Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Central Iowa Fencing LTD

4.7

(48) Verified Reviews

Founded 1997 • With Angi since February 2012

Licensed
Trade License Number
C111229
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

8414 46th Ln

Prole, IA 50229

http://www.centraliowafencing.com

Description

Central Iowa Fencing is now serving Des Moines, Cedar Rapids, Iowa City, Waterloo metro's. We design and create a fence that makes sense for your needs. We honor a name with our customers that brings quality fencing. We do residential and commercial work. No job is too big or too small. We do repairs too! We offer a free honest estimate when evaluating your yard and fence needs. Call today for a free honest estimate!...

Verified Reviews

4.7

(48) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

37

4

2

3

0

2

4

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

fence company (46)iron work (1)decks & porches (6)
Showing 1-25 of 48 reviews
5.0

04/16/2022


Jean C.

Excellent - guys were professional, efficient and left no messes!!

Description of Work
Wooden privacy fence replacement

Category decks,fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2022

5.0

04/13/2022


Mary H.

Alex and the Red Truck crew, did a excellent job. They arrived on time and worked in and organized manor. They worked through adverse weather, to complete the job, with no complaints. They made sure I was, completely satisfied, before they left. Thank you for the wonderful service.

Description of Work
Chain link fence

Category decks,fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/07/2022

1.0

11/18/2020


Kelly C.

Came out and looked at every thing never got any thing back !

Description of Work
had to have a chain link fence replaced came out did all the ground work never got a quote ! called the office they were going to contact him never got a response !

Category decks

Work Completed On 11/17/2020

1.0

11/02/2020


Barb S.

They installed fence with a 8 ft swinging gate. Immediately had problems with the gate falling in on itself. Their solution was to have us put rocks down in the base of the post holding the gate. They claim they use concrete on the posts, yet you can wiggle every post. Anytime there is strong winds the fence does move. We had damaged done during the August storm and got a estimate for repairs from them and used a credit card to do the deposit. They never disclosed to me that if I asked for a refund of the deposit that they would charge me 3% to refund to credit card and that was the only way they would issue a refund, since I used the credit card in the first place. I do not recommend them.

Description of Work
In 2018 we had a vinyl fence installed by them

Category fencing

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/13/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, [Member Name Removed]. We have gone ahead and refunded that transaction fee since that was not something you were told when you originally signed. We are charged this fee whenever we have any credit card transaction, but never pass that on to customers unless they cancel their contract. We are continuously updating our policies and procedures based on feedback like yours so we will be sure to include this in an updated contract. Sorry we weren't able to help you this time with your fencing needs.
5.0

06/06/2020


Cynthia G.

Alex,TJ,Erin,Tony,Steven were right on time. Very professional and friendly. The fence looks awesome.

Description of Work
replace a wooden fence with a vinyl fence

Category fencing

Cost $3,064

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/06/2020

5.0

05/20/2020


Vicki J.

After receiving quotes from a few different contractors I decided to hire Central Iowa Fencing. They were prompt, professional, and experienced in their craft. When the job was finished I noticed a couple things that I wanted done differently and it was as simple as a phone call. The owner came and checked things out, set up a date, and the changes were completed. The reception that I received over the phone was courteous and more than helpful. I would most definitely hire this company again, as well as recommend them highly to friends.

Description of Work
Install chain link fencing

Category fencing

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2020

5.0

03/27/2020


Heidi R.

TJ, Alex and the Vinyl Crew were amazing! Very professional and efficient work. They picked up all debris and walked the fence with us afterward to make sure we were happy. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Privacy fence installation

Category fencing

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2020

Images

Review for Central Iowa Fencing LTD - 8414 46th Ln, Prole, IA - 38466532
5.0

08/13/2018


Paul T.

They guys are very sweet and know what they are doing. They are clean and do a great job. The fence looks really good and I have enjoyed having them here. I would hire them again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
6ft wooden fence

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/13/2018

5.0

10/12/2017


Larry Y.

Excellent job. Very attentative and great customer service.

Description of Work
Vinyl privacy fence

Category fencing

Cost $11

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2017

2.0

07/03/2017


Lori G.

Did not show up for scheduled appointment for estimate

Description of Work
Wanted an estimate done for new fence. Had scheduled an appointment time but they never showed up and did not even call.

Category fencing

Work Completed On 07/03/2017

5.0

06/29/2017


Martha G.

The sales staff met with us twice and answered all our questions. The waiting time for the build was reasonable. Crew was professional, knew what they were doing. They consulted with us every step of the way during the tear-down and building. They made changes based on our requests. They were very efficient with their time. The fence looks great and we have received numerous compliments. Central Iowa Fencing does not put posts in cement - that philosophy was important to us. We had a little glitch getting the utilities ordered to be marked which delayed the start. But it all worked out and the staff member was extremely apologetic. I greatly appreciate the financing option. That helped make our decision on which company to hire.

Description of Work
Cedar fence

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2017

5.0

06/08/2017


Mark D.

Insanely awesome experience. Probably one of the best companies out there.

Description of Work
They installed a fence for me.

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2017

5.0

04/25/2017


Deanna K.

They did fine with the estimate, they came out and gave us a good estimate. They were very good about it and fast, the estimate was just quite a bit higher.

Description of Work
They came out and did an estimate.

Category fencing

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

04/04/2017


Lynne M.

The crew arrived on time and were very friendly. The supervisor of the crew had a great deal of experience building decks. and it turned out great. They finished in a very timely manner, and made sure the whole area was cleaned before they left. Now I don't have to be embarrassed to have friends sit on my deck. I would highly recommend this company!

Description of Work
My old wooded deck was falling apart. The boards were starting to split and crack, and I needed them to be replaced/repaired. They were honest in telling me that the old posts were still usable and didn't need replacing.

Category decks,fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2016

5.0

12/09/2016


nikki I.

It went amazing. They called me and informed me when an estimated time of week when it would they would be out to put the posts in. The day of putting posts in they called me to let me know my time had moved up if that was okay with me. Then the next day they put the chain link in. The work was done in a timely fashion.

Description of Work
I needed my backyard fenced off to allow my dogs free run.

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2016

5.0

05/19/2016


Jared G.

They were quick and the process was smooth. I wasn't in a hurry, but there was a several week wait for the installation. Looks like a lot of people are trusting these guys with their fence installs.

Description of Work
Installed black vinyl coated chain link.

Category fencing

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2016

5.0

10/14/2015


J M K.

We have been very happy with every aspect of working with Central Iowa Fencing. Their estimate was lower than another estimate we received, and after looking at some other work they did near our house we decided to schedule them to install our fence. They were willing to add a custom element to our fence (a cap at the top). The crew who did the installation worked hard and were very helpful and respectful. The job took a little longer than expected because they had to hand dig all of the posts (the ground was too soft for the post driver to secure the posts). There was one minor oversight that we noticed after they left, and we let Mark know about it and it was fixed the next day. The final product looks really nice. They really paid attention to detail throughout the project and it shows. We plan to use them again for our next project.

Description of Work
Installed a 6 foot shadow box style wood fence.

Category fencing

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2015

5.0

08/16/2015


Aaron S.

The quote took a little longer than I would have liked due to some miscommunications, but once we got that ironed out everything went great. The fence looks nice, the product seems sturdy and the installation was done well. The job took just over a day - exactly as they had communicated- and I came home to a new fence and a clean worksite. I would use them again. I had bid the job several places and their quote was slightly lower than the competition, but not significantly so. Their lead times were several weeks shorter, however.

Description of Work
Central Iowa replaced a deteriorating 4ft vinyl PVC fence on my property.

Category fencing,wrought iron

Cost $6,950

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2015

4.0

07/12/2015


Terry A.

Had them in for an estimate in May 2015. Agreed that if I tore out existing fence and let them use a bobcat price would be around $13250 plus $3 for any post that was ripped out for 320 linear feet of vinyl fence including 3 gates (1-double). They would start the week before & have done prior to the 4th of July. We left about 15-17 posts after tearing out and removing existing cedar fence. $6750 down. They started Tuesday 6/30 with light prep and parked the bobcat in the driveway. Wednesday I came home to find bobcat tracks in my front, side and back yard because the ground was softer than anticipated. Ray offered to fill it in with dirt so I could seed or sod. I advised need to discuss with wife and advise. I sent ray and email that evening to fill in all of the tracks. Excluding gates fence was installed by Thursday 7/2, gates installed on Friday. We still have the dirt pile they were supposed to removed and the tracks in the front yard Ray had agreed to cover. Ray has yet to respond to my request to cover them so their remaining payment may be a bit slow... Hence my lower ratings. These guys have a good product but like a lot of people that do home projects they leave a mess behind even though they knew my neighbor would be replacing their fence next year and paying attention to their work.

Description of Work
Tore out privacy fence posts, installed vinyl privacy fence.

Category fencing

Cost $13,675

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2015

5.0

05/28/2015


Melinda S.

GREAT JOB!!! Very pleased by quality of work and professionalism. Plan to recommend them to anyone needing fencing work done.

Description of Work
They installed a 8' double gate, extended our fence line next to our garage on our third car parking area. Did the tear out and removal of our old gate with that fence line as well.

Category fencing

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2015

5.0

01/08/2015


Bob D.

It went great! I called Mark and told him I was interested in an estimate. He came out the same day to discuss the details and provide some brochures and ideas. He sent me an estimate later that day. After agreeing on the work, his team came out a few weeks later as discussed and installed the fence. The guys knew my primary purpose was to enclose the yard for my dog. Upon completion, they realized the area under the deck steps was still open for her to escape, which wasn't part of the agreement for them to worry about. However, they eagerly offered to carry some 80 lb. landscaping blocks from the back corner of the yard to close off her potential 'prison break'. The fence is very sturdy and looks great!

Description of Work
Installed an ornamental iron fence at two different locations to close off the back yard.

Category fencing

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2014

2.0

11/27/2014


Karen P.

I met with Mark for a quote to install a fence. He was really helpful and nice. He seemed to be very knowledgeable. I was very disappointed when we never heard from him with the actual quote. In general I had been having issues getting calls back from contractors so I was excited when he was initially so easy to work with. Based on first impressions, I assumed I would have ended up using his company for our fence. Due to his lack of response and follow up, we will not be calling him again in the future.

Description of Work
Came out to quote a fence for our home.

Category fencing

Work Completed On 05/13/2014

2.0

09/29/2014


Erin C.

We had Mark come out and give us an estimate on our fence installation. We had a lot of other work going on at our home and the fence was pushed toward the end of the timeline. As time went on, we decided to change where we were going to put the fence(we decided to put a double driveway gate and remove an entire side of black chain link and just attach to the neighbor's fence). We had Mark come out to look at the changes we wanted to make. We had decided to put a gate across the driveway and Mark recommended that we put the double gate AND a single walk-through gate because we would not want the hassle of opening the large gate every time. After my fiance meet with Mark, I emailed Mark asking for an updated price on the installation with our changes. He emailed me back and told me it would be $300 in additional costs. I again emailed Mark asking if I could get an updated bid (because we were working with NFC and needed to submit a bid). He responded with giving me just an updated price reflecting the additional $300. Mark and his workers came out to do the job and did not have enough gates. I told Mark that we had wanted the single gate and the double drive walk through gate. Mark advised that this would cost more money and I said ok that's no problem we want both. (assuming he was talking about the additional $300). The work was completed and we were VERY happy with the job done. We then received the final invoice from Mark and had some issues. I emailed Mark and asked him to explain why the double gate was now $600 rather than an additional $300 and told him that the initial bid amount should not have been included on the final invoice because we had made changes to the original bid which would have made the original bid lower. Mark had the audacity to call me at my work and YELL at me. He did not call me to calmly talk through the discrepancies. Throughout the conversation and going back through my email correspondence with Mark, I was able to determine where the confusion was in the $300 vs. $600 price for the gate. (Mark stated he did not know we wanted the double and single gates (even though he recommended it)) After Mark rudely mocked me on the phone--literally mocked me and stated I told you it would be more and you were like O no problem at all, I told him I had no problem paying him for the work he did. I wanted clarification as to why he had told me $300 and it was now $600. After that was cleared up--I again told Mark I had no problem paying the $600 for the gate and apologized for the communication. I then went on to tell him that we removed almost an entire side of chain link--minus the single gate--from the original bid and in place of that we put the $600 gate. Mark began arguing with me about how long the chain link was that he did not put in. He stated they actually used the same amount of chain link. Mark kept telling me to just pay the invoice. After much arguing back and forth, I finally told Mark I am not going to pay you for something that you did not do. At this point, he agreed to come back out and measure the chain link and I and quot;would pay for every last foot of chain link he put downand quot; including the 2 feet of additional chain link he added to the side of my garage. (which is a funny jab to throw in there because the extra two feet was to actually enclose the entire yard--how they left it day one, my dogs could escape through the side of the garage and I emailed Mark and he stated they would enclose it so my dogs couldn't get out--which again we never objected to paying). Mark went out and measured the black chain link the bid came out to $262 less than Mark had indicated on the final bid because he did not place the same amount of chain link as the initial bid indicated. Its a shame that Mark threw his professionalism out the door after he finished the job and treated a customer this way over $262.00. We LOVE our fence. But I was so disrespected by Mark. Not only did he call and yell at me for asking questions about the final bid...he called me at my work to yell at me. This is unacceptable behavior...I waited so long to write a review because we really truly love our fence and Mark's crew did a fantastic job with the fence. However, even with the fantastic work done, my fiance and I cannot get past Mark's lack of professionalism after the job was completed.

Description of Work
Installed privacy fence and black chain link fence with gate across driveway.

Category fencing