Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

One Son Construction Inc

Founded 2007 • With Angi since June 2008

5.0

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5120 S Maverick Ave

Boise, ID 83709

Description

We are closed for business

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/20/2016


Dee B.

Everything went as planned and on schedule.

Description of Work
Remodel utility room

Category drywall, plumbing, remodeling

5.0

03/22/2016


Allison M.

One Son Construction was a pleasure to work with. They made sure I understood exactly what work they would be doing and they helped me decide on some details I was unsure about. The crews were punctual and extremely courteous. I will definitely call them for future projects.

Description of Work
installed RC-1 sound channel and 5/8" drywall ceiling in two rooms

Category drywall

5.0

01/07/2016


Sheila G.

They did a great job. They are the nicest people and I found them to be very honest and they kept in the loop with how things were going with the project and with the budget. I have recommended them to friends and will continue to do so.

Description of Work
Dave and Ruth remodeled two bathrooms for us and are now doing some work on our third bathroom.

Category drywall, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/02/2015


Sylvia N.

I've had the pleasure of working with Dave Hammond and One Son Construction on two projects, and am already looking forward to our third together! Dave is the ultimate professional-I cannot say enough good things about him! He is punctual, professional, detailed, efficient and considerate. The quality of his work is superior. He communicates throughout the project, is very responsive, provides guidance and suggestions, He did a bathroom remodel and coordinated details with my plumber. I was having all the plumbing throughout the house redone (1926 Bungalow in the North End) and he made it seamless. He goes above and beyond and found specific tile pieces that were needed to give the job a polished finish. Along the way, there were a few logistical and design challenges that were not anticipated and once again, he found solutions and made it easy for me. There are so many contractor nightmare stories out there. One Son Construction will never be one of them. He loves his work-and you can tell! He also did a basement remodel (again, a "typical" North End cement basement) and he transformed it better than I imagined. His prices are more than fair-and he helps talk you through the design process so it is what you want and within your budget. It has been an absolute delight working with Dave! Our third project together is a "shed" in my backyard that will be transformed into a cottage/guest house.

Description of Work
So far he has done two projects at my house-basement remodel and bathroom remodel.

Category drywall

5.0

08/17/2015


Troy V.

Dave and his crew did an outstanding job. I have very high attention to detail and I really appreciate him taking time to listen to my vision and what i was looking for. Price was higher than what i was hoping for however I have zero regrets on the job. Yes, knowing what I know now, I would do it again. Keeping Dave on my contact list for future jobs for sure...

Description of Work
Dave added a through-way door and tiled our shower.

Category ceramic tile, drywall

5.0

05/05/2015


Richard B.

Installed drywall, filled seams taped and sanded drywall

Description of Work
Dry wall installation

Category drywall

2.0

01/12/2015


Sheila W.

They showed up on time, took some measurements and said they would e-mail me an estimate of the cost. They were very nice and seemed very professional. Explained how they would do the job and seemed to know what they were doing. Said they would e-mail me an estimate by the following night, but I never heard from them again and hired someone else to do the work.

Description of Work
Came to my house to give me an estimate.

Category drywall

Service Provider Response

(Member name removed), I am sorry there has been a mix up. We provided an estimate via the e-mail given to us the same day that we visited your house. I have verified on my software that the estimate was sent and received. Please check your spam folder and modify this report. We value each and every customer and strive to meet all the needs of each customer to their satisfaction.
5.0

12/30/2014


amy N.

Dave is everything you want but don't expect from a contractor. From the first time I met him I trusted him immediately. My situation with the kitchen back splash turned out to be a real pain and I thought it would never be done. We had granite counter top installed and the original back splash had to be removed which left behind a broken drywall mess. My husband cut the damaged dry wall out so it would stop making drywall dust all over our kitchen areas as well as be ready for new drywall and tile. I ordered the tile over the internet and unfortunately the company I purchased from had serious problems with getting the tile to me. Part of my order came immediately but the rest did not come when promised or was partially shipped. This happened about 5-6 times which in turn made Dave change his plans and re-schedule to finish my project. He was very understanding and accommodating every time there was another set back with the tile. Here are all the good things about using Dave to do work in your home: He is on time, every time. He is easy to communicate with by phone and responds quickly to emails and text. He is honest and very knowledgeable. He takes a lot of time to explain things and make sure you have all of your questions answered. He had great suggestions for my project. He cleans up after himself so well you can't even tell if there was a mess. And, drum roll please..........he goes the extra mile! He does extra little things that could be done but weren't in the original bid or weren't discussed, just to make sure EVERY thing is done to completion. Seriously, besides the honesty and promises fulfilled, my favorite thing is someone actually doing their job well and going beyond expectations. Projects like home remodeling would not be nearly as painful if every person involved did their job like Dave.

Description of Work
Installed glass tile back splash in kitchen

Category ceramic tile, drywall, remodeling

5.0

10/29/2014


Minnie D.

We were very impressed with One Son Construction Inc. They arrived for an estimate on time and were very polite & friendly. The project was done promptly and professionally. I would highly recommend One Son Construction Inc. and will definitely call them for any future job that I may have.

Description of Work
Sheet rock walls & ceiling on A frame home

Category drywall

5.0

08/16/2014


Edward F.

Exceptional work. Cannot tell in ceiling where existing hole for chandelier had been located. Blends in completely with existing ceiling texture.

Description of Work
Relocated 9 ft high ceiling chandelier in dining room to another location approximately 16 inches away.

Category drywall

5.0

02/26/2014


Royce S.

He gave me an estimate, was back to do the work 3-4 days later. He did a very, very well, was very quick, and efficient, and did a really good job.

Description of Work
He inspected pool deck and looked at awnings I needed to be hung.

Category contractors, handyman service, roofing

5.0

12/13/2013


Don F.

He was very punctual and very honest.

Description of Work
I used One Son Construction

Category ceramic tile, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, home remodeling

5.0

10/07/2013


Ben L.

Went very well. Showed up when expected. Work was done quickly. Cleanup perfect. Would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Laundry Room--Repaired drywall patch that plumber fixed and painted the whole room.

Category drywall, interior painters

5.0

09/01/2013


Suzanne G.

Great I trust him completely nice person. His wife helped him and was very nice as well. Did not complain if I had some used items he made sure every thing was right and I was satisfied

Description of Work
Painted ceilings, installed dishwasher, faucet, several light fixtures, installed 2 dead bolts, layed laminate flooring in kitchen, repaired back door at no charge, identified plumbing problem which he didnt charge for and other very helpful smaller items that he didnt charge for as well

Category drywall

5.0

10/30/2012


Paul D.

The washer machine's drain had become clogged and flooded our laundry room. The flooring was imitation Pergo and was not properly installed to begin with. Because of this, both the flooring and the drywall were water damaged. Part of the drain repair involved the removal of a large section of drywall around the drain pipe as well. We looked through Angie's list and the BBB looking for a contractor to do the work and we came across One Son construction. I worked with Dave and was very open about the work that needed to be done. We also negotiated some other work since he could do dry wall and other odd tasks. The quote very reasonable and we were more than happy to get the required building materials ourselves to help out and keep the costs down were we could. We worked with Dave to make sure that the quality was acceptable beforehand. When all the materials were in, we worked with Dave to set up a schedule to perform the work, as well as a rough timeline so we could prepare. Dave and a drywall guy showed up on-time and got straight to work. Dave was easy to work with, and we pitched in were we could. Dave had the demolition of the laundry room and the drywall done by late morning. While the drywall guy was repairing the laundry room drywall, he went to work on the outside doors and sliding door. By lunchtime, Dave was ready to start cutting and setting the tile. After lunch, Dave was able to start preparing the tile, cut it, and set it. After letting it set, Dave grouted the tile and cleaned it up. As you can see from the date, it took me a while to find the time to do this review. If it tells you anything, it has been several months since Dave did the work and I'm still amazed at the great job One Son Construction did with our floor. Both the wife and I love it!

Description of Work
Laundry Room: Removed old flooring and drywall from laundry room. Installed new drywall in laundry room. Installed new tile floor in laundry room. Included cutting, grouting, and initial sealing of tile and edging. Kitchen: Installed new drywall behind stove. Backyard: Fitted and installed 2 doors to the outside storage room. Repaired the rollers and fittings to the sliding screen door.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, doors

5.0

06/19/2012


Jared C.

Dave was extremely responsive and super professional. He was very upfront with me on the cost and time to complete the project. He explained to me the processes needed to complete both parts of the project (wall and ceiling). He showed up on time the day he said he'd be here and complete the work as he described. He did end up tracking a small amount of wall patching material (mud) through the house on his shoes, but it was super easy to clean up.

Description of Work
We are converting a spare bedroom into a baby's room and needed to repair a hole in the wall that was cutout to access pipes in the bathroom. It looked like the previous owner attempted to patch the wall but didn't do a very good job. Dave cut out a big portion of the lathe & plaster wall then floated in a piece of drywall. He then seam-taped the drywall and textured over the seam and entire drywall piece. The end result turned out extremely clean and you can't tell a difference between the original wall and the floated drywall. In addition to the wall in the baby room we had a roof leak in our master bedroom that caused some drywall damage in the ceiling. This damage did not require cutting out any old drywall and replacing with new drywall - it was simply mudding/patching over the damage. Upon initial inspection after Dave completed the ceiling it looked as good as the wall and I gave him the okay. Throughout the day however it seemed that the damage along the seam started to p***** the patching mud and created a ripple effect in the patch. It looked like not enough mud was used. Although the ripple is noticeable it is much better than the exposed damage.

Category drywall

5.0

05/16/2012


Barbara H.

Great experience, finished everything in less than 4 days....

Description of Work
Dave came out promptly for an estimate. It was very reasonable for the work that we wanted completed. I liked that he has a contractors license and really gave us a lot of information about how he would complete the job. We had an old covered patio torn down and hauled away, A complete outside door and frame installed, outside facia and joists changed and sistered, vent screens to the attic installed, I had some ugly old window frames changed out, 2 huge wood shelves that were attached to the house removed, and some stucco work.. All work was completed on time, cleanup done better than I could do, and he hauled away all the debris. I can't say enough about how professional and friendly he was. I have already recommended to a friend and if you want your job done right, call One Son Construction.

Category handyman service, woodworking, doors

5.0

02/24/2012


Elizabeth B.

Everything went well. He was always on time, neat, and polite. I was very pleased with both jobs.

Description of Work
He did two small bathroom remodels.

Category lighting, home remodeling

5.0

01/24/2012


Roberta L.

We had purchased the plywood in advance, and found that we could not do the job ourselves. It required more expertise in the precise installation of the roofing due to the existing patio structure. One Son Construction was extremely knowledgeable in being able to face any challenge and was absolutely perfect in the installation. We are very happy with the end product and would highly recommend Dave's company for any home remodel projects.

Description of Work
We had Dave with One Son Construction install plywood on the underside of our patio roof. Dave was very polite and professional, and honest with the challenges that were presented to him with the installation. He performed the job along with his father and completed it to our total satisfaction. I would contact him for any future projects for our home remodel and have already recommended his services to a colleague of mine.

Category roofing, woodworking

5.0

01/05/2012


Claudia S.

A lot of research on various contractors for this drywall replacemnt in the ceiling of the laundry room. An estimate was received for dryuwall replacement, the tape applied, plastered over and the area and surrounding walls were painted. No plroblems on arrival time or completion of the job. He completed the work in the time specifiec and the place was left cleaned as promised. Subseque4ntly, no problems are found. Good work .

Description of Work
It has been some time since the work was performed. Drywall was replaced, it was painted and the cleanup was done. All was performed to our specifications, in the time requested, and was coujrteous. On ths basis, I would recommend this contractor to anyone who needs this work.

Category drywall

5.0

09/23/2011


Russ G.

Started job on time and completed work as agreed upon. The contractor and crew cleaned up daily leaving the work area as they found it. He even returned on a Sunday to take care of a minor issue with the texture so that painting could proceed the following day.

Description of Work
Repaired living room dry wall and texturized ceiling/walls.

Category drywall, handyman service, interior painters

5.0

07/11/2011


Lisa B.

I contacted One Son Construction through Angie's list. He replied promptly to my email and came over to give us an estimate. One thing we noticed right away was that he was both personable and knowledgeable. He understood the idea we had for our garage and gave us helpful advice about what elements we should and should not include in the project. He took lots of measurements and sent us an itemized estimate a few days later. During the project, they were clean, friendly, and explained things to us along the way. The project was completed on budget and in less time than was originally planned. We're very excited about the results. Everything looks great and it turned out better than we imagined. It's really hard to remember what our garage looked like before! Everything about this experience was great. They were a pleasure to work with at each step of the process and are very organized and consistent. I would highly recommend One Son and would hire them again!!

Description of Work
The main project was a set of improvements our garage. This included drywall and painting in the garage interior, installing lighting and outlets, moving washer/dryer plumbing, and installing a door from the garage to the house. There were also a few small drywall and electrical projects within the house.

Category drywall, lighting, remodeling, woodworking, doors

5.0

06/27/2011


Lisa B.

He responded very fast. He was very flexible of coming out and giving an estimate in the evening which was important for us as we work and was very convenient for us because we didn’t have to come home early. He was very easy to talk to. He really had the scope of the project that we wanted to do. He took time to measure all things. We had a lot of confidence when we got his estimate that he really knew the process and it was going to be accurate. I would rate him high overall. He has also started his work in our house. He was on time for giving the estimate. I also have one smaller project in our bathroom, so I’m thinking of asking him to give an estimate for that after he finishes this job.

Description of Work
One Son Construction Inc just came out and gave an estimate about two weeks ago. The estimate was about $9300. The major work was in the garage like he had do some plumbing, lighting inside the garage and also fix the interior door and do the painting. The other small projects inside the house are installation of exterior outlet on the back of house, drywall repair behind our refrigerator and cosmetic drywall in our living room.

Category drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, interior painters, doors

5.0

02/16/2011


Theodore B.

Great experience from start to finish. During his initial estimate, David was punctual and provided a clear and concise evaluation. He provided valuable recommendations on work that was needed versus a few items he recommended we could handle ourselves. He provided a clear estimate and was willing to accomodate our work schedule. During the actual work, he was again punctual. He quickly accomplished the drywall repairs, textured the areas, and followed up with paint. He cleaned up everything and left the areas spotless. The repaired areas blend perfectly with their surroundings. We can't notice any sign of the previous damage. Although the job was relatively small, we feel like we got first-class results. We would highly recommend One Son for fast, clean, professional results.

Description of Work
Drywall repair to five small water-damaged areas, texturing, and painting.

Category drywall, handyman service, interior painters

5.0

01/26/2011


Claudia S.

The estimate was provided in time, the worker arrived on time to do work and completed job as required. Matched existing paint color well.

Description of Work
Replace drywall damaged by water, repaint area

Category handyman service, water damage restoration

    Other local Pros in your area

    Hank Stevens Painting

    A painting company with good reputation. I employ from 2-5 employees depending on the scope of the job. I never use sub contractors. We are licensed and offer warranty on all work. We offer free estimates.  

    Angi Certified

    Witzy Painting & Decoration LLC

    With over 20 years of experience, Witzy painting & decoration LLC provides a high quality service that can't be beat. We're locally owned and operated so we value integrity with our customers. Please call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Right Choice Painting Services, LLC

    208-477-8835 RIGHTCHOICEPAINTINGIDAHO.COM  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Home remodeling, kitchen, bathrooms, small additions, flood reconstruction, drywall repair, light fixture installation/repair, flooring installation, cabinet installation, handyman services, small electrical & plumbing.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about One Son Construction Inc

    How is One Son Construction Inc overall rated?

    One Son Construction Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does One Son Construction Inc provide

    One Son Construction Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does One Son Construction Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, One Son Construction Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does One Son Construction Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, One Son Construction Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does One Son Construction Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, One Son Construction Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by One Son Construction Inc?

    No, One Son Construction Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does One Son Construction Inc offer?

    One Son Construction Inc offers the following services: Home remodeling, kitchen, bathrooms, small additions, flood reconstruction, drywall repair, light fixture installation/repair, flooring installation, cabinet installation, handyman services, small electrical & plumbing.

    Are there any services One Son Construction Inc does not offer?

    ask for details