Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION

Founded 1982 • With Angi since October 2005

4.6

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5704 N MEADE AVE FL 2

Chicago, IL 60646

Description

I've been in business 28 years and have a small detail oriented group of guys who have been with me for as little as 5 years and as many as 19 years!

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
VANCE D.
1.0
05/23/2014
David' Kaye (professional name) was ask to bid on a bathroom remolding job. He is a likeable man who calls himself "..sort of a hippie.," because of hair and friendly informal manner. His style reminded of the best builder I have ever worked with years ago; his references were all good, and he even called me after submitting the proposal to be sure I had it and/or had questions. Unfortunately,to my surprise, he never followed through on the proposal we had agreed upon. He submitted an incomplete building appliation to my condo association. Rather than finding out what was needed from them to get the project started, he would call me to report on the trouble, rather than resolving them or offering solutions as I expexted a General Contractor to do. After two months of this he called recently to say his orignal proposal was based on his "off-season rates", and if we still wanted to continue he had to increase his costs by 15% plus find another licensed plumber because his orignial plumber didn't want to do the job anymore. Back to square one! He was big disapointment, and maybe dishonest. He has not called back in weeks and we have moved on to other Angie's List contractors who are more professional. ,
Description of Work
NOTHING
Category
remodeling
CAROL C.
4.0
04/15/2013
unknown
Description of Work
Referred to my friend. She was very happy with the work that was done. I do not know how much it cost, but she was very satisfied with the bathroom work that was done and never referred to the price. Very happy customer.
Category
ceramic tile, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling
B P.
5.0
03/25/2013
We hired Dave Kaye Construction to repair, repaint and restore multiple rooms in our 1920's bungalow. Replastering the damaged walls was beyond our budget but the drywall repairs done by this company look great. They stripped off old paint and refinished the natural oak trim on 10 windows. New oak trim was installed where the original baseboards and other trim had been removed by the previous owners. Much of the new trim had to be custom made by the finish carpenter. We absolutely love the amazing results. They took great care in matching the stain color of an area of previously refinished oak trim. Dave was very responsive to all of our questions and concerns. He was on time for our appointments. All of the people who work with him were prompt, reliable and a pleasure to have around. The construction took over most of our house for over a month. They were here very nearly every single day and work proceeded as quickly as it could have, Still, it took a couple of weeks longer that we'd originally expected, but it was worth it. Working with such nice, accommodating, professional people made it easier to cope with the inevitable feeling of chaos.
Description of Work
Work done in 5 major rooms, plus a bathroom, a foyer, a long hall and stairs: Repaired and patched plaster walls with drywall. Painted all walls and ceilings. Stripped old paint from multiple windows and a few other places. Made custom oak trim pieces for baseboards and two doorways. All trim was stained and varnished.
Category
home remodeling
James W.
5.0
10/05/2012
Very professional. A little on the high side but I got what I paid for. I would recommend them to anyone. They are very trustworthy. They came on time.
Description of Work
Painting, drywall, cabinetry, doors, touched up some previous mistakes others made in my bathroom, ran some wiring for my internet/cable. Also installed some lighting.
Category
custom cabinets, drywall, electrician, handyman service, lighting, remodeling, home remodeling, doors
Chris M.
5.0
01/12/2012
Good
Description of Work
I a repeat customer. He has done serval things on my home.
Category
handyman service, masonry, plumbing, remodeling
Bonnie H.
4.0
03/21/2011
He was very nice, my interaction was very positive. David was very good and very nice, I liked him a lot and his estimate was reasonable. I didn't end up using him because I had another contractor come up with a better way to reconfigure my kitchen. I thought he was a very nice person, he seemed like a decent, honest person. He seemed reasonable, his estimate was pretty much what I expected. I had confidence that he was knowledgeable in his craft. Everything what he said was good except he didn't have the creativity for solving my kitchen problem that I was looking for.
Description of Work
I got an estimate from them for a major kitchen project.
Category
closet systems, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I don't get it,......how do 3 A ratings add up to a B?
REBECCA F.
3.0
03/10/2011
The end result was decent, but they forgot to seal the tile in our bath tub. We ended up having to do it ourselves. The tile we used was slate so it's a natural stone but they ended up breaking a lot of it while they were using it. The end result was great, we thought they were a little on the expensive side for what we got. The guy told us it was his first tile job with the company, we were concerned but it turned out okay.
Description of Work
David Kaye redid our master bath. They redid some tiling, installed a granite counter and a new vanity. They also installed new lighting.
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I can't believe this is a real response. For starters all my tile guys are veterans of at least 8 yrs. Also the quality of the tile is what determines how much breakage there is. I disagree whole heartedly.
Ralph H.
4.0
01/21/2011
David was very courteous, he answered his phone calls, he was punctual and he was very thorough in asking questions and looking through the jobs as well as confirming it all. He was fairly quick in getting back to me, it only took a week or to get the estimate back. All of that went really well, he was a little late but I wouldn't ding him for that. Everything else went well. It seemed like he really knew what he was doing and he worked with a lot of good providers that I was interested in and that sort of thing so I would definitely give him a shot.
Description of Work
David Kaye gave me an estimate for a bath remodel. It would include tile, a shower door rehabbed and two surface mount medicine cabinets installed. Also the installation for adding one recepticle.
Category
custom cabinets, ceramic tile, home remodeling, doors
Kevin H.
4.0
01/20/2011
I think they were sort of in the middle with the estimate. My trust level was not very good and so I have not gone with them yet. I am looking into other things as well. I feel I am neutral right now, and I don?t have a strong opinion about them right now. I will consider using them may be next time.
Description of Work
I got an estimate from David Kaye Construction last year for bathroom remodeling.
Category
home remodeling
Niti S.
5.0
06/24/2010
They were prompt, professional, and courteous. The pricing was a bit higher than others, so we chose someone else. We would call them again if needed.
Description of Work
They gave me an estimate for remodeling two bathrooms.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Nancy B.
5.0
03/21/2010
Just great! Looks beautiful.
Description of Work
Gutted back porch room, put in 7 ft. triple window, insulated, drywalled, installed floating Pergo floor, removed door and window and drywalled pass-through, put glass in transom, brought in ductwork, installed exterior door
Category
drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, doors
MICHAEL G.
4.0
03/04/2010
He was very professional and punctual. He was pleasant and I thought his price was fair as well as in line with other estimates we recieved.
Description of Work
David Kaye Construction gave us an estimate for a gut rehab of a bathroom. He was going to take out all the walls and the ceiling. We were going to have new plumbing and electrical put in as well as a new medicine cabinet, drywall and tiling.
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, plumbing, home remodeling
DAVID Z.
5.0
11/10/2009
Positives: - Dave did the work for a great price - Dave is a laid back fellow and is easy to get along with - Dave's demo and drywall guys were fantastic. Especially the drywall guy. Negatives: - Dave's electrician did not properly predict what the inspector would want, then skipped town during the inspection, causing much headache. I'm not sure whether Dave will use him again, but I would hope that he does not. His name is Ram. - Dave's flooring guys were almost a disaster. I actually caught them disobeying explicit instructions on multiple occasions, and had to carefully repeat to them what I needed done, and they still didn't do it right in the end. I think this was a language problem. In addition, this group of flooring subcontractors were very careless in their sanding job, taking several chunks out of the wall in one of the rooms. I will never work with them again, and I hope Dave doesn't either. The subcontractor is John's Hardwood Floors. - Dave tends to avoid writing things down during the project as scope changes and expenses are likely to change. His perspective is that this tends to slow things down, and when he accounts for things at the end of the project things tend to work out. In retrospect I shouldn't have gone along with this, and regretted it, as he and I were about $500 off in terms of what I thought I should pay. We worked something out, and I would use Dave again, but I would be much more careful about specifying all project changes in writing. - I was there on-site for the whole project; as a result I caught a lot of little things that went wrong and corrected them. Dave was not there. I would not use Dave's services again unless he committed to being there throughout the project or unless I was going to be there like I was for this project. - Dave almost never answers his phone, though he does respond to voice mails. This drove me crazy for a while, but I got used to it. In summary, I would definitely use Dave again -- but I would be careful about writing things down as the project changed, and I would probably not use Ram the electrician again and would never use John's Hardwood Flooring again. Also, I would advise other Angie's list members that they should expect this kind of thing for this price -- Dave is able to save money by not being on-site to manage people all the time, and he passes the savings on to you, which is fantastic, but if you want to use someone for this kind of price point you need to expect to supervise some of the work yourself.
Description of Work
Dave was the general contractor for a team of professionals who did the following: - demo the kitchen, removing most of several walls, the cabinets, counter top, some floor covering, appliances, and wall paper. This effort included hauling waste to the dump - wire all electrical for the kitchen, including drilling into the basement through a concrete subfloor, doing additional demo for electrical, removing all existing electrical, and running new conduits and circuits throughout - repairing, sanding, and finishing the hardwood floor in the kitchen and one other room - drywalling all affected areas once plumbing was complete (plumbing was completed by a third party)
Category
custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, wallpaper removal, home remodeling
Chris M.
5.0
07/24/2009
Project went well. It was a failry big project, and completed in about 3 days, including excavation, and new concrete.
Description of Work
Installation of sump pump, irragation piping, and drains
Category
basement waterproofing, wells
Chris M.
5.0
07/24/2009
Dave did a great job rebuilding my chimney for a very reasonable price.
Description of Work
Chimney rebuild.
Category
masonry, chimney repair
Elizabeth G H.
5.0
01/03/2008
Work went well. Tile man was excellent as we had to try to match tiles already on floor. He did a great job and the shower works well. The plumber also gotten through Kaye was excellent.
Description of Work
A bathroom remodel--tub was removed and a tile shower was added including new fixtures and matching tiles on the floor.
Category
ceramic tile, plumbing, home remodeling
BARBARA C.
4.0
09/19/2007
The service helped conclude our bathroom remodeling and he did a good job. There was difficulty in setting up an appointment with the company but the installer was pretty good. I would recommend him to others for their remodeling projects.
Description of Work
I had bought some countertops for my 2 bathrooms and needed them installed. The countertops are several feet long each and are Corian. One person came out to install them but don t remember how much he charged me for the service.
Category
countertops
ERIC H.
5.0
05/14/2007
They did an excellent job! The workers were very neat. Dave was very responsive to our concerns and always responded promptly to phone calls. They job was completed within a reasonable time frame. After completion, they were prompt in returning to fix a few odds and ends. We would definitely recommend this company and are very likely to use them again for any other project that should arise.
Description of Work
David Kaye Construction remodeled a small bathroom. They removed the bath tub and built a walk in stall shower. They also removed and replaced the tile floor, toilet, and sink & counter top. They also repaired walls, and painted.
Category
home remodeling
FRED S.
4.0
03/30/2007
David came out and gave us an estimate. David was a nice guy and was very professional. He gave us some advice as well. We felt the estimate was a little high so we went with another contractor. The estimate was just for the labor portion.
Description of Work
Gut entire small bathroom, put cement board and drywall up, tile floor and walls, put in new tub, toilet, sink, light fixture, and medicine cabinet.
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I ENJOYED MEETING WITH THIS MEMBER AND HIS FAMILY AND NEED TO PRICE THINGS ACCORDING TO THE TIME AND QUALITY WE ARE USED TO PROVIDING OUR CUSTOMERS.
NANCY B.
5.0
10/04/2006
They were a pleasure to work with. Nothing that we wanted changed or improved was a problem, and any costs were decided in advance. We wound up with a beautiful professional kitchen without any problems and only a good experience. How many people can say that about their project?! I still hire them for work needed on the 2-flat.
Description of Work
They did excellent quality work for total kitchen and bath renovation. They gutted the kitchen, extended it, put in all electric, drywalled, added a pantry, added a large 3-pc window, laid maple floors, put in cabinets, put in a granite countertop, hung all lighting, fixtures, and did all plumbing and ductwork.
Category
countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, replacement windows, home remodeling
KIRK M.
5.0
09/26/2006
Dave K runs a top notch remodeling firm. His proposal was very competitive and his style seemed very flexible (which I thought would be very important on such a complex and lengthy project). He has about a dozen employees who will work on large projects. He usually has several projects going so he will stop by each project usually once per day. If you are particular, it is good to try to meet him at that time to briefly review the next phase of the project. Even if you don't meet him if something is not to your liking, he is very reasonable to make sure it gets done the way you want it. Overall, the kitchen came out great and compared to many of the experiences I have with other contractors on different projects(not to mention the stories about disaster kitchen contractors). I would definitely recommend Dave K for Price, quality and responsiveness.
Description of Work
Total gut remodeling of Kitchen. New drywall, new/replacement electrical, new cabinets, new floor, new walls to frame closet, new windows & new skylight.
Category
custom cabinets, drywall, electrician, replacement windows, home remodeling
GRETCHEN & PHIL T.
5.0
10/26/2005
WHILE I DID NOT WORK WITH DAVE I WOULD EXPECT HIM TO BE THOROUGH AND COURTEOUS. HIS MANNER THOUGH THE BID PROCESS WAS FRIENDLY AND PROFESSIONAL - EVEN OFFERING UNSOLICITED FREE ADVICE ON OTHER ITEMS AROUND THE HOUSE.
Description of Work
DAVE DID NOT PERFORM THE WORK. I ASKED HIM TO BID ON THE JOB. HIS PRICE WAS PERFECTLY FAIR (RIGHT AROUND OTHER PROVIDERS). I DID NOT HIRE HIM ONLY BECAUSE HE COULD NOT START FOR 4 WEEKS AND I WANTED THE JOB DONE SOONER.
Category
doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Lows Contracting LLc

    Electrical and handyman. We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    OSMONDSON ROOFING & MASONRY INC

    We are a family owned & operated business serving Chicago & Suburbs since 1979. We Specialize in Residential Roofing, Shingle Repairs, Exterior Demolition Work, Exterior Rough Carpentry, Masonry Work; (Brick Chimney Rebuilds & Removals). Osmondson Roofing Inc. Has Been Approved By Owens Corning To Be A Preferred Contractor. We Are Confident That We Will Deliver The Finest Installation Available And Look Forward To Serving You. Ask us for a free estimate! For the quickest response, please call us at 773-725-2422; if we miss you please leave a message and we will call back asap!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    RICE MASONRY CONST CO INC

    Owner operated with 39 yrs of restoration and new construction experience. I personally oversee all projects,no subcontractors. We perform outstanding quality work, we are OSHA safety certified. and have the best guarantee in the industry. Rice masonry is a fully licensed and insured masonry and tuckpointing company with 10 highly skilled employees  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    We offer all inclusive service for REMODELING KITCHENS, BATHS, ADDITIONS, DORMERS, OFFICES & BASEMENTS. CUSTOM CARPENTRY, TILE & MASONRY. Also PAINTING AND HANDYMAN SERVICES. Landlords love our cost effectiveness.

    Services Not Offered

    HVAC

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION

    How is DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION overall rated?

    DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION open?

    DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION provide

    DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION offer free estimates?

    Yes, DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION offers free project estimates.

    Does DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION offer a senior discount?

    No, DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION does not offer a senior discount.

    Does DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION offer emergency services?

    Yes, DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION?

    No, DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION does not offer warranties.

    What services does DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION offer?

    DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION offers the following services: We offer all inclusive service for REMODELING KITCHENS, BATHS, ADDITIONS, DORMERS, OFFICES & BASEMENTS. CUSTOM CARPENTRY, TILE & MASONRY. Also PAINTING AND HANDYMAN SERVICES. Landlords love our cost effectiveness.

    Are there any services DAVID KAYE CONSTRUCTION does not offer?

    HVAC