Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Above the Rest

Founded 2001 • With Angi since September 2003

4.4

(1348) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

400 W. 76th Suite 216C

Chicago, IL 60620

Description

2-10 employees. No subs. cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. no service charges. May not contact through e-mail....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

01/10/2020


Matt G.

This is a follow up to a previous "A" review. The work was fine but the owner refused to provide a W-9 after numerous promises to do so over multiple requests spanning months. It's irritating that my business has an obligation to file 1099s and his lack of professionalism made it impossible to fulfill that obligation.

Description of Work
Sealing, painting of outdoor wooden decks

Category decks, deck cleaning

5.0

10/24/2019


Kathryn B.

Once again they called right back and we setup an appointment and he actually came out. He did the gutter and the garage. It was pretty thorough. Any question I had they answered it. He actually gave me discount which I appreciated.

Description of Work
Gutter cleaning.

Category gutter cleaning

1.0

09/26/2019


Drema W.

Shawn, the owner, lives in St. Louis and only comes in town on the weekends. He gave me a low quote over the phone, but when he came out and looked at the job he charged me more. At first glance, the job they did was ok (hence the first review), but after a few days the replacement boards started coming loose and separating, and I also noticed that only the tops of the boards had been stained. You could see the raw material on the sides - very shoddy work overall. I called Shawn and told him of the problems, they came back out a couple of times, made promises, and here it is September 26 and my deck has been in disrepair since June. It looks worse now than it did before he "fixed" it, and I have not been able to use my deck all summer. I have not heard from him in a month and I have tried to contact him, but to no avail.

Description of Work
Deck repair, power wash and stain

Category decks

Service Provider Response

My guys explained to the customer that the wood on her deck is dry rotted and the entire thing needs to be replaced. She has a water pipe running underneath her deck and the moisture has caused the deck to rot. So she had us basically replace some of the rotten wood but not all of it. So we placed the new wood next to the older rotting wood which is beginning to sink because it's rotting. That's the issue, which we explained to her like 10 times. I undercharged her for the work that we did do already, there's nothing else that can be done for this deck besides replacing all of the bad wood. We explained this to her atleast 10 times.

5.0

09/19/2019


Kimberly C.

Shawn and his team were fantastic! He was very responsive, professional and a pleasure to work with! The end result is fantastic!!

Description of Work
We needed our front porch and back steps power washed & re-stained.

Category decks, pressure washing

2.0

08/28/2019


Katharine P.

Deck refinishing--restaining and sealing. Kept postponing the job. After refinishing the deck, left many puddles; sealant was unevenly applied and there were a few uncovered areas

Description of Work
Deck refinishing--restaining and sealing. Kept postponing the job. After refinishing the deck, left many puddles; sealant was unevenly applied and there were a few uncovered areas

Category decks

5.0

08/17/2019


Daniel K.

Company did a wonderful job at a fair price. They power washed our very weathered and grey deck and sealed it. Now it looks brown again and it is beautiful

Description of Work
Deck power wash and reseal

Category decks, window cleaning, deck cleaning, pressure washing

5.0

08/14/2019


Douglas F.

They provide excellent service, they are very reliable, they are providing service for me every year and they've done a phenomenal job.

Description of Work
They did a window washing service

Category window cleaning

5.0

07/03/2019


Matt G.

The rainy season forced a long delay between the cleaning and staining phases of the project. However, Shawn Ward was in constant contact while we were waiting for a reprieve from the rainy season and handled the situation very professionally. I'll be working with his team again on other projects.

Description of Work
Cleaning, staining, and sealing of wooden porches

Category decks, deck cleaning, pressure washing

4.0

06/14/2019


Joseph S.

His employee clean the gutters and ran water in front of the house clean the downspouts. He cleaned the gutters in the back but to not run water, because he said he was running late for another job. I asked him to connect to three foot plastic extensions from the gutters which entailed putting two screws in each one and he told me he should have charged me for that you don't do it for nothing. So I paid him $125 because he didn't sound like he was kidding.

Description of Work
Carter's claimed down drains cleaned and one of the drain pipes split because of winter and I asked him ahead of time when I approached him if he would fix it just wire tied together as I couldn't reach it. He said he would and no extra charge.

Category window cleaning

5.0

05/03/2019


Kendall E.

They arrive early 730 am for an 830am appt. Took around an hour because I haven't had them clean in a few years. Price based on size of home. Great job! Shawn performed the work with one of his workers. No complaints.

Description of Work
Gutter Cleaning

Category gutter cleaning

5.0

04/06/2019


AG A.

I really like the owner. He's very friendly nice guy. He's reliable. I actually never use any other company so I don't have other compare them to but I think they are good.

Description of Work
I use them once a year in the Spring usually. They wash windows and power wash deck.

Category window cleaning, pressure washing

5.0

04/04/2019


Donna M.

They are always excellent. They do the work immaculately. They do not leave any mess behind. I have always been really happy with the service.

Description of Work
Window washing and gutter cleaning

Category gutter cleaning, window cleaning, deck cleaning

5.0

08/03/2018


Richard D.

Very well. Timely and punctual, courteous and good quality workmanship.

Description of Work
Exterior window washing and autumn gutter cleaning

Category gutter cleaning, window cleaning

1.0

04/15/2018


Stephen S.

After being put off all of last summer - scheduled, cancelled in a cycle that went on for months, I had someone else do it in exchange for them washing windows this spring. The work was average at best, and I was charged more money, even after the 10 month wait for services.

Description of Work
I bought a coupon for deck restoration. After being put off all of last summer - scheduled, cancelled in a cycle that went on for months, I had someone else do it in exchange for them washing windows this spring. The work was average at best, and I was charged more money, even after the 10 month wait for services.

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

This is ridiculous!!!

5.0

02/19/2018


Maureen G.

Great. Excellent work, efficient and fast. Would rehire.

Description of Work
Windows washed, in and out

Category window cleaning

3.0

01/05/2018


Syed F.

They were average. He gave me a hard time. He gave me an appointment, and never followed up on it three times. Their ad was misleading and they said in the fine print it stated their area only covers so much. They tried to power wash the deck, and their machine was bad. It didn't connect to the hose. They had to reschedule after a week. They did some sanding here and there. My wife was particular about the color. They did it the following week. We kept having to reschedule, and it was not a good experience. When they did the complete work, it was good. It was an inconvenience with the scheduling. Every time they came, there was an issue either with the hose connecting, the machine not working, or running to get paint. I would never use them again. I was not satisfied with them.

Description of Work
Deck maintenance.

Category deck cleaning

1.0

11/30/2017


Kathleen M.

I paid $99 dollars for a coupon for gutter cleaning in September. Shawn Ward (I'm assuming is the owner) cancelled 3 times, once for a family emergency, and two other times due to weather. I changed my schedule so I could be home for the gutter cleaning twice. Once, a worker showed up without the right equipment and while talking to Shawn on the phone in my presence, told me that he'd be back the following week with the proper ladders. Then, I get an email from Shawn saying that he "alluded" to his employee that they would not be back the following week and told me he would be back on November 29th. He also said that this is the last day he would be in this area until the spring, but they could "knock it out for me" on that day. I answered this email confirming the day, time and gave him my phone # again. Above the Rest did not show up and my email requesting my money back has been ignored.

Description of Work
Gutter cleaning

Category gutter cleaning

5.0

11/01/2017


christine R.

went very well. The work was done well, with attention to detail. The guy was very friendly as well, and worked around the weather.

Description of Work
deck cleaning and refinishing

Category decks, deck cleaning, pressure washing

3.0

10/02/2017


REGINALD W.

Getting the appointment set that they could keep was a challenge. Cancelled and rescheduled multiple times. The work, once done, was great and the service manager was very nice. I found out that they provided other services which I asked them to quote. I never received the quote.

Description of Work
Deck stained

Category window cleaning

5.0

10/02/2017


Christine O.

Arrived on time, and they were very polite and professional. My only complaint is that some of the window sills were not completely clean. It wasn't a big enough deal for me to contact the company so I let it go. I would definitely use again. Very nice employees.

Description of Work
windows cleaned They did also offer to clean my gutters for an additional fee. It was nice they were looking out for the house.

Category gutter cleaning, window cleaning

5.0

09/27/2017


Karen W.

They did a great job but we spend the entire day wait on the guy to show up.

Description of Work
Deck cleaned and waterproofed

Category deck cleaning

4.0

09/22/2017


Darrick T.

The job went. well. The deck looks muck better.

Description of Work
Restained deck.

Category deck cleaning

1.0

09/20/2017


Kathryn and Larry S.

A big headache and very inconvenient. This was a purchase of a Big Deal in March. I called and Shawn set an appointment for the morning. The team showed up at 3 p.m. I was supervising another contractor at that time. Shawn was 5 hours late and I was then unavailable. Also, Shawn told me he was going to take out the screens and brush them off inside the apartment! Why would anyone put all that dirt inside instead of taking the screens outside? To me it sounded like he didn't know what he was doing! After a discussion, Shawn did agree to take the screens outside to clean them. Several times I tried to make another appointment and could never get one as Shawn was always busy when I could be home. Finally, in August we made an appointment. So now it was 5 months after purchasing the Big Deal. At 6 p.m. the night before they were to come to clean my windows, Shawn calls and says he has to cancel!! His excuse: he is out of town and the one person who works for him has had a death in the family. One of the most unprofessional companies I have found on Angie's List. I wonder how he got onto Angie's List in the first place. I did get a refund of my $89 through Angie's List. But I doubt I will ever purchase a Big Deal again. Not worth the aggravation.

Description of Work
window cleaning

Category window cleaning

5.0

09/04/2017


Derrick F.

The service call went extremely well.

Description of Work
Deck restoration

Category deck cleaning

4.0

09/04/2017


Christopher T.

Went well. Came out power is ashes the deck but it took a few weeks for them to come back and seal the deck. Though the square footage covered is noted it did not cover steps so that was an extra charge that I was surprised by.

Description of Work
Deck cleaned and sealed

Category deck cleaning, pressure washing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Air Duct Cleaners Inc

    Air Duct Cleaners, Inc. has been providing high quality service to residential and commercial properties throughout the Chicagoland area since 1992. Specializing in improving indoor air quality through comprehensive air duct cleaning, the professional technicians at ADC, Inc. are trained on industry leading practices. ADC, Inc. offers an upfront pricing schedule with no hidden costs. Also all work is backed with a 100% satisfaction guarantee.  

    Mr Duct Chicagoland

    Mr. Duct is a professional heating & cooling and air duct cleaning service provider specializing in both Commercial & Residential. We are Chicagoland's air quality cleaner choice, specializing in residential, commercial, and industrial ventilation cleanings and furnace & air conditioner cleaning, repair, and installations. We provide NADCA-certified air duct cleaning and dryer vent cleaning services, also making us Illinois' premier choice for total ventilation care. We even offer expert furnace & air conditioner maintenance checks as well as expert HVAC repair service, so you can count on us for your heating and cooling needs.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Mr Duct Chicagoland on Angi
    Air Ducts Done Right Inc

    Founded in 1999, Air Ducts Done Right, Inc. is a family owned and operated business. We are proudly celebrating a decade of serving the Chicago land area and have over 55 years of combined experience in ventilation systems cleaning. The heart of our company is that we do quality work day in and day out and don't take any shortcuts. Our customers see that we take great pride in our cleanings which result in repeat customers and glowing referrals.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Window Washing, Pressure Washing, Deck Cleaning, Sealing, Staining & Gutter Cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Above the Rest

    How is Above the Rest overall rated?

    Above the Rest is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Above the Rest open?

    Above the Rest is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Above the Rest provide

    Above the Rest accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Above the Rest offer free estimates?

    Yes, Above the Rest offers free project estimates.

    Does Above the Rest offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Above the Rest does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Above the Rest offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Above the Rest offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Above the Rest offer emergency services?

    Yes, Above the Rest offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Above the Rest?

    No, Above the Rest does not offer warranties.

    What services does Above the Rest offer?

    Above the Rest offers the following services: Window Washing, Pressure Washing, Deck Cleaning, Sealing, Staining & Gutter Cleaning.