Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Chicago Porch Authority Inc

4.5

(54) Verified Reviews

Founded 2000 • With Angi since September 2007

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Saturday
Closed

Phone Number

Address

5821 N Glenwood Ave

Chicago, IL 60660

http://www.chicagoporchauthority.com

Description

Chicago Porch Authority has been Chicago's most trusted contracting company since 1991. We specialize in constructing, repairing, and restoring porches, backyard and rooftop decks, and balconies in the Chicagoland area. From constructing high rise commercial projects, to fixing code violations, CPA services all types of decks and porches....

Verified Reviews

4.5

(54) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

35

4

3

3

2

2

5

1

9

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

decks & porches (51)woodworking (6)deck cleaning (3)door installation (1)
Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews
5.0

02/25/2022


William K.

Frank did an excellent job in replacing our old worn out porch with an excellent new one. He had a number of good recommendations around design of the privacy wall and was very clear in communicating progress throughout the project. When a few adjustments needed to be made at the end he was very accommodating to support. I highly recommend his services for anyone looking for similar work.

Description of Work
Tear down old deck, patch roof, install new deck with privacy wall

Category decks

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed]. It was such a pleasure working with you.
2.0

08/28/2020


Hank S.

The came and did a very comprehensive analysis of the porch and said they would provide an estimate within a week. I had to email to ask for the estimate, then it took a coupe of days and they reported a high figure with no details. Clearly they were busy did not want the job.

Description of Work
Rebuild of porch replacing cedar with Trek

Category decks

Work Completed On 08/28/2020

5.0

08/04/2020


Tom M.

Frank and his team did a wonderful job on our garden level patio. They demoed the old patio, removed the old pavers, put up Trex flooring, a new accent wall, and a new fence. It is exactly as we wanted and Frank was a pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
Garden Level Patio Renovation

Category decks

Cost $12,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2020

Images

Review for Chicago Porch Authority Inc - 5821 N Glenwood Ave, Chicago, IL - 38771823

+3 More

1.0

09/20/2019


Richard C.

No response for estimate. I even called their office requesting one. No response again. Handyman located instead.

Description of Work
deck repair

Category decks

Work Completed On 09/20/2019

1.0

05/30/2019


Jane C.

After second attempt to connect for estimate we scheduled appointment. CPA cancelled and has not called back to reschedule

Description of Work
Deck repair and replace

Category decks

Work Completed On 05/28/2019

Service Provider Response

HI [Member Name Removed], Very sorry to hear we dropped the ball. I was out of town for a week attending to some business, and thing sometimes fall though the cracks during the busy season. If you would like to try for a third time, lets talk on the phone this week. My cell # is 773-370-3325 Thanks Frank Shubert Chicago Porch 773-370-3325
5.0

03/29/2019


MELISSA S.

excellent work. Took a little time to get scheduled, but once it was set, the work was done on time, extremely well, and great clean up. Very smooth overall process and I would highly recommend.

Description of Work
repair of exterior strairs

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/29/2019

5.0

02/07/2018


SANDY A.

Our old porch, which had been built by a general contractor in 1989, was failing--missing balusters & pickets, eroding porch front & stair edges, front porch sloping. I knew the owner of C.P.A.--he was my neighbor and had started the company under a different name a couple of years after I had the old porch done. Called that company, which told me that when he had left the area, he had sold them the name but they didn't operate inside the city--then they told me about his new company. Went to the website, was impressed, and called him. He'd moved back to our neighborhood. He inspected my porch & stairs, then showed me how he would replace it--all of it. I also showed him my deck (built by Harmonious Decorating in 2013) and that because the decking planks were too close together, water would pond up, and freeze in winter. He suggested routing wider grooves in strategic places. Not only did C.P.A. perform all the work within four days, it also repaired some eroded siding on the inner porch sides, and made sure everything was level. I still get compliments on my porch & stairs--even from taxi drivers who drop me off!

Description of Work
New front porch; rear deck modification

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2017

5.0

10/09/2017


Susan B.

Excellent. The new porch has completely transformed the look of my house.

Description of Work
Built a new front porch. The old concrete porch was eroding with holes in the concrete. Replaced with Trex.

Category decks

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2017

Images

Review for Chicago Porch Authority Inc - 5821 N Glenwood Ave, Chicago, IL - 36391454

+2 More

5.0

06/14/2017


Susan D.

I am the property manager for a large condominium association containing approximately 300 units, with a roof-top community deck and private decks up to 2,000 sq. ft. per. This contractor, Frank Shubert, has done outstanding deck work for both our Association and the private homeowners. He is our absolute go-to person for any deck issues whatsoever. We have received nothing but glowing reports. Frank is very honest and can offer wonderful suggestions. Book him early! His work is remarkable and worth any wait.

Description of Work
I am the property manager for a large condominium association containing approximately 300 units, with a roof-top community deck and private decks up to 2,000 sq. ft. per. This contractor, Frank Shubert, has done outstanding deck work for both our Association and the private homeowners. He is our absolute go-to person for any deck issues whatsoever. We have received nothing but glowing reports. Frank is very honest and can offer wonderful suggestions. Book him early! His work is remarkable and worth any wait.

Category decks,remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/14/2017

1.0

12/14/2016


Alexa V.

Wish I would have seen these reviews as I called Frank. Same experience. Missed an initial appt for whatever reason. Came out and measured for my project on a Friday. Said quote would be back on Monday. No quote. Called 2x to follow up. No call back. No response. I guess its a pattern. Professional on site and I thought we could have successful communication about my project but that's not possible when there is ZERO contact or follow through. If i worked like this in my job, I wouldn't have one. If you call Frank, don't expect much based on the other reviews and this one.

Description of Work
He didn't. Plus, based on all the negative / no show reviews, I don't know how he is allowed to be a provider on AL. I thought they had a policy on this.

Category decks

Work Completed On 12/14/2016

Services Offered

Remodeling - general, kitchen, bathroom, sunrooms & patio enclosures.

Services Not Offered

Ask For Details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
No

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Chicago Porch Authority Inc

How is Chicago Porch Authority Inc overall rated?

Chicago Porch Authority Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

What days are Chicago Porch Authority Inc open?

Chicago Porch Authority Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

What payment options does Chicago Porch Authority Inc provide

Chicago Porch Authority Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

Does Chicago Porch Authority Inc offer free estimates?

Yes, Chicago Porch Authority Inc offers free project estimates.

Does Chicago Porch Authority Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, Chicago Porch Authority Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Chicago Porch Authority Inc offer a senior discount?

No, Chicago Porch Authority Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Does Chicago Porch Authority Inc offer emergency services?

Yes, Chicago Porch Authority Inc offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by Chicago Porch Authority Inc?

No, Chicago Porch Authority Inc does not offer warranties.

What services does Chicago Porch Authority Inc offer?

Chicago Porch Authority Inc offers the following services: Remodeling - general, kitchen, bathroom, sunrooms & patio enclosures.

Are there any services Chicago Porch Authority Inc does not offer?

Ask For Details