Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Superior Exteriors

Founded 2006 • With Angi since December 2010

4.4

(59) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3076 104th St

Urbandale, IA 50322

Description

We're here to serve you, whatever your needs may be. Our office is located in Urbandale, a suburb of Des Moines, Iowa, but our team serves the entire state of Iowa. Our services range from a complete exterior remodel of your home, including new windows, siding, roofing, stone and gutters, to

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/19/2018


Melody F.

Nate and his crew were awesome. They had some of the summer's worst heat, rain, etc and they still appeared each and everyday on time and ready to work. We've had so many people tell us how fantastic the house looks. They fixed problems that we didn't even realize were problems (like a hornets nest under an overhang). We would definitely hire them again, and in fact are already planning what we would like to have done next. Never did they ask for payment up front, not even a deposit. That's just not heard of these days. The office staff, specifically Liz, was there to walk us through all the different financing options available, and was a true pleasure to work with. We went with a higher end product versus vinyl siding, we cannot get over the difference it has made in our gas and electric bill as well as how quiet our home is now. Again, we would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
New Siding

Category siding

2.0

08/24/2018


Curt C.

Poor customer experience. Could not provide approximate even dates for work - crews showed up on a couple of days notice. Returned from vacation to find all old siding removed. Request to not block primary garage space with dumpster ignored. Promise to coordinate work in two week period not honored. No walk through on expectations either before work or after work completed. Would have helped to have electrical connection plan - repeated requests to reset house breakers - don't the crews have adequate generators or is this a way to save cost? Plan for homeowner to repaint shutters failed as shutters were broken when piled on lawn. Replacement shutters finally installed three months after work done. One set missed and had to be reordered. House numbers thrown away on disassembly - left as mine to fix. Dryer vent pipe left to vent into wall - misaligned with vent. Railings were damaged on disassembly - left for me to fix. Salesman communicated he could save me some money on cladding since most windows were already clad. On my followup he found a way to clad the cladded windows. Guess he found a way to spend my money after all. Hydraulic oil spilled on new driveway from material delivery - Could have made a bigger effort to clean it. Salesman very eager to get payment the day the work was done, but unconcerned with providing proper invoice. Windows not done - didn't measure initially, measured when crews arrived and promised install a month later. A month later when I followed up, asked for desired style of hardware, A month later, when I followed up, windows not ordered because I had not provided photos of what was wanted. A month later, when I followed up, windows still not ordered because price had gone up $1800 or misquoted. Given that this was a major project, integrity would have called for honoring our contract, especially since the delay was on their side? I cancelled windows and am happy to finally be done with these guys. One more - met salesman at trade show - he was more interested in eating lunch at booth than in customer, but bragged about what a great sales guy he was to coworker in front of us. Alarms should have been going off. Also, no customer survey at the end - so there's no mechanism for Positives: Generally good workmanship and quality materials. Crews were polite, very hard working and clearly proud to work for Superior. Conclusion: In end, house looks nice - roof and siding. Windows still need to be replaced. High degree of customer disappointments that could have been avoided or anticipated.

Description of Work
Replace Siding, Reroof House, Replace Several Windows

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows

5.0

02/02/2018


Darrell H.

The installers were great, they had excellent attention to detail, the cleanliness of their work area , they treated my house like it was there own. They were great about explaining everything to me and keeping me in the loop about what was going on!

Description of Work
Beechworth Window Install and Soffit and Fascia Repair

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/02/2017


Greg B.

Crew showed up at 07:10 am and began immediately. Foreman was excellent and kept crew on task the entire time. I have a large roof (45 squares) and I never thought they would get it done in one day. They finished roofing job at 07:30 pm including excellent job cleaning up. Yes found some nails, but considering how many were taken off, give them an A for the clean up. Went with oversized gutters and they look really nice. So far, very happy with them. Superior Exteriors was great to work with, especially Ryan Thank you Superior Exteriors!!

Description of Work
Had my shingles replaced. Old ones removed. New gutters on entire house

Category gutter repair, roofing

2.0

04/19/2017


Taylor A.

I called to get an estimate done after reading that they serve the WHOLE state of Iowa. Well they told me it is too far away. I definitely love in Iowa so I don't k ow why they couldn't do it.

Description of Work
I needed a whole food replacement.

Category roofing

4.0

12/28/2016


Norm W.

Work was good, it just took a lot longer than I thought it would to get the job done.

Description of Work
I did use Superior Exteriors out of Des Moines for window service. They did window replacement.

Category replacement windows

3.0

12/05/2016


Christen B.

Overall, okay. They did the job and after a few back and forths, all of the small things they'd forgotten were done (e.g. type of shutters wasn't correct, so were reordered; exterior light was broken during work, so they fixed; new outlet installed as they'd broken one, etc.) Where I've downgraded them is for the lack of extras offered. As I watch neighbors get their siding done, their projects include repainting of the garage door and wood porches, brick/stone façade on the foundation wall, chimney cap, etc. We were not offered any similar services and in fact, when I asked about painting, they said no. A year later, my house looks incomplete as I have projects related to the residing that I need to do and my neighbors have nice new looking homes. If you just want new siding, bare bones project, this company is for you. If you want a complete project, I would look elsewhere.

Description of Work
Complete residing of our 2 story home

Category siding

1.0

11/17/2016


Suzanne F.

Superior Exteriors is superb at SELLING you their services...but don't plan on getting prompt response from them if you have any problems with their workmanship. I have been communicating with one of the owners for well over a year - I have text messages dating back to last summer 2015 about the trim on the steps and fascia around the perimeter of the entire deck. The trim appears to be warping and pulling away from the stairs and deck floor. We are also very dissatisfied with the design of the stairs as they do not drain properly. Superior Exteriors originally tried to blame the fascia problems on product defects but (even if that is true - which I am not sure it is) they have done a poor job in advocating for us and correcting the problem. The owner has acknowledged that our deck needs attention but, for whatever reason, our project just never seems to rank high enough on their list of priorities as I continue to ask for them to address and correct the problems and I (continually) get put off. I have been an Angie's List member for years and have put off writing this negative review because I always like to give the service provider ample time and opportunity to correct problems...but at this point I just hope to let other (potential) customers know what they might run in to if working with this company. See photos below of examples of our problems...

Description of Work
Deck replacement/enhancements and decorative trim/pillar work below deck. We had originally planned (even signed a contract) on having them also install a ceiling/drainage system underneath the deck but cancelled that portion of the project because we questioned the quality of workmanship and because they were so frustrating and difficult to work with.

Category decks

5.0

07/19/2016


Estrella J.

Jeff with Superior Exterior did a great job replacing damaged vinyl siding around my front porch including around the windows & doors.

Description of Work
Front porch siding.

Category decks, siding

2.0

06/20/2016


Phyllis Y.

The bottom of one of our wood-frame windows has rotted completely out, and the cement board siding and trim around it has suffered extensive water damage (no interior damage), so I called our regular handyman service for an estimate. He said he no longer does exterior work and recommended two companies, one of which was Superior Exteriors. I also got a recommendation from a friend for a third company. Looked them all up on Angie's List and called each one. Never heard back from the other two, but I was able to set up an appointment very quickly with Superior Exteriors. Todd came out as scheduled and on time on May 19 to look at the situation. He took measurements and said he would email an estimate right away. When I thanked him for coming and told him neither of the other companies had even responded to my inquiries, he was very surprised. He said he was confident his company could repair or replace the window and replace the damaged siding and trim, as well as add a strip over the windows that should have been there in the first place to shield the area from further damage. I was optimistic about getting this work done right away. When I didn't hear anything back in a week, I called the company. The person who answered said she would leave a note on Todd's desk. Now it is June 20, and I'm still waiting for a callback. Maybe our job is too small or the company is too busy? An explanation would have been nice. I almost never give a D or F grade in a review, but this company's total lack of communication has earned it. Despite all this, I would still consider using Superior Exteriors, pending the estimate.

Description of Work
Representative from the company came out to leave company literature and collect information to prepare an estimate but never provided the estimate.

Category siding, replacement windows

4.0

06/29/2015


Kasmine J.

They were very proffessional and answered all our questions.

Description of Work
Estimate on roofing

Category roofing, replacement windows

3.0

02/11/2015


Steve S.

It took much longer for Superior to accomplish than they said. I had to keep contacting them to find out the status. Part of the problem was weather, but they also may have taken on too much work. All the work was completed by a 3rd party, which I wasn't told about until the work had begun. I had to keep calling owner Ryan to get the project completed. They didn't put on diverters like they promised. Also, 11 feet of gutters didn't get guards put on. Ryan says he didn't put it in the bid. Who knows why and who puts on guards on 52 feet of gutters and leaves 11 feet unguarded? Nuts! The association was hoping to use these guys for future projects, but now will use someone else.

Description of Work
Gutters, gutter guards and some repairs on one side of a condo building at our association.

Category gutter repair

Service Provider Response

{members name removed}, We appreciate your feedback as we do with every customer. A few things I would like to clear up. Weather did play a roll multiple times when starting your project. Once the project was started, it was completed in a timely manner. When questioned about the linear feet of gutter toppers, we resent the original contract, which you agreed to 52 feet of gutter toppers on upper portions. We were called out, not once, but twice, questioning a diverter the first time, and a small piece of drip edge the second time, both were completed prior to me coming out by our crew. There was no trip charge assessed for these calls. We completed the scope of as agreed to. We apologize for any misunderstanding you may have had. We look forward to earning your business in the future. If you have any questions or concerns moving forward please call us anytime.
4.0

09/10/2014


John P.

The work was done by three different crews. Each crew worked efficiently and provided a high level of service and craftsmanship. The work was timely and efficient from the original quotation until the completion of the work. Nathan, the project manager communicated regularly and ensured that the scope of work was maintained.

Description of Work
Roof, siding and gutters.

Category gutter repair, siding, replacement windows

5.0

06/10/2014


Christopher F.

They were quick to get out and assess the problem and promptly returned to complete the work.

Description of Work
Replace & fix gutters along the roof line.

Category gutter repair

4.0

06/10/2014


Alan P.

We have a low pitch and had rolled roofing. When they went to take it off they found we had tart and gravel too. They did not charge extra for the tar roof but we had to replace more plywood than expected.

Description of Work
New roof and gutters. They had two subcontractors.

Category gutter repair, roofing, replacement windows

5.0

03/02/2014


Vicki B.

Excellent work and attention to quality installation.

Description of Work
Installed two casement replacement windows.

Category replacement windows

3.0

01/07/2014


David H.

When Dan and Nathan came for the estimate, they were very nice and helpful. In fact, one pane in the patio door was about to fall out of the frame. Dan made a temporary fix to keep it from falling out. That was something he didn't have to do. That closed the sale as far as I was concerned. I also got an estimate for siding (see review under siding). Then the delays started. The installer was several hours late coming to measure the windows. He was also delayed by a day or two on the install. The final small kitchen window was not installed until the siding had begun which was a delay of at least a month. So scheduling is not their strong point. The reason given was that he was finishing up another job. There was only one guy doing the windows He was good at it though.

Description of Work
Replaced a patio door and four windows.

Category siding, replacement windows, doors

4.0

01/07/2014


David H.

The end result was good. The siding looks great and I picked a color and style that no one else in the neighborhood has. Dan & Nathan were on time for the quote. Initially I was just looking at replacing a patio door and four windows on the back of the house. (See review under windows). I told them that I had estimates for siding a couple of years ago and was thinking of getting new ones. They gave me an estimate and told me that since there was a neighbor directly across the street getting siding that I should be able to jump the queue and get mine done at nearly the same time as his (around September 9th). That was in July or August . They even delivered a dumpster to get ready for the tear off of my old siding in early September. Then I get a call from Nathan saying that the big bosses would not allow me to jump the queue and they set a new date of October 22nd. In the mean time they wanted me to get the foundation and garage door painted early due to the potential of bad weather. So I had to pick the color using swatches instead of seeing the siding actually up on the house. Also I had a month of my old house color with the new foundation and garage door colors which didn't match well. They actually started around October 25th. The overall craftsmanship was good on the siding. However when it came to siding the square pillars on the front porch the miter cuts were way off. Same on the door frames. In fact they tore a big chunk out of the brick mold and a window frame and no one mentioned it until I noticed it later. The eventually fixed all my concerns. They had to use caulking to make the miters look right. Hope that lasts. Nathan had to apologize for several missteps but always took care of them. He always returned my calls promptly.

Description of Work
Siding

Category replacement windows

5.0

11/09/2013


Bryan L.

Tony, the salesman I worked with, was very helpful and easy to stay in touch with. He gave us the lowest bid by far of the three we got, so we went with it. The crew arrived a little later than promised on the scheduled day, but not late enough for it to be a problem. The job went pretty well for the most part. They said it would be a one day job, but there was a little hang up which caused them to have to come back the next day to finish. That was not a big deal either. I would rather they get it done right and take the extra time than to rush and possibly create a problem. When they finished and left, there were a few small packaging scraps and a handful of nails in the yard, but that was minimal. The only other minor issue was they forgot to replace a roof vent cover after the job was finished and I had to let Tony know about that. His response was very professional and they were here within a half hour after I called about that, and it was taken care of promptly, so that was appreciated. The new roof looks great and we are very happy with it. Overall, Superior Exteriors did a fine job.

Description of Work
Tore off entire old roof and installed new shingles and associated roofing material.

Category roofing

5.0

11/04/2013


Donald G.

From the estimate to the final product, Superior Exteriors was professional, timely, on price and very thorough . All employees were hard working, professional and, to be honest, great! The foreman explained the whole process, showed my husband the holes in the roof, from the previous low standard roof, and explained how they would correct the problems. They did a great job on clean up and we did not have any issues with nails being left behind. I would recommend this company for all your home needs. We will probably use them for siding next Spring.

Description of Work
Due to hail damage we had to have our roof and gutters replaced. Superior Exteriors reroofed and put new gutters on our home.

Category gutter repair, roofing

2.0

10/07/2013


Jerry K.

The contractor wanted to re-roof the house and then true up the knee braces. I wanted this done before new shingles were installed to prevent and buckling of the new shingles. I came home one day to find a porch roof was done, but the roof had sags between trusses and fly rafter was sagging. They tore it back off and replaced 3 or 4 rotten boards, but it didn't completely fix the sagging fly rafter. The knee braces were rebuilt and roof was finished but workers set ladders on the roof to finish the roof above the porch. The ladders tore up some new shingles. There were old shingles, nails and water bottles in the yard and flower beds. They needed a lot more tarps than what they had to keep the tear off material controllable. I felt like I had to constantly contact the owner about things that I saw and was not comfortable with. It was a stressful situation from beginning to end.

Description of Work
The job required complete tear off of old shingles, check for structural issues and contact me if there were any issues, square up knee braces, sheet roof with plywood and install new shingles.

Category roofing, replacement windows

5.0

09/04/2013


Tanya H.

They did lovely work for me and my neighbor. They have also installed a window for me, that was just beautiful. They have an excellent window installer, Terry Moon. Ryan and Jeff, the owners took care of everything for me. I was very pleased with them.

Description of Work
They replaced the siding on my house to vinyl siding, insulation, trim work and gutters.

Category siding, replacement windows

2.0

08/24/2013


Charlene J.

The guys who came to "sell" me the project were super friendly and helpful... until the contracts were signed. We were told it would be about 2 weeks until work would start (their website says that normal turnaround is 2 weeks as well). The contracts said 6-8 weeks, just to cover their butts. However, they didn't start on our roof until right about 8 weeks, and the siding/gutters didn't get started until 10 weeks. We had wanted to get the projects done ASAP, and they knew that, as we wanted to put our house on the market early in the summer. Well, that obviously couldn't happen. They were terrible at communicating when things would get done. I called frequently to find out dates, etc., usually to receive no call back. On the day our siding installation was supposed to start, no one showed up. I arranged my schedule to be home all that day, only to find out they wouldn't be able to start until 2 days later. The roofing process was fine, as that's a pretty simple job, hard to mess up. But the siding was a disaster. Superior's website clearly states that "We also work hard to keep the job site clean and orderly throughout the working process," which was SO not the case. No one threw anything away until the end of the job. My doors were often blocked with garbage from the job. They were kind enough to sweep my steps at the end of each day, but that's about it. When the foam insulation board was going up, I stood shocked at my kitchen window watching the workers play nail darts on the side of my house. Such professionalism... On the last day of siding work, I left the house for a bit, only to come back to find one of the workers walking out of my house. He had no permission to be in the house, and you can imagine how scary that felt. I was unable to get a clear answer out of anyone as to why he was in there (the crews never spoke English well enough to communicate with me), and he left nails all over the floor inside for my 1 year old to discover. When the crew left and my husband and I took a look around the outside of the house, we noticed a lot of poor quality workmanship, especially in the flashing/trim work. Many pieces were bent, or haphazardly installed. They had left trash on our roof, didn't bother to hook our internet back up, and did a very poor job of reattaching the electrical to the house. Superior's policy is that you don't pay until they do a final walk-through. They tried to skirt around this with me, however. I was asked about 6 different times to send a check before the walk-through was done. When I called to voice my opinion and complaints on their shoddy workmanship, I was brushed aside as they tried to make me feel like an idiot for having such issues with them. They called one day to tell me a guy would be coming to pick up their left-over materials, saying nothing about a final walk-through, and I happened to be out of the house when he came - no one ever told me WHEN they were coming. So they called back to tell me that WAS the final walk-through and I missed it. Um, I don't think so. Reluctantly, they sent someone else. They admitted at least 6 issues with the job, and said someone would be out the next day to fix them. The workers came, fixed So here we sit with some cruddy workmanship on our home, a TERRIBLE customer service experience from a company who claims, "When we say we're here to serve you, we mean it," and still out the same $17,000 we were quoted. No apologies, no compromises, just a lot of anger and disappointment with a company that had such good reviews before now.

Description of Work
Installed new shingles, siding, and gutters on our home.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Our contracts had 6 to 8 weeks on them because that was when the work was to start. We had discussed the date with the homeowner before the homeowner signed the contract. If the customer was unhappy with the start date that was clearly written on the contract, they should not have signed it. We were never told that the customer was putting their house on the market, so it was a surprise to read it in the Angie’s List review. In regard to the start date, there was a rain delay and we were in communication with the customer. While construction is underway, there are debris and job materials on the job site. Our contract clearly reads “Clean up of job site” the clean up is at the end of the project. Weather, wind, and tearing off shingles, siding, and removing windows are a messy project. Our crews contain it as best as possible and then clean up the entire site. There was also a comment about our professionalism and that the crews were playing nail darts, we do not use darts, we use cap nails. In the review, the customer also commented that there were nails found in the home. The breaker was out, the homeowner was home at the time, allowed out worker to enter and showed him where the breaker was. One of the workers entered the home with the permission of the homeowner to flip the breakers. This worker took off his tool pouch and put it on the floor of the kitchen. It is possible a nail fell out. The homeowner agreed to this scenario, so we are not certain as to why this accusation has turned into “nails all over the floor.” No one on our crew would enter a home without permission of the homeowner. We never ask for payment until a customer is completely satisfied. We addressed and fixed each issue that the customer brought to our attention. I would disagree completely that we tried to skirt around a final walk through. That is always our policy. It is unfortunate that what we believe was a payment issue, has turned into false accusations about our company, our policies, our crew, and the quality of our work.
1.0

08/24/2013


DAVID B.

Two of them met me at my house to go over the scope of work. They seemed professional and knowledgeable about what needed to be done. When they were finished they said they would send an estimate the following week. The estimate never came, nor did I get so much as a phone call. The only thing that showed up was an invitation to visit their showroom. Unacceptable. Needless to say I will not be using Superior Exteriors for the repairs.

Description of Work
They came over to evaluate repairs I needed to have done on my windows and siding.

Category siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

This was a call in for Pella windows. We do not carry Pella windows, nor do we work on Pella windows because Pella windows carry a warranty that stipulates that repair work needs to be done by Pella windows.
5.0

08/01/2013


Amy L.

We are not using them. They were prompt and showed up on time. They were professional. They went through a lot of information so they did a nice job. The bid seemed all right; it was just that the overall job was more than we wanted. We would get another quote from them.

Description of Work
We got a quote from Superior Exteriors for replacement windows on a property we were looking at buying.

Category replacement windows

    Other local Pros in your area

    Roof Iowa

    Local Family Owned Business operating on integrity and honesty for all your Roofing needs. We are striving to "Build Iowa's Trust with every roof". After years of experience in the residential and commercial roofing industry, our family decided to do what we know best - honoring relationships and customers, performing quality work, and respecting your hard earned income. Our projects also include limited LIFE TIME warranty on workmanship. Roof Iowa is continually voted as Ankeny's Best Roofer!  

    Angi Certified

    Buresh Home Solutions, Inc.

    Buresh Home Solutions, Inc has served Iowa homeowners for over 19 years. We are committed to earning your business by offering our customers more choices to meet their needs and budgets. We offer a variety of financing programs and in many cases can finance the entire project or offer no-interest programs as well. Our team is made up of dedicated professionals committed to exceeding your expectations.  

    Angi Certified

    515 Landscapes

    Hello! We are your local landscape, hardscape, and home improvement company. We offer a wide variety of services that meet commercial and residential applications. Call or email us today to set up a free quote on your next project!  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Window Replacement, Roofing, Gutters, Siding (James Hardie) & Decks.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Superior Exteriors

    How is Superior Exteriors overall rated?

    Superior Exteriors is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Superior Exteriors open?

    Superior Exteriors is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Superior Exteriors provide

    Superior Exteriors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available

    Does Superior Exteriors offer free estimates?

    Yes, Superior Exteriors offers free project estimates.

    Does Superior Exteriors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Superior Exteriors does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Superior Exteriors?

    Yes, Superior Exteriors offers warranties.

    What services does Superior Exteriors offer?

    Superior Exteriors offers the following services: Window Replacement, Roofing, Gutters, Siding (James Hardie) & Decks.