Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Cody’s Appliance Repair

Founded 1990 • With Angi since December 2007

4.6

(180) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1117 E Plaza Dr Ste C

Eagle, ID 83616

Description

Cody's Appliance Repair is a local, family owned & operated business, serving its customers for all repairs of major household appliances, gas and electric, in manufacturer's warranty and out. Our technicians are factory trained and certified on almost all major brands, so you can be sure our technicians are experienced and knowledgeable about your product. We are licensed and insured for your protection and drug and background screened for your safety and security....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

12/08/2021


Melissa R.

They did a Great job fixing the washer but was terrible working with my insurance company. They were hired on by my Incurance company but did not communicate at at all to see if the issue was covered by my insurance. When it was not They asked for the money weeks after the repair was done with out quoting it with us before hand. Ever since I have had to mediate between them and the insurance company which is ridiculous.

Description of Work
Leaking washer

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

This is your second public review. The outcome of your first review is that you paid ZERO for the repair and got a working washer (see mention below), and you go out and write ANOTHER 1-star review? Wow. just wow. Let's discuss your repair. We have parted ways with this insurance company over this claim as we are sick and tired of big, faceless conglomerates taking advantage of their clients and their service providers. We had a monetary cap so that we can make repairs quickly for our customers without sitting on hold for hours getting an okay to do work. You needed a bleach dispenser. Simple enough. It's a functional part and within our contractual boundaries. We replaced the beach dispenser. The insurance company denied the claim after the repairs were done saying it was not a covered item on the policy. The decision from this point is we either remove the part and you are back to where you were when you first made the call for the repair or you pay for the repair out of pocket or buy new. No harm, no foul. Please tell me just how are we the villains here? How is it we deserve a 1-star review because we were denied payment by YOUR insurance company? My staff sat on hold for literally hours trying to get this claim paid for you. We bought and paid for YOUR part. We paid OUR technician to do the work. And your reply is that we can either come get the part before 7:00 am or after 5:00 pm, meaning we will need to pay our technician to work either before work hours or after work hours because you are feeling put out. My guys work a long, hard day each and every day. I am not a monster to demand that of my team. So our response is you keep the part; you get a free repair. Yeah for you. What we get is to lose money on the part, lose money on paying our technician for the repair, and we lose money on lost hours for our staff spinning their wheels for you to get your repair covered. Oh, and a couple public complaints about how horrible we are. And a very Merry Christmas to you.
4.0

10/01/2018


Blair C.

The technician was right on time, found the problem quickly and replaced a fan that evidently was an essential part of this system. I liked their promptness, courtesy, and efficiency. The only thing that bothered me was the cost. It just seemed awfully high.

Description of Work
The freezer in our refrigerator quit working.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for taking the time to review your experience with our company. We are very happy that you found us prompt, courteous, knowledgeable and had the replacement part right in our truck inventory for an immediate repair. No one wants to have their fridge down, waiting for the parts to arrive. We know your time is valuable. We have also provided a one-year warranty on the labor performed and a three-year warranty on the parts provided, which is unparalleled in our community. We stand behind our work and will be there if there is a future failure on this unit. My apologies that you did not find that we gave you good value for your dollars spent and hope that in the future, we might be given another opportunity to prove our worth by giving you continued outstanding service, courtesy and professionalism.
5.0

08/06/2018


Mike W.

The folks I spoke to on the phone were always very pleasant and it was easy to make appointments. The service technicians arrived within the appointment window and were very pleasant. We were having a problem with the dishwasher leaking from under the door .On his arrival the technician stated that this type of a problem was often hard to repair. He worked on the dishwasher for a while and it appeared that the problem was solved. The next day we noticed leakage in the same area again. As Cody’s offers a 90 day warrantee on their work we called them back. Again the folks on the phone were very accommodating and arrangements were made for a return visit. Again the technician arrived within the appointment window and worked on the leak again. He also stated that there were several things that could be causing the problem some of which would require a considerable amount of repair. Again when he left the dishwasher was not leaking. The next day when it was run it again leaked. I made another call to Cody’s and the folks on the phone were very easy to work with. This time there were two technicians who spent quite a bit of time trying to determine why the unit was leaking. They felt that there were several parts that were not performing correctly and until they were replaced they could not get the unit to stop leaking. They also gave me a preliminary estimate of the costs for the repairs. At no time did I feel any pressure to make the repairs. We decided the best solution in the long run was to replace the dishwasher. Bottom line we would have Cody’s Appliance Repair back when we need something fixed.

Description of Work
Repair leaking dishwasher

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you so very much for your review, in great detail, showing that there is so very much more to our business than arriving at the home, repairing the item, collecting payment and going on our way. We are a company that is absolutely there for our customers and stand behind our work when we experience the unexpected. We believe that is the mark of a great company; that they honor their commitments to their customers! We thank you for posting a review where it was absolutely not a slam-dunk repair but, in the end, you were satisfied with the service provided. We truly appreciate your support by posting this review on AL.
5.0

07/11/2018


Jane D.

Our refrigerator was not working. Adam C diagnosed the situation and broke the news, very nicely, that our 18-year-old unit needed to be replaced. He spent nearly an hour sharing his experience and knowledge of the refrigerators currently on the market. The next day we had another question, and he emailed us right back. In the end, we bought the unit he suggested and we are very happy. On a final note, we have used Cody's for all of our appliance repairs for more than five years. They have always been reliable, affordable, and professional.

Description of Work
Refrigerator evaluation

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your lovely review! We truly appreciate your taking the time to post your experience with our company for BBB members to see and your recommendation that our company is one they can trust with their in-home appliance repair needs. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you these many years!
5.0

04/24/2018


Barbara S.

Assessed what was wrong with the dryer, had the parts on the truck to make the repair. All together I think he was here 1-1/2 hours.

Description of Work
Dryer repair

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of our company. So glad we hard parts at-the-ready for a quick repair. We appreciate your support!
5.0

11/22/2017


Michael D.

I called Cody and was told they would have a technician in my area the next day. Cody arrived on time as planned. He found the freezer drain was frozen and blocked with ice. He immediately opened the area, heated and removed the blockage. Repair was accomplished very quickly. I was relieved it would not be a costly repair. we have used Cody on several other occasions and found them to be knowledgeable, honest and reasonably priced. We highly recommend them. Thank you Cody for your continued excellent service.

Description of Work
Maytag refrigerator/freeze was leaking water from freezer door. Ice build up blocking drain.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so very much for your review. We truly appreciate your support by posting this public review for AL members to see.
3.0

09/28/2017


Steve G.

They cleaned the vent in May and all seemed fine. In August my son noticed the drying vent exhaust was not connected. When I called and ask Codi about it they wanted $90 to fix it. I say I should have gotten some consideration

Description of Work
Dryer Vent Cleaned

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Hello. 5 months after our cleaning, we were called back to the home. We found your vent had ben crushed behind the dryer. We replaced the vent material at no charge to you. Thinking that is consideration for your circumstances. Had we crushed the material at the time of repair, you would have noticed a problem right away. I hope this answers your concerns.
5.0

06/12/2017


Kevin R.

Great, on time, awesome jacket, Cody is ruggedly handsome.

Description of Work
Fixed my dryer

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Why, thank you, [Member Name Removed]. I will pass on the compliment to the boss. I think he is ruggedly handsome, too, and I have the benefit of waking up to that awesomeness everyday!!
3.0

02/22/2017


cheri L.

First off I want to say that I think Cody's is a good appliance repair company even though my experience did not start out well. Ian arrived on time. Ian confirmed that yes the control panel needed to be replaced. However, he did not have a control panel and would need to order one, which is fine. Then, he said that it would be $399 for the panel and installation. I did not remember it being so expensive the last time I had it replaced (not under warranty) so I declined to have him order and install it. He did not offer to explain the pricing and I did not ask for an explanation. I then paid him $89 for confirmation that the control panel did not work. I was unhappy with my experience and so went online to price the control panel which I could get for as little as $115. Youtube videos and postings reported that it was about a 10 to 15 minute job. This estimate seems reasonable based on watching Ian take apart the front panel of my dishwasher. I then responded to a survey Cody's sent me in which I spelled out my disappointment in their service in no uncertain terms. Within hours I was called by a representative of the company. She explained the pricing for the control panel and the pricing for labor. The part was more expensive then what I found online but they do guarantee the part so I am okay with that part of the quote now. The labor was still an issue...it is over $200 for a 15 minute job. Cody's convinced me that they would review their labor pricing model for that type of job. They then went on to refund the $89 I paid for Ian to tell me what I had already said the problem was. Thank you Cody's for being a respectable company.

Description of Work
I have a Maytag dishwasher that has a control panel that goes out every year and a half or so. I called Cody's and told them the control panel needed to be replaced. They sent Ian out to repair my dishwasher.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

We try everyday to be the best-of-the-best, but every once in awhile we hit a snag. I know my general manager went over our cost of doing business, the type of parts that we buy (only from specific, verified sources), as control boards, especially, are tricky business, and our unmatched warranty for our repairs. That said, we refunded your money because we genuinely want you to be happy in the end. We hope you found a satisfactory solution to your problem.
5.0

11/22/2016


Kevin R.

Fine, Cody was wearing a smart "Cody's Appliances" patch that matched the logo on the vehicle.

Description of Work
Dryer needed new heater

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you. We think it's a smart logo, too -- a letter C or a bolt? It is in the eye of the beholder. We think we are so clever . . . :) We appreciate you taking the time to post a favorable review.
5.0

11/07/2016


Sharon W.

Ian was out twice, even called Frigidaire to tell them what was wrong with the oven. He came back again with a new computer board. Unfortunately , that did not correct the problem. He told us that Frigidaire was already aware of that problem.

Description of Work
Frigidaire oven would not heat correctly with the quick preheat setting.

Category appliance repair, small appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting this review. It grieves me that we were not able to successfully repair your oven but I hope that you are happy and satisfied with the outcome.
5.0

11/02/2016


Julie M.

Excellent. Repair person diagnosed the problem and provided clear and informative options for repair vs replacement. He also checked on dryer venting as a courtesy. He was polite and efficient. I tried to use the online appointment scheduling but it was not working that day so I gave a call. Scheduling the appointment via phone was easy and the scheduler was friendly, polite, and accomodating to my very restricted available times.

Description of Work
Had a leaking washer.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Hello! Thank you for the excellent review of our staff in the office and in the home. It is truly appreciated by our whole crew!
5.0

09/14/2016


linda S.

The two replacements were excellent and priced fairly. The gas range was not repairable on the spot, but the technician provided excellent details about what our options were and what we might consider doing. We ended up doing a temporary "fix" ourselves. this wouldn't have been possible without Cody's input.

Description of Work
We have had three visits from Cody's, all with different technicians, all with superior results. One was a microwave replacement. One was a disposal replacement One was a gas range service call.

Category appliance repair, small appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Oh, wow. Thank you. 3 great reviews from 3 different technicians! As the owner, I cannot personally go out to each and every home to inspect our work. That is why we love that you have the opportunity to do so on line so all can see how you feel, lumps and all, lol! We appreciate your patronage and hope that we can be of further service to you in the future (although, I am sure you would rather not see US!) Cheers!
5.0

08/20/2016


Nichole R.

Great, fast, courteous, and professional

Description of Work
Refrigerator water leaking out of bottom drawer under freezer

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Music to my ears!!! All the things we like to hear from our customer. Thank you!
5.0

07/07/2016


Jeff A.

Receptionist I spoke with when I called was super friendly and helpful as I explained the issue and we worked to find an appointment time that fit our families body schedule. They were able to get someone out within two days, which was really great! Zach was our service tech. He called when we was on his way, arrived on time, diagnosed the problem quickly, provided an estimate on the work needed and then performed the repairs after my wife approved. The final bill came out around 20% less than estimated, which is always a nice surprise! I would highly recommend then to anyone in their service area.

Description of Work
Dryer began squeaking/squealing and was driving us crazy! Called Cody's to have someone come out and take a look to see if they could fix it.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Hello! Our apologies that I have fallen off on responding to our customer'[Member Information Removed] reviews. The new AL had me a little baffled and stopped notifying me that we had a review come our [Member Information Removed]. That said, many thanks for the lovely review. We truly appreciate that you took time out of your busy day to give us a shout out!
5.0

03/22/2016


Steve H.

I had used the company about a month ago and when they first came to my home they did not find an issue but still had to pay for the service call. I continued to use my washer and the issue persisted so the company came out a second time and were able to locate the problem. The company did honor their 30 day warranty on the service call if something went wrong they would come and fix the problem. They did just that free of charge the second time.

Description of Work
I hired the company to fix my washer.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Sometimes an issue can be pesky. Darned if sometimes the appliance knows we are on the way and is on its best behavior when we arrive! :) That is why we have a 30-day call back for a no-trouble found issue. I am glad we were able to catch it the second time around! Thank you for the positive review of your experience with our company. It is sincerely appreciated by all of us at Cody's.
2.0

12/28/2015


Susan D.

I was told that it would cost $633.33 to repair it. I paid $99 for the service call which was little more than wiping off the glass doors. My tenant really wanted the fireplace to work, so I had another company-Alpine-come out. They fixed it for $125. I understand that its an older fireplace, but it didn't need all the new parts that I was told it would take to make it work.

Description of Work
Needed gas fireplace repaired in a rental property I had recently purchased.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, I just wanted to update AL members that we did, in fact, refund you for services rendered. There was a possibility of misdiagnosis on our part, and we worked together to resolve the issue with the customer. We stand behind our work always.
5.0

11/01/2015


Susan R.

Replaced a defective drain plug in the bottom freezer area. Whirlpool put out a repair kit and he installed the kit. This was the second visit he made to address this issue. The first fix did not involve the repair kit and worked for less than a year. During the first visit I told him Whirlpool had a repair kit for this but he didn't know that at the time so he rigged a heated wire to keep the plug from freezing but it didn't address the plugging up issue with the plug from dirt and hair. His charges for the second visit were 70 dollars more than for the first visit and he spent a lot less time here doing the work the second time around. I wasn't happy with the cost of the second visit and didn't get an upfront estimate. He was very responsive and got here the same day and I appreciated that.

Description of Work
Replaced drain plug in refrigerator.

Category appliance repair, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, We thank you for taking the time to post a review on AL about your experience with our company. I am so very sorry that you were less and fully satisfied with the repairs that were made to your refrigerator. We were out to your home August of 2014 for an ice buildup on the bottom of your refrigerator. At that time, we extended the drain defrost heater to prevent it frosting up again. This is the most common method of repair for refrigerators, in general. There is a notation that if it reoccurs we should replace the drain tube kit. You called again 14 months later with it frosting again. At that time, we did replace the defrost drain tube kit. Had the second failure been weeks or even a few months later, we certainly would have adjusted the invoice, as for us, it is a continuance of labor, just as if we had never left the home the first time. After 14 months -- over a year of it working as designed, we would consider that a successful repair. As to why he did not replace the drain tube at the first repair, frosting can occur from a door being left ajar or debris getting into the drain tube. We do not replace components unless their replacement is necessary, and we always clean the drain tube during the deicing process. I am unsure what you meant about the technician not addressing hair, etc. You mentioned that it took less time to do the second repair. Our company does not charge by time; we charge by the job, using the Blue Book repair pricing guide. The repair recently was different from the repair 13 months ago, and it involved more skill and expertise necessary to successfully make this repair, as parts were replaced, is why the charges were higher than 14 months ago. If you have any further questions or concerns about the repair made, please do give us a call. We would be happy to talk more in depth anytime. Again, we thank you for making a review for AL.
4.0

10/16/2015


Maureen K.

From the very beginning I loved the experience; the fact that the call would be recorded for quality assurance (I worked in QA for years), and my phone call was handled beautifully. Wish I remembered her name. I could have received service that same day, but no one was home at my house so I scheduled service a day I was off. Ian the tech called a half hour into the window and announced he was on the way. Perfect! He arrived within 30 mins. and diagnosed my ice maker problem within minutes. It turned out that water leaking into the electronics module caused a short which stopped the cue to the water line. I wan't surprised. I've personally disconnected the ice-maker to de-ice it when it dams up; (The feeler arm doesn't always work and ice dumps to the point where it backs up and jams) I've been able to catch it in time on my own until this time, apparently. When the water wasn't filling after 12 hrs I knew I had a problem and was stumped. I was thinking that maybe the line was frozen but the fact that we still had a working water dispenser ruled that out. So bottom line, we needed a replacement ice maker which I could have purchased for around $100. I look at nearly $400 as giving me a lesson in "Ice Maker 101". From my research (including on Angie's List) labor should have been $100-150 for this job. Knowing how many times I've personally disconnected my icemaker made me and hubby go "ouch" .That's why the "D" on price. Ian was very personable, informative, loves dogs and my own took to him. :-)

Description of Work
Replaced the ice maker unit.

Category appliance repair, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you for taking the time to put a review out for all AL members to see. I was so happy to see that you were pleased with our staff and efficiency with getting out to your home for repairs. I was concerned about your concerns with the pricing for the icemaker purchase and install. I immediately went to our supplier to check out our cost and check with our BlueBook program to check on the pricing for this repair and to make sure it was accurate. I found that the cost was, in fact, correct for this particular repair on this brand and model refrigerator. A couple of the factors that come into play on the cost of this job is that this is an LG refrigerator, which is a Korean-made brand, the fact that we carry this icemaker with on our trucks and it is an genuine factory-replacement part, and the liability involved in making this repair. The internet is the boon and bane of our existence in business. One can go out into cyberspace and find so many things so very cheaply! However, with that come the fact that often these parts are returns, aftermarket brands, factory rejects, seconds, pulled off a scrapped appliance -- the possibilities are endless. We, however, only buy from well-established parts houses, and for that assurance of first-quality parts, we pay a higher price. We also give a 1 year parts-and-labor warranty for that repair. That is the best in the valley, bar none! Most of our competitors give 30 days on the labor and 90 days on the parts, which is standard in the industry. The reason we are willing to pay more for our parts and the repair costs are higher is that the liability is so very high - for both the consumer and vendor. If that icemaker is faulty and leaks on your hardwood floor, we have the potential of a multi-thousand dollar claim for damages. So we take the responsibility for the repair and any possible repercussions for that repair, and that is factored into the cost of the repair. That is standard for any repair company. LG is also a difficult brand to work on. Many of our competitors won't even work on that brand. We are trained and competent to do the repairs on the LG brand. We also carry that icemaker right on the truck for speedy repairs. Many companies today carry few actual replacement parts right on the trucks. We do! We fully stock our vans to work for the completion of the repair the first time to your home. We know how valuable your time is. If we would have had to order the parts, it could be many days before we have the parts to return to the home, necessitating the homeowner taking time from their busy day to meet us for a second time. We know your time is valuable, so we strive to be efficient and to carry the parts necessary to get that done as quickly as possible so you can get back to normal in the household. I hope that helps just a bit about how our pricing works. And we hope that you might give us an opportunity to be of service to you in the future. Patty H
5.0

08/17/2015


Jace R.

Zach came out because the freezer termperature was erratic. He did some minor things and the problem seemed resolved for over a month but then returned. Although Cody's policy is to not charge a second service fee if within 30 days of the initial call, Cody's did not charge me a second service fee when I called them out again 45 days after the initial diagnositc. On the second call, Zach was unsure of the problem but suggested a new control panel. I agreed, so he installed the new panel at a cost of $400. As it turned out, the control panel was not the problem, so Zach returned, removed the new panel, reinstalled my old panel, and Cody's refunded the cost of the new panel. Zach said there were a number of other things he could replace but doing so would likely cost more than the unit was worth. I stiill had to pay the labor cost, but I was very pleased that Cody's refunded me over $200 for the control panel. Zach and Lauren (at the office) were a delight to work with, and their honesty and good service have secured a my loyalty in the future should the need arise.

Description of Work
Installed control panel and removed after did not solve problem

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave this positive review about your experience with Zach, Laura, and the rest of the Cody's team. My apologies that you did not receive our "one-and-done" kind of repair that we love so much, minimal time out of your day and little disruption to your already busy life. Sometimes repairs are pesky and take additional trips out to correctly identify the problem and find a proper solution. Yours had the worst kind of outcome, and for that I am sorry. But the fact that you STILL had good things to say about your experience is heartening that we retained your confidence in Zach and our company. He is a first-rate technician and I am sure, did all he could to resolve the issues promptly. Please let us know if we can be of anymore help to you, perhaps choosing a dealer or a brand type to replace your old appliance. We would be happy to help in any way we can.
3.0

08/13/2015


Molly H.

When I wanted to make the appointment, the phones were down, so waited another day to call back in and get scheduled. The tech who went to the property called and explained what needed to be done, which was fine. However, the estimate was for $750 for replacing two parts. We were able to get two other bids for less money and in the end, paid approx. $450 for the same work. That surprised me that the differential was so high. They charge a service fee just for coming out to the house, which I knew ahead of time and completely understand as most companies charge this sort of fee. They waive the fee if you go with them to do the work. We were on a time constraint and had to get this job done, so I just assumed I'd be hiring them to do the repairs but since the difference in bids was so enormous, we just bit the bullet and paid Cody's service fee, and decided to get the job done elsewhere for less money. However, when I called to pay my bill and I was looking through the website more closely, now that we were really only paying them for the estimate and being charged the service fee, I was surprised to find that the service fee I was quoted on the phone and charged for was a higher amount than what appeared to be advertised on the website. I brought this up when I called to pay my invoice and was told that I still had to pay the higher fee. Even though it was only a $10 difference, it was a little frustrating to have no real explanation for why looking at a fireplace would merit a higher service charge (which was simply going to the property and giving us an estimate) than other appliances. I did have a follow up call from them later in which they said that they will be changing the website so as not to have misunderstandings with their customers in the future. That kind of concern for their customers is laudable. However, I still think I would probably not go back due to such a huge disparity in the bids (approx 150+% of the cost that I was quoted elsewhere) I would be wary to have them do any other type of work, assuming that I'd also be overpaying for those services. Sadly, I think I went wrong even though I used Angie's List.

Description of Work
Service call providing an estimate for work.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, I am so very sorry that you did not have a positive experience with our company. It is absolutely awful for our customers to not be able to reach or company by phone. It was a very frustrating time for us, as we changed phone providers, which left us with no telephones for a day. Not a great transition. I apologize for the inconvenience getting through to us to schedule service. As to the disparity in our service fee that you mentioned in your review, we immediately went back to the recordings of all of our conversations with our customers. We never want our customers to fee that we were not up-front with information about what to expect from service that day. After listening to your conversation, with our calltaker, Laura, she did discuss the $89 service fee and payment options during the conversation and an email was sent both to you and your tenant about what to expect from service that day. We always want to make sure the customer knows exactly what to expect from us when we do service. We have, however, contacted our we designer to add fireplaces to our list of appliances at the higher diagnosis charge. We try to cover EVERY possibility, but sometimes something slips through. We would NEVER want a customer to think that there was any sort of "bait-and-switch" situation that you referenced. Trying to get an additional $10 from a customer that way is just not good business! :) Your reference to our charging our fee for "only" coming to the home is not correct. We charge a service fee for the trip charge AND diagnosis of the appliance. This is standard in the industry; a service fee is to be expected for all in-home service providers. We always try to be super clear about that for our customers. Unfortunately, the disparity in the estimate given by another company, I cannot say why it is so great. There are few qualified fireplace repair companies in our area. All I know is that we purchase only factory parts from certified parts dealers. We are insured and our technicians well trained. Our technicians are background and drug checked, for the safety and security of our customers. And we will be there if there is a problem that arises from that repair. We absolutely stand behind our work 100%! Unfortunately, I know nothing about the other company you used. I don't know their history, their warranty, their expertise, what kind of parts they use in their repairs, if they are insured, or any of the many important things one needs to know to compare apples-to-apples. We want all of our customers to be happy and satisfied that they received the best we have to offer and we hope that in the future you will give us another opportunity to show you that we are the best at what we do and we can be trusted to take care of you and your home the way you deserve to be taken care of.
5.0

06/01/2015


James B.

I called and they sent someone out within 48 hours. He arrived on time. he asked me a few questions looked at it for like 2min. then gave me a diagnosis and price. He finished in 20min. (quicker than expected) He then asked if I had anything else I needed looked at or advice on. He was very professional.

Description of Work
unclog the defrosting drainage tube on my 14yr.old refrigerator/freezer.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, We thank you for you review of your experience with our company and that you found it a positive one. I am so glad that it was nothing serious. A clogged drain tube can cause leakage of water -- and possible floor damage. I am so very glad that you gave our company your trust to take care of you and your needs. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
5.0

05/28/2015


Lisa M.

The owner himself came. We called at 8:30 and he was at the house by 10:00! Super fast and excellent service!!!

Description of Work
Put coolant in the refrigerator.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, We are so glad to hear that you were pleased with our service! The days are getting hotter and refrigerators are becoming stressed. We take refrigerator failure very seriously and do all we can to respond quickly so you don't lose the contents of your fridge. We hope you keep us in mind for any needs you may have in the future. Many thanks for your taking the time to post a review of your services with Cody and our company. It is sincerely appreciated.
1.0

05/08/2015


Burt A.

I have used Lowe's Home Repair warranty service a few times for major appliances. Cody's repair is the company they sent to repair my Kitchen Aide fridge/freezer this week and it was unpleasant, and unprofessional. 1. They sent a technician that was inexperienced, or not qualified. He diagnosed it as having a problem with coils/compressor and ordered the wrong parts. I believe the person might be trained, but the effort and diagnosis, seemed to be completely wrong. delivery. 2. When the qualified person arrived, he diagnosed it having a problem with the control board(s) and ordered those parts. The problem: Another 4 days - week waiting for parts and repair. It took 3 days initially to get parts, based on the mis-diagnisis. They order parts using normal delivery, coming from Vancouver, BC... it takes about 2-4 days to get to Boise, ID. The problem is the second parts (The parts really needed) should be expressed/overnighted, and not "normal". This would be normal practive for any professional company....I should not have to wait extra days now, because the Cody technician made a mistak the first time he came out. I asked Cody to have the parts delivered overnight and I would pay special delivery. If they were willing to work on Saturday (they made the mistake...not me) Their reply: No, we work Saturday but our schedule full and we cannot order overnight on weekends, because WLMay is not open (WL May will have the parts delivered to my house, I called and asked) Cody....your tech made a mistake and was representing your company. Take some ownership and responsibility to pay for the mistake he made. We're talking less than $100 to ship overnight and have your technician install the right parts.

Description of Work
Provided Lowe's Major Appliance warranty repair work through Lowe's extended protection plan. They aredered parts and scheduled service repair

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Sir, first and foremost, you have our sincere apologies that there was a misdiagnosis with your appliance. We are human, and these things do occasionally happen. It is frustrating for the customer and us. Your failure was intermittent and difficult to diagnose. No excuses for that. However, what you fail to put in your review is that, even though we ordered these parts Friday afternoon with an arrival date of Monday, and our promise to come out immediately to put them in, your behavior -- threats, rude words and hostile attitude towards my staff will not be tolerated. Ever. Fist pounding that threats never got anyone anywhere. And I truly do not understand why you think you would have been successful. Our company has always prided itself on doing all it can to make the customer happy and whole. We pride ourselves on being an honest, ethical company that our employees are proud to work for. That said, as humans, my staff has the right to be treated with respect and general kindness, no matter the situation. You situation was not some grand plot on our part, to inconvenience you. As a result of your behavior we invited you to use another company to finish your repair. And that is our right. Sir, your comment to my office manager that you never raised your voice to my staff on the phone tells me you do not understand what constitutes abuse. My staff was absolutely wreaked after dealing with you. No person should have to come to work and be treated this way by a customer. Just because they didn't have the answers you thought you deserved doesn't give you the right to act the way you did. Shame on you.
3.0

04/15/2015


James G.

It went fine, except for the cost. And the 128.00 charge is their minimum.

Description of Work
Removes a wire from the ejector pump. Work time was approximately 30 minutes. No parts were needed.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, I am so very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience with our company. We sincerely want all of our customers to be thrilled with the work we do. As you can see by the many stellar reviews, we work hard for our good reputation. By your review, it seems that you feel we failed not only on price, but in many other areas. I wish you would have called us prior to posting this review so we could better understand how we could have given you a better experience. In reviewing the notes from service, I see that you were not present for the repair, as this is a rental property. Upon inspection, my technician found the unit full of water and it would not drain. He suspected a pump issue. This necessitated draining your unit, disassembling the front-load washer and finding and removing the obstruction. In this case, it was a bra underwire. Luckily, we were able to remove it and there appeared to be no damage to the pump. My technician then reassembled the pump and checked for leaks. We also secured the drain line to the fill lines to better protect you from future leaks. Sir, as this was a rental property, you were not there to meet our technician or see him work. All you received was the bad news over the phone. Often, it is customers who are not present for a repair who are dissatisfied with the repair costs. In reviewing this invoice, my technician charged you the listed repair cost, according to our pricing program that we use for each repair. This guide takes into account the degree of difficulty for the repair, skill level for the repair, and the liability we have working with this unit and possible leak issues. My technician also gave you a pre-estimate before doing the work, and at that time you could have easily declined the estimate. We went ahead with your okay to do the work. With our company you have the peace of mind that our technician was highly trained, background and drug tested, professional and clean. We stand behind our work 100% and will be there when you need us. You paid for professional service and expertise. Could you have found cheaper? Absolutely. But do they know what they are doing? Will they stand behind their work? Do you have a convicted felon arriving to your home? With Cody's, you can be assured that you and your tenant will be safe and well taken care of. That is our promise to you. With that said, we stand behind the cost for this repair. It is my sincere hope that I have made my case and you give us an opportunity to be of service to you in the future. And I thank Angies List for giving us an opportunity to give our side of the story.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Elite Rooter

    Here at Elite Rooter we pride ourselves on our 5 star Elite service. From our office staff to the Techs in the field, our promise to provide our customers with an outstanding experience and an ease of mind knowing they have a whole team of Professionals in their corner to provide a long term solution to the unforeseen issues that arise and at a competitive price.  

    Beacon Plumbing

    Since 1998, Beacon Plumbing has been providing excellent service and has now expanded its service area into Treasure Valley. Beacon specializes in providing emergency service, seven days a week. There is no job too big, or too small. We provide upfront pricing, fast, clean, professional, and customer satisfaction guaranteed. Stop Freakin...Call Beacon for your appointment today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    JRS Plumbing

    JRS Plumbing was established in October of 2012. However, owner Jim has been working in the plumbing industry since 1996. He has been a journeyman plumber since 2000, specializing in plumbing for custom home construction jobs, remodels and small commercial jobs. He is familiar with all aspects of the plumbing trade and has worked in a supply house and as a commercial estimator. With almost 20 years experience, Jim is your top plumber in Treasure Valley! With service throughout the entire Treasure Valley including Boise, Garden City, Nampa, Caldwell, Star, Eagle, Emmett, Kuna, and Meridian - we will be there to help you with your plumbing concerns. Additional phone: 208-231-1780  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Service fee waived if repairs made.
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    $10
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Major appliance repair, electric and gas appliances, refrigerator condenser coils, water filters and appliance check-ups, hookups & repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Small appliances, heating and cooling systems, RV appliance repair.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Cody’s Appliance Repair

    How is Cody’s Appliance Repair overall rated?

    Cody’s Appliance Repair is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Cody’s Appliance Repair open?

    Cody’s Appliance Repair is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Cody’s Appliance Repair provide

    Cody’s Appliance Repair accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Cody’s Appliance Repair offer free estimates?

    No, Cody’s Appliance Repair does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Cody’s Appliance Repair offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Cody’s Appliance Repair offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Cody’s Appliance Repair offer a senior discount?

    No, Cody’s Appliance Repair does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Cody’s Appliance Repair?

    Yes, Cody’s Appliance Repair offers warranties.

    What services does Cody’s Appliance Repair offer?

    Cody’s Appliance Repair offers the following services: Major appliance repair, electric and gas appliances, refrigerator condenser coils, water filters and appliance check-ups, hookups & repair.

    Are there any services Cody’s Appliance Repair does not offer?

    Small appliances, heating and cooling systems, RV appliance repair.