Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A & M Windows Doors and More

Founded 1991 • With Angi since April 2011

3.5

(4) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

305 E San Marnan Dr

Waterloo, IA 50702

Description

Our mission is simple; to provide products that are Top Rated by Consumer Reports and to provide the most energy efficient windows, doors, siding, and roofing available on the market today at a price anyone can afford. We are the exclusive dealer for INFINITY from Marvin Windows and Patio Doors in

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/10/2014


Lorraine J.

They were reasonably priced, they did a good job in the installation, and I am satisfied.

Description of Work
They installed new windows upstairs.

Category replacement windows

1.0

07/05/2014


Cathy P.

He told us we had to pay for it in full upfront. We made half payment in December 2012 and we paid the balance of the windows in January 2013. He told us that the windows would be installed in April 2013 and we started calling him April through June and he told us that the windows were on back order but they were going to come in. Finally at the end of June 2013 he said the windows were in and he would install them in a couple of weeks. We continued to call him and his crew finally showed up in July 2013. We then decided to do siding as well as windows so they started tearing off the siding and putting up the Tyvek paper. We had some structural issues with our family room so they had to take 2 walls down and rebuild them. We were told we had to pay by the hour for the work and they would bill us once a week for labor and material. He told us multiple times that there was no upcharge on materials, only the labor. We started to pay the bills and then they were here sporadically in August and only worked for 2 weeks that month. They did not come back until October. In October, they picked up their dumpster and then they did not come back until November. We had no windows and no siding on three sides of the house. In November, they returned and I started keeping track of their hours and found that I was being cheated on the hours. The subcontractor and he had a big argument in my living room and he fired the subcontractor. In December, he hired a second subcontractor and that subcontractor worked for him only a day and a half before quitting. We still had no siding on the north side of the house with the Tyvek paper. He then picked up a check for $7100.00 in December to pay for our siding and our pillars and he had us make the check out to him personally instead of the company, which was a big mistake. He hired a 3rd contractor in January to fix problems and the 3rd contractor did not come back and finish the home and we told Mr. Kontos that we were not going to give him the last $3600.00 in payment until the work was finished because our home had been torn up since July. He had then hired a 4th contractor to come and finish the work and he did such a poor job and we fired both of them in February. As of February, we still did not have 4 large windows. Mr. Kontos had ordered the wrong windows and he was to reorder the correct ones in November of 2013 from Marvin Window Company in Minnesota. We called the lumber yard where Mr. Kontos had ordered the pillars and told them we were coming to pick them up and they would not allow us to pick them up because they have not been paid by Mr. Kontos. We took a copy of the checks, bills, and statements to prove that we paid for them in December 2013 and they did not let us have them because the bill was in Mr. Kontos name. We called the Cedar Falls building instructor and found out that our building permit had expired in January. I spoke with our building inspector and he felt we should get the Cedar Falls police involved and we met with them for 2 ½ hours and told them we had discovered that he committed fraud by tampering with the bid of the contractor and they got a subpoena to the lumber company and found out that Mr. Kontos charged us for items he never picked up or paid for. Mr. Kontos filed a small claims suit against us for a bid for the 2nd contractor where he committed bid fraud and he sued us for 2 bills from the contracting company for items he did not pick up or pay for. We started going through our bills that we were charged by him and found that he not only cheated us on labor but we discovered he had marked up the cost of materials. He has also charged us for way more materials than what was needed to be purchased for the size of our home. Cedar Falls police department has started a criminal investigation on Mr. Kontos. We called DuPonte company and told them we did not have siding on our home for longer than six months and the Tyvek paper is only guaranteed for 120 days exposed to the elements. Mr. Kontos has consistently lied to us and we called Marvin Window Company and discovered Mr. Kontos never reorder the windows that were ordered incorrectly. The windows that were installed all leak and get ice on them. We have had 5 contractors come and give us bids for correcting what Mr. Kontos crew did wrong and it could cost us almost $22,000.00 to have it all taken down and redone. We had an agreement that we would only pay what he paid to the 2nd contactor and we would only pay when the job was finished properly. When I spoke with the 2nd contactor and found he committed bid fraud by tampering with the bid. He paid the 2nd contractor $500.00 approximately in battery packs for his power tools. The 3rd subcontractor, who did not finish the job, would not provide us with a bill when we asked. Mr. Kontos told us that he would not come back and finish the job because we did not pay him but we were not going to pay him until we know what he paid the 3rd contactor and we believe he was not paid. The 3rd contractor put up 3 squares of siding and finished some soffit and fascia. I then listed for my attorney the lies that he has told us which include; that he only marks up labor, not material but he did from the lumber yard, he said he reorder the four windows but he did not, he told us he paid the lumber yard already in December and he never gave the lumber yard the check, he said the Tyvek wrap on the home was good for a year and it was only guaranteed for 120 days without siding on it, he told me he had paid the second contractor but he only gave him $500.00 in battery packs for his tools, he said the third contractor did not come back because we did not pay him and we did not pay because the job was not finished, he over ordered the siding and was supposed to refund the money and never did, he over charged us for materials, and charged us multiple times for soffit for three homes, for the second subcontractor since he cheated us on labor that we would only have to pay what the second subcontractor charged and we caught him committing bid fraud, he sent a third subcontractor that came and removed the gutters from our property and they were to clean up the mess in our yard which was never removed, and he also charged for materials that he never picked up or paid for from the lumber yard. We still do not have windows from what we paid in December 2013 and we still do not have the pillars that we paid for in December2013. We had to hire a new contractor and he has charged us almost $2100.00 to fix what was done wrong and finish the front of our home with soffit and fascia so that we could put gutters back on our home that we have not had for eight months. Marvin Window Company in Minnesota is aware of what the sells rep has done to us and they do not care. The windows all get moisture and ice on them and I would never buy a window from them again. My husband and I have now had to hire an attorney to countersue for theft and fraud.

Description of Work
Mr. Kontos was supposed to install our windows in April 2013.

Category remodeling, siding, replacement windows

1.0

12/27/2013


RICKEY L.

I had Mike come on or about 5 DEC 2012. I showed him exactly what we wanted to do. He took all measurements. Got back with us about 1 week later and went over all the details. Explained to him that it needed to be done by May 25th 2013, family coming in, daughter getting married and we wanted our house looking great. Said no problem. Long story short, no windows in May, June, July etc excuses excuses, weather, death of crew member family, meetings in MN etc, on and on. We paid 1/2 down to get the windows ordered. Well here it is December 2013, no windows. Said he cant do it, still behind, weather etc. The only good thing is WE DID GET OUR MONEY BACK PLUS 5 % INTEREST. Still missing a piece of window trim on the inside he took to make sure trim matched window, sills etc. Still havent got it back as of today. He would never keep a promise on returning phone calls. Would never answer his phone. Had a answereing service screen all his calls. He says he had his car broken into, and everything was stolen, computer, bill fold, cell phone etc. What ever!! . I even called his references that he had listed. They said he did good work. Biggest mistake I made I didnt get the start date in writing. I thought I had all my basis covered. I would NEVER RECOMEND THIS BUSINESS TO NO ONE!! But like I said, I lucky and DID GET MY MONEY BACK PLUS INTEREST. Thank you

Description of Work
quote windows for all of the house

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/08/2012


robert F.

considering the weather condistions it went very well

Description of Work
Remove old windows and install new windows and repair aluminum trim

Category replacement windows

    Other local Pros in your area

    Superior Pros, LLC

    Superior Pros, LLC. is a locally owned and operated Drywall/ Painting/ Siding/Windows & Doors contractor working to keep Iowa fresh and colorful. We serve residential and commercial clients with a commitment to consistently delivering the highest quality services at fair competitive prices. We only use the best tools and materials and employ the best the industry has to offer. Every member of our team has a proven track record of excellence and experience and knows how to utilize tried and true techniques to produce innovative styles and unparalleled quality. Painting is an art and your space is a canvas full of potential. We love helping our clients bring new life to the space that surrounds them.  

    Angi Certified

    Window Depot USA of Eastern Iowa

    Window Depot USA of Eastern Iowa has been in business since 2009, in 2010 Window Depot opened another office in Dubuque, IA. A Locally owned and operated family business, we make sure you are satisfied customers when your home project is completed.  

    Angi Certified

    Modern Edge Construction, LLC.

    Modern Edge Construction, LLC is committed to excellence in every aspect of our business. We uphold a standard of integrity bound by fairness, honesty and responsibility in all of our jobs. We are a locally owned and operated business with more than 10 years of experience serving Strawberry Point and surrounding areas. There is no job too big, or too small for our team. Call today and let us put our experience to work for you!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    The Services and Products we offer include (Energy Star) Energy Efficient Windows and Doors. With the lowest air infiltration for windows in the State of Iowa. In addition, we offer any type of Windows and Doors (including any size or shape - Residential or Commercial) and including Front Doors and Patio Doors. We also offer Siding, Roofing, Decking, remodeling, and 4 Seasons Rooms. All of our products are made in the USA and Midwest.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not offer glass repair or screen repair

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A & M Windows Doors and More

    How is A & M Windows Doors and More overall rated?

    A & M Windows Doors and More is currently rated 3.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are A & M Windows Doors and More open?

    A & M Windows Doors and More is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    What payment options does A & M Windows Doors and More provide

    A & M Windows Doors and More accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does A & M Windows Doors and More offer free estimates?

    Yes, A & M Windows Doors and More offers free project estimates.

    Does A & M Windows Doors and More offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A & M Windows Doors and More offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A & M Windows Doors and More offer a senior discount?

    No, A & M Windows Doors and More does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A & M Windows Doors and More offer emergency services?

    Yes, A & M Windows Doors and More offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A & M Windows Doors and More?

    Yes, A & M Windows Doors and More offers warranties.

    What services does A & M Windows Doors and More offer?

    A & M Windows Doors and More offers the following services: The Services and Products we offer include (Energy Star) Energy Efficient Windows and Doors. With the lowest air infiltration for windows in the State of Iowa. In addition, we offer any type of Windows and Doors (including any size or shape - Residential or Commercial) and including Front Doors and Patio Doors. We also offer Siding, Roofing, Decking, remodeling, and 4 Seasons Rooms. All of our products are made in the USA and Midwest.

    Are there any services A & M Windows Doors and More does not offer?

    We do not offer glass repair or screen repair