Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Active Lock & Key Ltd

Founded 1976 • With Angi since October 2006

Active lock and Key is a full service Locksmith as well as a full service door company. We also have been providing safe, vault service and sales for over 30 years. Additional DBA - Active Lock & Key Service. Locally owned & operated.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.8

(55) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 55 reviews
Kaitlyn G.
5.0
05/09/2018
They were fast, quick, and cheaper then dealership - would recommend!
Description of Work
Car Key Replacement
Category
locksmith
John A.
1.0
04/19/2018
Rep ghosted me after spending 30 minutes outlining the work to be performed.
Description of Work
Change docks on entry doors.
Category
locksmith
John A.
1.0
04/13/2018
I spent 60 minutes in transit and 30 minutes on site with Mark going over the work that needed to be done and listening to his recommendations. He then failed to follow up with me as promised and didn't bother returning my call when I followed up with him. Given the Angie's list profile I expected much more. I certainly would not recommend either Active Lock or Mark.
Description of Work
Commercial rekey and lockset/door repair
Category
locksmith
Gregory W.
5.0
06/02/2017
Arrived quickly, matching door handles needed to be ordered but arrived and installed in 2 days.
Description of Work
Replaced complete hardware and deadbolt on front door. Replaced wireless keypad entry.
Category
locksmith
Daniel O.
5.0
04/14/2017
Great, very helpful and informative customer service. Work was great and the technician explained the work he performed and things to keep in mind with my set up. He also re-keyed all the locks to use a single key. Couldn't have gone better. Would hire again.
Description of Work
Had two dead bolts installed and new handles for entry doors.
Category
locksmith
L A P.
5.0
02/18/2017
The fellow was very polite, efficient, and fast. He didn't even have to cut the lock off, he was able to save it. I felt the price was fair.
Description of Work
A room within the house had a padlock on it and I was unable to unlock and I was in a huge hurry.
Category
locksmith
Christianna R.
5.0
09/14/2016
Great. Arrived on time. Active Lock able to match most of the locks to use just 2 keys total. Offered a 10% discount on service call. Price very fair. Locksmith was professional and helpful. He oiled all locks as well.
Description of Work
Re-keying 7 locks and 4 cvopies of each key
Category
locksmith
DERMOT E.
5.0
11/25/2015
I called the office on a Saturday and spoke to someone who wasn't particularly friendly but we set an initial appointment date of Thursday 9/17, less than a week away. On that day, I was called ahead of time by Mark L., who came to the house and gave me an estimate, which seemed reasonable to me. Since I wanted Schlage products that Active did not keep on hand, the new locks had to be ordered. I paid $350 as a down payment. On 9/22, Mark returned and installed 6 locks on 3 doors - 3 deadbolts and 3 knobs. I can't recollect exactly how long it took but the work was done in a reasonable amount of time. I paid the remainder of the bill. There was a certain amount of cleanup (wood chips and sawdust) that I had to do - I don't think Mark had a vacuum cleaner. On both visits, Mark was professional and courteous.
Description of Work
Installed new Schlage locks on 3 doors
Category
locksmith
Elizabeth S.
5.0
07/31/2015
Fast and friendly! From the time of my phone call, they were able to send a service guy in about an hour. They got enough information over the phone to determine what the likely needs were for the job. Dennis did a great job! Thanks.
Description of Work
Re-keyed three locks to a single key. Provided and installed a new deadbolt and locking door handle. Provided new keys with copies.
Category
locksmith, doors
Jessica P.
5.0
03/04/2015
Dale provided useful information regarding electronic keypad lock selection, and we were very happy with Mike, who performed the work. When a door frame/handle placement issue prevented the immediate installation of the in-stock model, the company provided a temporary door knob and made a second visit to finish installing the ordered part at no additional charge.
Description of Work
Rekeyed multiple locks and installed new electronic keypad lock on one door.
Category
locksmith, woodworking
Vicky S.
5.0
01/02/2015
I called the provider at 3:30, and Mark was at our home by 4:00. He shared that we would need more work done than we originally thought because the dead bolt wasn't installed correctly by the previous owners of our home. He replaced the doorknob and changed out the dead bolt efficiently and quickly. He also provided tips to help us increase the life of the doorknob system. I was impressed, and would definitely refer this provider to my friends. We will be using them for our locksmith needs in the future. Thank you so much!
Description of Work
Provider changed out broken dead bolt and front doorknob.
Category
locksmith
ANDREA W.
5.0
08/12/2014
Immediate service within 24 hours. Explained everything and would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Lock was broken so that front door could not be used. Removed and replaced broken locks on front and back doors. re-keyed all locks and gave me extras for no additional charge. Showed me the value of good locks.
Category
locksmith, doors
Kevin O.
5.0
07/19/2014
Active Lock and Key took great care of my daughter. She purchased a used car that had only 1 combination key and fob and she needed a spare. Not knowing that Dale and his crew at Active could help, she went to another local and reputable locksmith first. After numerous (5!) attempts, he gave up. We did not fault him because the assignment turned out to be much more difficult than we originally thought. It turned out that all of this computerization makes the job of a replacing your key and fob much harder than it used to be. She called Dale and he and his men at Active had the exact same problems as the last fellow. However, they kept on it and on it until they succeeded. They were complete gentlemen to work with, they obviously had the right expertise and they would not quit. Keep in mind that all of this was under ideal conditions. No one was locked out or on the side of the road, and it during daylight. It was still really hard to make a replacement key and fob for this particular car. Active was also much cheaper than the dealer's price.
Description of Work
They made a spare automobile key and fob.
Category
locksmith
Joe C.
5.0
07/10/2014
Estimate was timely, they helped in suggesting hardware. Hardware order came in when they predicted and they scheduled install. Were on time, polite and did a professional job.
Description of Work
All new locks, door knobs on 5 doors. Had one door swing reversed.
Category
locksmith
Brock M.
5.0
07/02/2014
Best locksmith I've ever used! On-time, no sales pitches, honest, offered extra services for free. Outstanding.
Description of Work
Re-keyed door locks and repaired a deadbolt.
Category
locksmith
KRISTINE G.
5.0
06/19/2014
It went great! I called and they said they could do it while I wait. I brought the door knobs in, they keyed them while I waited and I left happy.
Description of Work
Re-keyed 2 locks for me so all of our locks for our new house will be on one key.
Category
locksmith
Michael L.
5.0
06/11/2014
It went great and only took about 1 hour. Cost seemed high, but I had done this myself in the past.
Description of Work
Replace all locksets in new home and keyed each to same master key.
Category
locksmith
VALERIE R.
5.0
05/28/2014
I received that key and we chatted for a bit. Very cheerful, prompt service. They were ready with options if the first one didn't work, but it did. I have a small lock box that needs a key and I will be calling them for help, soon!
Description of Work
I lost a key to an old china cabinet while clearing out my late mother's home. They came over with keys and the first one worked.
Category
locksmith, woodworking
Norman M.
5.0
05/14/2014
Gave great advice at no charge as to dealing with manufacturer which ultimately resolved the problem.
Description of Work
Checked out converting patio door lock. Not possible.
Category
locksmith
VICKY B.
5.0
09/04/2013
I called Active Lock & Key in the morning and Nick answered the phone. He was very polite and said they could have someone come out later that day. He gave me a 2 hour time window that accommodated my schedule. He said they would give me 30 minutes' notice to let me know when they were coming. Later, Dennis called and let me know when he'd be here. Dennis was very friendly and a pleasure to do business with. He fixed my door quickly and gave me the 20% Angie's List discount. I am very happy with Active Lock & Key and will definitely use them again. I would feel comfortable referring them to a friend.
Description of Work
The doorknob on the door I use to enter the garage wouldn't latch. Dennis repaired it and it works perfectly now.
Category
locksmith
Jennifer W.
1.0
06/18/2013
Our experience was not good. The company forgot about our appointment and did not show up. Although we did receive an apology on the phone, the representative did not go to great lengths to resolve the situation. We did not reschedule with this company.
Description of Work
Provider was hired to change a lock.
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

We missed her service call, no excuses. End of story
Erin & Doug A.
5.0
06/07/2013
They were willing to schedule a weekend appointment for me (we just moved into our new house and wanted the locks updated) even though they typically don't have normal service hours then. The guy showed up quite a few hours late without a call but he was professional and quick so he made up for it!
Description of Work
Changed locks on our new home. Made them all for one key which is nice.
Category
locksmith
lori P.
5.0
05/14/2013
Service was great and fairly priced.
Description of Work
Fixed a lock on our door.
Category
locksmith
Parimala S.
5.0
05/13/2013
Active Lock quoted one of the lowest prices and were willing to come out for the job on short notice. They were professional, on time, and got the job done under 10 to 15 minutes.
Description of Work
Changed the lock on the mailbox.
Category
locksmith, mailbox repair
Ryan S.
5.0
05/11/2013
Very professional and concerned with providing us with the best service possible. The pricing was reasonable and the whole visit was quick and easy.
Description of Work
Changed all of the locks on the exterior doors of our house.
Category
locksmith

Other local Pros in your area

STARGATE LOCK SERVICES

STARGATE LOCK SERVICES is a locksmith providing service. We provide residential and commercial lockouts, lock repair and installation, emergency car lockouts and car key replacement. We also copy car keys, key fobs. install smart lock, deadbolt, key fob, door lock, file cabinet lock,rekey locks or a master key system. we can help you with all your locksmith needs.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Quick Key Locksmith

Quick key Locksmith works within the Chicago and West Chicagoland area to provide variety of locksmith services such as lockouts, lock installation, lock changing, car keys, and re-keying. We service all brands of locks, safes and keys, even those we don't sell. Our professional locksmiths are more than capable of handling your locksmith services, no matter if it's simple, complicated or even in emergency. Our professional team of locksmiths will handle all locksmith issues and emergency problems with quality, fast and affordable service. We even offer a 10% discount for all new movers.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Ryder Homes

Our designers love custom RH cabinets because they could literally choose any color and design they wanted. From the design concept, through the crafting process, to final delivery, our entire team will make sure that your cabinets exceed your exacting standards. Through design, materials, and craftsmanship, we want to create pieces that will be loved a lifetime  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

107 E Central Rd

Arlington Heights, IL 60005

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

MasterCard
Discover
Check
Visa
American Express
PayPal
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Active Lock & Key Ltd is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Active Lock & Key Ltd is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Active Lock & Key Ltd accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, American Express, PayPal

No, Active Lock & Key Ltd does not offer free project estimates.

No, Active Lock & Key Ltd does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Active Lock & Key Ltd does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Active Lock & Key Ltd offers emergency services.

No, Active Lock & Key Ltd does not offer warranties.

Active Lock & Key Ltd offers the following services: Locksmith, Burglar Proofing, Lock Keying,master key systems, Lock Out Services,home safes, gun safes, business safes.