Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Lil' Brother Construction

Founded 2008 • With Angi since March 2013

4.6

(52) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2025 E Grand Ave

Des Moines, IA 50317

Description

We want to be your go to company when you have any little project in your home. We are fully licensed and insured and want you to be 100% satisfied; we provide only our best quality of workmanship and 100% money back guarantee

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/05/2022


Donna A.

He refused to give me an estimate (I should have stopped them then). Nothing was fixed right. I wasnt sent a bill then about 6 weeks later I received 2 bills and they were charging me 300 dollars plus late fees. The only material that they bought was a 3 dollar board that split after they nailed it in. Do not use this company. Jean who I assume is the owner was very rude.

Description of Work
Fence gate doors, lattice on deck,slider door

Category awnings, handyman service, deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I am sorry you are disatified. When we schuled the project we told you that you could have an estimate but our estimates were farther out and if you didn't want an estimate we could get you on our schedule right a way. You chose not to get an estimate. There was no late fee on our invoice. and we told you up front our rates of $115 for the first man hour and $90 hour after the 1st hour. You total invoice was $293.73. I only charged you $110 for the first man hour and $90 for the next 2 hours for a total of $290 for labor and we purchased $3.73 in materials and your received a copy of the receipt for materials. I told you I would talk to the guys about your projects. Unfortunately, we had a death in our family and I haven't been able to get back to you. I will call you today to work out your issues. Thank you. Jean
1.0

03/24/2022


Kaitlyn G.

There's a reason this is the only business in the area with current availability. DO NOT book them. This is the sketchiest business I have ever worked with. They gouge you on the price, purchase the CHEAPEST materials, and do very shoddy work that is uneven, unfinished, and looks awful. When you bring up the issues, the owners blame you and say 'you signed the proposal already.' AVOID THIS COMPANY.

Description of Work
gate for stairs

Category childproofing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Here is the email your husband sent regarding your same project. "I just wanted you to know that David is a really great asset to your company. Today he was extremely kind, very humble, and very motivated to make things right. He's also a really smart guy, when it comes to presenting different options and figuring out how to make things work. The gate turned out great, and I am happy. Let me know how we can pay the bill. Thanks, [Member Name Removed]" We sent you a copy of all the receipts that were spent on your project. On custom projects, there can be adjustments that are needed, like we did in your situation. We charged you only what was estimated from the beginning except for the materials that changed but we only invoiced what was spent for your project and we never mark up the materials. God bless you and your family
5.0

10/09/2019


Kristen H.

Lil Brother helped me get my house ready to go on the market. Their work was exceptional. They were timely, polite, kept me updated when there were adjustments to be made including catching a small roof leak I had missed. They are always my first choice when I need repairs around the house. In addition to their high quality of work they are also dedicated to service in our community. Jean and Steve run their business with the highest level of integrity.

Description of Work
Replaced deck boards, repair drywall in ceiling, misc small repairs

Category decks, drywall, handyman service, deck cleaning

5.0

08/28/2018


Charles P.

Needed to replace/repair some rotted cedar siding on two-story house. Received prompt response to request for estimate. Not the lowest bid, but other Angie's List reviews regarding professionalism and customer service were persuasive. And I was not disappointed! Crew was always on time and always took care to communicate plans and progress. Quality of work was excellent -- the company prides itself on working on a job as if your home were their home, and it shows. Their attention to detail exceeded expectations. I was relying on their good judgment as craftsmen to recommend limiting or expanding the scope of work as needed -- they always took the time to do that and I never sensed that I was being pushed to do anything silly. In fact, as it turned out, the final cost of the job was significantly less than originally estimated. I will definitely call Lil Brothers first for my next project and would not hesitate to recommend to others.

Description of Work
Siding repair

Category handyman service, siding

5.0

07/27/2018


Marilyn L.

it was done well. The handyman was competent and did a good job.

Description of Work
smoke alarms installed, caulking and painting in bathroom, installed towel bars etc. in bathroom. repaired closet door.

Category handyman service

5.0

10/05/2017


Kim M.

It went well, in and out in less than an hour and did a great job

Description of Work
Fixed siding on my house

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your comment. We look forward to working with you in the future. Don't forget our referral program. Each person that you refer to Lil Brother Construction and they use our services we will send you a $50 gift card towards your next project. Thank you, again. Jean M Jones President
5.0

06/28/2017


Barbara J.

They did a great job and came in a bit under their estimate. Everyone I've had contact with at Lil' Brother has been friendly, knowledgeable & helpful. We will definitely be using them again!

Description of Work
They replaced a bathroom pipe that was leaking, and repaired the ceiling below where there was water damage.

Category drywall, handyman service, plumbing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for your review. We look forward to working with you in the future. Sincerely, Jean M [Member Name Removed] President
5.0

04/12/2017


Jeff H.

I had some loose steps in a section of my stairs and a broken handrail. I contacted Lil Brother, because they had good ratings and accept credit cards. For the estimate, they showed up on-time, thoroughly explained what needed done, and got back with a detailed estimate within a few days. Due to rain delays with another one of their projects, they were able to get the work done a couple of weeks before I originally had it scheduled. They kept me updated on their progress and cleaned up when they left. They ended up getting the work done a couple hundred dollars under the estimate. I will definitely be using them again.

Description of Work
Replace a section of stairs and broken handrail.

Category handyman service, woodworking

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your review. We look forward to working with you in the future. Sincerely, Jean M Jones President
5.0

03/23/2017


John S.

They did what they needed to work with. When they came to do it originally, It was raining, so they weren't able to do the install. They took the door with him, and came back when I wasn't here actually to install it.

Description of Work
Storm door installation of my house.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] Thank you for your review. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Sincerely Jean M Jones President
4.0

02/07/2017


scott D.

They were available to come in a faster time frame than the other places. I was satisfied with the cleanup.

Description of Work
They did some work at the house for me. It was plumbing. It was replacing toilets and putting in some new fixtures.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. Sincerely, Jean M Jones President
2.0

12/10/2016


John S.

Someone came out to survey the work to be done and took the information saying that they would be in contact with me about the estimate. I waited at least 3 to 4 weeks with no call or contact from the company. Then I sent an email trying to find out the status. Didn't hear anything. Finally I contacted another company that gave me an estimate quickly and an install date within a weeks time. I therefore hired this other company. A couple weeks after my storm door was installed, I got an email back from Lil' Brothers about my estimate putting it at $250. The other company I hired installed the storm door and replaced the top board at a cost of only $150.

Description of Work
I needed a storm door installed. I already had purchased a storm door to be installed.

Category handyman service, doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we are sorry for this experience. We had one of our staff admitted in the hospital in ICS and he has not returned to work even as of today and it set us back on get out our estimates. This is not normal for our company. If you would like to give our company another try I will make sure you get an additional $50 off your labor cost. Again we apologize for your bad experience. We pride ourselves on customer service and this is not normal. Thank you. Jean M Jones, President
5.0

11/22/2016


Anne M.

The team arrived promptly, worked most of the day and completed all 13 items on my list. They were professional, cordial, helpful and completed all work exactly as I requested. They encountered a few challenges hanging curtains in an unusual space and it barely slowed them down. I would hire this company again and highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Numerous handyman services in new residence: hanging curtains, installing shelves, assembling furniture.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your response we look forward to working with you in the future/ Jean M Jones President
1.0

11/05/2016


tom C.

On the day of the estimate to be done, I left work early (approximately an hour) and as I was driving home for the appointment when I got a call from my neighbor we made the appointment for and she said the man was there and had already taken a look downstairs (where she can't access) and was leaving! She put the person on the phone and he said he came early and was done and would email me an estimate. I was not happy that she was alone for the appointment and I was not there to discuss the work. On October 3rd and heard back on October 4th saying there was staffing issues, but we would see an estimate in the near future. I assured them that it was no problem and looked forward to hearing from them. I emailed again and didn't hear back. After another week I emailed again and the neighbor called. They assured her that there would be someone in touch and she said there was a few more things she'd like fixed on the outside of her home also. After another week, we STILL have not heard back. Apparently we're not a large enough of a customer, but we're just not sure - just no response. I'd heard good things, so this was disappointing.

Description of Work
We scheduled an appointment for an estimate for my 87 year old neighbor lady who'd had her door broken in after a break in. We boarded up the door and called for an estimate and agreed on a time. We were anxious to have it fixed correctly and the event put behind us. We agreed on the time again by phone and agreed again by email when they sent me a calendar event with Steve Jones for September 28th at 4 p.m.

Category handyman service, doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I am sorry for your experience. We had one of our staff and family member in the hospital in ICU. He still has not returned to work after serval months. Since this is a family company this effected us all quite deeply. It also set us back in getting out our estimates. This has been a very difficult time for your staff and our family. We normally pride ourselves on our high level of service. If you would like to give us another try we would give you a discount on your labor. Thank you for you feedback. Sincerely, Jean M Jones President
5.0

09/27/2016


Victoria F.

Lil' Brother Construction took care of several items around my house and they did a great job. I highly recommend Lil' Brother Construction and I will use them again. Lil' Brother fixed a broker electrical switch, fixed bulging siding, fixed sagging trim around an exterior garage door and tightened a loose garage keypad. Lil' Brother arrived timely and completed the work professionally and efficiently.

Description of Work
Miscellaneous items around the house.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your great response. Sincerely, Jean M Jones President
2.0

09/07/2016


Don H.

Never received a return e-mail nor was I contacted by anyone from the company regarding my request for work or estimate

Description of Work
Sent an e-mail to them requesting they contact me re: installation ofstorm door on my home.

Category handyman service, doors

1.0

08/17/2016


Shirley L B.

They were several hours late to the estimate and didn't call to notify me that they were going to be late.. They told me my support beams needed to be replaced and then eventually the entire deck needed to be replaced and it was not safe to use. They sent me an estimate and it was outrageous. They were not completely honest with me and thought they could take advantage of me.

Description of Work
I told them I wanted the stairs firmed up on my deck.

Category deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I personally did your estimate myself and than returned with my husband to get his input. Your railing and steps were unsafe to use and need fixed as soon as possible and structurally it should be replaced. We are Christian, and gave you our true assessment. I even told you it was a budget estimate and we would not go over that estimate and if we didn't need the time estimated we would only bill you the amount of time used on your job. I also gave you the option to make payments at no interest if you needed that option. We required no money down and you would not have had to pay anything until the work was completed. So I am not sure how you think we were trying to take advantage of you. I am sorry you feel we were. Sincerely, Jean M Jones President
5.0

04/22/2016


Crissanka C.

Fixed stuff around the house.

Description of Work
Variety of handyman needs around the house.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], It was a pleasure to work for you. We look forward to working with you in the future. Thank you, Jean M Jones President
4.0

03/17/2016


Sandra S.

They look great! The doors swing nicely and seal well. The landing is small, but beautiful. They even added an extra shelf on request so I can grill easily. I would definitely use their services again.

Description of Work
Steve & his crew built a new back landing & replaced both back doors on my home.

Category decks, doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your business. I would be interested in what you think we could do to improve our services. Please let us know how we can improve. Thank you. Jean M Jones President
4.0

03/02/2016


Vernon D.

It went alright for what they did. They straightened out a couple of doors I needed straightened. They were here February 10th of 2016. There were no additional costs. Their equipment broke down so they had to go to the hardware store to get the stuff to fix it.

Description of Work
He straightened a couple of doors for me.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for your business. Please let us know what you think we could do to improve our service. Thank you Jean M Jones President
5.0

01/20/2016


Emily S.

I contacted Lil Brother for help with an issue in my basement. They were extremely responsive and sent a well-seasoned employee to give me a bid within 24 hours of my call. He showed up on time and was very knowledgeable. We ended up being able to fix it ourselves so I didn't use them but will definitely do so in the future.

Description of Work
Gave me a bid on a project.

Category deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your review. We look forward to working with you in the future. Sincerely, Jean M Jones President Lil Brother Construction
5.0

01/06/2016


Chris M.

It went fine. There was a lot of addition charges from the $250. I thought they were extremely expensive. I had never hired anyone for carpentry and it was my mom's house. I had no idea on the price.

Description of Work
I used them for carpentry.

Category woodworking

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your review. We appreciate your trust. We look forward to working with you on any project you might have in the future. Thank you again, Jean M Jones Lil Brother Construction
5.0

12/04/2015


Betsy B.

I had a bedroom window that needed to be boarded due to be broken. There was a major winter storm coming later that day, and I wanted to make sure the window was protected from the snow. I called them at 9AM, got a call right back, and was told someone would come out that day. I had someone here by 3 PM. Due to the urgency of the issue, I was very pleased to get a quick response, and service the same day I called. They worked in a blizzard, cold, and dar, but got the job done! They were very professional and pleasant! The window is protected enough to get me through the winter-to have it replaced in the spring.

Description of Work
Boarded up a broken 2nd floor bedroom window.

Category handyman service, deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your review. We appreciate your trust and we look forward to working with you in the future. Thank you again, Jean M Jones President Lil Brother Construction
5.0

11/30/2015


Todd H.

It went really well. They did a great job. Steve Jones and Nephew are both very professional. Their work was very good and within the time frame. I will hire them again.

Description of Work
installed an exterior storm door and exterior door

Category doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your review. We appreciate your trust and we look forward to working with you in the future. Thank you again, Jean M Jones President Lil Brother Construction
5.0

10/02/2015


Sally R.

On time. Pleasent. Professional. Excellent. Wonderful experience.

Description of Work
Installed new lock and handle set. Installed screen door closures.

Category doors

5.0

09/20/2015


Chance M.

The worker arranged with my wife to come at a time during the workday. He was on time and it lasted about as long as he anticipated (hour and a half). Both toilets were fixed properly. Prices were as estimated and would definitely call on them again for handyman needs.

Description of Work
Fixed running toilets

Category handyman service, plumbing, deck cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    CPW and More LLC

    When you need a Pressure Washing that you can trust, call CPW and More LLC in Des Moines, Iowa and surrounding areas for all of your Pressure Washing needs. At CPW and More LLC we specialize in a variety of pressure washing services, including House Washing, Concrete Cleaning, Concrete Sealing, Soft Washing and Deck Cleaning Services. You'll know that you're in the right hands when you call the pressure washing service experts from CPW and More LLC in Des Moines, IA.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    HANSONS DRYWALL

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    A Complete Drywall Company

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    C118646
    Trade License Locale
    IA
    Trade License Authority
    Iowa: Contractors
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Anything from changing a light bulb to building a deck or remodeling your basement or bath. Just ask and I will tell you if we can do it or not.

    Services Not Offered

    Carpet (installation) Roofing Concrete Landscaping

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Lil' Brother Construction

    How is Lil' Brother Construction overall rated?

    Lil' Brother Construction is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Lil' Brother Construction open?

    Lil' Brother Construction is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Lil' Brother Construction provide

    Lil' Brother Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Lil' Brother Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, Lil' Brother Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does Lil' Brother Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Lil' Brother Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Lil' Brother Construction?

    Yes, Lil' Brother Construction offers warranties.

    What services does Lil' Brother Construction offer?

    Lil' Brother Construction offers the following services: Anything from changing a light bulb to building a deck or remodeling your basement or bath. Just ask and I will tell you if we can do it or not.

    Are there any services Lil' Brother Construction does not offer?

    Carpet (installation) Roofing Concrete Landscaping