Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Avondale Roofing Inc

Founded 1988 • With Angi since August 2001

4.5

(138) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6437 N Avondale Ave

Chicago, IL 60631

Description

There are many things to consider when selecting a roofing company. Avondale Roofing, Inc. follows through on our commitment to quality with our extensive insurance coverage. No matter how big or small your project is, Avondale Roofing, Inc. offers a broad range of roofing and exterior services, our roof experts have experience in installations, repairs, roofing inspection, and much more! GAF Factory certified crews. Illinois LIC.# 104.006453...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/28/2018


Dylan B.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY...not solvent and sounds like they perform zero due diligence on subcontractors they use. I've fully paid for roof, soffit, and fascia on time 50% up front and 50% when the final invoice came through. Job was completed in October 2017 and payment from me sent...in November 2017 I received a notice of potential lien from a subcontractor they used. No information about this subcontractor nor their right to place a lien on my property was presented at any point in working with Avondale. After talking to Avondale they admitted they didn't pay the subcontractor and that they didn't have any money. Their plan was to wait until warmer weather so that newer jobs could pay off the bill from the sub they used on my property -- AWFUL ponzi scheme like business model. Understandably the subcontractor did end up filing a lien on my property. I've needed to contact legal help to help remove the lien that was placed.

Description of Work
Full Roof, Soffit, and Fascia Replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We do apologize for any miscommunication throughout your roofing repair process. We make it our mission to ensure our customers needs are met from the beginning of the project to its completion. We recently left you multiple messages trying to resolve these issues, and we would be happy to continue the conversation if you want to reach out to us at 847-714-9200. Best regards, Avondale Roofing Team
5.0

04/14/2018


Tony C.

Existing balcony had incorrect roof flashing setup causing damage to wood underlayment. Leo came out and provided what was need3d and installers quickly took care of the job. End result looks great.

Description of Work
Balcony repair and coating

Category decks, roofing

Service Provider Response

We're glad to hear that you're satisfied with the finished product. Thank you for considering Avondale Roofing for your roofing needs!
2.0

04/04/2018


Dale C.

Unfortunately it went poorly. Liked Chris and had him out twice for estimate for a Spring 2018 roof replacement. Was pleased with his thoroughly viewing roof, both inside my attic and outside. Following second visit on 12/19/17, he informed me he’d call next day to schedule meeting to personally review estimate. Never heard back from him. It’s now first week of April, and am now back to “Square 1” with obtaining estimates from other companies. Ashame as I strongly considered using Avondale based on my initial impression of Chris, as well as recommendation from a friend.

Description of Work
Needed estimate on a complete roof replacement.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

I'm very sorry to hear about your previous experience; however, I am please to announce that Avondale is under new management and we have picked up all of the loose ends of the business. I'd really like to make it right, and get you the estimate you are owed. Please call the office at (847) 714-9200 and I can have a new representative (or Chris) out there tomorrow.
5.0

02/09/2018


Gayle H.

They were very detail-oriented and professional. They took the time to really examine the roof and fix anything that could cause problems later.

Description of Work
We had a new roof put on.

Category roofing

1.0

01/19/2018


theresa A.

Avondale was contacted and they admitted they did not pay the subcontractor. They said they didn't have any money. My question was "I paid you - why didn't you pay them". Avondale is not a responsible roofer. They said they might be able to pay within 60 to 90 days. This work was done October 18, 2017 and it is now January 2018. I don't know how Angies list can have such a company on their list.

Description of Work
they replaced my chimney. What I didn't know was that they subcontracted to Globe. I paid Avondale but Avondale did not pay Globe. Globe is now after me to pay them and putting a lien on my property.

Category roofing, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

As of today, 01/25/18 this issue has been resolved and the customer has received the $1100.00 back.
1.0

11/03/2017


RON P.

What a funny scenario . . . I called Avondale for a re-roof estimate. Owner's son Chris, shows up a couple hours late a few days after the call. Spends over 90 minutes on the roof, going over warranty's, work they would do, history of Avondale, etc. Avondale had re-roofed the house 15 years earlier for the previous owner. Not a big roof, only 300 sq ft. At the end, he says he has to make another visit, because it takes him a couple hours to do a comprehensive estimate (seriously?). What's he been doing up there for the last 90 minutes? Three days later, he's back on the my roof for another 90+ minutes, and as he's packing up, says, "oops, I forgot to measure for gutters"." Keep in mind they did gutters 15 years earlier. I said, "don't bother, just get me the roof estimate in a couple days." In the meantime, his mother (the president of Avondale) calls to ask why I'm questioning her son's need for 3 hours on my roof to produce an estimate. I replied that a estimate for a 20 year veteran shouldn't take this long. She said her son is "very detail oriented" and that he still handwrites the estimates longhand and it takes more time. Bottom line, it's been two weeks, several more calls and emails, and not a word from Avondale. For all I know, Chris is stuck on a roof somewhere and doesn't have time to do a handwritten estimate. I'm sure Avondale does 'wonderful' work, just plan on being be patient.

Description of Work
roof replacement

Category roofing

4.0

09/04/2017


Jamie A.

It was fine, but had to be replaced a few years later following a hailstorm.

Description of Work
They put on a new roof

Category roofing

5.0

08/07/2017


Joan D.

No problems at all. Went very smoothly.

Description of Work
Fixed some missing shingles on my roof.

Category roofing, chimney repair

5.0

08/03/2017


Linda R.

The crew arrived promptly and worked quickly. They used shingles we had left from when Avondale did a tear-off roof replacement for us about 14 years ago. Since they were up on the roof of our two story house, we asked if they would take a look at the gutters and let us know if we needed to have our gutters cleaned out, which they graciously did. Since they finished the work our problems have been resolved and we have had no leaks, even after a few severe storms.

Description of Work
Chris came out at the time/day we worked out, inspected our leaking roof and told us a few shingles had been completely torn off due to high winds. We requested bids for roof replacement and roof repair, which we had to follow up with Chris several days later to get, then decided to just do a repair, which he said would be sufficient. We also asked him to inspect our garage roof which is at least 17 years old, expecting him to say it needed to be replaced, but he said the shingles were in good shape and only a few needed to be replaced. What a pleasant surprise!

Category roofing

5.0

07/17/2017


Jack D.

I would highly recommend them. There were several workers and it took them 2 days to complete the work. He was recommended to us by someone else.

Description of Work
We had a new roof installed.

Category roofing

5.0

06/16/2017


DR CISSY F.

Great! I had 2 quotes and Chris came in at half the price of the other roofer. The other roofer quoted me $28,000 for the exact same brand of shingle. I felt he was honest and fair. He even helped me with my insurance company and made sure the adjuster submitted a claim with all the correct information. Note: Chris does not work in the winter months December to April because they aren't doing roofs in the middle of winter. So, that is why I didn't give him an A for responsiveness. I didn't realize this and it took him a long time to get back to me.

Description of Work
Whole roof replaced.

Category roofing

5.0

06/14/2017


Mary M M.

Everything went fine. No problems at all since the work was done.

Description of Work
Tear off original roof and reshingle both house and detached garage, replace gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

04/03/2017


Saji J.

The team did a good job in explaining the issue and replacing the missing parts.

Description of Work
Wind Damage Repairs

Category roofing

5.0

03/28/2017


ROB W.

They did a great job, we also used the about 10 years ago to do the entire roof.

Description of Work
Change a roof vent and a gutter

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

03/25/2017


Bob C.

All went well. We were very satisfied.

Description of Work
New Roof on an English Tudor home in Chicago's north suburban area. In addition, new siding where necessary and new gutters/downspouts were installed.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

5.0

03/06/2017


Dee A.

Professional, skilled, efficient, friendly.

Description of Work
New shingle roof. Re-sheet portion of roof with plywood. Installation of Cobra Ridge Vent.

Category roofing

3.0

11/11/2016


James B.

Chris came out twice, did a very thorough inspection of our roof, and showed us things that other roofers had missed. He understood the problems we were having and had good suggestions for how to resolve them. He was friendly and knowledgeable and really detail oriented. The only thing that would have made it better would have been if he had actually written us a proposal for how much it would cost to replace the roof so we could hire him to do the job. 4 weeks and five phone calls later and no proposal and no response, so we went with someone else. I'm not inclined to try to chase someone down so I can give them money, and I can only imagine what it would be like if I was calling to get a problem fixed. Knowledge and attitude - A. Follow-up - F.

Description of Work
We needed a complete roof replacement. We also will be replacing siding, gutters, and possibly windows. It will probably be $35k all together.

Category roofing

2.0

11/05/2016


LYNN P.

Very disappointed. Spent $400 for what was listed as a very thorough roof inspection, complete write-up and $100 credit towards repairs. The guy was nice enough and clearly knew what he was doing but only spent probably 10 minutes on the roof. I had to ask him to come inside and look at some leaks in the ceiling and to go in the attic to check for leaks. This was supposed to be an inside and outside inspection so that was disappointing. And that was all I received for my money. No complete written report with estimates that was included in the price. A few weeks later, emails and phone calls where I was told I would be receiving the write up by a certain date. Dates have come and gone. With winter coming I had to have another company come out and they got my business and will be replacing the roof this month. I knew I was paying a lot to Avondale but I wanted a competent and thorough inspection and write up and was willing to pay for that. I feel completely ripped off, what they provided was not at all worth what I paid. Lesson learned.

Description of Work
Roof inspection

Category roofing

2.0

10/17/2016


Rick W.

Work is Ok, until it came to matching the wood shutters; a smaller size with a plastic substitute was provided and installed

Description of Work
Hail damage to whole house, roof

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

10/10/2016


Gregory G.

I contacted Avondale for estimates for roofing work on my house. Chris came out and told me about damages I had not seen on the roof and siding. He walked my wife and I through the process working with our insurance company to get our claim approved. He was there when the insurance company came out to inspect the damage and worked with them so we could get the best possible solution to our roof and siding damage. Once the claim work was completed, Chris walked us through all of the required work and the estimates on all of it. He thoroughly explained what would be covered and what wouldn't be. He even went back to our insurance company with some concerns about things not included in the claim and worked with them to get included. He explained all of the materials that would be used and left us with a wheel of siding color options and roofing selections. We narrowed it down to three roof colors while he was there and he brought us bigger samples so we could better pick out the new siding color and type. Chris even went as far as driving around our neighborhood and giving us addresses of houses that had the siding style we were deciding between so we could see it on a house! We also spoke about thicker insulation on the house, and what a difference it has made this winter. Can't believe how warm the house is! Once we finalized our choices, work on our new roof and siding began. Chris came out to our house multiple times throughout the process watching and inspecting his team's work. The roofing and siding teams was very polite, professional, and they did an excellent job! They also made sure everything was cleaned up after they finished. My house looks like a brand new house! We couldn't be happier with the new roof and siding!

Description of Work
I needed a new roof and siding due to hail and wind storm damage

Category roofing, siding

3.0

09/27/2016


James A.

It was a three hour job and I thought the price was way out of line for such a small job. They seemed like nice people, might have done great work, but their price was too high. They should do less expensive quotes. They seemed good, and I probably would have gone with them if it wasn't so much money. They lost the quote because of the pricing. They were responsive.

Description of Work
Avondale Roofing Incorporated gave me an estimate for a small roofing job.

Category roofing

5.0

06/20/2016


Debra B.

After receiving two estimates for my new roof, which had been damaged by hail, I chose Avondale because of the trust I felt after meeting with Chris Schwartz, the son of the company's owner. Chris is honest, personable, and has a strong work ethic. He helped me navigate through the insurance claim process, met with the adjuster at my house, and fielded numerous phone calls from both me and the insurance company. He was always prompt, responsive, and willing to spend as much time as needed answering questions and explaining things. The work proceeded on schedule, with excellent results, and the only problem that arose was some accidental damage to a window, which Chris acknowledged as the company's responsibility. (I received a repair estimate from a handyman, and the amount was deducted from my final bill.)

Description of Work
Replaced a 25+ year-old roof, replaced gutters, installed two new skylights, and replaced an attic fan.

Category gutter repair, roofing, replacement windows

5.0

12/07/2015


Joan S.

Avondale was the most prompt and responsive to give an estimate of the three roofers on my list. The bid was competitive. Communication was through phone, text, & email. The three teams, roofers, tuckpointers, and gutter installers, all were timely and worked well together. Tom B. headed up the jobs. We appreciated their professionalism. Clean-up was really thorough. The finished work looks good and so far no issues have appeared with any of our "problem spots". Avondale promised to address any issues that may come up in the future. The construction bin arrived around 6:30 AM. Roofers were there by 7:00 AM. Work proceeded efficiently in spite of our lack of power from the previous day's wind storm. They had a generator for any power tools they needed. Problem areas on the roof were quickly pointed out & repairs dealt with. Fortunately, potential areas previously identified that might need replacement wood were discovered to be in better shape than suspected. Very little extra was added on to the estimated cost of the whole project. The tuck pointers worked on the same day as the roofers and the gutter installers came the next week. (We had power that day & they used our outlet when needed).Workers were courteous, communicative of any potential issues that needed to be addressed, and were very careful of our property and the cleanup after the job. We had just one small problem after the roof installation with a loud gravelly noise when we turned on the kitchen fan. Tom B. came out to check on it & made sure the problem was resolved on the spot. (Basically it was OK to run the fan to blow out the little particles, but we didn't know that, so waited for him to be there and take care of it. He did not make us feel like our concern was frivolous) . We would use Avondale again and recommend it to others.

Description of Work
Avondale tore off the old roof and installed a new roof, with architectural shingles. They also tuned up our garage roof. We had them replace the gutters and do some tuckpoint work on the house.

Category gutter repair, masonry, roofing, pavers, gravel

5.0

09/26/2015


MARCIA K.

I got three bids. Avondale's was in the middle. The biggest things that tipped me toward them were 1.) the extra time and care that Chris (a principal in the company) took to describe the work that would be done, teach me about what was involved and answer all of my questions, and, 2.) the thoroughness of the documentation in the work agreement. On his first visit to look the job over, he investigated whether or not I had intake vents already by prying away some of the existing aluminum (and then placing it back) to see what was going on behind the vented aluminum panels. Turns out that while there were vented aluminum panels, they weren't venting a thing since there were no openings behind them into the attic. Someone who had the house before me was apparently sold a bill of goods, i.e., looks like venting but is ZERO venting. Chris knew everything about how to make it right. I also appreciated that while I was in the process, over a number of weeks, of making a decision and investigating colors, Chris maintained contact all along the way. He continued to invest his time and effort in getting the business and that just made me feel that my job was important to him and that Avondale Roofing was a super professional outfit. This was completely in contrast to one of the other bids I got which resulted in, basically, a drive-by estimate and a text message with a figure. I am the kind of customer who likes to feel that a collaboration is being built. The actual work went beautifully. The crew that come out were very professional and the lead person was like Chris in that he was super knowledgeable, explained things and answered all questions as they came up for me. The workers were, as well, very professional. They hauled away the old stuff and cleaned up at the end of each of the days. I couldn't be happier with the material and with the workmanship. I am completely thrilled with the change in the appearance of my home with the new rainware color and thrilled with my properly vented attic!!!! Another point that tells the tale is that I had a follow-up question a few weeks after the work was done and Chris sent someone out quickly to look at what I was talking about (which turned out to be nothing). I do think that follow-up is very important and one of the reasons - not knowing if it would be there - that I steered clear of the lowball estimate I got. I would recommend Avondale Roofing for any exterior job.

Description of Work
I wanted to change the color of my aluminum rainware (gutters, fascia, soffits) and to achieve airflow into the attic. Avondale's team removed all existing aluminum gutters, fascia and soffits from my two story house and from the garage and installed all new. In addition, they drilled holes in the original wooden soffits that would be re-covered by the new aluminum soffits to add needed intake (air into my attic) to balance with the roof vents.

Category roofing

5.0

07/14/2015


Allan K.

I had Avondale Roofing do a complete tear off and replacement of my roof. The project took a solid three days which was what they estimated the project to take. The crew of four men arrived early each day and put in a solid days work. They were well organized and worked well as a professional team. They protected the landscaping and a/c units as they worked, and cleaned up at the end of every day. The first day they planed there work so as to have the roof protected due to a forecast of rain overnight. There were no leaks overnight. I chose Avondale because they presented a detailed proposal the identified exactly what they were going to do and what materials were to be used. I had a total of three bids and chose Avondale. Also, I worked with then about four years ago when they replaced my gutters.

Description of Work
Replaced Roof

Category gutter repair, roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Montes Masonry

    We are a masonry company. We are here to help repair and replace chimneys and other home brick work. We also do roof repairs and replacements and small concrete repairs. Ask us about our senior, military, first responder discounts.  

    JC & Son Masonry Inc

    8-10 employees. No subs. cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service fees. May contact through email. Additional contact: Jake.  

    General Masonry Restoration

    We are a small company that focuses on customer satisfaction. Over 15 years of experience. We are honest people and guarantee quality work.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roofing, Siding, Gutters, & Snow Removal.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Avondale Roofing Inc

    How is Avondale Roofing Inc overall rated?

    Avondale Roofing Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Avondale Roofing Inc open?

    Avondale Roofing Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Avondale Roofing Inc provide

    Avondale Roofing Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Avondale Roofing Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Avondale Roofing Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Avondale Roofing Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Avondale Roofing Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Avondale Roofing Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Avondale Roofing Inc offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does Avondale Roofing Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Avondale Roofing Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Avondale Roofing Inc?

    Yes, Avondale Roofing Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Avondale Roofing Inc offer?

    Avondale Roofing Inc offers the following services: Roofing, Siding, Gutters, & Snow Removal.