Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ATAPUMA HANDYMAN

Founded 2006 • With Angi since June 2005

4.8

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5623 N WAYNE C1

Chicago, IL 60660

Description

3 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBS. CHARGES BY THE HOUR. TRAVEL CHARGES MAY APPLY. EXTRA CHARGES FOR AFTER-HOURS SERVICE MAY APPLY. MAY CONTACT THROUGH EMAIL.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/20/2012


LINDA M.

In each instance, light repair, installation of new wall lamps, gutter repair and replacement, kitchen under-the cabinet light fixture repair, Antonio was available within 1 or 2 days. Came on time and did the work efficiently and completely. We have used him in our 3-unit condo several times with success.

Description of Work
We have had Antonio several times and each service was provided promptly and efficiently. He is a sincere hard-working man. Would trust him with any handyman work we need.

Category electrician, gutter cleaning, handyman service, lamp repair, lighting, screen repair, woodworking, ceiling fans, electronic repair

5.0

01/19/2012


Margaret N.

called to hang pot rack, and a number of other fastener vs cement /dry wall problems in closets. done perfectly, he is neat, and has a variety of skills including electrical.

Description of Work
Antonio goes above and beyond in every category. Yes, at times, there is been difficulty with phone communications.....persist......he is worth it.

Category handyman service

5.0

11/21/2011


mark R.

I don't remember what I paid but it was a good deal. He was great. He was very clean and had the booties for his shoes. He was very conscientious about any mess that he created. He explained everything prior to doing it. He was really top notch. I would use him again; he is on my short list.

Description of Work
I used Atapuma Handyman to do some drywall patching.

Category drywall, handyman service

5.0

09/17/2011


olivia B.

We recently had Mr. Atapuma do a second job for us. The biggest part of the job was the concrete floor in two rooms of our finished basement, which we wanted stained and polished. Mr. Atapuma was knowledgeable about the process. He warned us that the floors were too old and uneven and stained to look that good with an acid stain, and suggested painting them and then polishing them instead. We weren't sure, and got some stain samples anyway, which he applied for us in a closet. We saw that he was right and decided to go with the paint. He and his assistant got the floors as clean and smooth as they could, applied two coats of paint, and then a few days later, a coat of polish, and we were very satisfied with the result. Some baseboard and drywall was still damaged from flooding that had happened previously. He spotted this and we had him take it out at the bottom and replace it, then fix some cracks and paint the walls in the two rooms. This was all done quickly and professionally. The $2500 for these jobs included most of the materials required.

Description of Work
Replaced some drywall and plastered cracks painted walls in two rooms replaced baseboard cleaned, painted and polished a concrete floor in two rooms

Category drywall, handyman service, interior painters

1.0

07/18/2011


Christine C.

I contacted this company to arrange for an estimate. The person who answered their phone number wasn't a native English speaker and was difficult to understand. He took my name, telephone number and a brief description of my request. I was told someone would call me back in order to schedule a visit to my home. The same person did call me later on the same afternoon, but told me he was only confirming that telephone number. I never received another call from the company.

Description of Work
I contacted this company, by telephone, in order to obtain an estimate. No services were provided because the company never provided an estimate.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

the repor it was so difucult to reach the apartament not number sorry for incomvenient
5.0

07/02/2011


olivia B.

We previously had an interior drain installed in the back of the house. Water was still coming in under the back door (and the company that did the work, meanwhile, had gone out of business). Mr. Atapuma took a look at the back door (which we had previously tried to seal up with sealant under the plating), and discerned that the concrete in front of the door was cracked and needed to be redone. He then jackhammered out a 3X3 section of concrete, and saw that furthermore beneath the side of the door there was a gap. He brought bags of cement, and filled in all the gaps and redid the concrete. Two days later, when it had dried, he came and sealed and restored the metal plate beneath the door (don't know what it's called). There was a big storm that night, and the area stayed bone dry. While he was there, it came out in conversation that Mr. Atapuma had an electrical engineering degree in Ecuador before moving to the US. We told him about a problem we were having with the cable TV wiring in the house. We had discovered only after the warranty on the house had expired that none of the cable outlets worked on the top floor. A previous handymen had taken a look and told us there was no way to know where the wiring hadn't been connected up, and he would either have to tear out a bunch of drywall all over the house, or reinstall wiring all over from the outside in. Mr. Atapuma tested all the outlets for signals, then opened up the ones upstairs. He noticed that the wires were going up in the walls in all the outlets. So he opened the attic door, and discovered that none of the cables had been connected. He went to Radio Shack, bought some connectors, and resolved the problem. He also fixed our intercom system, which hadn't been working for years. He took a look at it and figured out that the original electrician hadn't grounded the system properly, which led to it getting fried in a storm long ago. We ordered a replacement unit from the company (cost about $450), and then Mr. Atapuma installed it. He fixed the light behind the doorbell button as well. It's now in good working order. Mr. Atapuma is also personal and friendly as well as knowledgeable and professional, and seems highly detail-oriented. I happened upon him in the alley sweeping up dirt and garbage in front of our gate before moving his equipment in, He charges $35 an hour. We have already asked him to do two other jobs in the house.

Description of Work
Diagnosed and fixed problem with rainwater coming under the back door. Diagnosed and fixed problem with cable tv wiring in house. Fixed doorbell/intercom system.

Category electrician, handyman service

5.0

11/17/2010


LAURA R.

We have used Antonio twice, and plan to use him again in the future. He is responsive, reliable and friendly. He has made himself available for same-day and next day appointments, and worked into the evening for us to get a big job done. The price is reasonable and the service is great.

Description of Work
Antonio removed an old ceiling fan and installed a new one. He also removed insulation, wood and debris from a crawl space and other storage areas, in preparation for foam insulation.

Category handyman service, ceiling fans

5.0

10/08/2010


Soyini M.

Mr. Atapuma was great. He came by the same day that I called him. After several estimates and a few "no shows" from other companies on Angie's list, Mr. Atapuma gave me the most reasonable estimate and he did a thorough and beautiful job.I didn't have the lights I needed and some other tools. He worked several hours the first day and came by early the next day to complete the work. He was punctual and efficient; he even saved me a trip to the store to purchase the lights and tools I needed for him to complete the job. He seems to take a great deal of pride in his work and he was very nice and patient.

Description of Work
Mr. Atapuma fixed the electrical problems in the fourth floor bedroom; he installed two motion lights in the back, installed a timer for our front door and lights in the vestibule. Everything works perfectly. He was professional, punctual, hardworking, honest, and very pleasant. Mr. Atapuma is very knowledgeable and you can trust that he will give you a very fair price. I will be calling on him for all my electrical and handyman needs.

Category handyman service, lighting, electronic repair

5.0

09/23/2010


Margaret N.

timely, exact, personable and less expensive than other providers no upcharge on materials also a licensed electrician and will use him for that in the future

Description of Work
he view the closet, offered suggestions on design of shelves and rods, we drove to home depot, purchased materials, he removed old wire shelving, installed tracks, put up solid shelving, additionally he installed vent grates

Category handyman service

1.0

07/29/2009


Retta W.

Never heard from him again.

Description of Work
There was no services performed - I contacted Antonio two weeks ago to have him come and give an estimate for repairs at my townhouse on the south side on a Saturday - two days before he was to come he called and said he had to be at a graduation on Saturday could I reschedule - I told him I would call him back which I did. I made an appointment for him to go to the property (on lockbox) and let himsel in to give an estimate and he was to call me the next day - I haven't heard from him.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

I'm so sorry about this but my graduation I can't cancel it so MY COMPANY IS WORKING WELL AND INTERESTED IN EACH Customer FOR COMPLETE SUCCESSFULLY ANY JOB IN THIS EXPERIENCE. I REMAIN EVERY MEMBER BECAUSE I DON'T LIKE THIS REPORT FOR Me.
5.0

07/01/2009


Eric J.

I called ATAPUMA HANDYMAN during the afternoon and he was able to come to my home the same evening to take a look at the situation. We scheduled a day where he would return and he located a couple of shorts in an electrical line which is used for an air conditioner. He replaced the entire line and a couple of hours.

Description of Work
Tested 2nd floor electrical outlet to find why it was not working. Handyman checked all of the connections inside the building and where the line ran along the outside of the build. Handyman found a couple of locations where a short was possible so he replaced the entire line with one single wire from top top bottom so there won't be any problems again.

Category handyman service

5.0

05/28/2009


LINDA M.

It went very well.

Description of Work
He has performed both electric and plumbing work for us, and we were pleased with his service.

Category handyman service

5.0

05/12/2009


JOHN G.

It all worked well. Antonio brought two other workers with him and they got done everything I wanted.

Description of Work
Antonio (also goes by Ricardo) did a variety of repairs to a rental unit. Electrical, painting, and minor drywall work.

Category handyman service

5.0

03/23/2009


PETER L.

He's a little slow, but that's fine.

Description of Work
Atapuma has provided many different services for us. He is very nice, reliable and the price is right.

Category handyman service

5.0

10/31/2008


Sharon K.

Very responsive and available; good work.

Description of Work
Handyman for flooring, odd jobs.

Category flooring contractor, handyman service

1.0

09/23/2008


Chris V.

They never showed up.

Description of Work
We had an appointment to provide an estimate and they never showed up. No phone call or anything. When I called to find out where they were, they did apologize. But still, it's very inconsiderate.

Category handyman service

5.0

12/26/2007


PETER L.

These guys were great. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
Fixed garage door opener, bath tub clog and installed some fences.

Category fencing, garage doors, handyman service, drain cleaning

5.0

06/28/2007


Jessica S.

I was having a very hard time finding a handyman to come and install these window units. Everybody was booked. I called Mr. Atapuma and he was able to come out the same day to take a look at the electrical. I was impressed with how friendly, punctual, knowledgeable and easygoing he was. The next day he picked me up and we went and got the appliances from Cole's. Without complaint, he brought everything up to my apt. and very quickly, installed the two window units. I think that he did a very good job. He didn't charge me for travel time, but I paid him for it anyway, because he had gone above and beyond in my opinion. He charges $35 an hour.

Description of Work
I hired Mr. Atapuma to pickup, deliver and install two window unit air conditioners and a microwave. The day before he came out to my apt. to make sure that the electrical sockets would support the air conditioners voltage. There was no charge for the installation. He picked me up at my building and we went to the appliance store to pick up the appliances (I don't have a car). Then we loaded up his van and returned to my apt. He brought everything up to my second floor apartment. He installed the two air conditioners (5,000 BTU and 12,000 BTU) in my apartment. He had all the tools needed to do the job precisely and well. He also set up the microwave on my counter. He was punctual, courteous and knowledgeable. After he was finished installing everything he cleaned up all of the boxes and put all of my manuals, etc together for me. He checked in at the end to see if everything was okay (It was).

Category handyman service

5.0

04/27/2007


Michelle V.

He was able to come out immediately, did a great job, was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. I had a hard time finding someone on short notice to do this job, so am very relieved. Other handymen services were asking for flat rates to come out, etc. I will hire him again soon to install a bathroom fan.

Description of Work
Came and evaluated a hole in my roof and condition of the attic, installed vent cover.

Category handyman service

1.0

07/12/2006


SHAWN M.

Mr. Atapuma is no longer working as a handyman.

Description of Work
None.

Category handyman service

4.0

11/18/2005


DAVID N.

Description of Work
PAINTED EXTERIOR WINDOWS AND SHORED UP BASE OF WINDOWS WHICH HAD ROTTED. NICE GUY, AND CONSCIENTIOUS. PAINT ON SILL WAS NOT GREAT, BUT ALL IN ALL A GOOD JOB.

Category handyman service

5.0

06/12/2005


Ruth S.

MR. ATAPUMA IS CLEAN, PUNCTUAL AND HIGHLY SKILLED IN EVERY POSSIBLE HANDYMAN TASK/PROJECT. HE IS THOUGHTFUL AND CREATIVE IN SOLVING ISSUES RELATED TO ANY AND ALL PROJECTS UNDERTAKEN. FOR THE HIGH QUALITY OF WORK, HIS PRICE IS EXCEPTIONAL, COMPARED TO THE MARKET. I CANNOT SAY EXACTLY HOW MUCH IT ADDED UP TO. I KNOW HE CHARGES $30/HR. I ENTERED $500, BUT THIS IS A WILD GUESS.

Description of Work
MR. ATAPUMA (ATAPUMA HANDYMAN) DO A TON OF WORK FOR ME OVER THE LAST SEVERAL MONTHS. INSTALLATION OF GARBAGE DISPOSAL. SWITCHING ELECTRIC CIRCUIT BREAKERS AND TESTING CIRCUITS TO INSTALL WINDOW A/C, HANGING LARGE PICTURES, REMOVAL OF CEILING FAN AND CAPPING, CONNECTION OF PORTABLE WASHER/DRYER TO PLUMBING, ASSEMBLING RTA DESK, ASSEMBLING RTA DINING TABLE AND CHAIRS, AND WOOD BED FRAME, MOVING AND ORGANIZING BASEMENT STORAGE AREA, SNOW REMOVAL, CLEANING OF APARTMENT BUILDING COMMON AREA, PATCHING AND PAINTING KITCHEN WALLS (INCL. RE-PLASTERING), AND HANGING KITCHEN GADGET GRIDS. I know he charges $30/hr.

Category handyman service

    Other local Pros in your area

    DSY Construction Inc

    We are a full-service general construction company with a wide range of experience from remodeling to construction, and have been serving Chicagoland area for over 10 years. We can help you with all aspects of home projects from those small handyman projects to home additions and everything else in between, whatever it might be. Whether it’s, electrical, plumbing, carpentry, custom cabinets, tilling or HVAC repair or installation, we can even help you with design and blue prints of your new space. Give us a call or send us an email with your request.  

    Angi Certified

    North Shore Garage Doors

    Welcome to Garage Door Group Chicago, your resource for reliable, reputable garage door repair and installation. We are dedicated to offering the entire Chicagoland area with the highest level of customer service in our industry. With four locations and each with its own offices, website, Service Department, and Experienced Technicians, the Garage Door Group is here to serve. The Group is put together by: North Shore Garage Door located in Glenview. West Suburban Garage Doors is located in Oak Brook. Woodfield Garage Doors is dedicated to serving the Northwest Suburbs and is conveniently located in Schaumburg. South Suburban Garage Doors is located in Tinley Park. The Group is dedicated to offering your EXPERT LOCAL DOOR SERVICE. We guarantee same-day service if you call us before 3pm (Mon-Fri only) Our competitive pricing policy means you will receive the best price we will not be beat in terms of value and service. With over 25 Years in the remodeling business, you will be delighted with our services. Call Garage Door Group Chicago today and one of our very own experienced techs will be proud to serve you and your family.  

    Angi Certified

    All Clear Window & Gutter Cleaning L.L.C

    Experienced window cleaning is what we provide, we are here to provide you with a clean, clear view. "Letting the sun shine in."  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    $15
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    RESIDENTIAL, COMMERCIAL AND INDUSTRIAL, ELECTRICAL,DIGITAL ELECTRONIC CONTROLS, WE FIX ALL TYPES OF INTERCOMS, PLC, CNC INDUSTRIAL CONTROLS NEUMATIC HIDRAULIC AND FULL HANDYMAN SERVICE.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ATAPUMA HANDYMAN

    How is ATAPUMA HANDYMAN overall rated?

    ATAPUMA HANDYMAN is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are ATAPUMA HANDYMAN open?

    ATAPUMA HANDYMAN is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 AM - 8:30 PM

    Monday: 6:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Tuesday: 6:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Wednesday: 6:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Thursday: 6:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Friday: 6:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 8:30 PM

    What payment options does ATAPUMA HANDYMAN provide

    ATAPUMA HANDYMAN accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does ATAPUMA HANDYMAN offer free estimates?

    Yes, ATAPUMA HANDYMAN offers free project estimates.

    Does ATAPUMA HANDYMAN offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, ATAPUMA HANDYMAN offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ATAPUMA HANDYMAN offer a senior discount?

    No, ATAPUMA HANDYMAN does not offer a senior discount.

    Does ATAPUMA HANDYMAN offer emergency services?

    Yes, ATAPUMA HANDYMAN offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by ATAPUMA HANDYMAN?

    Yes, ATAPUMA HANDYMAN offers warranties.

    What services does ATAPUMA HANDYMAN offer?

    ATAPUMA HANDYMAN offers the following services: RESIDENTIAL, COMMERCIAL AND INDUSTRIAL, ELECTRICAL,DIGITAL ELECTRONIC CONTROLS, WE FIX ALL TYPES OF INTERCOMS, PLC, CNC INDUSTRIAL CONTROLS NEUMATIC HIDRAULIC AND FULL HANDYMAN SERVICE.