Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

OAKWOOD BUILDERS GROUP

Founded 1995 • With Angi since May 2007

ADDITIONAL EMAILS: DAN@OAKWOODBUILDERSGROUP.COM, BRETT@OAKWOODBUILDERSGROUP.COM.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(7) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews
Donna B.
5.0
07/13/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
home remodeling
mark Q.
5.0
07/28/2014
I would highly recommend them. It was a significant project and it involved a lot of contractors. Oakwood was our primary point and they were able to put us in touch with a designer who did an excellent job. They managed the job from start to finish efficiently and everything was done with absolutely top-notch craftsmanship and top-notch service. They're just the sort of people that anyone would feel good about doing business with because they're good people and they do good work. Certainly, on a project like this, issues would come up and there was one particular issue that we were unhappy with and we addressed it with them. I didn't feel like the issue we had was an immediate issue to fix and they were able to fix it for us and make us happy. They had done a remodel for us already and we called them back for this job. We went back because I knew they would do a good job. The price that we paid for everything seemed fair and that we were paying for what we got. I could have done it cheaper but to get the same quality and level of service would be uncertain. I just knew that if I went with them, I would get a fair price and would get the result that I wanted. If I give them an "A" on their pricing, it may sound like we were getting a bargain on it and I'm not sure we were getting a bargain, I just think we were getting a fair price for what we wanted.
Description of Work
We used them for a kitchen remodel this year. We also did a bathroom remodel with them last year.
Category
home remodeling
Karren B.
5.0
01/28/2014
The deck that was built was about 12 X 20 feet. They were able to finish the job in about two or three weeks. We used the Brazilian hardwood and we like it a lot.
Description of Work
They built a deck.
Category
decks
Mary S.
5.0
06/18/2013
They were prompt, professional and communicated with us all the way. It cost less than estimated be causes they didn't need to tear as much out of the porch as first thought.
Description of Work
Repaired our screened-in porch that needed to be resided and sealed.
Category
decks, remodeling
mark Q.
5.0
03/14/2013
They did a great job. I am really happy with the outcome. I shopped a lot for different contractors and the thing that I liked about Oakwood, was how thorough they were in their estimate and in describing what it was that they were going to do for us. They were able to come in and give us a detailed and itemized estimate on every single aspect of the job, which was very different from other people that I've got estimates from. Once I've talked to Oakwood I felt like I had a really good hand on what the job was going to entail. When they did the job, they were really good about sticking to what they said they were going to do. We didn't have any surprises when the bill came. The work was completed really well. All the contractors they've used were really professional. Everything was high quality and they were really responsive to addressing our needs. The project took longer than we thought, because of some decisions that we made, but they were real good about moving the project along and they were organized. I would like to remodel my kitchen and I would probably call Oakwood back. I am happy with the price.
Description of Work
Oakwood Builders Group remodeled our bathroom.
Category
home remodeling
Stanley M.
5.0
09/17/2012
unknown
Category
remodeling
Daniel W.
5.0
05/30/2007
The finished result is really very good with exceptional workmanship. The design vision came primarily from the homeowners' but Oakwood largely delivered on the vision. There are a couple of details neither of us caught but there are also several details that Oakwood attended to that we would never have thought of or if we had could not have executed ourselves. For instance, we're experienced DIYers but Oakwood made sure that even existing walls' new sheetrock was shimmed to assure the walls were square. Oakwood brought in professional subcontractors including HVAC/plumbing, an artistic metalworker and custom woodworker. Oakwood was probably not the cheapest or fastest contractor but we squeaked more about details than schedule. We are highly satisfied with both the function and aesthetics of the result. It nearly doubled our living space. The lead Oakwood partner, Brett Bunkers, was positive and enjoyable even when doing some tasks for the first time. We've gone back to them for more.
Description of Work
This was a complex basement finishing project in a 1960s walk-out ranch. The basement was not previously finished and was bare concrete floors and concrete block walls with a separate utility or laundry room. The contractor installed large windows and a new door on the two exposed walls. This required cutting new holes into the concrete block walls and installing hidden headers to place the top of the windows at ceiling height. The next step was installing a hydronic radiant heat system under a new 12" square tile floor laid on the diagonal. A new 3/4 tiled bath with walk-in shower required new supply and waste lines. The family room portion features a home theater media center and gas fireplace. A walk-in closet technically means the space qualifies as a third bedroom. The existing stairs were rebuilt with a detailed wood pilaster in a Craftsman style. A window seat and matching bookshelves frame the windows in the main room. Custom metal work provides character highlights.
Category
ceramic tile, heating & air conditioning/hvac, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling

Other local Pros in your area

SBH Construction

We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Remodeling services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

Angi Certified

DLR Construction

DLR Construction is committed to excellence in every aspect of our business. We uphold a standard of integrity bound by fairness, honesty, and personal responsibility. Our distinction is the quality of service we bring to our customers. Accurate knowledge of our trade combined with ability is what makes us true professionals. Above all, we are watchful of our customers interests, and make their concerns the basis of our business. Please request a quote! We are looking forward to working with you! If we don't answer on the main number, please call (515) 729-0426.  

Angi Certified

Taft's Construction Services LLC

My company specializes in decks and patios, interior remodels and basement finishing. I'm your one stop shop for all your construction needs.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Phone

Address

316 SW 5TH ST

Des Moines, IA 50309

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

HANDYMAN SERVICES AND MINOR REPAIRS.

Payment options

Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

OAKWOOD BUILDERS GROUP is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

OAKWOOD BUILDERS GROUP is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

OAKWOOD BUILDERS GROUP accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, OAKWOOD BUILDERS GROUP offers free project estimates.

No, OAKWOOD BUILDERS GROUP does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, OAKWOOD BUILDERS GROUP does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, OAKWOOD BUILDERS GROUP offers warranties.

OAKWOOD BUILDERS GROUP offers the following services: MAJOR RENOVATIONS, ADDITIONS, KITCHENS, BATHROOMS, BASEMENTS.