Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Olsen Tuckpointing Co

4.8

(100) Verified Reviews

Founded 1964 • With Angi since April 2009

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

311 S Hager Ave

Barrington, IL 60010

http://www.olsentuckpointing.com
COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Masonry specialists servicing the Chicago area suburbs for over 55 years. 100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED. Family owned - 19 employees - no subcontractors - all experienced tuckpointers & union journeymen. Cost is determined by the job. Free estimates, no travel charges. Fully licensed, bonded and insured. A+ Rating from Better Business Bureau. Super Service Award (2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2020) from Angie's List....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(100) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

89

4

6

3

2

2

2

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

masonry (90)chimney repair (41)chimney cap repair (12)roofing (3)house painting (1)basement waterproofing (1)
Showing 1-10 of 100 reviews
4.0

12/15/2021


Marilyn K.

Pretty good. Only issue was that we had to go around the house with painters tape to point out the holes that they missed while tuckpointing.

Description of Work
Tuckpointing

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review as we appreciate your time and choosing Olsen for your project! If in need of my team to correct any further spots that were missed or any of preexisting work needs further assistance, please feel free to reach out at any time and I'd be happy to send someone by. Thank you again!
5.0

11/16/2021


Cheryl A.

Professional from start to finish and the work was done incredibly. It also was the first time I've never had to do any clean-up myself after the work was done. The site was spotless. I already have had them back out to quote more work.

Description of Work
Tuckpointing

Category masonry

Cost $1,650

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind words. We appreciate your time and thank you again for choosing Olsen for your project! Should you need anything regarding the work or in the future, please feel free to reach out at any time. Have a great day!
5.0

08/16/2021


cassandra T.

The job was accurately described at what they could do and when it could be scheduled in. I was kept up to date and everything went as planned. They did a great job and cleaned up the site! I could not have asked for a better outcome.

Description of Work
Tuckpointing

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/16/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We appreciate the kind words and for choosing Olsen for your project. Have a great day!
5.0

07/13/2021


v S.

Estimator showed up, listened carefully to what I was concerned about, took pictures, and was prompt in emailing the estimate. The Olson scheduler contacted me to make the appointment, and the workers showed up on time. The tuckpointers were curteous, completed all the requested work, which looks very nice.

Description of Work
Tuckpointing

Category masonry

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review and taking the time to share. We appreciate your business and thank you for considering Olsen for your projects! Have a wonderful day!
5.0

06/08/2021


John + Debra R.

They did a great Job! They were always on time. The workers ere polite and very efficient at the Job. They also cleaned up all around the house before they left. We would hire them again if needed in a heartbeat! You won’t be sorry hiring this company.. Deborah Ramirez

Description of Work
Tuckpointing

Category masonry

Cost $4,985

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review and taking the time to share. We really appreciate your business and thank you for considering Olsen for your projects! Have a wonderful day!
5.0

05/27/2021


Sue Z.

The experience was exceptional from start to finish.

Description of Work
Tuckpointing

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for the review + taking the time to share. We appreciate your business and thank you for considering Olsen for your projects. Have a wonderful day!
5.0

05/27/2021


Bob M.

Very well . Workers were competent and thorough Crews cleaned up area First trip to remove and rebuild exposed chimney brick Second trip to remove cracked tile liner and install steel liner Broken old tile parts thoroughly removed Preparations kept dust and debris from interior of house Expected waterproof sealer for new brick not yet applied to exterior.

Description of Work
Replaced chimney above roof line, installed chimney cap. Removed cracked chimney liner. Installed stainless steel liner

Category chimney repair

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for taking the time to share this kind review. We really appreciate your business and just wanted to thank you again for considering Olsen! Have a wonderful day!
5.0

09/10/2020


Dan W.

All work completed on time , professionally, very satisfied with result. Would hire again for future repairs of same type. Price was higher than other quotes. Ken explained that Olsen is a union shop and that made it worth it to me.

Description of Work
Tuckpointing on stone front of house

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for the nice review and taking the time to share. Thank you again for choosing Olsen, we really appreciate your business! Have a wonderful day!
3.0

08/31/2020


Ihab R.

Bob was great and very personable, just the price was too high.

Description of Work
Estimate

Category masonry

Work Completed On 08/31/2020

3.0

06/30/2020


Ron S.

Olsen has twice replaced the mortar on our patio steps. The first time work was completed in less than two hours, which seemed quick considering the amount of steps and price charged. About 12 months later the mortar began to crack and fall out again. Olsen completed the second repair as part of their warranty on work completed. Update: Fast forward another year, and the mortar is cracking and falling out again. Upon further investigation it was determined the problem was with the original installation of steps five years earlier by builder. Given that the original cracking started to appear two years after installation by builder, Olsen should have known this was not a normal tuckpointing job since that is their business and expertise, especially when they had to come out and redo their work under a warranty guarantee. Ultimately had to have stones removed completely and installed again with different mortar and adhesive. Olsen did not do this work as their bid was 25% more than other bid I received. I would potentially hire Olsen again, but would do my own due diligence on the potential project and not rely on Olsen for figuring things out.

Description of Work
Mortar for patio steps was cracked between stones and needing replaced.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/23/2019

Services Offered

Tuckpointing, chimney repair, chimney relining and rebuilds, brick or stonework, waterproofing, caulking, masonry cleaning, repair and restoration, pressure washing, graffiti removal and control, video chimney scans, and paint stripping/removal.

Services Not Offered

Chimney sweeping, roofing, large scale concrete repair.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, Check
Senior Discount
no
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Olsen Tuckpointing Co

How is Olsen Tuckpointing Co overall rated?

Olsen Tuckpointing Co is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

What days are Olsen Tuckpointing Co open?

Olsen Tuckpointing Co is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

What payment options does Olsen Tuckpointing Co provide

Olsen Tuckpointing Co accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, Check

Does Olsen Tuckpointing Co offer free estimates?

Yes, Olsen Tuckpointing Co offers free project estimates.

Does Olsen Tuckpointing Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, Olsen Tuckpointing Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Olsen Tuckpointing Co offer a senior discount?

No, Olsen Tuckpointing Co does not offer a senior discount.

Are warranties offered by Olsen Tuckpointing Co?

Yes, Olsen Tuckpointing Co offers warranties.

What services does Olsen Tuckpointing Co offer?

Olsen Tuckpointing Co offers the following services: Tuckpointing, chimney repair, chimney relining and rebuilds, brick or stonework, waterproofing, caulking, masonry cleaning, repair and restoration, pressure washing, graffiti removal and control, video chimney scans, and paint stripping/removal.

Are there any services Olsen Tuckpointing Co does not offer?

Chimney sweeping, roofing, large scale concrete repair.