Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Schroer and Sons Home Improvement

4.8

(51) Verified Reviews

Founded 1977 • With Angi since February 2011

Licensed
Trade License Number
C102573
Trade License Locale
IA
Trade License Authority
Iowa: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
02/12/2022
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Company Contact

1881 Fernow Road

Marion, IA 52302

Description

Super Service Award Winner 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016! Schroer and Sons Home Improvement is licensed and insured with over 30 years experience and offers free estimates. They specialize in remodels, additions, kitchens, bathrooms, garages and decks....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(51) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

39

4

5

3

2

2

1

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

garage building (37)home remodeling (19)decks & porches (11)door installation (8)flooring (7)tile installation (7)drywall (6)woodworking (4)siding companies (4)general contractors (4)patio enclosures (3)handyman (3)
Showing 1-10 of 51 reviews
5.0

05/16/2019

This team was fantastic! Punctual, friendly, clean, no loud music or cursing etc. Couldn't be happier with the work that they did and how communicative Jason was. A++ would use again.

Description of Work
Teardown of old deck, build of new deck with 2 platforms including encasing a hot tub

Category decks,garage builders

Cost $9,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2019

Images

5.0

05/13/2019

The floors and deck look great and John was great with communication through the entire process.

Description of Work
Foyer and kitchen flooring tile work and a deck install.

Category ceramic tile,decks

Cost $6,573

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

1.0

04/19/2019

It didn't go. The voicemail messages that I left (2) were never returned. Pretty sad business practice and unfortunately I've experienced that with several other "professionals" that I've tried to contact recently.

Description of Work
Handyman Projects

Category garage builders

Work Completed On 04/19/2019

Service Provider Response

Sorry we just dropped the ball.
4.0

10/13/2018

They were very nice. Did everything like we wanted. Only problem we had was one towel rack was quarter inch off. Otherwise everything was excellent.

Description of Work
Bathroom completed

Category drywall,flooring contractor,remodeling,garage builders,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/13/2018

1.0

08/10/2018

Schedule an appointment to receive a quote for a bathroom remodel. Contractor missed the appointment but did leave a voice message to apologize for missing it. I called back to let him know other times and days that would work for us to reschedule and never heard back from him. Contacted the business to ask if someone else could come out to provide a quote and never heard back from them either.

Description of Work
Quote for a Bathroom Remodel

Category home remodeling

Work Completed On 08/10/2018

5.0

06/26/2018

I've used Schroer and Sons for numerous projects large and small. We have a house that is nearly 100 years old and can present challenges. I have always been completely satisfied with the quality of the work and their professionalism. Definitely my first call contractor.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel- new durock, tile walls and tub surround, new tile floor, drywall on the ceiling, shower fan install. Mike did an excellent job and I will call them again when it comes time to do the upper portion of the bathroom.

Category ceramic tile,drywall,flooring contractor,garage builders,home remodeling

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2018

5.0

09/05/2017

Glenn and Sue were very responsive and willing to discuss possible build options based on their experience and prior designs that we had seen. They also helped us when unforeseen changes had to be made, and did a good job finding solutions to those issues. The contractors they hired did a good job and willing to work with us to make it exactly how we wanted it. The process was very transparent, an...

Description of Work
We were looking to add an attached 3rd car stall to our existing garage.

Category garage builders

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2017

Images

+2 More

5.0

08/01/2017

Great job - workshop was built to my husband's design and used windows that were salvaged (15 pane). Location was a challenge as backyard is not easily accessible. Would highly recommend this provider.

Description of Work
Built a backyard workshop

Category garage builders

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2017

5.0

04/25/2017

The deck project I envisioned was going to cost more than I was willing to spend, I can't thank Glenn enough for his professionalism, the time he spent researching new product, explaining the challenges and quick responses to my questions & concerns. I will be contacting them for future projects.

Description of Work
2nd floor deck resurface.

Category garage builders

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2017

5.0

09/26/2016

Super job, I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
I reviewed these wonderful contractors several years ago after they built my porch. Haven't had any opportunity to call them since.

Category contractors,ceramic tile,egress windows,flooring contractor,picture framing,garage builders,woodworking,ceiling fans

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2016

Services Offered

remodels, additions, kitchens, bathrooms, garages, decks, home repairs

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
Check
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Yes