Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

John Holcomb Roofing

Founded 2004 • With Angi since March 2010

5.0

(44) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1492 Jensen St

Pocatello, ID 83201

Description

Owner operated. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service charges. License # RCT-21415. Quotes are free. Please call John at 208-479-0652 for fast service and quotes.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/09/2020


Sandy C.

John and his crew did an impeccable job on our roof replacement. Was reasonably priced, finished early and left zero mess behind. Will use him again on our shop. Hire him! You won’t be disappointed!

Description of Work
Replaced my roof

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

12/18/2017


C B.

John is very easy to work with, professional and timely. I would definitely recommend him.

Description of Work
We are out-of-state owners of duplexes in Pocatello. We used John in the past for emergency patches when shingles have blown off and he was very responsive and reasonably priced, so we used him to re-roof two of our units and will have him do the other two next year.

Category roofing

5.0

12/01/2015


KEVIN C.

Came and looked when he said he would. Got back to me the next day Was here when he said he would be. Done the job in two days start to finish. I deal with a lot of sub-contractors and John is great to work with. A lot of subs think someone else should clean up there mess but not the case with John. Do your self a favor and use John. You wont be sorry.

Description of Work
installed new roof on new construction

Category roofing

5.0

06/24/2015


Sheila W.

WOW! From start to finish I am so happy with John Holcomb Roofing. John and his crew were very professional. I would highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Completely stripped roof, fixed water damaged boards, installed new vents, and shingles. Installed Ice and Water Guard to all eaves. New underlayment , replaced all edge metal, pipe jack and vents. Cleaned up and disposed of all roofing debris.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

thank you so much for the workand your hospitality
5.0

01/31/2015


Steve L.

From the first visit to give his bid until the job was complete, John and his crew were excellent.

Description of Work
Completely strip off old roof and install complete new roof.

Category roofing

5.0

09/19/2014


Steven N.

John was on time, reasonably priced did excellent job went all 9 yards. Friendly and pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
Tear off existing shingles repair any rotten spots, ice and water guards to eaves, rhino lining, vents, install singles, rain gutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

09/08/2014


George S.

The Workers were very polite, friendly and effective. They cleaned up after themselves and minimized any inconveniences involved in re-roofing a house. Mr Holcomb came out and inspected the completed job and made sure the ground was cleaned up. Very good experience, we were pleased with the results. The Holcombs were also very flexible in receiving our portion of the payment (the insurance deductible amount) which we made in two payments. I would highly recommend their services.

Description of Work
Recovered entire roof for insurance covered damage.

Category roofing

5.0

08/10/2014


C B.

We were in town for a very short period of time to check in on our rental units in Pocatello. We were able to contact John and have him come out the next day to meet us to give us a bid for repairing shingles that had blown off of the roof. He inspected all of the roofs, did the work, and provided us with a bid for replacing the whole roof when we were ready. His cost was very reasonable, and he made the repairs before a rainstorm came in, which we really appreciated. I would definitely use him again.

Description of Work
Replaced missing shingles on roofs.

Category roofing

1.0

08/05/2014


Bill V.

I contacted the provider in order to get an estimate on repairs or replacemt of the shingles on my roof. The provider would not work with me directly as the mortgage is in the name of my brother. I provided the name, address, and telephone number to contact him with instruction to call me back with any additional questions or information. That was the last time we heard from him.

Description of Work
The provider did nothing including not following through with showing up, providing any estimate, or re-contacting to reschedule.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

sir all I can do is give you a roof estimate in writing what you do with it from there is up to you and your insurance agent its up to you to follow through! My estimates are free any other office or on the job work is not these things I have to charge for please try and understand
5.0

04/21/2014


Laurie C.

He was very professional and when there was a problem getting the shingles because of delivery problems, he let us know and always kept us informed.

Description of Work
Put on new shingles on the back half of the house. Also shingled a shed.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

thank you so much for allowing me to do the work on your house. Let me know when you are ready for the front to be done.
5.0

04/09/2014


Lynn S.

Very professional, showed up exactly when he said he was going to show up. It took 2 1/2 days to completely strip the roof to the wood and reroof. He used tarps all the way around the house to keep all of the scrap cleaned up, and used a magnetic sweeper to ensure that all nails were cleaned up from the site. He went the extra mile when he found that the vent holes were way to small and that I should have one more vent added. He cut the holes bigger and added the extra vent at no cost. I have had other work/remodeling done by other contractors, and John was by far the best to work with, and had the best quality of work of all of them. For my roofing needs, I will only go with John in the future.

Description of Work
Complete teardown and reroof.

Category roofing

5.0

02/17/2014


Robert & Maria Z.

Excellent. Return calls, evaluation and written estimates give in timely manner. Mr. Holcomb professional and personable. Job started within reasonable time of estimated date and completed in timely manner. Very considerate of owners property. Would definitely use again and recommend to anyone.

Description of Work
Complete reroofing from removal of 4 layers of old shake and composite roofing to resheathing and installation of new materials. Daily cleanup and owner update. Entire crew professional even when work performed in less than desirable weather conditions.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

that was a rough job to do in the fall I am glad you like it.
5.0

09/28/2013


Anthony G.

Let me start by saying that I have NEVER had a more pleasant experience from start to finish than I had with John Holcomb Roofing. John's customer service and punctuality and quality of service goes ABOVE and beyond anything that I have ever experienced. I didn't know who to turn to when it came time to reroof my house so I went to Angies List and read all the reviews of various people who roof in the Idaho Falls/Ammon area. I saw that John's reviews stood out above the rest so I gave him a call for an estimate. He lives in the Pocatello area but quickly agreed to drive up the very next day and was here exactly when he said he would be. He quickly got up on my roof and told me what my shingles were deteriorating and explained that I would need to reroof my house. He took the proper measurements and then went home and wrote up a formal written estimate explaining my two options which were putting shingles on top of the existing shingles which you can do one time or completely tearing off the old shingles and starting over again from scratch. He also told me all the other things that would need to be done which included putting roof vents in my roof which would enable my roof to breathe so I don't get a mold problem among other problems not having them would cause. He mentioned that it was now code to have them and agreed to install them. I was expecting a huge estimate and was prepared to have to spend well into the 5 figures but when I saw his initial estimate to do ALL the work that need done I was pleasantly surprised. It was far less than I expected! I set up an appointment to get the job done which was about a month away as he had other jobs lined up already. As promised John gave me a call a couple days in advance and told me what day he would be out to start the job and even told me he would like to start at 7:00 a.m. if possible. I quickly told him that was fine not really expecting him to be here at 7:00 a.m. especially since he was driving all the way up from Pocatello to Idaho Falls. On the day he was to start I was awoken by my dogs barking at EXACTLY 7:00 a.m. and looked out the window to see John and his crew preparing to start work. I couldn't believe how punctual he was! He had already ordered the dumpster to place all the old shingles in and it arrived the day before so he was ready to work. John greeted me with a smile and a handshake and told me again how long he was expecting the job to take and then I went about my business as John and his crew went to work. It very important to note that John does ALL the actual roofing. He is the one who attaches ALL the shingles to the house as he is the one who is ultimately responsible for the quality of the job so he does ALL the actual roofing. His crew are his helpers who help remove the shingles and then clean up your yard and hand him the shingles when he starts roofing. Which was very nice to see since John has had over 30 years of experience I believe doing this. The most impressive part came when we had some storms pass through which popped up expectantly so john put in the extra time to make sure that my roof was dry and protected by the barrier he places down. There was a one day delay do to weather which wasn't John's fault as he didn't want to be on the roof during a thunderstorm. It was forcast to shower the next couple days but John said that they would be back at 7:00 a.m. the next day to finish up the job. I didn't believe that they would actually come back especially since the low's the next morning were forecast to be in the 40's AND it was supposed to be raining the entire day (No lightning like there had been the previous day). At EXACTLY 7:00 a.m. the next day my dogs woke me up and I looked out the window to see John and his crew getting ready to start work! I simply couldn't believe it! It was a cold, rainy, miserable day and they were there EXACTLY at 7:00 a.m. to start work. Needless to say that they worked until they completed the job and I couldn't be more happier with the results. John helped me pick out the right color of shingles for my roof as I couldn't decide which color would look best and he was completely right on the color choice. It makes my house look so nice and new. The other thing that really impressed me was that John took the time to place large tarps around my planter bed around my house and on my deck to catch all the debris as they tore off the roof. He had cautioned that some of my flowers or bushes might get damaged but he would be careful to not hurt them. When he was done removing the tarps ALL my plants and bushes had survived unscathed! What a pleasant surprise! Another very impressive thing was that at the end of each day they took the time to pick up EVERY last piece of debris or shingle or anything that was left behind from their days work so my yard didn't look trashed or dirty. The three of them would walk my yard and pick up ANY and ALL little piece of shingle or whatever didn't belong there. So when they left each day my yard looked great! There are many other companies out there that do roofing. John Holcomb Roofing is simply the best! I have never felt more comfortable writing a check for the total amount of services than I did with John Holcomb. In fact, I actually paid him in FULL at the end of the first day there when he had asked that I only pay the cost of materials needed for the job first then pay the balance when the job was completed. I felt so confident in John's dedication and work ethic and quality of work that he does that I wrote the check and paid him in FULL the very first day. I have NEVER done that before. The shingles that he put on look amazing and makes my house look so nice! When he completed the job he explained everything that he did again and told me again about the warranty of the shingles (I chose the 30 year warrantied shingles) and then reminded me of his own warranty that he provides for the work that he did. He then handed me a warranty card all filled out for me to mail in to the company that made the shingles. They all three walked the yard to make sure that every last bit of debris was picked up off my yard and that I was satisfied with the job and the cleanup and then he left. As you can see from this review I am REALLY, REALLY impressed with John Holcomb Roofing and I would and will recommend him to anyone needing their house re-roofed. From start to finish he did a fantastic job!

Description of Work
John tore off all my old shingles and then replaced with new ones as well as replacing other parts on my roof and inserting vents in the roof so my attic could breathe which brought my house back up to code.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

thank you for the work
5.0

07/22/2013


justin R.

it went very well John showed up on time and ready to work. I would hire John again any day

Description of Work
Removed 3 layers of old shingles and put on a new roof

Category roofing

5.0

05/23/2013


Pauline M M.

He provided a good estimate and was prompt. I have delayed the task and therefore cannot really speak to his work.

Description of Work
Provided and estimate on the roofing of my home.

Category roofing

5.0

01/14/2013


Hanna G.

During a bad storm I started having water coming through the ceiling of my sewing room, the converted garage, where it met the main house. I called two roofers, Mr. Holcomb, who was highly rated in Angie's List, and a second who isn't listed here but was highly recommended by two independent sources. Mr. Holcomb came out first. He came on time and was very knowledgeable and professional. He offered to do a quick fix on my leak and said that if I wanted, I could send him $25 after I'd seen whether this fixed the leak. Then he estimated the full replacement of the roof that I knew I was going to need. The second roofer was also professional, on time and knowledgeable, and gave me a much lower estimate, so I am having him replace the roof this spring. However, I was impressed not only with Mr. Holcomb's abilities, but his generosity in letting me choose to pay or not to pay for the quick fix. (I chose to pay.) If the second roofer couldn't schedule my job I'd have no problems going with Mr. Holcomb.

Description of Work
Coming to give me an estimate to replace my roof, Mr. Holcomb identified my immediate problem and offered to fix it on the spot. He explained what he thought the problem was and how he'd fix it, and he offered to do it for free, and I could send him $25 if I felt like it and if the quick fix worked. The quick fix did work, and I sent him the money.

Category roofing

5.0

01/11/2013


Michael D.

This was achallenging project since it happened during theChristmas holidays and into the new year. In Pocatello the winters can be cold and wet with considerable snow. John came on three different occasions to remove snow from the roof in hopes of it drying and melting accumulated ice. We finally had a good day and he and his crew completed the job in 1 day. I guess I'll have to wait until later in the year to really see how the job truned out since we received a heavy snow the day after they completed the roofing job. John was vey friendly and accommodating. The final cost of the project was exactly what he quoted and very reasonable. I have no hesitation in recommending John Holcomb Roofing.

Description of Work
John Holcomb completed a complete roof replacement for us. .

Category roofing

5.0

10/09/2012


Krystal W.

John Holcomb & team, were timely, professional, efficient and courteous. Definitely, under promised and over delivered. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Re-covered existing roof with malarkey brand 30 year arch. shingles with a 30 year guarantee on workmanship.

Category roofing

5.0

09/09/2012


Verlyn D.

We were referred to John Holcomb by a neighbor who had him do a shingle repair for them, which they were pleased with. My wife called for an estimate, because I was thinking of doing the re-shingle job myself. John visited the property, explained what he would be doing which included a brochure on the brand of shingles, their warranty, his resposability relative to the warranty and the time frame for completing the work. He also gave us a list of almost 50 references of jobs he has done, including a reference to Angie's List. He took measurements and returned an estimate for the job a couple days latter, including a contract to sign for doing the work. We felt confidence in John and the product he was installing. We signed the contract and arranged with him for when he would do the work. Payment was split up with part being required at the start of the job and the balance at the completion. One and a half days from start to finish and we don't expect to have to worry about our roof for another 30 years. They started promptly on time and when they had completed the job, there was no cleanup left for us. All we had to do was admire their work. We are glad we were able ot find and acquire the services of John Holcomb Roofing. The price as compared to my doing it myself was a no brainer. We now have a professional job done, at a resonable price and I didn't fall off the roof once.

Description of Work
Re- shingled ranch style home, including the installation of venting for proper ventilation of the roof. "Recover existing roof with Malarkey brand 30-year arch. Shingle color of your choice. Install high profile E-Z Ridge XL. Replace all pipe jack. Install 6 vents for proper roof ventilation. Clean up and disposal of all roofing debris. 3-year Guarantee on workmanship."

Category roofing

5.0

07/11/2012


Roger L S.

On time, reasonably priced, well organized, a good system with a good crew and professional all the way.

Description of Work
Installed totally new roof including vents.

Category roofing

5.0

07/05/2012


Bruce & Dawn B.

Mr. Holcomb replied promptly to our inquiry, immediately gave us a bid (one of five) and his cost was the least expensive with a reference list that included people we knew. His estimated time of doing the project was accurate.

Description of Work
Replacement of asphalt roof shingles over existing shingles; replaced worn boots

Category roofing

5.0

06/27/2012


Cynthia B.

Mr. Holcomb was very responsive in coming to our house to provide an estimate (showing up only a couple hours after my call!). He had a very reasonable estimate called to me by the next day. My husband had considered doing our own "tear off" of the old roof, so I asked Mr. Holcomb to provide two estimates - one with all the work and the other simply installation of a new roof. The labor expense for the tear-off was so reasonable, we asked him to do the complete job. He ordered our desired shingle and started work within a few days. John and hIs crew arrived and performed the removal of the old roof basically within one day. They were respectful and cleaned up beautifully afterward. They returned to install the new roof right away (perhaps 1 day weather delay in there somewhere). The whole job (from initial call to new roof with complete clean-up) was complete within about 2 weeks. I had expected the process to take a couple months. The original roof leaked and we later found it was improperly installed. Our new roof is leak-free! We have a large, steep and complex roof which was done quickly, professionally and with a reasonable price. We are grateful for his high quality service.

Description of Work
Mr. Holcomb and his crew removed the old roof and replaced a new asphalt shingle roof

Category roofing

5.0

06/27/2012


Frances L.

Responsive to request for bidSeemed very interested in doing quality workExcellent clean upResults are great

Description of Work
Tear off and replace roof

Category roofing

5.0

06/11/2012


J. N.

It went great. They were fast - completed the job in a day. It looks beautiful. Supplied a great product. Nothing but good to say.

Description of Work
He re-roofed the house.

Category roofing

5.0

04/04/2012


Evelyn H.

I saw his high rating on Angie's list and he certainly lived up to his good reputation. He was prompt and professional throughout the entire bidding and construction process. He discussed his bid with me in person and patiently answered all of my questions to my satisfaction (I am very inquisitive so this took around an hour). He explained the process and materials he would use and showed knowledge of all aspects of the job. He installed a new type of ice and water shield in the valleys which some of the other contractors do not use. It extends around 24 inches on either side of the valley and has a self-adhesive backing. He orders his shingles from Idaho falls since they carry Malarkey brand 30 year architectural shingles which he says have superior sealing strips and durability. Also they have a boom truck so they could deliver the shingles to my 2 story high roof. (The other contractors did not have this and they probably would have had trouble with my steep hillside lot and driveway). John and his crew arrived bright and early at 8:00 am on the day he said he would and started by covering all my yard and plantings with protective tarps. The dumpster he had ordered for waste disposal arrived on schedule and was removed the next day. His crew got all the old material into the dumpster and my yard cleaned of all old shingles and nails by 3:00pm. The new underlayment was installed quickly so my roof was never left without protection. The next day the shingles were delivered and the entire job was completed by about 4:00pm. John did all the nailing himself and only had had his crew hand him materials and help with cleanup. He used 6 nails per shingle which qualifies the shingles for the enhanced wind (110 mph) rating for the 5 yr warranty. They used a magnetic sweeper to help cleanup all the stray nails. John also included a 5 year warantee on his workmanship ( the other bid only had a 2 yr guarantee )

Description of Work
I had my asphalt shingle roof torn off and completely replaced after a portion of it was damaged by a wind storm. Since my old shingles were T-Lock shingles which have been discontinued since 2005, I wanted the whole roof replaced so the shingles would match. I also decided to have the old roof torn off (which increased the cost by about $1000) since John said the result would be better and the weight of too many layers of roofing would damage my trusses. John's bid was around $1000 lower than the other 2 bids I got. I also noticed that the bid itself was more detailed and professional then the other bids.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Homey Basements

    We are an experienced local construction company that specializes in framing basements. We love working hard and putting integrity into our work. The company is run by Thomas Osterhoudt who has been a life long construction enthusiast. Those who know him joke that he even coughs saw dust! We have experience doing large commercial framing jobs (check out our website) and residential projects. We do an essential part of building homes by doing the framing. That is important to us because families are built there too. You can get in contact on the website!  

    Angi Certified

    HomePro

    We understand that every project is unique and requires delicate handling. We do our best to make your project go as smoothly as possible.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    DaBella - Idaho Falls

    Quality Begins at Home. We are the premiere home improvement company, with service and products that will keep you happy for years to come. Our customers receive unmatched warranties and exclusive products. We offer exclusive roofing, siding and window systems that are manufactured in America and installed by factory-trained installers, delivering the best possible result every time. DaBella Baths is our exclusive bath division, specializing in tub and shower conversions, bathtub replacement, walk-in showers and walk-in tubs. If you want to work with a contractor who is passionate about service, committed to quality and determined to delight you, then DaBella is for you! We’re ready to turn your dreams into a beautiful reality.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roofing.

    Services Not Offered

    Flat roofs.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about John Holcomb Roofing

    How is John Holcomb Roofing overall rated?

    John Holcomb Roofing is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are John Holcomb Roofing open?

    John Holcomb Roofing is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does John Holcomb Roofing provide

    John Holcomb Roofing accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does John Holcomb Roofing offer free estimates?

    Yes, John Holcomb Roofing offers free project estimates.

    Does John Holcomb Roofing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, John Holcomb Roofing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does John Holcomb Roofing offer a senior discount?

    No, John Holcomb Roofing does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by John Holcomb Roofing?

    Yes, John Holcomb Roofing offers warranties.

    What services does John Holcomb Roofing offer?

    John Holcomb Roofing offers the following services: Roofing.

    Are there any services John Holcomb Roofing does not offer?

    Flat roofs.