Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

JDI Custom Remodeling LLC

Founded 2001 • With Angi since January 2013

4.6

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1401 W. Jefferson Street

Boise, ID 83702

Description

JDI Custom Remodeling llc is a local design build remodeling firm specializing in personalized service and quality workmanship from the planning stages of your project down to the finishing touches. JDI owner Justin Wildman and JDI design team works with you to set a realistic budget that

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Rose B.
5.0
07/22/2015
The remodel project is beautiful. I enjoyed working with Justin and his sub contractors. The work was done very well, and the house was kept at a minimum of disruption. Justin listened to my ideas, improved some of them, and saw to it that everything was to my satisfaction.
Description of Work
Remodel of master bath
Category
electrician
Steve M.
4.0
03/07/2015
Justin was very attentive to us and to detail until he received the first check and signed contract, after that I had to refuse to pay for him to come by the job site. We were given an estimated total for the work of $34,000 at the completion of the job we had paid over $43,000. Although the two JDI employees were usually available to answer questions or do work his sub-contractors were a problem. The cabinetry is well built and beautiful, but was installed before the room was ready for it causing complications for painting and especially flooring. There is still a hole under the cabinets where ants come in because the cabinets were installed over the open trench in the slab floor to run electrical to the island. We had detailed plans for wiring that were either ignored or never given to the electricians because several items of importance to us were not done. The Granite Composite countertops are very nice but the joint in the middle of the sink is obvious and looks bad. The flooring is a nightmare, the company has been out six times to correct problems but the seams still look bad and it bubbles up around the edges. We did the painting ourselves but we were given the job to do at 4:00 pm with ceiling texture and drywall seams still wet and were told that cabinet bases would be installed the next morning at 9:00am and the half of the room that was ready for paint needed at least two coats of primer and finish paint ready by then. (Just a note it was -7degrees at the time) Justin has to this date refused to give me a detailed cost lit so I would know how much I paid whom for what. The only things I know the cost of were items I bought myself, or purchased through JDI at exorbitant extra cost.
Description of Work
kitchen Remodel
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are disappointed to hear this Client had these feelings about their project as we thought it turned out beautiful. We would have liked the opportunity to remedy some of these complaints if we were made aware of them via a phone call or email rather than on the internet. Our Remodeling Contract was very specific and the additional charges were accepted in the form of written Change Orders as per request by Client via upgrades. Even before authorizing the original Remodel Agreement Client was informed JDI was assigning a Project Manager to service them on a daily basis. In fact we hired a reputable project manager specifically for this job. I explained before authorizing the agreement I was unable to daily service them as I was engrossed in running the business - hence the Project Manager. We did indeed have issues with the vinyl install from a reputable flooring company and we went back every time the Client asked us to remedy until they said they were happy. We never once denied service to this Client. We have never heard about the seam issue in the quartz as that would have been a possible warranty item. It was specified in original contract that the Client was to paint and they knew well in advance. We even did some of the painting for them at no charge. We worked hard to please this Client and we wish there could have been a better outcome for both of us.
Susan B.
5.0
07/08/2014
unknown
Description of Work
They built a beautiful 2 bdrm/1 bath home from scratch...on time and on budget. In addition, the quality of workmanship was great and several "extra details" were done without additional charges. Communications were quick and updates given regularly as to progress. We will be using them again to remodel a home that we just purchased that needs updating.
Category
remodeling, roofing
rob S.
3.0
05/14/2014
I ended up hiring someone else to do the work.
Description of Work
Stopped and talked with Justin at home remodeling show. He came out and reviewed by project. Never heard back.
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

I did not feel this potential Client was a good fit for our firm. Too demanding. Hope their project turned out positive.
Maria E.
4.0
01/07/2014
But we did A LOT of work to keep the costs down - we did all of the demolition, including pulling up the floor, ripping out the cabinets, and pulling down the drywall to the studs. Any complaints were with the details of the work and with the communication. We went over the contract with one person but the actual work was managed by another person - and it seemed as if satisfaction we had promised by one of the managers wasn't communicated to the other. We would recommend that anyone doing a major remodeling job really think about the details of the job and make sure that those details get entered into the contract. For example, we assumed that since we were paying for custom cabinets that the shelves and drawers would be maple or birch plywood. But the "standard" is melamine on particle board, which we considered substandard. So, we ended up paying $900 more to get the plywood. Get everything in writing and make sure that you check out the work done each day. Insist on frequent communication - that's important!
Description of Work
We were satisfied with the overall results of the kitchen remodel.
Category
drywall, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Great Clients to work with. We did have some communication challenges and some were definitely our bad. We learned some lessons and adjusted our processes accordingly. We would definitely work with this Client again.
Maria E.
4.0
01/05/2014
We were pretty satisfied with the overall results of the remodel work. But some details that didn't get completed to our expectations continue to bother us. We did a lot of the work ourselves to keep the costs down. We pulled up the flooring, ripped out the cabinets, tore down the breakfast bar, and pulled down the drywall to the studs. JDI helped us out by providing a trailer to put the waste in so we didn't have to rent a dumpster - that was great. We also did all of the painting after the drywall was in. It was an advantage to be able to do some of the work ourselves. However, we went over and signed the contrast with one of the principle owners - but another principle was in charge of the day-to-day work. This was one of the biggest reasons that we had problems. When we signed the contract and asked about the details, we were told - we'll make it right by you or we'll do a good job. But the actual work was so much more disjointed. For example, we got custom built cabinets and assumed that the price were paying would include birch or maple plywood shelves and drawers, etc. But we were told that the "standard" is melamine on particle board (which we think is crappy). So, we ended up paying $900 more to get plywood instead of particle board. In addition, we assumed that replacing the cabinets in the repositioned laundry room were included in the contract, but they weren't. So we had to go out and buy cabinets (cost a few hundred dollars). And some of the details we actually discussed when we signed the contract didn't get communicated to the person in charge of the actual remodeling. So we had to have some work redone (such as a decision to have a half-wall in a place that a full wall was framed in and had to be re-done). It's difficult to know all of the details you need to convey when you decide to do a major remodel - especially if you haven't done it before. But be sure to think about as many details as you can before you sign the contract. We chose JDI because - out of the three remodelers we interviewed - they were the only ones who looked at the trusses in the attic and checked the electrical box - which indicated they were interested in more than the cosmetic changes. And they had some ideas that we hadn't thought of. But overall we felt that the person we initially dealt with wasn't in step with the person in charge of the day-to-work of the project. So, ask a lot of questions. Make sure the contractors know exactly what you want. Try to decide on as many details as you can anticipate before you sign the contract.
Description of Work
We had a major kitchen remodel. We had the old kitchen totally torn out, our laundry room relocated, our dining room enlarged, and new cabinets, countertops, backsplash, and flooring installed.
Category
remodeling
William S.
5.0
07/17/2013
They did a really good job. I wasn't dissatisfied at all. They're on it and they were responsive.
Description of Work
I used JDI Custom Remodeling to do a tenant improvement remodel for me.
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure doing business with this Client. A true partner in accomplishing the remodel.
Pamela M.
5.0
02/18/2013
I was very, very pleased with the experience I had with JDI Custom Remodeling, LLC. They were very professional and did everything they said they would do. The communication was great. The owner was on site every day to check on the progress. They didn't try to raise the bid on me. So, overall, it was a very good experience. I don't think the were the cheapest but they're reasonable. The subcontractors they used were top notch.
Description of Work
They completely remodeled my bathroom.
Category
drywall, electrician, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you Member you were a great pleasure to work with!!
Pamela M.
5.0
01/14/2013
Owner Mark Jenson acted as our general contractor and his team of trades was amazing. Everyone was very punctual and professional. There was clear communication and responsiveness at every stage of the project. The price estimates were adhered to so that there were no surprises. There was a slight delay due to receiving a product from a supplier but they went above and beyond to minimize the impact. (They even did a temporary install of the toilet to ensure we'd have a second bathroom during holiday entertaining.) The final day when Josiah came to do the finishing touches he even shoveled our front walk before he came to the door. I can recommend JDI unreservedly.
Description of Work
They did a complete rebuild and remodel of our master bath, master walk-in closet and linen closet. This was after water damage and mold reparation caused the bathroom to be gutted down to the studs. The work included insulation, drywalling, texturing, electrical, plumbing, and painting.
Category
closet systems, drywall, electrician, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate the great review. It was truly a pleasure working with you on this project. Thank you very much!! ~JDI

    Other local Pros in your area

    Chavez Roofing and Construction LLC

    Roofing specialists servicing the Treasure Valley! Residential and commercial roofing. Repairs, new roof, tear off, you have a roofing need we have a solution for you.  

    Angi Certified

    Beacon Plumbing

    Since 1998, Beacon Plumbing has been providing excellent service and has now expanded its service area into Treasure Valley. Beacon specializes in providing emergency service, seven days a week. There is no job too big, or too small. We provide upfront pricing, fast, clean, professional, and customer satisfaction guaranteed. Stop Freakin...Call Beacon for your appointment today!  

    Angi Certified

    Apollo Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning

    Apollo Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning is family owned and operated serving residential and commercial clients in Idaho, Oregon and Washington since 1984. In over 38 years Apollo continues to provide friendly, efficient, quality work at competitive pricing. We also want to recognize all our clients throughout the years that continue to make Apollo their go-to company for all of their Plumbing and HVAC needs. Without you Apollo wouldn’t be where they are today! "We Keep Life Flowing"  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    RCE-29736
    Trade License Locale
    Idaho
    Trade License Authority
    State of Idaho
    Trade License Expiration
    03/09/2017
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, PayPal
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    JDI is a full service Design/Build Kitchen and Bath remodeling firm. Our team of Design specialists will help you with design your project to your budget and then produce your project with exceptional quality and service.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not do so called free estimates. JDI Custom Remodeling helps our clients establish a reasonable budget for their remodel project and design the project to a specified budget. In this "Consulting & Design" process our clients have open book access to our pricing. This allows JDI clients to make informed purchasing decisions and empower the client make purchases that suit their priorities. Please visit our web site at www.jdiremodeling.com for more information.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about JDI Custom Remodeling LLC

    How is JDI Custom Remodeling LLC overall rated?

    JDI Custom Remodeling LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are JDI Custom Remodeling LLC open?

    JDI Custom Remodeling LLC is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does JDI Custom Remodeling LLC provide

    JDI Custom Remodeling LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, PayPal

    Does JDI Custom Remodeling LLC offer free estimates?

    No, JDI Custom Remodeling LLC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does JDI Custom Remodeling LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, JDI Custom Remodeling LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by JDI Custom Remodeling LLC?

    Yes, JDI Custom Remodeling LLC offers warranties.

    What services does JDI Custom Remodeling LLC offer?

    JDI Custom Remodeling LLC offers the following services: JDI is a full service Design/Build Kitchen and Bath remodeling firm. Our team of Design specialists will help you with design your project to your budget and then produce your project with exceptional quality and service.

    Are there any services JDI Custom Remodeling LLC does not offer?

    We do not do so called free estimates. JDI Custom Remodeling helps our clients establish a reasonable budget for their remodel project and design the project to a specified budget. In this "Consulting & Design" process our clients have open book access to our pricing. This allows JDI clients to make informed purchasing decisions and empower the client make purchases that suit their priorities. Please visit our web site at www.jdiremodeling.com for more information.