Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Handy Men & Mrs Helper Kitchen & Bath

About

Founded 2003 • With Angi since April 2004

SUPER SERVICE AWARD WINNER SINCE 2003! Our mission is to offer honest, reliable home remodeling services that set us apart from other service providers. We continually strive to exceed expectations by ensuring that each home repair or remodeling project is done to your satisfaction. Our commitment and assurance to our clients is something we take great pride in. When planning your next home improvement project, rely on a company that offers unparalleled knowledge, experience and expertise. Contact us today to learn more about what sets us apart from the competition....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+9 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(1283) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

1110

4

71

3

30

2

28

1

44

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

handyman (877)interior painting (400)drywall (245)electrician (209)home remodeling (174)plumbers (156)woodworking (134)door installation (122)lighting (112)tile installation (111)flooring (79)general contractors (63)
Showing 1-25 of 1283 reviews
5.0

10/02/2021


Steve B.

THE BEST experience with a contractor EVER! We’ve owned 7 houses and have hired numerous contractors to do a variety of work, this was by far the smoothest, most thorough job we’ve ever had done. The communication, preparation and scheduling made us feel at ease with the project. Everyone of the workers and managers of the job showed up on time and got our job done on the specific schedule we were given. The quality of the work was top notch! The entire team was a pleasure to work with!

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category drywall, picture framing, handyman service, home remodeling

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2021

Images

Review for Handy Men & Mrs Helper Kitchen & Bath - 117 S Cook Street, Barrington, IL - 39494706

+3 More

5.0

09/28/2021


EDWARD H.

On Sept. 24th I had Handy Men & Mrs. Helper Kitchen & Bath come to my house to do some much needed various Handyman work. I was totally pleased with the work that Aivo did. He arrived right on time, worked very efficiently and did a wonderful job. In addition Aivo answered any questions that I had in a very professional and truthful way. He even made some great suggestions that I can do in the future. It was a pleasure to have Aivo at my home and I will definitely use HANDY MEN & MRS. HELPER when I need work done around my house.

Description of Work
Various Handyman Services

Category drywall, handyman service, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business and your review. Aivo is so great at what he does, and also very knowledgeable. I am glad that he was able to help with your projects. We look forward to working with you on your next home project.
5.0

08/22/2021


Noah G.

Andy and his team of guys were exceptional to work with. Andy is extremely knowledgeable and helped us through every step of the project, including recommended vendors to select materials and fixtures. All contractors we worked with did great work and were extremely courteous and professional We hired Handymen and Mrs. Helper for a complete bathroom remodel and were so pleased with them we hired them again for some smaller work in our kitchen a few months later. Would strongly recommend to family, friends or anyone!

Description of Work
Full Bathroom Remodel and Kitchen Sink replacement

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/09/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business and for your review. Andy and our guys enjoyed working with you. We look forward to working with you on your next home project.
5.0

07/02/2021


Jennifer G.

Everything that they said they did, They had a professional to the job - tile, electricity, and painting. Communication was also good. They were prompt and left things clean. Anndy and bryan are king. They do what they said.

Description of Work
repainted kitchen cabinets, changed countertops, electrical lighting

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and for your review. Everyone enjoyed working with you. Your Kitchen turned out beautifully. We look forward to working with you on your next home project.
5.0

02/27/2021


Michelle T.

Exceptional work by Steve, with great communication from Anne, Andy and Brian, and I have a gorgeous new Master Bath with a new shower, floors, lighting, paint, and freestanding tub. I had a number of estimates from other providers and Handymen & Mrs Helper was a standout in price and options.

Description of Work
Master Bedroom Rehab

Category lighting, home remodeling

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review. We have truly enjoyed working with you on both of your bathrooms. They are beautiful! We look forward to working with you on your next home project.
5.0

02/09/2021


MARY P.

As a home owner, it provides peace of mind to work with a reputable company that holds itself and its employees to such high standards of performance and customer service. We had a lot of work done and are very pleased with how everything came together and our overall experience!

Description of Work
Painting (8 rooms, closets), remove old/install new stair spindles, remove old/install new blinds in multiple rooms, remove old/install new closet organizers, replace drop ceiling in office, replace multiple light fixtures/switches.

Category closet systems, electrician, handyman service, lighting, window treatments, interior painters

Cost $9,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/20/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business and for your review. We have all enjoyed working with you. We look forward to working with you on your next home project.
5.0

01/26/2021


Molly G.

The Handy Men and Mrs. Helper Kitchen and Bath team were AWESOME! Expert craftsmanship, reliable, trustworthy, on-time, on budget - I highly recommend! Kitchen - painted cabinets, added cabinet pulls, added 2 new cabinets, closed up soffet, new sink, disposal & faucet, all new appliances, installed new hard wood floor, updated electrical outlets (USB), quartz countertops & quartz back splash. Bathroom - gutted down to the studs, removed tub, brand new tiled shower, tiled shower walls, faucets, new vanity, toilet, new mirror and more! Beautifully refinished hardwood floors in living room & dining room, to match the new kitchen floor. Painted living room, dining room and back entry way. I'm extremely happy with my newly remodeled home! Thank you Andy, Anne and HMMHKB team.

Description of Work
Kitchen & Bathroom remodel

Category appliance repair, countertops, drywall, electrician, egress windows, plumbing, wallpaper removal, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/11/2020

Images

Review for Handy Men & Mrs Helper Kitchen & Bath - 117 S Cook Street, Barrington, IL - 39155723

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and for your review! Your Kitchen and Bathroom look beautiful! We hope you enjoy them both. We look forward to working with you on your next home project.
5.0

01/15/2021


Eric J.

My wife and I recently moved into a home that was built in the 1980s...and the basement still reflected that style. It was time for an update and calling Handy Men & Mrs. Helper was a great decision. They were able to transform the antiquated 80's paneling into a modern, functional space, helped move a light fixture while patching a ceiling that had water damage, and even fixed a leaking toilet that we were unaware of. From first contact to completion, communication was abundant, their employees were always punctual and professional, and not only did they do an excellent job of remolding/painting...but they were efficient too. I'd recommend them to anyone who is looking to do cosmetic/functional work in their home. There is still some more work to do and when it's time, there's no doubt I will be calling Handy Men & Mrs. Helper.

Description of Work
Basement Remodel & Ceiling Patching

Category drywall, electrician, handyman service, lighting, remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

Cost $5,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and for your review! Congratulations on your new home! Your basement turned out beautifully. Enjoy the new space.
5.0

01/13/2021


Ilene S.

the man that came out was wonderful. He inspected my stair project. He told me it was not just a matter fixing the stair treads, but a whole new set of stairs would have to be installed. This job would be very expensive, at least a 2 day job. At the rate they charge per hour was something I could not afford at this time. I really appreciated the honesty.

Description of Work
stairs repaired

Category appliance repair, electrician, handyman service, lighting, ceiling fans

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reaching out to us and for your review. We wish you luck with your project and hope to work with you on your next home project.
5.0

10/21/2020


Simi I.

We had some peeling drywall paper and tape lines on our bathroom ceiling and consulted with HM&MH to assist with repairing the issues so we could paint and finish a bathroom remodel. We absolutely LOVE how it turned out. You cannot even tell there were issues and the ceiling is good as new. The work was estimated to take most of the day however Virgo was done in just a couple of hours which allowed us time to continued working on our bathroom that day. We love working with HM&MH. They are always very helpful and they always do a great job. I will continue to call them whenever I have a project I cannot do myself.

Description of Work
Bathroom ceiling drywall repair

Category drywall, remodeling, air duct cleaning, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review and for being such a loyal customer over the years. We always enjoy working there.
5.0

10/16/2020


LORELEE C.

This is the second time we have hired Handy Men and Mrs. Helper Kitchen and Bath to remodel our home, and we couldn't be more pleased. We hired HMMHKB the second time because based on our first experience with them when the renovated our children's full bath, we knew we would be getting an on time delivery with high quality work. Heath was our contractor on both projects, and his attention to detail and ability to produce quality results is second to none. Every step of the way, Heath was communicating with us and with Andy about possible issues that may affect the timeline. Heath also thought creatively to solve some of those issues and keep the project on time. We had a slight issue with the cabinets we ordered from HMMHKB's partner company, Pearl Design Group. Pearl Design and the cabinet manufacturer, Kitchen Craft, did a stellar job in resolving the issues with only a minor delay and no increase in cost. We received outstanding customer service from both companies and from Handy Men. We are looking forward to our next project with Handy Men and Mrs. Helper Kitchen and Bath.

Description of Work
Remodel of kitchen

Category air duct cleaning, home remodeling

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2020

Service Provider Response

We are so pleased you are happy with your Kitchen and your Bathroom! Thank you for your review and your continued support of HMMH-KB. We have fantastic guys who do amazing work! We look forward to working with you on your next home project.
5.0

10/15/2020


Luis L.

We looked at several remodel options on Angie's List and decided on Handy Men & Mrs Helper, it was the best decision. Andy, Anne and the team are simply awesome. They gave us helpful idea's and were very responsive to any questions we had. Their team consisting of Steve, Scott and Virgo were knowledgeable, helpful and extremely hard working. Since the original bathroom remodel project, which came out great, we've hired them for other projects and couldn't be happier. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel, Painting & Baseboards

Category air duct cleaning, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review and for your business. We look forward to working with you next on installing your new doors.
5.0

10/15/2020


Sarah P.

We contracted H&MH to paint, finish some drywall, and put flooring down in our basement on a tight budget. The unfinished ceiling was painted too, which was not an easy task. All the work turned out great and way better than expected. Andy suggested flooring that was a perfect choice. We really love how it turned out. All of the crew were polite, professional, and hard working. Everything was done on time and under budget. We’ve hired this company for several projects and we’ve never been disappointed. We highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Basement Remodel

Category drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, interior painters, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and for your continued support of HMMH-KB! Enjoy your newly finished basement! We look forward to working with you on your next home project!
5.0

10/15/2020


Brian M.

We moved into a new house this summer and used Handy Men & Mrs Helper to rip out over 1,000 square feet of carpet and replace it with hardwood floors. They also did interior painting. I fully trust Andy and his team to work independently in our home. His team is hardworking, professional and responsive. They are very detail oriented and when the project was suspended due to my daughter not feeling well they rearranged their schedule so they could come right back to finish once she was better. The hardwood floors and painting have really brought the house to life.

Description of Work
Hardwood Floors and Painting

Category hardwood floor, air duct cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2020

Images

Review for Handy Men & Mrs Helper Kitchen & Bath - 117 S Cook Street, Barrington, IL - 38953526

Service Provider Response

Your new home is BEAUTIFUL! Thank you for your review and we look forward to working with you on your next home project.
5.0

10/15/2020


Brian M.

Andy provided a detailed timeline of the job and him and his team delivered. Once they start the job they stay on it until completion. They are very responsive and my wife and I valued their opinions on the project. With our kids getting older we decided two years after the remodel to move in order to gain more space. The work they completed played a large role in our house selling in one day with a bidding war. They have also done a lot of work on our new house including painting and hardwood floors. They are starting our master bedroom bath soon.

Description of Work
Kitchen and Bath Remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2020

Images

Review for Handy Men & Mrs Helper Kitchen & Bath - 117 S Cook Street, Barrington, IL - 38953522

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and for your continued support of HMMH-KB! We always enjoy working with your family. We look forward to your Master Bathroom remodel next! Enjoy your new home!
5.0

10/13/2020


Maureen F.

Handy Men & Mrs Helper made our dreams come true with a new master bathroom and master bedroom. They helped us design and build a new master suite. They built us a steam shower and installed a beautiful claw footed tub. Their team was professional and answered any questions we had during the process. They kept us updated on time frame throughout the process. We will continue to use them for projects at our house.

Description of Work
Master Bath & Master Bedroom remodel

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, picture framing, glass repair, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/13/2020

Service Provider Response

Your Master Bathroom and Master Bedroom renovation was such a great project for our team. It turned out amazing! Our guys enjoyed working with you and your family on the remodel. Thank you for your business and your review! We look forward to working with you on your next home project!
5.0

10/13/2020


Sara S.

They did an awesome job. Work was done with top quality, on time always and pristine clean up. Would definitely recommend and use again.

Description of Work
Ceiling fan replaced, Installed ring doorbell, repaired front door, drywall and painting.

Category drywall, handyman service, air duct cleaning, ceiling fans, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/13/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to working with you on your next home project!
5.0

10/08/2020


David K.

We originally hired them to remodel a kitchen in our old house and liked working with them so much they were our only choice when we remodeled a bathroom in our new house. Their workers & contractors are always on time, polite, as quiet as possible and keep the workspace clean and tidy. Every project was completed within the time allocated and always on budget.

Description of Work
a kitchen and a bathroom

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2019

Images

Review for Handy Men & Mrs Helper Kitchen & Bath - 117 S Cook Street, Barrington, IL - 38931704
5.0

10/01/2020


Sherri B.

Before beginning the project, Andy helped us explore different options for materials to ensure we got the look we wanted and were within our budget. The install went very smoothly. His crew is very talented and meticulous. We are extremely pleased.

Description of Work
We had white oak beams built, installed and stained on the ceiling of our 2 story bonus room. Electrical was also run to install ceiling pendants.

Category remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/09/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your feedback and and your continued business throughout the years. Everyone enjoys working in your home and on your creative projects. We look forward to the next home project.
5.0

09/30/2020


Christine S.

We were thoroughly impressed with Handy Men & Mrs. Helper from start to finish! The communication was great, Andy was always accessible to answer questions and made the process very easy. All the work teams (general contractor, electric, plumbing, paint) were punctual and cleaned up so well every evening! We could not be happier and are already working with them on a second bathroom. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Master Bathroom

Category drywall, electrician, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, air duct cleaning, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/21/2020

Service Provider Response

Your bathroom turned out beautiful! Thank you for your business and your review! Everyone enjoyed working with you and your family. We look forward to working with you on your next bathroom remodel.
5.0

09/30/2020


Christine P.

Handy Man and Mrs. Helper do a great job. We completely gutted out upstairs hall bathroom and they got the job done quickly and it looks great.

Description of Work
Upstairs Hall Bathroom

Category home remodeling

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your continued business throughout the years. We appreciate at your loyalty and your business. We will be here for you when you are ready for your next home project.
5.0

03/23/2020


Mary S.

Ask for Virgo for painting: coverage after spackle and sanding absolutely impeccable!

Description of Work
Painting and light fixture install

Category electrician, handyman service, interior painters

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/23/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your repeat business and for your review. Virgo is terrific! We always enjoy working with you! We will be here for you when you are ready for your next home project.