Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Jon Gross Building Arts

4.9

(33) Verified Reviews

With Angi since August 2016

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Company Contact

312 Tiffany Ct.

Champaign, IL 61822

Description

Award winning degreed landscape designer with over 34 years industry experience specializing in custom landscape design, planning and consultation. Whether seeking help in just a design role or need construction planning and/or consultation, Jon Gross Building Arts will provide exceptional service at every phase of your landscaping project....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(33) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

31

4

1

3

0

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

hardscaping (29)lawn & landscaping (23)mulch delivering (14)Patios (12)architect (12)landscape lighting (11)stone & gravel (10)decks & porches (7)excavating (6)irrigation system (4)tree service (3)fence company (3)
Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews
5.0

04/12/2021

We are very pleased with the work Jon did on our front and back yard. He is a very creative professional and had a great vision for paying homage to our 100-year-old home with classic landscaping. He came up with an incredible, detailed plan that would make our yard functional and beautiful, and was willing to work with us in phases to achieve that plan. We have only been through phase one, but the improvement to our yard is already night and day! We were grateful for his expertise, creativity, and knowledge of local plants. He and his crew were very diligent and completed our project within the time frame we expected. This was our first landscaping project, so we learned we needed to be more communicative about the budget to keep the project within scope. Because we opted for a few more expensive trees and bushes, our project ended up costing more than we had initially agreed upon. Nonetheless, we felt like we got our money's worth for this project and were pleased with what Jon had accomplished.

Description of Work
Removing outdated, unkempt landscaping and putting in flower beds, flowering bushes, and privacy hedges in front and back yards.

Category landscaping,irrigation systems,mulch

Cost $5,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2020

5.0

03/02/2021

John did a great job with our front yard. Every neighbor asks who did our yard and gives us compliments on how nice it looks. More importantly we really enjoy this space now; it is very beautiful and relaxing. He does top notch work.

Description of Work
landscaping, pavers, lighting, handrails, custom bench

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/02/2021

Service Provider Response

Great front walk, landscaping, lighting remodel. Reset the front after years of inproperly burried layers of landscaping. Fresh start not over designed and tasteful landscape that looks like it belongs to this property...hurray!
5.0

02/23/2021

Jon tore out old landscaping that was overgrown or dead, redid the lighting and irrigation, did some major paving to enlarge the front porch and connected the driveway to the front sidewalk with brick pavers and then planted several new plants with various flower options to last most of the year. He also built and installed a 3 stage trellis in the front of the house that is stunning. He did a wonderful job and we have had many compliments from friends and neighbors. We would recommend him to anyone looking to upgrade their property.

Description of Work
landscaping,irrigation, lighting,paving

Category landscaping

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Yes Mr. [Member Name Removed] accurately summarized this project. When spring arrives we will submit fresh pictures for review..Thank you Mr. And Mrs. [Member Name Removed]...
5.0

11/29/2020

I feel like my house got a facelift and Jon Gross was the architect. The porch looks timeless, like it has always been there and the ramp is unobtrusive. The whole house has a fresh look with the new entrance and lighting. At first I thought the project was too pricey, but I picked expensive pavers and Jon worked with me on the price. I am so happy with the outcome. Just goes to show you get what you pay for.

Description of Work
front porch with ramp

Category decks,architect,hardscaping,outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/29/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] it was my pleasure. You helped pick the right materials and we were able to update the front with classic cobbler look...super fun
5.0

09/09/2020

Jon worked closely with us to make sure that we stayed within budget and were happy with the results. He encouraged us to visit nurseries to get inspiration as well as examine specimens he had chosen for our yard. Jon provided a great balance between our wishes and his experienced eye for design making sure we were involved in every stage of the process.

Description of Work
Frontyard needed landscaping including removing the old and installing a new stone border, burying downspouts, sod work around an existing tree, as well as transplanting old and planting new specimens. The backyard required a stone border around existing concrete patio, as well as new plantings to act as a property screen. Patio work required some excavation to regrade the slope around the concrete slab.

Category excavators,landscaping,mulch,pavers, gravel,tree service,architect,hardscaping,patios

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2020

Images

Review for Jon Gross Building Arts - 312 Tiffany Ct., Champaign, IL - 38860695

+5 More

Service Provider Response

Our pleasure to do this renovation on referral from Mr. .[Member Name Removed]'s mothers property. Nice simple front yard landscape. Appreciate opportunity so much to get into your subdivision.
5.0

06/16/2020

The new patio and fence are beautiful. Excellent, very artistic design. Jon listened to our ideas and added some of his own. Jon and his crew worked hard.

Description of Work
New patio, decking-material steps, privacy fence with gate, plus some landscaping.

Category fencing,landscaping,pavers, gravel,architect,hardscaping,patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2020

5.0

05/25/2020

Jon's landscaping surpassed our expectations. His vision, attention to detail, flexibility, and ongoing communication resulted in a cozy, beautiful patio, a new drainage system, and an artistic dry creek bed to channel away heavy rains. We recommend him highly for your landscaping needs.

Description of Work
Install new patio and improve backyard drainage.

Category architect,hardscaping,patios

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2020

5.0

04/07/2020

Jon and his crew did a tremendous job repairing and rebuilding a portion of my retaining wall that is made out of flat stones. They also dug up and moved two fence posts that had shifted and become problematic. In addition to performing the agreed-upon work, Jon and his guys went above and beyond the call of duty by leveling out low spots in my back yard and on the side of the house to improve drainage. Jon gave a thorough explanation of what needed to be done and how he would do it. The work was completed on schedule and I am very please with the results.

Description of Work
I needed to have a retaining wall and a fence rebuilt/repaired.

Category concrete repair,fencing,landscaping,irrigation systems,mulch,pavers, gravel,hardscaping

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Repaired a natural dry stacked stone retaining wall originally built by others too tall and improperly backfilled creating a hydraulic pressure behind original wall. We removed existing wall required to rebuild a proper footing and leveled new wall with mortar and proper drainage behind to increase drainage and reduce hydraulic pressure. Repaired wall sure to last a very long time now with no trouble. Thanks Mr. [Member Name Removed] for allowing us to do our job and get the wall repair done right.
5.0

04/06/2020

We couldn't be happier with the work Jon and his crew did for us! From the beginning, Jon sat down with us and shared with us his vision for what our front yardscape could become. He designed and created a front patio and sitting wall with lighting that met and surpassed our expectations. It provides the perfect place for us to sit and enjoy the neighborhood, and feel more at home. A beautiful cedar trellis accents one side of the house, and shrubs were placed to provide the right balance and color needed. Jon cares about his work, and it showed in his attitude, and the little touches he added to the project. We highly recommend him.

Description of Work
front yard makeover

Category mulch,hardscaping,outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/06/2020

1.0

10/23/2019

Terrible. I called and emailed him several times(regarding the grading of my yard), and he never got back to me.

Description of Work
Fixing the Grade of my yard

Category landscaping,hardscaping

Work Completed On 08/29/2019

Service Provider Response

Yes indeed after some research we did one passed over e-mail that should have been returned. We strive hard for our A rating and at minimum this homeowner deserved a call back. The service this homeowner requested is one that we do not provide though at minimum a return call should have been obliged.

Services Offered

Consultation, Landscape Architectural Design, Construction Management

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Financing Available
Senior Discount
5%
Warranties
Yes