Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Action Roofing & Construction Inc

Founded 2001 • With Angi since August 2010

We have been in business since 2001, serving central Iowa. We started as a roofing only contractor. However, at the request of our clients, we have expanded to become a full service exterior remodeling company. This includes; siding, soffit, fascia, and gutters! We frequently work with our clients on insurance claims. We offer maintenance deals. We also offer financing options with third party vendors. We are a Certified Owens Corning contractor and Certified GAF contractor. Our team is trained regularly through our manufacturer's programs. Our team is also trained and certified through the InterNachi Home Inspector Program. We have been honored with the Super Service Awards through Angie's List from 2014- 2018. Please give us the opportunity to show you why! We would love to earn this for 2019 and it starts with you! Always feel free to ask questions and voice concerns by contacting us via phone or email.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Trade License Number
C116371
Trade License Locale
IA
Trade License Authority
Iowa: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
03/20/2024
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(165) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 165 reviews
Mary A.
5.0
06/04/2019
Very well, they also provide photos so you can see what they have cleaned.
Description of Work
Gutter cleaning
Category
gutter cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you - we appreciate your business and feedback. If we can ever be of service- let us know! -Alyssa
larry L.
1.0
10/21/2018
IT DIDN'T !!!! PROMISED TO SHOW UP AND GIVE US A ESTIMATE. THEY WERE A NO SHOW, RUINED 1/2 A DAY WAITING FOR THEM. THEY WERE A NO SHOW.!!!!!! DON'T HIRE THESE LOSERS !!!!!!!!!
Description of Work
siding for one side of house (storm damage)
Category
siding

Service Provider Response

Good morning [Member Name Removed], I have your appointment in our schedule for Oct.11th. It looks like we contacted you numerous times the day of the appointment (as stated we would in the initial appointment scheduling). We were unable to find your home. We did not receive a call back from you so we figured you had probably found someone else to do the work. Normally clients that are interested give us a call back... As you can see with our reviews on Angie's List and elsewhere- we are not in the habit of "no call no show". I do apologize about no being able to find your home. However- we did call to try and find you with no response. I would deny the allegation that our team are "losers" and we have a significant amount of valued clients that would disagree as well. I wish you the best of luck with your home repairs and advise that professionalism and return phone calls can go a [Member Name Removed] way.
Mike L.
5.0
05/19/2018
Handled everything by phone and email. Out of town rental property for me and could not have gone any better.
Description of Work
Repaired area around a dormer that was leaking.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed], I am glad we were able to get those repairs taken care of! -Alyssa
Jason V.
5.0
05/08/2018
The team came out and found that what I thought was a roof leak was actually condensation from a vent run, and said there was nothing he could do but recommended a good local contractor. I was grateful for the expertise and honesty, and did sign him up to do some other routine roof maintenance which was offered for a very reasonable price. Charged me nothing for identifying the problem and the original trip out.
Description of Work
needed a leak identified due to water damage in garage
Category
roofing
Eugene L.
5.0
01/08/2018
Very well - they coordinated with electrician
Description of Work
Repairs to roof and soffit damaged in a storm
Category
roofing
Len S.
5.0
07/14/2017
This was the second time I have used Action. Rosario, my gutter cleaner, was fantastic!! On time, professional and friendly. Office staff was great also, they sent me a copy of my invoice and pictures of my clean gutters. I recommend Action Roofing highly, they are a wonderful group of people!!
Description of Work
Clean my gutters
Category
gutter cleaning, roofing
Leola L.
5.0
06/29/2017
They were great! The gentleman that I met with to get an estimate from was very professional and not pushy. He was very knowledgable about roofing. The gentlemen that worked on my roof were on time, very professional, and very respectful. The materials arrived on time. They worked diligently to get it done and completed it in one day. I was very greatful because it was going to storm that night. Everyone that I spoke to at Action Roofing and Construction was very professional? I am a very satisfied customer!
Description of Work
My roof needed to be reshingled and my gutters needed n upgrade.
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Sharon L.
5.0
05/03/2017
The team sent did a great job! Supplies were delivered when they said they would be and the team was here to start the job when they said they would be here. With a threat of rain, they made sure when they stopped for the night that nothing would get wet that shouldn't and they worked late to ensure any potential rain did not cause any damage. When they removed the old chimney they found the wood was rotted, and replaced it without question. It took them 3 days to complete the job, but they cleaned up as they worked each day and made sure they cleaned up before they left daily. We have found no nails or trash from the job and the house and garage look great. They also took special care of two Clematis plants I have by the garage - and as they were gifts from my sons - it is greatly appreciated. We were impressed with the professionalism, and the work ethic the team showed as well as the quality of completion.
Description of Work
Residing with vinyl siding on house and garage, removal of old unused chimney.
Category
roofing, siding
curtis G.
5.0
03/10/2017
After having a few negative experiences with contractors, what a surprise to work with a company that seems to do everything well. Albert came out to my house to give an estimate and I was sold almost immediately. Albert told me about my current shingles and that there had been a class action lawsuit. He offered to help me if I wanted to go after the company and then proceeded to tell me that I could probably get by for a couple of years if I wanted to go that route. I was so impressed with his knowledge and honesty that I decided to just pull the trigger and have them replaced. Albert told me that it would take three days. The first day there were 30mph winds so it wasn't safe for the crew to start work. Albert kept me in the loop and said they would start the next day. The job ended up taking two days including cleanup. The crew probably spent 3 hours cleaning up and left the yard looking better than when they arrived. Albert then followed up and spent an hour or so checking on their work and also doing another pass of cleaning up the nails. Replacing a roof is expensive and not an exciting way to spend your money but Action Roofing did a great job and I would highly recommend using them for roofing issues.
Description of Work
Replaced roof
Category
roofing
Jean R.
5.0
01/15/2017
It went well. The job was brought up to code and done professionally.
Description of Work
Rebuilt the boards around my chimney.
Category
siding
David W.
5.0
10/31/2016
Really well. They were responsive, and worked hard/late to get it done before some rain. I was impressed, and everyone in the neighborhood commented on how quickly it was done.
Description of Work
New Roof after assessment
Category
roofing
Patricia S.
5.0
10/22/2016
Action roofing walked the whole roof and said that, although the East side of the roof looked good for 5 years, the West side only had 2 years. The East side is more protected so that made sense. Albert, the owner, was personally involved and gave me estimates of; just fixing the stack & flashing, patching the roof, and a full roof replacement. They worked really well with us, explained the quality of the product, adhered to the date perfectly, had courteous and conscientious roofers, and clean up was very good. Call Action Roofing!
Description of Work
I needed an air stack replaced and flashing redone around the fireplace chimney. A previous contractor had said the roof had about 5 years left before it would need to be replaced, when I asked.
Category
contractors, roofing
Johnetta L.
5.0
10/13/2016
They were very thorough and on time. The customer service was excellent and they cleaned up well. I would use them again and recommend their service.
Description of Work
They cleaned the gutters on my home.
Category
gutter cleaning
Karl S.
5.0
09/19/2016
They were very accommodating and professional. I would use them again and likely will as our shingles are nearing the time to replace them.
Description of Work
We had a leak in the roof and a number similar problems that could lead to further leaks.
Category
roofing
Eric R.
5.0
08/01/2016
They replaced the shingles told us that the shingles on the house had been recalled years before. They were on time and a pleasure to work with.
Description of Work
Replaced shingles that came off and walked the roof and repair misc. items.
Category
roofing
Jeff B.
5.0
07/30/2016
Things went very well. They were VERY fast on getting to my house and looking things over and letting me know how much it was going to cost. I scheduled them to come out and they had everything fixed and cleaned up with in 3 days of the appointment. Very good work!
Description of Work
Had to have a boot replaced on my roof.
Category
roofing
Robert A.
1.0
05/17/2016
Provider did nothing. The work was never performed. We purchased the $89 promotional last September, 2015 to have our gutters cleaned. We asked for some additional quotes on roofing, siding, windows. We received a quote and had no follow-up. I hate to give a failing grade on a business, however we would have expected the work to be performed regardless of whether we purchased other services from them. They were very nice people and yet the work was never completed. If they complete the gutter cleaning work we purchased, I'll be more than happy to change this review
Description of Work
Provider did nothing. The work was never performed. We purchased the $89 promotional to have our gutters cleaned. We asked for some additional quotes on roofing, siding, windows. We received a quote and had no follow-up. I hate to give a failing grade on a business - we would have expected the work to be performed regardless of whether we purchased other services from them. The seemed like nice people but we are disappointed in their lack of
Category
gutter repair
Julie M.
3.0
05/05/2016
I got the $99 Big Deal from Action Roofing in Des Moines. They told me I needed to replace my roof after a "roof tune-up". So, naturally, I got a second opinion from a source that I trust. After a second opinion I found out that I actually have several years left on my roof and my situation is not nearly as dire as Action Roofing suggested. Additionally, they put some tar on my roof that my trusted roofer said is a no-no. Not completely honest, and evidently, what they are doing is not helpful. They took advantage of my roof naivete and they shouldn't be a trusted provider on Angie's list.
Description of Work
Went up on my roof, inspected it and then put some goo on the roof that evidently, they shouldn't have put on there.
Category
roof cleaning
Julie M.
3.0
05/05/2016
I got the $99 Big Deal from Action Roofing in Des Moines. They told me I needed to replace my roof after a "roof tune-up". So, naturally, I got a second opinion from a source that I trust. After a second opinion I found out that I actually have several years left on my roof and my situation is not nearly as dire as Action Roofing suggested. Additionally, they put some tar on my roof that my trusted roofer said is a no-no. Not completely honest, and evidently, what they are doing is not helpful. They took advantage of my roof naivete and they shouldn't be a trusted provider on Angie's list.
Description of Work
Went up on my roof, inspected it and then put some goo on the roof that evidently, they shouldn't have put on there.
Category
roof cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], The estimate provided was given to you for future reference. At the bottom of the estimate is a note stating that your roof does have a few years left (which is in agreement with your unnamed professional).Please feel free to read the entire document provided. Our technicians apply standard caulking that is absolutely OK to put on asphalt roofs (it's brand is Geocel, please feel free to look it up). It it also recommended by the roofing community to seal pipe boots, exposed nails, and general holes in the roof to prevent very common leaks. Our technicians are fully trained and certified by GAF and Owens Corning. They are also certified home inspectors. Action Roofing does not send untrained personnel out into the field. We not not "take advantage" of any homeowner. In fact, we insist on our clients being at a complete understanding of what needs to happen and why it needs to happen. This deal is a steal for what you given. It's unfortunate that we are not a good fit as a service provider and client. Good luck with you roof!
Michael H.
2.0
04/28/2016
We were initially impressed with the quick response after we purchased the deal. They called within a half hour to schedule the service. That's about the end of the positive notes, unfortunately. The person who came out was the owner. He arrived 20 minutes early, and his idea of "advance notice" was calling us when he was sitting in our driveway to ask if he could come early! I'm no home-repair-idiot, and neither is my other half. But the owner also spoke to her as if she couldn't possibly know anything because she was a woman. I only purchased the service because my professional job takes up a large portion of my time, and I choose to "contract" out certain home jobs to other professionals. Unfortunately the quality and value of the services actually performed was abysmal. I got up on the roof to inspect the services performed, and found that they "did" put some caulking on the roof as advertised, however it couldn't have been more poorly done. There are quite a few chimneys and vents on our large roof, and they applied caulking to a few of them, however they only put caulking on one or two sides here and there, almost randomly. Leaving the other sides that have obviously visibly-worn caulking with gaps and cracks that are still exposed to the elements. Other than caulking the flashings and boots, they did apply to a few exposed nail heads. The "inspection" portion of the service "unsurprisingly" revealed that our only-7-year old roof was "incorrectly" put together, needed all sorts of new flashings and boots installed, and all new gutters. We received an extremely un-detailed quote for the services totaling $6000. We requested some kind of explanation as to why these services were supposedly necessary and what exactly would be performed for this not-small chunk of change, but the company remains unresponsive. In summary, I can't help but feel that this entire "tune up" service was a sham to allow this company to get in front of you with an expensive quote for questionably-necessary services. This was an utter disappointment to say the least. I guess I'll go buy some caulking and get up on the roof and maintain it myself.
Description of Work
We bought a $99 Roof Tune Up services promoted by Angieslist. which was to include caulking of key areas and inspection of problem areas.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I apologize that our services were not up to your expectations. I will be having a conversation with our Service Technicians about time management and arrival notifications. I did review my notes on our conversation when we first set up the appointment and saw that it was requested to have a quote for gutters and leafX. This makes up 2 of the 3 estimate items provided. I do see that we estimated to replace pipe boots as well. I looked through the photos of the inspection that were sent to you following the inspection. The pipe boots look to be in poor condition. In our experience, pipe boots are a large cause of leaks. These were sealed, as per the Angie's list deal. Please review the details of this page, as it offers up to four penetrations to be sealed. As I looked through the photos, I did see that the sealing on cracked shingles, pipe boot's, and exposed nail heads met and exceeded the deal purchased. I have no record of attempts to contact the office for any explanation of the estimate provided. This review is the first follow up I have seen from you or Felicia. Please advise that service techs are out in the field majority of the day. Inquiry's should start at the office, and if I cannot help then I would move to contacting the technition directly. Thank you again for the opportunity to provide our services, and I will keep the concerns you have listed in mind moving forward. -Alyssa
Tyler A.
3.0
04/18/2016
When I hired them I specifically told them there was a problem area on the back end of our gutters on the south side and that is why I needed the cleaning. They came out within a week and said they would clean all of the gutters and send me pictures. I noticed the pictures that they sent me didn't include pictures of the south side gutters so I got on a ladder and noticed they didn't clean the whole south side of my gutters. I sent them a picture and asked them why they didn't clean that side of the gutters and they said that the person didn't have a long enough ladder and didn't want to go over the side of my house due to the pitch. They went back and cleaned the gutters which I will give them that, but if I wouldn't have caught it I would have paid the full amount for 3/4 of the job and specifically didn't clean the area that I told them about. It kind of irritated me that the person willingly left the job and wasn't planning on coming back because he didn't have a long enough ladder and tried to cover it up. I would have been fine if they told me that they didn't have a long enough ladder and they would come back in a week to clean all of it, but instead they tried to get away with it thinking I wouldn't notice. I feel bad giving this place such a mediocre ranking just because one person didn't want to do his job. I didn't give them the worst ranking because they did fix it.
Description of Work
Gutter Cleaning
Category
roof cleaning
Mark R.
5.0
02/26/2016
The person that came to give me an estimate was friendly and knowledgeable. He came out to put gutter topper on my gutters in the fall of 2015 and told him that in the spring of 2016, i would be replacing my roof and got me an estimate, but knew the bid was expire by the time I was ready to reroof my house. I contacted them a couple of days ago. Their bid was the most expensive of the 5 bids I received and due to my budget, with a cheaper alternative.
Description of Work
Got an estimate to reroof my house.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, roof cleaning
Laura B.
4.0
01/27/2016
The thermal imaging was not what I'd expected, based on research I'd done online about what it would entail. I don't even remember seeing the results of the imaging, which I thought would show where our house needed more insulation. (This was done over a year ago, though, so I could be forgetting something.) The technicians were very helpful and friendly, though, and gave us a lot of good information. We've wanted to have them back to add some insulation but other financial needs keeping cropping up. Hope we can call them again soon!
Description of Work
Insulation assessment and camera/thermal imagining
Category
insulation, roofing
Carrie A.
5.0
01/25/2016
Showed up on time. Cleaned gutters to perfection. 2nd time I have used this company. First time was for a roof inspection and repair. They are awesome!
Description of Work
Cleaned gutters. Did an outstanding job.
Category
gutter cleaning, gutter repair, roofing
Lyndon C.
5.0
01/17/2016
Good scheduling communications and prompt. Technician was thorough and explained all he would do and what he found and did with picture. I was much more impressed with their service and competency than I expected to be. Would definitely use Action Roofing again.
Description of Work
Roof inspection and Caulking
Category
handyman service, roofing

Phone

Address

2422 Green Hills Dr

Norwalk, IA 50211

Other Information

Services offered

Roofing, Siding, and Gutters

FAQ

Action Roofing & Construction Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Action Roofing & Construction Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

Yes, Action Roofing & Construction Inc offers free project estimates.

Yes, Action Roofing & Construction Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Action Roofing & Construction Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Action Roofing & Construction Inc offers emergency services.

Yes, Action Roofing & Construction Inc offers warranties.

Action Roofing & Construction Inc offers the following services: Roofing, Siding, and Gutters

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Friend Landscaping

5.0

(57)

Angi Certified

Friend Landscaping

Friend Landscaping has been providing exceptional landscaping services to residential and commercial customers throughout the Des Moines area since 2001. Locally owned and operated, Friend Landscaping can take any lawn and turn it into a work of art. Owner is on most jobs. We understand that customer satisfaction starts with dependable services. We will provide quality workmanship to every project, every time. Attention to detail and quality as well as doing good business are some of our core values. We would appreciate the opportunity to earn your trust and become the company for all of your landscaping needs.  

Renewal by Andersen

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Renewal by Andersen

Renewal by Andersen of Des Moines is your resource for custom window and patio and entry door replacement, as part of the Andersen Corporation which is one of the most recognized window brands in the country. Serving Central Iowa, our highly trained, employee-installers of Andersen windows and doors can meet your needs in a friendly and thoughtful approach. Our windows are made of Fibrex material, which gives our windows the strength and durability of wood, and the low-maintenance features of vinyl. You won't see the hassles of expansion and contraction like vinyl and rotting like in a wood window. We also sell quality, innovative Provia entry doors. Locally owned, operated & trusted. Call for special offers and financing options.  

ArBs

5.0

(4)

Angi Certified

ArBs

Call today for drywall services.