Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds

Founded 1998 • With Angi since January 2007

4.7

(42) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 1044

Bolingbrook, IL 60440

Description

Aerate-1 Landscaping & Ponds has serviced the Southwest Chicago Suburbs since 1988 providing a wide range of landscaping services while ensuring outstanding customer service on each and every job. Our veteran installation crew maintains their knowledge of landscaping services through constant

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/29/2021


James D.

I had an existing pond from another landscaping company that was leaking I called 3 other landscaping companies that specialize in ponds none of them called back I called Hector once and he was at my house within 48hrs. Said he can fix my existing pond I told him I want bigger he mapped out the pond of my dreams. His guys started the job and didnâ t leave until job was done. We even had a very small problem within 48hrs Hector had guys fix problem. His guys were very respectful they were always in masks even tho I didnâ t care if they were. They cleaned up everything then next day Hector came by showed us how to run everything then he walked around yard making sure the waterfall sound was perfect from all spots in yard also gave us web site to get our koi. He does offer financing so you can get a nice pond and not having regrets on not getting what you want. We even had neighbors come by now they want pond by Hector. We couldnâ t be more happier no regrets. James D.

Description of Work
Pond repair and installation

Category landscaping, lawn service, lighting, fountains, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

5.0

06/05/2019


Susan M.

I needed some landscaping refreshed that Aerate 1 had done for me a couple of years ago. A tree and bushes were trimmed. Rocks were raised from the soil and replaced and slabs were raised and replaced Two flower beds were cleaned up and new mulch was replaced by a tree in the parkway. Mulch was added in all areas. Another area by front steps was cleaned up and leveled and mulch added. Hector came with the crew to explain everything and left. The crew did exactly what they were suppose to do. Afterward they did a good job of cleaning up the area.

Description of Work
Refresh landscaping

Category landscaping

5.0

08/04/2018


Jay W.

Outstanding! We would never consider using another landscaping company. Hector and his crew were reliable, responsive, attentive to the smallest detail and professional. Daily follow up to ensure we were completely satisfied as the project progressed and when it was completed was second to none. I would not want to be a competitor of Aerate1 because they could not have done any better. These guys are the best you will find!

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping, lawn service, lighting, masonry, mulch, pavers, gravel, tree service, lakefront landscaping, fountains, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

5.0

07/11/2018


Al T.

We have hired Hector and his crew to do sod for our front yard and to redo our pond - the work was done on time, professionally, and the areas were always cleaned up. Hector and his crew are talented and will work within your needs. Hector is a business man who truly cares about his customers and will offer professional advice but not force things on you. Good company to have work for you if you have needs for outdoor projects for lawn, pond or lighting. Al T

Description of Work
Repair of a waterfall and previously laying of sod.

Category landscaping, lawn service, lakefront landscaping

5.0

06/01/2018


Bill A.

Three guys jumped right into the clean-up and trim of surrounding plants. They work hard and this is a very dirty job. Pond looks like new and the yard was all clean-up when they were done.

Description of Work
Spring pond clean-up

Category landscaping

5.0

10/23/2017


John F.

Hector was very responsive to our needs. He met with us to show us some of his work and to understand what we wanted. He explained in detail what he would do and came out to the house during the work to ensure that everything was being done to our satisfaction. His team was timely and professional, and the job was completed as he described. Additionally, he came out after the pond work was complete and walked me through the process of maintaining the pond, which the business that initially put in the pond never did. We were extremely satisfied with his customer service and the quality of his work.

Description of Work
Pond Overhaul

Category landscaping

5.0

10/20/2017


Jacqueline T.

I am very pleased with the finished project. It takes a lot of skill to create something beautiful that looks natural and functions. The work was done very quickly. All debris was cleaned away nicely.

Description of Work
We had a pond installed in our back yard, complete with waterfall and lighting.

Category landscaping, lighting, pavers, gravel, fountains

5.0

06/29/2017


Susie A.

Around seven years ago, Hector and his crew at Aerate 1 installed an Aquascape Rainwater Recycling Pondless Waterfall in my backyard. I was his first residential customer for this type of installation, although they'd done a couple commercial installations previously. It's set up to reuse the water runoff from my home's back gutter and sump pump discharge. I had no idea what to expect visually, but Hector had a vision. I'd seen landscaping jobs he'd done in my neighborhood, so I trusted him and let him have creative control. It was the best decision I've made! It is beautiful! The sound of running water, the ability to water my garden using an additional pump that pulls water from the underground reservoir, watching the birds' attraction to the water feature, the knowledge that I'm putting the discharged water from my sump pump to good use and very minimal upkeep involved--what's not to love? The crew comes out every spring to clean and restart the feature, then every fall they clean and shut it down for the winter months. They do a great job picking up after themselves when they're done. I've also had them clean my garden beds--spading the edges, removing the old mulch and putting down new, fresh mulch. They've always done a great job and are very polite. Hector himself comes out and checks every job personally. I highly recommend this company for any type of landscape or water feature! Hector also recently installed a flagstone walkway that goes from my driveway all the way to the patio in my backyard. I described what I wanted and left the rest to Hector and his crew. They not only gave me what I wanted, they made it even more beautiful.

Description of Work
Rainwater recycling pondless waterfall and flagstone walkway

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

5.0

05/16/2017


Tom F.

Hector was super great to work with. He helped me come up with a plan and a budget. His ideas and design skills, as we as communication were first class. hector is one of the best contractors I have ever worked with. He was very responsive and answered all of our questions.

Description of Work
Pond design and construction

Category landscaping

5.0

05/16/2017


Milly Kay G.

Went very well job performed and all actions done well whatever I requested

Description of Work
We had a waterless pond built in our backyard

Category landscaping

5.0

05/16/2017


Jeordano M.

Exactly as described. The workers left the area in an immaculate state after they finished. I am totally pleased. I had them back last month to get the pond ready for the new season.

Description of Work
I have had a pond for several years, but it had been installed in a rather shoddy and haphazard fashion. I contacted Aerate 1, and Hector arrived promptly at the agreed time and explained the problem thoroughly and what the reconstruction would entail. It was a bit more than I had hoped, but am I ever glad I did it! His crew was here for several days and did an outstanding work. My neighbors are most impressed and one of them is even thinking of having one in his backyard as well. There is nothing better than finding a competent, responsible contractor who excels what he has promised. Thanks, guys!

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, fountains, patios

5.0

09/08/2016


Deirdre M.

I used them for probably seven or eight years.

Description of Work
I used Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds for lawn & yard work. They did my fall clean up and my beds and weeds and everything.They got me all cleaned up.

Category lawn service

5.0

08/31/2015


JoAnna K.

Hector and his crew did an excellent job rejuvinating our existing pond. They went above and beyond a refurbishment, cleaning out weeds, power washing the individual large rocks and installing flat rock and river rock around the pond. They made it look like a brand new pond installation. The crew worked very efficiently and politely and when they were done, you would never know that they had just been there. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Refurbished existing pond.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

:)
5.0

08/21/2015


Nancy A.

His staff arrived nice and early and worked very efficiently. They did a great job cleaning up after themselves. My yard has never looked better! I did have one neighbor complain about the loud music while they worked, but it didn't bother me.

Description of Work
Hector came by exactly when he said he would to see what I needed done and to give me an estimate for the work I needed done, which included: general cleanup, edging, tree trimming, and landscaping with top soil, sod, mulch, and river rock ground cover. Hector came by exactly when he said he would to give me an estimate for the work I needed done, which included: General cleanup, edging, tree trimming, and landscaping with top soil, sod, mulch, and river rock ground cover. Hector came by exactly when he said he would to give me an estimate for the work I needed done, which included: General cleanup, edging, tree trimming, and landscaping with top soil, sod, mulch, and river rock ground cover. Hector came by exactly when he said he would to give me an estimate for the work I needed done, which included: General cleanup, edging, tree trimming, and landscaping with top soil, sod, mulch, and river rock ground cover.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, tree service

1.0

06/20/2015


Jeanne D.

we ended up spending another 2 grand to clean up the mess they made. very poor - save yourself from hector all smiles day one all excuses thereafter save yourself some $ do not call these guys they upsell you stuff you dont need that actually damages what you've already got so they can charge you more to get what they ruined fixed

Description of Work
hired to clean out our pond. we ended up spending another 2 grand to clean up the mess they made. very poor - save yourself from hector all smiles day one all excuses thereafter

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately costumer had a major issue that was caused before we got there, and did not tell us the issue they had. We completed everything as promised and even returned at no charge to them. We were not aware of the problem she had and wanted us to complete extra work that was not included on the agreement. We do our best to service our customers with everything we promised be we can not be held liable for work that we did not perform, we offered to help the customer with this problem and they wanted to hold us responsible for any unknown problems they had before we arrived. Thank you, -Aerate-1
3.0

08/23/2014


Gregg K.

Overall, very disappointing experience. Hector came out to give us the quote and spent a bunch of time explaining what needed to be done and how it would be done. We decided to use Aerate 1 even though they were more expensive than the other 2 places. Hector seemed to take great care in doing the best job possible. The guys can out yesterday to fix the patio and were done in one day. My wife and I went out to look at how things came out and noticed the 2nd level of steps were NOT even. I gave Hector a call and he responded first thing this morning. Hector explained that he never quoted us for the 2nd level of stairs to be leveled. I find it very hard to believe someone would spend $3700 to fix a patio and ONLY fix 1 level of the steps. By leveling everything but the 2nd level of steps makes those steps even worse. The rest of the patio looks pretty good, but the steps really take away from the whole patio. It is very noticeable to the eye and takes away much of the excitement of getting it re-done. Hector did say we could fix it for another $450 even though the bricks were off yesterday and would have been much easier. The worked seemed to be done well, but make sure you have EVERYTHING listed in the quote as we would have NEVER even fixed it unless everything was fixed.

Description of Work
Removed, leveled, and replaced 1/2 of brick paver patio. The steps (I guess TOP one only) were also leveled!!

Category landscaping, lawn service, masonry, hardscaping, patios

5.0

04/30/2014


Timothy A.

We had the pond for many years and decide to make it into a pondless pond. We researched companies and liked the video's we saw (youtube) of Hector's work. On the first visit he talked with us about our desires and he suggested ways to implement our ideas. The pondless pond is lovely and waaay better then I envisioned..... Five Waterfalls and a meandering stream. He even added branches in the stream to give it a natural look. Hectors crew was here everyday from 8:30 to 8 PM. It took 6 days to complete. Usually 2 or 3 men would work and they were pleasant and professional. The crew knew what they were doing in laying out the design and the artistry involved. They would spend time putting rocks in a certain pattern, stand back and look at what was done and then go back and move everything till it was the way they wanted it. The process was amazing. After the pondless pond was complete, I thought the main waterfall should be adjusted a little and called Hector. I left a message and before the day was done the men were here and adjusted the waterfall. I also liked the fact that Aerate 1 is a contractor for Aquascape Ponds which constructed our original pond. Aerate 1, Hector and his men get 4 stars for a job very well done. Thank you

Description of Work
removed existing pond prepared sight for pondless pond built 5 tiered waterfall and creek laid rocks, pebbles and mulch around pondless pond

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel, lakefront landscaping, hardscaping

1.0

04/05/2014


Jeanne D.

Hector sold us more pumps than we needed which caused us additional problems. We hired him to prepare our pond for a graduation and wedding ceremony that were to be held in our yard in the next two months. He installed lighting which did NOT give the pond the best presence. We moved this ourselves for a much better look. He did not repair the leak in the pond which was the main reason for hiring him. He stated that it was an impossible job which would require looking over the entire liner and the lines. That is exactly why we were willing to pay $6,000! We paid him what we agreed to pay him at $6,000. He stated that we owed him more money. When we refused to pay, he tow employees stood on our during the graduation party insisting for payment of additional monies. The police were called and he left. We have not heard from him since that time. Do NOT hire this company. They are rip off artists. Read my other reviews. I do not say this lightly and am usually satisfied with services that I receive. I cannot state this strongly enough. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!!!!

Description of Work
He was supposed to repair our pond. What he did was remove all rock and clean the pond. Installed lighting, and sold us a new filter and more pumps than we needed.

Category landscaping, outdoor lighting

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately costumer had a major issue that was caused before we got there, and did not tell us the issue they had. We completed everything as promised and even returned at no charge to them. We were not aware of the problem she had and wanted us to complete extra work that was not included on the agreement. We do our best to service our customers with everything we promised be we can not be held liable for work that we did not perform, we offered to help the customer with this problem and they wanted to hold us responsible for any unknown problems they had before we arrived. Thank you, -Aerate-1
5.0

08/27/2013


Sarah P.

He showed up on time, He did a good job, the water fall is working a lot better now, they are a little on the high price but it is difficult to find companies that would do this kind of work.

Description of Work
Clean the filter of a water fall.

Category landscaping, fountains

5.0

08/26/2013


Scott P.

All went well, done when they said they would and on time.

Description of Work
Plant new sod, trim all bushes around the house.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

07/15/2013


Deirdre M.

Typical grass cutting. No extra services or maintenance.

Description of Work
Cut grass

Category lawn service

1.0

07/08/2013


Lynn B.

I used the email- said, call. So I call and the machine says use the web site, well I left the message and no one ever even called back..

Description of Work
I wanted some trees removed and stone work done, he was recommended by a neighbor.Angie's said he was good also.

Category landscaping, tree service, hardscaping

4.0

12/18/2012


Becky F.

Aerate 1 arrived promptly on time, and began working as one would expect. They were very careful and professional while doing the work. As I usually do, I kept an eye on them while they were working and I was very impressed. They took their time and never once appeared to be rushing or impatient. They made sure to lay down sod that did not require much sunlight because the area being worked on does not receive much sunlight. They made sure to inform us of any upkeep procedures to follow to assist the sod in taking hold. These prodedures were followed and we are very pleased with the results.

Description of Work
Aerate came over about two weeks after our initial contact to remove a concrete slab and fence posts that made up a dog run. They broke up the concrete slab, hauled it away, took out the fence posts, and laid down new sod.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

12/12/2012


Zakia H.

Hector was very pleasant and professional. He arrived for the estimate on time and spent almost half an hour going over the property and talking to me about what could or should be done at various points. I didn't end up going with him because I just couldn't afford it at the time but have every intention of calling him in the spring to get some work done. I got estimates from about 4 people and none of the others seemed as knowledgeable and professional as Hector.

Description of Work
I contacted this company to get a quote for a fall clean-up of our yard as well as some landscaping. Hector was very pleasant and professional. He arrived for the estimate on time and spent almost half an hour going over the property and talking to me about what could or should be done at various points. I didn't end up going with him because I just couldn't afford it at the time but have every intention of calling him in the spring to get some work done. I got estimates from about 4 people and none of the others seemed as knowledgeable and professional as Hector.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

05/12/2012


Ross N.

Very pleased with work, clean up, time for project completion, and customer service. Little extras were done as well such as spreading extra mulch around trees in front. When work was completed the project manager, came over and explained how to care for the plants and gave us tips. A week later the owner came out to check the job and to see if we were satisfied. We signed another contract with him for additional work. I will continue to work with this company as they seem very knowledgeable and take great pride in their work.

Description of Work
Repaired a retaining wall and added caps, removed some bushes and added new ones, added a new planting area with plants, mulched and planted a new tree.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Tmw Enterprises Paving & Maintenance

    TMW has been providing Concrete, Stamped Concrete, Brick Paving, and Asphalt Paving work for over 20 YEARS. Visit our website www.tmwpaving.com to schedule a appointment , send a message or see some of our work in our gallery our goal Is to Teaching our customers along the way the proper maintenance and expectation of their pavement surface in what ever that my be. We look forward to hear from you Tyrone M. Ward Owner TMW  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    ARROWHEAD BRICK PAVERS

    Arrowhead Brick Pavers Inc. is an experienced company that takes great pride in our superior custom hardscape installations. Our experienced staff will help bring custom designs and quality installations to each and every customer. We install over 200,000 square feet of pavers every year and have over 35 years in hardscape installations. We are backed by Unilock and are considered one of their top residential installers as well as an authorized Weber dealer. All of our work is fully guaranteed. We are also a complaint free member of the Better Business Bureau with hundreds of satisfied customers. We sincerely look forward to working with you on your custom installation and bringing "outdoor living" to your home.  

    Angi Certified

    Archadeck of Chicagoland

    With 30 years of business and over 100,000 completed projects, Archadeck’s experience and professionalism ensures unmatched quality and service. Family owned. Corporate name: Integrity Enterprises Inc. We are a full-service design & build company. We are not set up for any kind of repair or maintenance work.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscaping, pond, pondless, waterfall, lawn services, sod services, lighting, retaining walls & patios.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds

    How is Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds overall rated?

    Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds open?

    Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds provide

    Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds offer free estimates?

    No, Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds offer a senior discount?

    No, Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds?

    Yes, Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds offers warranties.

    What services does Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds offer?

    Aerate 1 Landscaping & Ponds offers the following services: Landscaping, pond, pondless, waterfall, lawn services, sod services, lighting, retaining walls & patios.