Accurate Contracting Service

About

Founded 1998 • With Angi since June 2010

Accurate Contracting Services, Inc. is a family owned and operated, BBB accredited business with an A+ rating, that has been serving the community since 1998. Our owner, Ronald Peterson, is a General Contractor with 40+ years of ground up, hands on structural experience. With Ron's knowledge and

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Windows and Doors

window replacement

60002
Vinyl windows
View project
Windows and Doors project

Windows and Doors

window replacement

60002
View project

Verified Reviews

4.6

(57) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

47

4

2

3

0

2

5

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

roofing (41)window replacement (21)woodworking (12)siding companies (11)drywall (11)flooring (9)water damage restoration (7)plumbers (7)tile installation (7)door installation (6)countertop installation (6)marble & granite (5)
Showing 1-25 of 57 reviews
5.0

12/01/2021


Kevin K.

The attention and care these guys put into their work is impressive. The first project we had them do was repair some severe, structural water damage on a wall. They rooted out every rotted bit that spanned three floors and the interior finish work was seamless – you’d never know there had been a problem. The second project was the replacement of two windows which was completed as agreed within the forecast time frame. Currently they are remodeling the kitchen and I can hear their discussion as they work. It’s not about getting it done, it’s entirely about getting it done right as they are painstakingly making the floor *perfectly* level. I cannot recommend Accurate highly enough!

Description of Work
Water damage repair, new windows, kitchen remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, insulation, remodeling, water damage restoration, replacement windows, woodworking

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We always strive to deliver the highest quality in materials and workmanship and feel great satisfaction when our customers are as pleased with the projects as you are. Thanks from Ron & Ryan.
5.0

04/28/2021


Bill W.

What I thought would be a simple repair turned out to be a structural problem and Accurate did an amazing job of not only permanently fixing the problem but resolved it quickly at a reasonably price. Mr. Peterson's crew worked hard, fast & professional. Would hire them again for any thing I needed.

Description of Work
Needed floor joists and replaced

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, woodworking

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/28/2021

2.0

06/14/2020


Kurt W.

Like everybody on the Illinois border, we got hammered by the hailstorm 2 years ago. Did Angie’s List search, Ron showed up. Said they would be on the job as soon as we got the insurance estimate. We agreed upfront on a specific brand, color and type of siding, shingles plus gutters. After the contract was signed Ron promised us - had crews all over area, we would be at the top of the list. Didn’t hear back from him for a month, made us nervous and only after a dozen calls did the roofing crew start two months later. Well after the insurance money was banked. Roofing done in a day. Waited another 2 weeks for the siding crew to start, and only after Ron ordered the wrong siding, had it returned, told us to pick something else, told us it was too much of a $ upgrade but was doing us a favor by getting it, but it would take awhile because it was a special order. Now we were irritated. Crew showed up in early fall, weather was getting worse, so it took part of one day to strip the house. Weather wait, while the insulation got soaked. Another day to re-side the house. But we had no gutters, while it rained for days. When gutter crew showed up, they completed larger gutters in a day, but would not put downspouts where we originally had them. All crews were independent contractors, because all were going to other jobs after or even during our job. We would not complete 2nd half payment, worried about the quality of work and materials. Also believed some of the contracted work was incomplete or not done. In the post job inspection, flashing on the chimney was not replaced, but charged for. Open gaps in siding, and uncaulked areas that needed to be finished. ( Later, Ron got us matching caulk to fill in the gaps ourselves, since he removed all unused materials.) Ron kept reminding us of how he bent backwards for us and did us so many favors. Negotiated settlement process was not smooth. Sad finish of the story was that the promised and paid for gutter guards were not installed. We had to negotiate each point with Ron, until he agreed to take money off his payment, do the finish work and install the gutter guards. Once the gutter guards were installed, he immediately came to the house for payment. When we pointed out that the now plastic gutter guards were placed with the manufacturer paper labels showing from any angle, he said that the weather would dissolve them. After we bought a magnetic wand and picked up all the nails left behind, we agreed not to use Accurate again, or recommend to friends. Possibly enemies. Two years later, the roofing trim (attached by minimal nailing) tore off in three places at the first +40 mile an hour wind we’ve had. (April 8) Went up on the roof to temporarily nail it in place and found that all gutter guards, cheap and unattached, were flattened and bent from the snow and ice of the past 2 years. Called Ron, (April 9) and he said he was out of state, but he could come out in a week or so, and probably send a crew out a week later. Ron's guy came next week - with wrong color trim (blamed Ron), said he would have to get right color and Ron would figure out what to do about gutter guard failure. Guy never returned, never heard from Ron. April 24 - Told Ron to fix it or we were going to online review his company.. May 4 - Ron calls back, says will come out that week, by Friday to look. May 16 - We call, Ron not there, office person said he will call back. May 26 - Ron calls on Memorial Day - says ordering screw-in gutter guards, special order right color will be here week of June 9th, will call and set up install date. Very busy. June 9 came and went, no Ron call, no visit . June 14 posted reviews. Accurate Contracting Service - avoid like dead skunk in road

Description of Work
After hailstorm - roofing, siding and gutter replacement

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2019

Images

Review for Accurate Contracting Service - 307 Main St, Antioch, IL - 38642123

+1 More

2.0

06/14/2020


Kurt W.

Like everybody on the Illinois border, we got hammered by the hailstorm 2 years ago. Did Angie’s List search, Ron showed up. Said they would be on the job as soon as we got the insurance estimate. We agreed upfront on a specific brand, color and type of siding, shingles plus gutters. After the contract was signed Ron promised us - had crews all over area, we would be at the top of the list. Didn’t hear back from him for a month, made us nervous and only after a dozen calls did the roofing crew start two months later. Well after the insurance money was banked. Roofing done in a day. Waited another 2 weeks for the siding crew to start, and only after Ron ordered the wrong siding, had it returned, told us to pick something else, told us it was too much of a $ upgrade but was doing us a favor by getting it, but it would take awhile because it was a special order. Now we were scared. Crew showed up in early fall, weather was getting worse, so it took part of one day to strip the house. Weather wait, while the insulation got soaked. Another day to re-side the house. But we had no gutters, while it rained for days. When gutter crew showed up, they completed larger gutters in a day, but would not put downspouts where we originally had them. All crews were independent contractors, because all were going to other jobs after or even during our job. We would not complete 2nd half payment, worried about the quality of work and materials. Also believed some of the contracted work was incomplete or not done. In the post job inspection, flashing on the chimney was not replaced, but charged for. Open gaps in siding, and uncaulked areas that needed to be finished. ( Later, Ron got us matching caulk to fill in the gaps ourselves, since he removed all unused materials.) Ron kept reminding us of how he bent backwards for us and did us so many favors. Negotiated settlement process was not smooth. Sad finish of the story was that the promised and paid for gutter guards were not installed. We had to negotiate each point with Ron, until he agreed to take money off his payment, do the finish work and install the gutter guards. Once the gutter guards were installed, he immediately came to the house for payment. When we pointed out that the now plastic gutter guards were placed with the manufacturer paper labels showing from any angle, he said that the weather would dissolve them. After we bought a magnetic wand and picked up all the nails left behind, we agreed not to use Accurate again, or recommend to friends. Two years later, the roofing trim (attached by minimal nailing) tore off in three places at the first +40 mile an hour wind we’ve had. (April 8) Went up on the roof to temporarily nail it in place and found that all gutter guards, cheap and unattached, were flattened and bent from the snow and ice of the past 2 years. Neighbors said they had never heard of such a bad product. Called Ron, (April 9) and he said he was out of state, but he could come out in a week or so, and probably send a crew out a week later. Ron's guy came next week - with wrong color trim (blamed Ron), said he would have to get right color and Ron would figure out what to do about gutter guard failure. Guy never returned, never heard from Ron. April 24 - Told Ron to fix it or we were going to online review his company.. May 4 - Ron calls back, says will come out that week, by Friday to look. May 16 - We call, Ron not there, office person said he will call back. May 26 - Ron calls on Memorial Day - says ordering screw-in gutter guards, special order right color will be here week of June 9th, will call and set up install date. Very busy. June 9 came and went, no Ron call, no visit . June 14 posted reviews. Accurate Contracting Service - avoid like dead skunk in road

Description of Work
roofing, siding and gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding, woodworking

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2019

Images

Review for Accurate Contracting Service - 307 Main St, Antioch, IL - 38642241

+2 More

Service Provider Response

We regret any inconvenience with your 2018 project due to delays with a natural disaster. Our goal is to give complete customer satisfaction within our power to do so. During the recent stay at home orders we experienced similar obstacles but have now received the materials and would like to resolve the current repair issue. Please contact us to schedule. Thank you and stay safe.
5.0

06/05/2020


Luke H.

I discovered that a portion of my roof was rotten when an old dish antenna blew over in a storm and punched a hole in my roof, right above the master bedroom. Ron responded quickly, stopped by that day, and was able to get his guys out to fix the roof a few days later. The job was more expensive than I had anticipated, but given the fact that Ron was able to get the work done so quickly (in the middle of roofing season!) before any major rainstorms made the damage worse, I have no problem paying a bit more. Plus, he made sure to leave the leftover shingles for me, without me having to ask. A lot of contractors would've just packed them up, after billing me for them.. I will definitely give Ron and his guys a call for future work!

Description of Work
Roof Repair

Category roofing

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2020

5.0

05/16/2020


Darlene D.

I initially called Accurate for a damaged roof and over the past two years have done two major projects on my home. Ron is very responsive and helpful and son Ryan is an absolute master who will make sure the job is done precisely and beautifully. They have transformed my home and they are there whenever I have an emergency. They also were helpful in keeping within my budget. So glad I found them on Angies List!

Description of Work
Roof, siding, windows, basement, screenporch, flooring, bathroom, tile, kitchen

Category ceramic tile, closet systems, countertops, decks, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, gutter repair, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2020

5.0

04/30/2020


Jack C.

They did a great job, explained everything very well, gave me all my options, and were very professional. I will most likely have them do windows for me. They cleaned up well after they were done and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They put on new shingles on my home and repaired a couple of gates for me.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/30/2018

5.0

03/26/2020


Joe H.

Ron was responsive and helpful. His crew showed up on time and completed their task quickly and professionally. I would recommend them without reservation.

Description of Work
Leaking kitchen exhaust vent

Category roofing

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/25/2020

5.0

07/08/2019


Katherine P.

Accurate Contracting was a great choice for the work done on our home. We initially wanted to do our windows. But after consultation we were able to do our roof, gutters, siding repair and new windows in the house. After many quotes Accurate was our first choice. They had the best price & a quality product. Ron, the owner, called me directly every time he or I had a question. He was easy to get on the phone and he explained everything and helped me navigate the insurance claim that went with the work on the roof. His son Ryan was the guy who came out and did measuring and did a lot of the actual work with a team of guys. Ryan was awesome, respectful, timely and very personable. He was also communicating every step of the way. He would call and give me a heads up when he was coming to do work. Work was started on time each day of the project. It was a big project, both the roof and the windows. Work was completed on time and cleanup was handled very professionally. I didn't find anything in the house or outside of it and I was worried about finding nails or something small that my baby might get into but they completely cleaned up everything. Accurate is a great sized business. It always rubs me the wrong way when I call and its the huge conglomerate of a company. But we also got quotes from little one and two man companies and the work was going to take them a lot longer and be much more expensive to get done. With Accurate they've got the suppliers lined up that they have used for years. They have a small team of guys so the work is done in a very reasonable time frame. And I like that Ron personally took my calls and he stopped by every day to make sure that I was informed and the project was on track. Will definitely be going back to Accurate for future work. They do work on interiors and exteriors as well.

Description of Work
Roof, downspouts, siding, windows and sliding glass door

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows, doors

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2019

5.0

06/04/2019


Stan Z.

Great contractor used high quality materials. Windows have made a huge difference!

Description of Work
Roof, siding and windows

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2019

5.0

05/09/2019


lisa B.

I am so happy with my windows! The family is wonderful to work with. They are so attentive. Job was done in 1 day and everything was cleaned up. I will definitely use this company again.

Description of Work
We had windows replaced.

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/03/2019

Images

Review for Accurate Contracting Service - 307 Main St, Antioch, IL - 37866912

+1 More

5.0

04/09/2019


Chris L.

Have been using Accurate Contracting for two years now, for various improvements to the home and wouldn't use anyone else! The windows and patio doors were ordered and installed with great attention to detail and made a huge difference in the comfort of our home. Roofing, siding and gutters look great too. Our interior remodel included new flooring and tile, granite counter top install, painting and bathroom remodel all completed with great attention to every detail. They really did a professional job and their experience in the trades is easy to see.......

Description of Work
Windows installed

Category ceramic tile, countertops, decks, flooring contractor, gutter repair, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2019

5.0

11/18/2018


Cynthia R.

Ron & team tried to find the leak & just "caulk/silicone it" to save $. However, it turned into a much bigger problem as the siding had to be taken off & new flashing installed. Then, they fixed the drywall & insulation in the kitchen. Ryan (Ron's son) matched the paint perfectly. Ron's whole team was always on time & cleaned up as they went. Will definitely have them quote when I redo my kitchen floor.

Description of Work
Leak in kitchen

Category drywall, insulation, roofing, water damage restoration

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2018

5.0

10/26/2018


John W.

Last fall, I hired Ron Peterson’s company to put a new roof on a vacation house and a garage. He did great work, and we were happy with the results. Six months later, a hail storm hit our neighborhood, and it was time to call Ron again. This time, as part of an insurance claim, Ron again re-roofed the house and garage. He also added new siding and new windows on both structures, making the exteriors look completely new. Along the way, Ron made suggestions for other interior remodeling work, almost all of which we ended up agreeing to. Since we were interested in making the place presentable for sale, Ron’s ideas all made sense and his ideas helped us immensely. We now have a house that should show well when we are ready to put it on the market. The windows included all the trim work needed to make things look and fit correctly, the functioning of our new windows is really convenient, and the house is actually quieter. Ron’s crew also painted most of the house, tore out old carpeting and installed a new floor and counter tops in the kitchen. His workers carefully moved things around to do the work and when details arose that we had not planned for, they calmly suggested solutions that always worked. I really like Ron’s approach to doing the work and respect his skills as a contractor and business owner. I would hire him again, without hesitation.

Description of Work
Roofing, siding, windows, painting and some carpentry

Category countertops, flooring contractor, gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, marble & granite, interior painters

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2018

1.0

07/21/2018


Jacob T.

Ron didn’t show up at the appointed time. I had to call him to find out if he was coming over. He’d forgotten about our appointment. When he did arrive he didn’t even measure anything. He just went on and on about how he would work with our insurance company and pad the estimate to get more money out of them. My wife and I were appalled. He said his son would be by to measure and then he’d work with our insurance agent. The son never even called to set up a time. Then Ron took it upon himself to look at our roof even though we insisted that it was fine. Our emails and calls went unanswered for almost three weeks. Then the office manager emailed us saying that our insurance agent hadn’t returned their call. That wasn’t true, because we’ve been in regular contact with our agent and he’d had no calls or emails from them. Besides, we didn’t even have an estimate yet. Our agent won’t just pay up. Then Ron called and left me a voicemail message a few days later, and said that it was “maybe” his fault that we’d had no contact. It sure as **** wasn’t MY fault! Fortunately we have retained the services of a contractor who responds immediately, is courteous, and isn’t looking to rip off my insurance company.

Description of Work
Plaster, paint, flooring, and column re-build after water damage.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, water damage restoration, interior painters

Work Completed On 06/21/2018

Service Provider Response

We are sorry for the delay in response to your project. The office was under some reorganization at that time. Our goal is customer satisfaction at all times and we apologize for any misunderstandings. We hope you received the attention you deserve.
5.0

06/23/2018


Kimberly B.

My roof repair was in a very difficult spot on the third floor very close to the rivers edge. I appreciated that their philosophy is to treat small jobs the same as large ones. Frankly, I had several contractors bow out on the job prior to going to Angie's list (my mistake!). Mr. Peterson (owner) was prompt in returning my contact and in making an appointment to look at the repair needed. He was professional and explained how his company would plan to address the repair. There was a bad hail hailstorm that came through which his company had to finish with those customers first. I appreciated that he was honest about that. I was contacted as soon as those customers were taken care of and my roof was promptly repaired. They were great about cleaning up everything when they were finished. Overall I felt communication and service was very good and I would use them again.

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2018

5.0

12/21/2017


John W.

Ron Peterson was immediately available to discuss my job, after first talking to his wife and explaining what I needed done. Since the work was for a vacation home and I would be dealing with him from a long distance, I wanted to be sure that we could do business in a way that made sense for both of us. Ron was very accommodating, suggesting that I choose shingle types from the manufacturer's web site and let him know if I needed to see an actual sample. My wife and I made the choice and Ron gave us a price and time estimate. I began the process about a week before Halloween and Ron completed the work before mid-November, despite many rainy days that limited his ability to work safely. Ron explained in his estimate that there could be a need to address "surprises" that are impossible to see without tearing off the old roof. He found an area on one side that required some carpentry and made everything tight and waterproof again, as I expected. (I knew there would be a problem in that area from the water leaking I found inside.) He was also careful with the placement of containers for the debris and the way he removed the stuff, taking care to avoid our septic field. The roof looks beautiful and his workmanship is first rate. He did everything he said he would do, and when promised. Again, with the distance complication, I felt a bit vulnerable, but I would work with Accurate Contracting Service again in a heartbeat. Ron is professional, honest and reliable, and his work speaks for itself.

Description of Work
Replaced old, multi-shingle-layered roof on two story house and detached garage. Some carpentry and repair work needed on one roof section.

Category roofing

Cost $9,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/08/2017

2.0

09/05/2017


Sharon B.

Basically got ripped off. He was the least expensive but folks remember, you get what you pay for. Shotty siding and poor installation on windows and doors to the point my husband had to redo the work the contractor did because the carpenter didn't fix the problem the second time around. The contractor would try to take short cuts but luckily my husband is also in construction and would call him out and make him fix his short cuts so some things were done correctly but only if we caught it in time before Ron and his workers skedaddled. It has been about 4 years now and the siding has become chalky and nails have protruded to the exterior of the siding creating holes. If you want your job to be quality and done right don't learn the hard way like we did. Don't hire Ron, I know I never will again.

Description of Work
roofing siding window and door installation interior and exterior demo work along with header support

Category remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/05/2017

5.0

07/24/2017


Joseph P.

All new shingles were put on; a lot of the roof decking also needed to be placed. The workers arrived at 8:00AM as mentioned; they got to work immediately. The job was done in one day(the contractor believed that it might take a second day due to the amount of deck sheeting that needed to be replaced.) The new roof looks great; the village building inspector was impressed with how it looks; and, that it met the standards. They also installed an under sheeting; and a ridge vent along the top. I can recommend Accurate Contracting Services for a new roof; or, other services that you may need.

Description of Work
Needed a new roof, the shingles had to be replaced; and, it was leaking in a corner of the garage.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2017

5.0

07/10/2017


NANCY E.

I did not hire based on price and scope of work but, I was convinced he would have done a great job and impressed with his knowledge, experience and professionalism.

Description of Work
I am selling my house and needed siding repaired. Ron was prompt and professional offering various options mostly around full replacement of aluminum siding. If I were staying in the house I'm sure I would have gone with him and his suggestion but, since I was looking to minimize expense I went another direction.

Category remodeling, roofing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2017

5.0

07/07/2017


Michael H.

I was only going to get the shingles replaced. After the shingles were removed, we realized that all the wood underneath needed to be replaced. Accurate went over all the details of what needed to be done with me. They made sure that all the work necessary was done 100% and 100% professionally. They did an incredible job and it looks great. Plus they fixed a ton of air flow problems that caused all the wood underneath the shingles to warp.

Description of Work
I needed a new roof.

Category roofing, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/07/2017

5.0

05/18/2017


Jill V.

Gave me a very fair quote, had the job done quickly. He was quick to call back, answer questions, and replace the roof.

Description of Work
Replaced roof, as well as previous patching of the roof.

Category roofing

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2017

5.0

05/09/2017


Doug M.

Ron was great. Personable, knowledgeable and on time. The windows came in quickly and were installed in a day. The slider took another few hours. One window was the wrong size but Ron got the replacement within a week and drove down to Chicago to pick it up himself to speed it all up. Very clean and professional job. Looking forward to never putting plastic up again!

Description of Work
We needed every window in the house replaced - all 23- plus a sliding door.

Category replacement windows