.

His price was reasonable. He came out and he was helpful. He did some extra repairs on the stuccos and didn’t charge me for that. The best thing was that I was able to hook him up with the roofer who was doing the copper work. They worked together on the job. Each one did their jobs. He took down the limes tones and then roofer had to come in. and put the copper to the limestone. They communicated well with each other. They worked together and it went well. I would use him in the future.

Description of Work
I used Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc in last fall. They took stone caps from a repair pit wall. They fixed the wall.

Category masonry,remodeling

5.0

05/12/2011


Katharine W.

Their work was great. Their price was very reasonable compared to other prices I found when I was shopping around. They were punctual and great overall.

Description of Work
They removed some limestone caps on the walls of our sun porch so we could put copper underneath later. The limestone was absorbing water and creating a leak. After the other provider dealt with the copper, they put the limestone back.

Category masonry

5.0

04/28/2011


Sandor W.

I cannot say enough great things about Mirek and his crew, who I refer as artists! Mirek was by far the most thorough of the 4 estimates we got on our building. His price was completely fair. He said the work would take 4 days, and it did. His guys cleaned up our 80 year building, which has looked better. They replaced 7 lintels, ripped out decaying bricks, tuckpointed, fixed the flashing on the garage gutters, and probably additional things I am forgetting. Honestly, I keep asking friends, "Need any masonry work done? I know someone..."

Description of Work
Lintel replacement. Brickwork. Tuckpointing. Gutter flashing.

Category masonry,roofing

5.0

04/18/2011


John D.

They did a great job. They were willing to extend assistance to us after the service. They even came back out and touched up some spots for us. We are planning on having our building sealed every 5 years and we will definitely use Mark's again. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
They seal coated our brick for us. They also cauked and sealed windows and doors.

Category masonry

5.0

02/04/2011


Bernadette S.

He was very prompt, professional and had the best price. He made it look very blended and it looks great.

Description of Work
He repaired some tuck pointing for me.

Category masonry,roofing,chimney repair

5.0

01/25/2011


Keith A.

Mark was recommended to our association by a neighbor. We were pleased with his estimate and the work done, as well as to the contractor's responsiveness before, during, and after the work. We were considering a tear off or a new layer, and felt Mark's advice was consistent with other contractors we interviewed. We formerly had a problem with ice on our back stairs due to a too-small gutter, but have had no issues this winter.

Description of Work
Laid new bitumen roof layer on 6 flat condominium. Repaired 2 chimneys. Examined and repaired front and side parapet wells (tuckpointing and replacing bricks). Replaced gutters and downspouts with new standard-size fixtures.

Category gutter repair,masonry,roofing,chimney repair

2.0

12/28/2010


LAURA M.

It was fairly easy to make an appointment. He ( Dan) arrived on time and was nice. I asked him what he thought and he said he'd get back to me later that day. Well two weeks later I still hadn't heard back. I spoke with him and he said he'd look for the estimate and e-mail it to me. That was over a week ago. I think that was very unproffessional and I certainly don't want to hire someone like that.

Description of Work
Came out to give an estimate on repairing a few leaks.

Category masonry

5.0

12/02/2010


PENNY K.

EXCELLENT - Mark was very very patient during our long process of construction Is very through in his explanation of the construction process, i.e., when materials are coming, estimated time of when work would be completed. Always answered our calls when we had questions

Description of Work
Tuckpointing and re-construction of structure in the front of the house Remodeling of dining room (water damage on wall from leak in chimney) New garage roof (removed all old materials and installed new shingles) New flashing on chimney on the garage and the house Installed Attic fan for ventilation Removed old and replaced with new concrete stairs in front of house

Category concrete repair,masonry,remodeling,roofing,siding,chimney repair,pressure washing,woodworking,house painters,interior painters

4.0

10/04/2010


Diane J.

Was very happy with the brick work - crew always showed up on time. Professional, work went quickly. Crew cleaned up completely every day. I was missing a couple of pieces of siding on one side of back porch, and they replaced it and did a lot of caulking around some windows/door. The gutters look good and are well installed but aren't entirely properly sloped toward the downspouts (there's a drip at one corner of the house). Also, none of the crew spoke English so it was difficult to discuss any issues other than by phone. Gutter crew just showed up one Saturday morning - no advance warning. Overall, good job though, I'd use them again, especially for brick work and the glass block windows Looks great.

Description of Work
Marks did some tuckpointing and rebuilt part of a brick wall of my house. They also replaced several old basement windows with glass block and replaced all the gutters/soffit/facia.

Category gutter repair,masonry

    Other local Pros in your area

    JC & Son Masonry Inc

    8-10 employees. No subs. cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service fees. May contact through email. Additional contact: Jake.  

    AAA-1 Masonry & Tuckpointing Inc

    Specialists in masonry restoration and building preservation since 1954. Licensed masons. Thousands of references. Fully Insured. Free written quotation for work in writing. Extensive knowledge of all aspects of masonry restoration work: mortar repair; parapet wall rebuilding; lintel replacement; chimneys; cleaning, caulking and sealing; and terra cotta/GFRC work. We are just as comfortable fixing your landmarked 100-year-old home as we are grinding, tuckpointing and sealing your 50-unit condominium building. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No extra charge for after-hours service. 65 years of continuous service. Preferred mason contractor of architects and structural engineers. Very informative website found at www.AAA1Masonry.com. Send all inquiries to Info@AAA1Masonry or Robert@AAA1Masonry.com  

    Offers by AAA-1 Masonry & Tuckpointing Inc on Angi
    Calzante Construction

    Whether you’re looking for a Chicago masonry contractor for new construction, or a Chicago masonry specialist to do some repair work such as tuckpointing, brickwork or stonework to your existing home or business, Calzante Construction is a name you can trust. We are professionals that manage all aspects of your job to ensure it’s completed on schedule and to your satisfaction!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling specializes in Tuckpointing, Brickwork, Masonry (City Violations Correcting), Lintel Replacement, Pressure Cleaning, Sandblasting, Waterproofing, Chimney Repair, Windows, Glass Blocks, Cement Walks & Steps, Roofing, Gutters, Siding, Soffit & Fascia, Painting, Porches, Dormers, Decks, Caulking & Sealing, and Complete Remodeling. Residential & Commercial General Contractor

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc

    How is Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc overall rated?

    Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc open?

    Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc provide

    Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc?

    Yes, Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc offer?

    Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling Co Inc offers the following services: Mark's Tuckpointing & Remodeling specializes in Tuckpointing, Brickwork, Masonry (City Violations Correcting), Lintel Replacement, Pressure Cleaning, Sandblasting, Waterproofing, Chimney Repair, Windows, Glass Blocks, Cement Walks & Steps, Roofing, Gutters, Siding, Soffit & Fascia, Painting, Porches, Dormers, Decks, Caulking & Sealing, and Complete Remodeling. Residential & Commercial General Contractor