Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Flooring Surfaces

Founded 1994 • With Angi since August 2010

4.7

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

401 Mercury Dr

Champaign, IL 61822

Description

Full Service Flooring Retailer and Wholsaler...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/27/2015


Johnette S.

The work was done professionally and on time. The new flooring looks great. When we chose the flooring at their store, Nicole did an excellent job of helping us select the products. She listened well & helped us with our needs. It would have been nice if Flooring Surfaces had called to confirm the installation date a day or 2 before the scheduled date. They arrived by 9:00 on the scheduled day, but I had a lot of anxiety about whether or not they would be there.

Description of Work
They removed old carpet and pad, & installed new laminate floor in living room,dining room, & hallway. They installed new carpet on stairs and installed tile in the entranceway.

Category carpet installation,ceramic tile,flooring contractor

5.0

06/23/2015


Edward D.

Beautiful showroom - well laid out, nicely lighted, expert help available. We received excellent guidance from one of the showroom floor sales men, Gary. He knew the products thoroughly, and he understood the installation process in great detail. He helped us get to a great choice, and gave us excellent guidance on the install process. We ordered the flooring on at Thursday - and it was delivered out of the warehouse to the store the next day! We were thrilled with the experience and plan to go back next time we need flooring.

Description of Work
Provided beautiful, 3/4" thick by 4 3/4" wide hickory hardware flooring for our master bedroom.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor

5.0

04/02/2015


Bradley S.

Description of Work
I purchased wood laminate flooring to install myself and also purchased carpet and had it installed by their staff. Everything was very smooth and they communicated very well. |

Category carpet installation,ceramic tile,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

4.0

12/18/2014


heath I.

Description of Work
Laid linoleum flooring in 58sq/ft bathroom. Didn't bring floor to original height and forgot to cut hole in floor for the vent. Both the toilet and sink had to be lowered to new height. Stated it wasn't their fault and told me I had to fix it. I refused final payment. They sent some one out to fix the sink and toilet. Charged me for quarter round but used original.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

06/03/2014


Kylene G.

The professional who was laying our tile told us that the quality of Flooring Surfaces tile is excellent, and that we could choose any tile at their store for our project and be pleased with the quality and results. He said the big chain home improvement stores carry many different qualities of tile, and if we went to a chain store we needed to be sure to purchase the mid-high priced tile to ensure that we didn't have breakage, chipping, or tiles that weren't useable due to misshape or flaws. The individual who helped us select our tile was professional, answered all of our questions, and directed us to tiles within our budget, showing us the many options we had. We chose a sale tile that was a great value and exactly the look we wanted for our home. We were impressed with the huge selection (much more tile to choose from that at the home improvement stores, which we perused before going to Flooring Surfaces) and the price on the tile we chose was comparable, if not better, than those stores for a high quality floor tile. We highly recommend Flooring Surfaces and will definitely go back when we tile our bathroom floors!

Description of Work
We purchased tile flooring for a kitchen at Flooring Surfaces. The Flooring Surfaces staff helped us select the tile for our project. Flooring Surfaces was recommended to us by the professional who was doing the tile installation.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor

5.0

02/28/2014


Christine H.

I had originally spent quite a bit of time with Kai a year and a half ago picking out carpet, but we decided to postpone the purchase for other reasons. I was a little anxious to go back there because I had wasted so much of his time. However, I did go back there, and he remembered instantly, down to details about our house and existing flooring. The carpet was ordered quickly and installation began quickly. The upstairs (1300 square feet) took two days, and they worked with us on laying the carpet in phases so we would have somewhere to move our furniture to without going downstairs with it. The two workers were very prompt and courteous. They also were very clean, vacuuming before laying the carpet and after. We love our new carpet! Flooring Surfaces is not the cheapest place in town, but they have a great selection of products in all price points and have excellent service.

Description of Work
Installed carpet in home, pulled up existing carpet and hauled it away.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

02/09/2014


Ken B.

We checked out multiple flooring vendors and got quotes from five of them. While they were generally all in the same 'ballpark' we felt more secure in choosing Flooring Surfaces because of several personal reviews we heard about their workmanship. Flooring Surfaces' Lynn Appleby's assistance was outstanding; she answered all our questions, taught us what we needed to know about hardwood flooring, followed up with cost estimate changes, and provided us multiple large samples to take home which helped in the selection of the color we ultimately chose (Bruce Butterscotch). The materials were ordered and came in on schedule. They were delivered in good condition and unloaded on a Friday and the installers (Ryan Kumler) arrived promptly at 8:00 AM on Monday to start. Ryan, his helper, and Ryan's son removed the existing carpet, baseboards (preserving the closet pieces we were not replacing), and began installing the flooring. My wife and I were quite amazed at how fast Ryan and his crew worked. Arriving daily at 8:00 AM they readily moved those pieces of furniture and appliances that we were prepared to move by ourselves. I measured and cut the new baseboards and Ryan installed them along with the saved closet pieces. I had set aside an area in the garage for their equipment, turned the stereo on and they happily worked the week away, taking two short breaks, and a short lunch daily. They generally worked until 4:30 PM. While moving the refrigerator several new flooring pieces were marred during the process of putting 'sliders' under the refrigerator's wheels (my bad!) and Ryan ordered more pieces (no charge to us) and came back the following week and replaced those boards which matched up perfectly. The installation of the bathroom tiles was, well, nothing to it. They scarified the existing vinyl and placed the new on top and grouted them in - easy breezy. Everything looks great, all the new trim was installed, they cleaned up, and the project was done. We have one bedroom (where we stored everything) we did not have done and will have Flooring Surfaces do that room in the near future.

Description of Work
Sales and installation of 1,500 sf of engineered hardwood flooring and vinyl tile in two bathrooms.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

04/05/2013


Karl R.

Outstanding experience in every way! John has my HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION!! His 25+ years experience were very apparent from start to finish. The final outcome looks fantastic -- meets and exceeds all our expectations! John set the standard for courtesy, professionalism, and doing the job the right way. Very knowledgeable about his trade. The tile removal and re-installation process covered 8 day period -- including several partial days due to drying / curing requirements to do the work properly. John communicated the process clearly (at the start and in progress), so that we had clear expectations of the scope and duration of the work to be done. He was very conscious of minimizing dust / dirt. He installed drop cloths to protect our flooring from our front door to the bath. No evidence of any construction mess beyond the bathroom -- and minimal inside the bathroom. He kept us up-to-date on his progress and the work that he was doing. Completed the work on schedule as promised. I highly recommend John for your tiling requirements -- in the bathroom and beyond!!!

Description of Work
Reinstalled walk-in shower tile basin. This involved removing the existing ceramic floor and 3 courses of the wall tile. He reshaped the underlying concrete bed to ensure correct water flow to the drain. Installed a new waterproof tile basin. Installed a triangular corner seat. Reinstalled the tile. When the house was built 5 years ago, the master bath tile basin was incorrectly installed resulting in water leaks to the lower floor. The work was done as warranty work by the house builder -- therefore, I do not know the cost. John Walker was the subcontractor for Flooring Surfaces, Champaign, IL, who did the work. He worked alone.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

10/27/2011


Linda A.

Their consultant worked with me. She has been absolutely fabulous. I'm a bit of a type A person and she has been awesome. The subcontractor they used to install the tile was also awesome. He told me that the plumbing that was done was incorrectly done. He helped me get a plumber to solve a problem that would have been disasterous.

Description of Work
They are installing tile in our bathroom including the cost of the tile. They also selected the installer.

Category ceramic tile

3.0

08/05/2011


Lynne F.

Their installer was great. He was terrific. I had some problems with the sales person that I first encountered. She really gave me some misinformation and didn't back up with what she said. I ended up working with another guy that was quite the opposite. I had problems with just one person there. The quality of their work and their products were fine. I was misinformed which caused a lot of problems in the choice of my tile and so forth. I had some delays and that stepped in because of that one person. Everything is holding up well. The quality of work was good. Their responsiveness was fair and that really was the problem. I would use them again in the future, but I would avoid the person that I had problems with.

Description of Work
Flooring Surfaces installed backsplash tile in the kitchen in 2010. They also installed general tile on the shower walls, bath walls and the floors.

Category ceramic tile

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mennenga Construction, Inc.

    With over 55 years of Residential Construction experience, Mennenga's is a locally owned and operated company. We provide a wide range of contracting services including additions, renovations, complete design services, home building, and much more. We warranty all of our work, and use only the highest quality materials. Give us a call today to discuss your project and schedule your free consultation and estimate. We pride ourselves on craftsmanship, and customer satisfaction. We look forward to providing you with customized solutions to improve the value of your home!  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Flooring Material Sales, Flooring Installation, Custom Shower Installation, Commercial Flooring Installation

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Flooring Surfaces

    How is Flooring Surfaces overall rated?

    Flooring Surfaces is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Flooring Surfaces open?

    Flooring Surfaces is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Flooring Surfaces provide

    Flooring Surfaces accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Flooring Surfaces offer free estimates?

    Yes, Flooring Surfaces offers free project estimates.

    Does Flooring Surfaces offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Flooring Surfaces does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Flooring Surfaces offer a senior discount?

    No, Flooring Surfaces does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Flooring Surfaces?

    No, Flooring Surfaces does not offer warranties.

    What services does Flooring Surfaces offer?

    Flooring Surfaces offers the following services: Flooring Material Sales, Flooring Installation, Custom Shower Installation, Commercial Flooring Installation