Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Home Improvement 4 Less

Founded 2003 • With Angi since May 2012

4.7

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

211 Vogel Ave

Ottumwa, IA 52501

Description

Home Improvement 4 Less simply saves you money. In this economy we are all getting LESS and spending MORE. WHY? It's called "The Cost Of Doing Business"or "OVERHEAD. i.e. Trucks, Trailers, Offices/ Warehouse's. So... When you see companies with new trucks and so on You are the one paying for

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/22/2013


Duane R.

I contacted Rick and we set an appointment for him to come to my house, discuss some remodeling we are going to do, and obtain an estimate needed for closing our (approved) refinance loan with Neighborhood Finance Corp. I left work early to meet with him as the appointment was for 5 PM. At 4:45 I received a call from his wife saying that he asked her to call, that he was hung up on another job and couldn't make our appointment, and would call me to reschedule either later that night or the next day. That was 2 weeks ago, and I have not heard from him as of this date. I have left a message via Angie's List and 2 or 3 voice mails asking for a call back, even if only to say he was too busy or wasn't interested in working with me; all without result. Very disappointing, especially after reading his other reviews on AL. I guess he figured my project wasn't important enough to merit a call back.

Description of Work
We made an appointment to meet to get an estimate for a bathroom remodel, kitchen rehab, and new garage roof. He did not show for the appointment and has not called back to reschedule.

Category home remodeling

1.0

06/30/2013


Betty V.

The details are small as I am still waiting for a response from this provider. How long does one wait before they start looking elsewhere? I ended up using another service to find a handyman.

Description of Work
I needed a small home repair of a bathroom wall. This provider has yet to respond to my voicemails.

Category home remodeling

5.0

05/07/2013


Gregory H.

Des Moines, you will be shocked but there is an honest contractor working in the area. Rick spent two hours in my home just to give me an estimate. He not only diagnosed the problem with the subfloor and underlayment, he also showed me other problems in my home. It was amazing how much he could tell about my house by just walking through it. If I ever sell this house and buy another, I will hire Rick to inspect the new home long before signing any purchase documents. Rick is much more knowledgeable than any home inspector I have ever hired in my life, and I have hired several. He is honest and not in the pocket of any homebuilder in the area. Rick gave me an estimate well under other estimates I had received and stood behind his estimate regardless of what he found when demolition began. Unfortunately, the developer of this house, Jerry?s Homes of Des Moines, had done such an unprofessional job the demotion turned out to be a project that had to include use of a jack hammer to get the out underlayment out. He corrected the structural problems, which included leveling out some flooring and fixing a place where the developer had not attached the subfloor to the joists. I estimate that he saved me at least $6,000 over the next closest bidder. Although I had assumed that the new tiles would be placed in the standard straight-line way, he took the time to go to the tile store and show me other possibilities for my floor. He turned a drab floor into something I will be proud of for years. Although there were additional costs for the special layout, he was reasonable and I am so glad he had the design capabilities to make my floor look outstanding. He took the time to do everything right; making sure the underlayment actually strengthened the subfloor that will prevent future fractures and repaired the other developer defects. It was so fantastic to find an honest, Christian contractor who I could trust without question. He never cut corners in making sure this job was done right. He cares about the customer?s happiness with the finished product and has amazing design ideas. He is a contractor who wanted me to be to be happier with the finished product than I would have dreamed. Although I wish the project could have been done faster, I knew that I was working with a craftsman not just a contractor. It is shameful, but finding a true craftsman is a Godsend. He knew I was a disabled veteran with limited resources, and he made sure to stay within the budget I had for this project. He was not just here for just the paycheck; he was here to give me the most value for my money. That is so extremely rare these days. He not only did the flooring work I asked for, he fixed a doorknob, installed a new ceiling chandelier, and fixed some very poor woodworking done by the developer. He wanted my home to be right. His ideas are fantastic and as I can accumulate the funds, I will follow his lead because I cannot find a reason to disagree with his sense of style or functionality. I would recommend him to anyone in the Des Moines area and already have; he is the best I have ever worked with in my life. I am including pictures of his work, I am proud to show these to the world. He has made my house both increased in value and shortened resale time, which was not may goal, but made it a house that I can live in and take such great pride I live in such a home. My neighbors are drooling over the project and I am sure I am making a few husbands angry in my neighborhood. I know giving him this review on Angie?s list is great; I will be giving his name to anyone who has any home improvement needs. I can recommend him without reservation. I have projects that will take some time to save money for, but I already know whom my contractor will be. He will be the one to update my baths and change my shower from plastic to beautiful tile. He will be putting in an on demand water heater and utility sink in my shop. I have jobs for him for years to come; as the funds are available he will be my craftsman. Do not hesitate to call Rick if you have a problem or just want an upgrade. He is the man for the job and will deliver more than you could imagine.

Description of Work
I had fractured tiles throughout my house, entryway, kitchen, and both baths – much of the first floor of my townhome. I hired Rick Spurgin to diagnose the cause of the fractures and then remove the old tile and underlayment, fix whatever problems were causing the multiple failures, lay new cement board and re-tile the house.

Category home remodeling

4.0

04/11/2013


allen C.

didnt finish the job. and wont return my calls,

Description of Work
ceiling and bathroom remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Home Improvement 4 Less has been so successful because of our 5 A reviews that we have become 100 percent exclusive to Angie's List members. and we explain to every customer that's to insure our work is worthy of our next 5 A Review at the end of our work order we will provide the following steps.#1 at the end of every work order together with the customer we inspect and check off every item on the list we were hired for. #2. We also supply the list of items that we repaired at no cost to the customer to just go the extra mile because we are dedicated to giving the customer more then what they pay for. #3. And only when the customer is 100 percent satisfied they mark the box 100 percent satisfied and sign their name beside it acknowledging all work has been completed. Then and only then do we accept final payment. My records indicate we provided plumbing repairs extra crown molding in hallway and sheetrock repairs at no cost to the customer. The box was checked, signature was received and payment was accepted and we were also told that we have been referred to a coworker and they would be calling us to take a look at their home. I would like to extend a special thank you to our current customer in Des Moines for allowing us to temporarily halt the major home remodeling project that we have been on since November out of concerns for the safety of the Chambers Residence.
5.0

03/31/2013


Lisa G.

Category home remodeling

5.0

02/24/2013


carmen H.

Home Improvement 4 Less designed a solution to give us a tub and shower in this little bathroom without taking out the window. And then introduced us to a wonderful plumbing concept called PEX. to give us better water quality and pressure. He scheduled the demolition in such a way that we were able to still take bathes and have a functional toilet right up to the change out of fixtures. Then he installed all the new water lines where they were ready to hook up then switched over the water source and pressurized the system and without any delays or leaks we were back on line. With improved water pressure and taste. Yeah.... Finished up with trim at ceiling and floor. And was on to the kitchen ceiling. The new design for the ceiling face lift was perfect. He designed a white beamed ceiling and beadboard to cover ceiling tile and tied it into a 2 ft.x 2 ft. square pedestal to tie in a new white ceiling light in center of room and new pendant light over the sink . It looks like a country kitchen now. This time we saved $900 on bathroom remodel $450 on the new PEX system in labor and materials. And he only charged us $175 for new kitchen ceiling. I would have gladly that just for the design. What a creative concept to make a ugly old ceiling disappear. So once again i saved about another $1,450.00 and his design ideas were free. But if you ask me they were priceless......

Description of Work
Project #1 Bathroom Re model. Complete removal of old bathroom fixtures. Tear out old moulding, lath and plaster walls and ceiling in order to straighten old walls and re design bathroom layout to fit new tub and shower enclosure. Tear out old metal water lines for entire house and replace with PEX water lines and manifold shut off system to improve water pressure. Install complete new waterproof sheetrock walls and ceiling. Tape and texturing. Install new lighting and re wire bath switches. Install new bath vent w/light. Finish trim with crown moulding, base trim, window and door trim. NOTE: When remodeling a bathroom or kitchen in a 130 year old home take the opportunity to upgrade water lines. One look at the junk inside those old lines you have been drinking out of and it will change your mind. Project #2 Kitchen face lift. Install new kitchen ceiling to cover old discolored ceiling tiles. And incorporate new lighting into the Country kitchen design and ad lighting over the sink.

Category drywall, insulation, home remodeling, doors

5.0

02/24/2013


carmen H.

When the crew arrived they had a meeting and walked around the outside discussing where to lay tarps over flowers and shrubs where the dumpster was going to be and that the clean up was as important as the install of the roof was. They were all on the same page. In the plan they made it very clear they were only going to tear off what they could put back on before leaving that day because a surprise rain can happen. I dont now how many times i have seen roofers tear off a roof then put a thin blue tarp over it then go home. To me that says I dont care, its not my house. Each day the crew was right on time and didnt leave till that section was completed and spotless clean. Not a nail, not a broken piece of shingle, or a plastic bag. Each roof section went as smooth as the last untill it was done. Then came the big surprise. He deliverd enough shingles so he had enough to re roof the old tool shed just so it would match the house and did it for free. At the end of the job we did a complete walk thru and signed off on contract. The price was exactly what the bid said and they did work that wasn't even on the contract. And he was about $1,300 under the other bids we received so if you add the upgrade cost for 50 year shingles ($150.00) and re roofing the tool shed ($245.00) thats $1,695.00 back in my pocket. Home Improvement 4 Less is exactly that..... Note; This last spring we had a major storm with straight line winds reported at 80+ miles per hr. and it blew over 2 huge 130 year old trees that great grand father planted on each side of the house and i can say that not one shingle came off. "Now that is amazing". i tell everyone the same thing, If you dont call Home Improvement 4 Less you are throwing away money.

Description of Work
Complete tear off of 3 layers of shingles and 1 layer of wood shingles. Removed old brick chimney. Installed new osb sheeting. Applied new felt paper and ice guard to porch roof areas. Installed new ventalation system.new drip edge. Upgraded us from a 30 year shingle to a 50 year shingle and no extra cost. Our home is the original old 2 story farm house that my great grandfather built over 130 years ago. Its important when selecting a contractor that they are going to be respectful of these old historical homes. And understand that this is'nt your typical roof job, It's preserving a piece family history that will be handed down for generations to come.

Category roofing

5.0

07/17/2012


Ken and Pat W.

They were there at time designated and worked quickly and efficiently. Cleaned up after themselves which was a plus to me as a senior citizen. Explained what they were doing and were done in one day. Very cordial and easy to talk to and ask questions if needed. Checked over everything they had done before leaving and asked us to check and see if we were satisfied with their work before getting paid. I would recommend them to anyone for the type of work I had done and know of others who have had other work done who are very satisfied. That is how I found out about them was from someone who had work done for them and very satsified with work and prices.

Description of Work
Tightened loose light in main bathroom, replace GFI in main bathroom, drain and remove 2 standard toilets and cut carpet back and scrape to replace old wax seal and assemble and install 2 new handicap toilets with new flex risers, replace original seats with soft seats, remove kitichen faucet and install new sink faucet with sprayer and reattach water lines, replace louvered vent on outside of utility room, relevel washer front to back and side to side, reattach wooden frame around shower on outside of doors, install motion light on shed, remove front deck light and replace with new motion sensor light and remove back door light and install light that was on front deck. This 750.00 included materials and labor.

Category custom cabinets, remodeling, home remodeling, mobile home remodeling

Service Provider Response

It was such a privilege and an honor to do work and repairs on their mobile home for such a nice Christian couple. I would like to thank them for their hospitality and making us feel right at home it was like doing work for my aunt and uncle. We're glad that you called upon us and we were able to save you some money on your repairs.
5.0

05/25/2012


Michael D.

Everything on this project has progressed smoothly from start to the current stage. There were no real hiccups that weren't easily dealt with. A wall was moved, which put a heater vent from inside to outside the bathroom. They simply cut a new hole inside the bathroom, and covered over the old vent with wood flooring - matches perfectly. The owner, Rick, was always very upfront obout any concerns, kept me up to date on the daily progress, and where we stood financially. I was never surprised at any numbers, as I knew exactly where we were. That specifically allowed me to put this particular project on hold so that I could focus on a couple others. Had I not chosen this specific shower system, I know the project would be complete and have cost significantly less (fixtures were a large part of the expense, and not the labor or general materials). I couldn't be more satisfied with how things are progressing. I look forward to the finished project! Excellent work, Home Improvement 4 Less!

Description of Work
This is another project that I had this company tackle, I have been so impressed with previous work - bathroom remodel. When I moved in this home, the master bath included a "heart shaped" jacuzzi tub and some pretty dated and cheap fixtures (80's era), including cheap gold faucets and plastic moldings, a nonprofessional tile installation on the tub surround (crooked cuts and excess mortar), dated linoleum flooring, and some dated oak veneer fixtures, and a cheapo plastic corner shower. I had them gut the entire room (minus the jacuzzi tub), and prep for tiling and replacement of the plumbing to plan for an entirely new layout. Corner shower removed, all tiling stripped from the tub, linoleum floor stripped, new subfloor, walls prepped for all new tile, move plumbing to rearrange layout. Additionally, I had them install all new shower system FOR the jacuzzi tub, turning it from just a tub into an entire shower/tower system. This includes 10 shower heads in total in the walls (3 in the ceiling, 2 on the sides, 3 in front, 1 that fills the tub from the ceiling, and 1 steam port to act as a sauna. As well, the owner designed a water feature that runs separately if desired. A waterfall that activates with a flip of a switch cascades from the top of the shower which can be run with the shower off for ambient visual/sound effect and for humidity in the winter.) This entire system in self contained, computer controlled, and includes waterproof speakers that allow you to access music on your computer, or radio stations wirelessly. In the mornings, I enjoy listening to NPR, or ZZTop if I need a pick-me-up. :) The entire project is not yet complete (about 80%), there is tiling left to do and some fixture installation and a glass surround for the tub, as well has heated electric flooring system. (I have them working on other more pressing projects currently). Everything however, is entirely functional, and I can take a quick but grand shower before heading off to work!

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, drywall, picture framing, handyman service, insulation, remodeling, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Once again [member name removed] had an awesome vision for a shower that is like HGTV times 10. We installed a state-of-the-art Kohler 10 shower head system complete with steam generator and cascading waterfall down the wall behind the tub. This design included a state-of-the-art controller which allowed each individual person to have their personal preference ok shower heads and water temperature at the touch of a button as well as a endless supply of music genres in song choices because the system was integrated with the personal computer. Once again thank you [member name removed] for allowing me to build this one-of-a-kind shower system the people only see on television
5.0

05/23/2012


Michael D.

Mr Spurgin was consistently professional, inquisitive, and courteous. He was sure to let me know that he wanted this project to reflect what I wanted it to be. At the same time, he was willing to offer suggestions or advice if I seemed hesitant in not knowing what I might want. The work was quick, clean, reasonable and really, I coulldn't be happier with the results. It's one of the pieces in the house that always garners attention for its bold statement and practicality. For my next project, Home Improvement 4 Less gets first dibs!

Description of Work
My kitchen (and house, for that matter) is desperately lacking in storage space (a small farm house build in 1939). I had seen a picture once in a magazine of a multifunctional shelving unit. It held books, knicknacks, flowers, potted plants, plates, bows, utensils, etc... anything you might want to arrange or store. It took up the entire wall and was made up of several diamond shaped "cells" to allow for storage to look something like the following. The top and bottom are adorned with custom crown molding and base. A quite complicated design, given the aged and crooked walls. I asked Mr Spurgin to custom build a cabinet based of a rough sketch I had created. This computer drawing doesn't nearly do it justice, but it looked vaguely like this for reference. Imagine a typical square bookcase almost literally being turned on its corner. It makes for an incredibly interesting way to arrange and store: _________ [XXXXX] [XXXXX] [XXXXX] --------------This piece takes up a wall running half the length of the kitchen, literally 12ft long and 10ft high, a massive storage unit. Even though there are literally nearly a hundred cut pieces involved in the structure, it is virtually seamless. If you didn't know differently, you would think it was one single, solid, fabricated unit. And, indeed, it IS a solid unit! I'm pretty sure the kitchen floor used to creak before it was installed! I have been able to free up nearly a quarter of my kitchen space with this single practical unit, as well as it being a stunning piece of furniture.

Category custom cabinets, picture framing, handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

A very special thank you to [member name removed] for allowing me to turn his dream book case into a reality. His the sign was nothing short of magnificent its stretched from wall to wall from floor to ceiling and all of the shelves were set on a 45 degree angle allowing him to stack is books in a very unique way and store small kitchen appliances and utensils in it. In fact I call it THE BOOKCASE. We were asked to completely remove one interior wall structure and install headers supports and build this bookcase into the wall so this project was completely done on site. Even I was taken back by the finished product and I built it. Its very gratifying when standing in the kitchen and guests come into his home and see this bookcase for the first time it stops them in their tracks and they just go on and on about the design. I hope to have pictures posted on my Angie's List page soon. [member name removed] I always look forward to turn off your next dream into a reality. And keep drawing those ideas on napkins.

    Other local Pros in your area

    A Complete Drywall Company

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Angi Certified

    Varela associates

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We are expert remodelers who pride ourselves with providing great service and guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Call or click to schedule an estimate today and see how we can transform your home.  

    Angi Certified

    Energy Nerds

    Energy Nerds know about everything to do with saving money and making homes more energy efficient. We can supply insulation, windows, attic ventilation, solar power, and even paint to save you energy. We perform free energy audits. We are passionate about energy efficiency and believe our reputation is the savings we create for our clients. Our motto is to conserve, create, and prosper! Company Website: https://howtoinsulate.com  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We offer construction, design, and consulting for home, office, Residential roofing, Commercial roofing, Residential siding,Sheetrock, Custom fireplace w/ hearth and mantel design, laminate flooring, ceramic tile floors, countertops, Kitchen and Bath room Remodeling, Cabinet re-facing, Custom Kohler multi head shower systems, From handyman to complete home-remodel, We love a design challenge too. We can serve your every need. No job is too big or too small. Give us a call... It's free!

    Services Not Offered

    Major foundation repair

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Home Improvement 4 Less

    How is Home Improvement 4 Less overall rated?

    Home Improvement 4 Less is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Home Improvement 4 Less open?

    Home Improvement 4 Less is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Home Improvement 4 Less provide

    Home Improvement 4 Less accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Home Improvement 4 Less offer free estimates?

    Yes, Home Improvement 4 Less offers free project estimates.

    Does Home Improvement 4 Less offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Home Improvement 4 Less does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Home Improvement 4 Less offer a senior discount?

    No, Home Improvement 4 Less does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Home Improvement 4 Less offer emergency services?

    Yes, Home Improvement 4 Less offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Home Improvement 4 Less?

    Yes, Home Improvement 4 Less offers warranties.

    What services does Home Improvement 4 Less offer?

    Home Improvement 4 Less offers the following services: We offer construction, design, and consulting for home, office, Residential roofing, Commercial roofing, Residential siding,Sheetrock, Custom fireplace w/ hearth and mantel design, laminate flooring, ceramic tile floors, countertops, Kitchen and Bath room Remodeling, Cabinet re-facing, Custom Kohler multi head shower systems, From handyman to complete home-remodel, We love a design challenge too. We can serve your every need. No job is too big or too small. Give us a call... It's free!

    Are there any services Home Improvement 4 Less does not offer?

    Major foundation repair