Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

MidAmerica Basement Systems

4.5

(148) Verified Reviews

Founded 1989 • With Angi since June 2009

Licensed
Trade License Number
C096991
Trade License Locale
IA
Trade License Authority
Iowa: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
03/31/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

4525 Buckeye St

Davenport, IA 52802

http://www.midamericabasementsystems.com

Description

MidAmerica Basement Systems is your premier locally owned and operated company that specializes in foundation repair, basement waterproofing, crawl space repair, concrete leveling, and radon mitigation....

Verified Reviews

4.5

(148) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

108

4

13

3

9

2

8

1

10

Rating Details

Price

4.0

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.5

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.4

Read reviews by category

basement waterproofing (115)well & water pump repair (34)foundation repair (20)radon mitigation (7)mudjacking (4)basement remodeling (10)egress window (7)concrete repair (7)plumbers (6)water damage restoration (2)drain pipe installation (1)window replacement (1)
Showing 1-25 of 148 reviews
1.0

09/23/2021


Kendra F.

So disappointed with this company. I own a house for my daughter to live in while she is in college. The house is 5 hours from my residence. The house has been having water in the basement. I turned to Angi to get a reliable list of waterproofing companies. When MidAmerica Basement Systems called me to set up a time to give me a free quote, I was instructed I would need to be at the house. I let them know my situation of living 5 hours away and that my 21 year old daughter would be at the house and could FaceTime me during the appointment. This was not good enough as it is "company policy" to have the owner at the house. I spoke with the initial employee who wasn't willing or even tried to figure out a solution. Her solution was to send my call to the manager, who when answered acted like she had no idea why she was getting the call. I explained to her again that I lived 5 hours away and would not be able to be at the house, but we could use technology and I could FaceTime. This again was denied and a viable solution was not even talked about. Never did I feel they wanted my business or in any way were willing to work with me. I can't imagine I am the only one who does not live close and has had issues. It is 2021 and in the middle of a pandemic. Why FaceTime isn't an option is extremely frustrating and confusing. The customer service I received during this call by various levels of employees was also disheartening. I would never use them after this experience.

Description of Work
Waterproof basement

Category basement waterproofing

Work Completed On 09/23/2021

Service Provider Response

Kendi, We are so sorry to have disappointed you. The representative you spoke with is absolutely correct. It is our company'[Member Information Removed] policy to have the homeowner present for the inspection. The home owner is the only person legally authorized to make decisions on behalf of that property. We have 'made exceptions' in the past for tenants, and information and expectations do not get properly set, and people get upset. We really do try to provide a remarkable experience for our home owners. We will make ourselves available evenings and weekends to do the inspection at a time that is convenient for you to be there. Angi was absolutely correct to refer you to us. We are the best at addressing these concerns, so that you won't ever have to worry about them again. If you do decide you would want this level of service performed on the property you own, we are here for you. The MidAmerica Basement Systems Team
1.0

02/14/2021


Donita B.

Eric was to call, he never did. Eric was to explain his bid sheet, never done Ridiculous price

Description of Work
Foundation, stop sagging floors

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, foundation repair

Work Completed On 02/13/2021

1.0

09/11/2020


Barbara S.

Salesman that we were to replace dry wall. Later learned we were to have it removed. Attempts to reach supervisors and owners resulted in zero until time to do installation. Gave $1300+ down. Note: this went to the salesman, not to MABS. Then salesman stated $12,000 more if MABS removed the dry wall. Paid salesman and his friend to remove it but didn't do all of it! Sent certified letters to Cedar Rapids address after we got no verbal responses to phone calls. Later learned they receive no mail there, only in Davenport. Were to have GFI outlet placed at far end of basement. 3 electricians said not possible. Also discharge was to be underground to rear of yard which we thought meant to back! House sits on clay. Was to discharge under ground out 10 feet from house. Canceled installation and have found that other basement waterproofing companies do not require 2.5 feet of dry wall removed: only baseboard. Cost was same as MABS. Now we must pay to have drywall installed after the waterproofing is completed.

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing. In our opinion, the proposal was misrepresented.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/05/2020

5.0

09/29/2019


Geneva B.

Quality work with a lifetime guarantee on no cracks and a dry basement. I originally had a problem with the way an employee explained the warranty to me. She indicated that it was void because I had not contacted the company within 30 of my brother's death. However, a spokesperson from the company today told me that that was incorrect information. They are restoring the lifetime warranty in my name at no charge. I am pleased with how they handled my complaint.

Description of Work
Basement de-watering

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/02/2016

5.0

09/05/2019


Tracy F.

Pete Hensler and his crew were professional and courteous. They took time to answer questions we had throughout the process. They worked efficiently and left the area in pristine condition. Thanks, Pete and crew!

Description of Work
Installed piers to stabilize the corner of our home that was sinking.

Category foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/05/2019

2.0

08/06/2019


Traer M.

Semi competent unbelievably unreliable and totally inconsiderate of your time I contracted them to do waterproofing in my basement and install an egress window. The waterproofing was done in June and it did great keeping up with the +10" of rainfall we got a few weeks ago, so for that I am pleased and couldn't be happier with that part However, I was supposed to have the egress window installed Monday 9/17 and 9/18. On Thursday 9/13 I noticed the underground lines had not been marked yet so I called them to see if I needed to do that, they told me the foreman that does the egress windows had a medical emergency and they didn't know when he would be back but were getting someone else trained. She also told me she tried calling my home phone on the 11th but no one answered and she could not leave a voicemail, this I believe but she said she had my cell phone as a backup number why not call that? isn't that why they had the backup number? Now I see there was a guy that was getting concrete leveled 2 weeks ago but they had to back out because they claim the foreman for PolyLevel was injured and will be out 6-8 weeks. Either their stories reek of B.S. or this is a poorly ran company to have one guy cover egress windows and/or concrete leveling with absolutely no backups in as big of a service area as they advertise. The scheduler for egress offered to call me once a week to give me an update but judging by the other posts I shouldn't hold my breath. What's worse for them is I have 2 other services that could be done to my house, but as of now I won't even consider them. It's a shame how one bad experience can completely destroy a great one. I actually went with these guys over a lower bid for the same work because these people seemed more professional, I guess I was wrong. I hope I never have problems with my waterproofing systems because I can only imagine the nightmare these people are to work with

Description of Work
Egress Window

Category egress windows, basement waterproofing

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you are pleased with the quality of work that has been performed in your home. We appreciate the feedback on our scheduling dilemmas, and we are working to alleviate some of that pressure.
4.0

07/14/2019


Merlin D.

Great. Big project but Luis and crew were very good to work with. Plus they were very respectful and friendly.

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing, sump pump and dehumidifier installation

Category basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/13/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for providing feedback about your experience with our team. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can do, or if you know anyone else who needs our help.
5.0

07/01/2019


Karen T.

Everything went just as expected. Justin B initially came out and gave an estimate and then we had him back a few months later to make adjustments and ask more questions before making the deposit and setting up the date for the project. On the day of installation Justin B was in North Liberty, IA and stopped by to check on the crew's progress . The Foreman Oscar M & Assistant foreman Jaime M were great at explaining what they were going to do and the expectations and time frame. The finished job looks great . They cleaned up and left the area spotless. We are very happy at the way the project turned out.

Description of Work
Water was coming into the basement thru the window wells during heavy rainfalls or rapid snowmelt. We had basement waterproofing system put into the basement with 2 new basement windows and 4 new sunhouses (window wells).

Category basement waterproofing, wells

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/29/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for providing feedback about your experience with our company. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you! If there is anything else we can do, or if you know anyone else who could use our help, please don't hesitate to give us a call! Thank you again, The MidAmerica Basement Systems Team.
5.0

03/16/2019


Amanda M.

We had a few hiccups due to bad planning on the salesman's part, but the foreman Dillon and his crew were amazing. I am having them come back to install a second pump for our system. The foreman saved the day and went above and beyond the call of duty. I will recommend them in the future. It is worth every penny we spent on it.

Description of Work
Basement Waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2019

3.0

01/17/2019


Susan H.

If you have an emergency do not call this company. Contacted in September, consultant came first of Octoberand down payment for work was made. Mid- January and only half the job done. While Adao Natario was an excellent professional and did a great job sealing up the wall cracks in the basement,my disappointment with the Company in general is emense. Adao listened to my concerns and I’ll wait to see if the Company responds with appropriate work on the sump pump and discharge issue if they ever show up. Meanwhile, I am surrounded by water in the yard and just hope the sump pump in basement keeps working. Price below reflect only crack repair.

Description of Work
Repair basement cracks and install new sump pump and discharge line.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/16/2019

5.0

08/01/2018


Robin W.

It went real nice, quick and clean. They are real friendly. We are happy with them

Description of Work
They put tri-pump system

Category foundation repair

Cost $2,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for providing feedback about your experience with our company! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you, or anyone you refer us to! The MABS Team.
5.0

07/27/2018


Jeanette H.

Exceptional service, very professional, very knowledgeable and honest from the initial contact to finishing the job! Very impressed with this company! My basement now looks great as they sealed the cracks to reduce the radon levels and lined the walls.

Description of Work
Radon system and Radon Reduction

Category radon testing

Cost $4,769

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/27/2018

5.0

07/24/2018


Elaine L.

Their Polylevel product was used to raise/level 32 yr old concrete deck around pool. Cracks were also repaired and sealed. Looks terrific and no longer a tripping hazard for the grandchildren!

Description of Work
Repair of concrete decking

Category mudjacking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2018

1.0

02/25/2018


DYLAN D.

I bought my house without knowing there was waterproofing done by MidAmerica Basements. Therefore thought nothing about transferring a warranty to my name (my fault). I had to tear apart my basement because of their poor quality of work. The concrete they used on the job eroded away and caused a flaw in their system. After notifying them a couple times they would just try selling me stuff that would "fix" the issue. It took until the third time calling for them to realize it wasn't my basement that was the problem but their quality of work. The warranty claim department contacted me the following day and told me they would look into the issue and call me the next day. I revealed to them a couple times at this point that I never knew about any warranty needing to be transferred so therefore I never transfered it to my name and they told me okay. Several weeks of me calling them to get an answer on what they were going to do they told me they would send someone out August 19 of this year to resolve the problem under warranty. Thinking to myself great they are fixing their mistake. August 19th comes and 2 workers come in to scope out the situation to make repairs. They inform me that the whole water proofing system would need to be replaced because it's worse than what they thought. Once again I get asked if I transfered my warranty I tell them no and I ask if I'm going to have to pay out of pocket for this to be resolved. Their worker tells me "no it's written down as warranty work it'll be covered under warranty, don't worry". Once again great they will fix their problem. Yet again their warranty claims department was HORRIBLE to work with no calls back I have to call them several times a week to finally get an answer 3 weeks later that they would not resolve the issue because I never transfered the warranty. There are other companies my co workers have used that do water proofing in the quad cities I would give them a call before going to this one. Not only did they give me false hope their quality of work did not last and I had to tear apart my finished basement and will have to do repairs either myself or call in someone else. Them being so expensive I would think their work would hold up. This company is a joke to work with.

Description of Work
Fixing their mistake

Category basement waterproofing

Work Completed On 08/19/2017

Images

Review for MidAmerica Basement Systems - 4525 Buckeye St, Davenport, IA - 36859106

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We are sorry that your accounting of your experience with our company left you with a negative feeling. We will gladly assist you with your concerns, and have proposed solutions to get your system in order. We feel badly that when you purchased the home, nobody educated you about transferring your warranty, that's unfortunate. We understand your frustrations. I understand that you do not want to spend any money to get your system in order, and feel like you should not have to. That is your prerogative, and we respect that. The previous homeowner, who we did the installation for, had different goals for the space. That is nothing that you could control, and we understand that you had different expectations about what you were purchasing. At this point, we have proposed what we can do to help the situation, and none of those proposals have been what you want. We would like to make you happy, and have proposed everything in our power to do that. You have made that very clear, that none of those things are to your liking. If you someday, have a change of heart, we would love to help you with your basement concerns.
5.0

12/18/2017


Bruce B.

The job was completely professional from start to finish. They did an excellent job. It was a full-day job starting with putting down plastic to protect the floors. Then they jackhammered the periphery, laid Waterguard, a system to drain leakage, put rocks over it and cemented the floor back, placed a protective sheet over the walls for further leakage protection, and cleaned up completely. In the process the foreman discovered a breakage in our sewer pipe and also repaired that at no extra cost.

Description of Work
Complete waterproofing of the basement.

Category concrete repair, excavators, masonry, basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/13/2017

Images

Review for MidAmerica Basement Systems - 4525 Buckeye St, Davenport, IA - 36680608

+1 More

5.0

09/30/2017


Joseph J. L.

Met with salesman first. Everything was clearly explained. Honest, fair professional. Work crew arrived on time and was professional & friendly and performed the work per contract. Very satisfied.

Description of Work
Concrete driveway leveling.

Category concrete repair

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/16/2017

5.0

09/24/2017


Douglas S.

Tim the technician was early, did the inspection. Showed us how to check & change the filter on our system and then gave us an estimate on a dehumidifier for our whole house. Great job!

Description of Work
Annual inspection of our Sani-dry system in our crawlspace. Technicians also inspected the radon mitigation system.

Category radon testing, basement waterproofing

Cost $120

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2017

Service Provider Response

We're so pleased to hear that you had a great experience. Thank you for taking the time to provide us that feedback! The MidAmerica Basement Systems Team
5.0

09/20/2017


Lucy A.

We called our vendor because the equipment was not working. When the service man came out said couldn't be fixed. Installed a newer model. Was not a little less expensive than we thought - but the serviceman & product performed superiorly so was more than worth what we paid.

Description of Work
Company was called because or large dehumidifier / ASR filter wasn't working.

Category water damage restoration

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/13/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for providing feedback about your experience with our company. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can further help your or your friends and family. Thanks again, The MidAmerica Basement Systems Team.
5.0

09/07/2017


Thomas B.

No story just did a good job replacing pump

Description of Work
Replaced pump under warrenty

Category wells

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2017

5.0

08/07/2017


Beth R.

They were professional and on time. Clean up was good and radon level went from 1.5 to .006.

Description of Work
Reduce radon levels. Clean air machine.

Category radon testing

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for providing feedback about your experience with our company. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can further help your or your friends and family. Thanks again, The MidAmerica Basement Systems Team.
5.0

08/07/2017


Lora R.

The workers were on time and worked so efficiently, they finished a day and a half early! They cleaned up and explained every thing that they did to my basement.

Description of Work
Mid America braced my bowing basement walls and waterproofed my basement

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/03/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], So glad to hear that everything went well with your installation. Please let us know if you, or anyone you know, has any further concerns we can assist with. Thank you for the positive feedback. The MidAmerica Basement Systems Team
1.0

07/25/2017


Tom B.

After 2 days I was still getting water in my basement. I called Mid-American Basement Systems back and they sent someone just 8 days after they installed their drainage system and then tried to charge me a service fee which I refused to pay. I was then told that the water was not coming from my wall as they originally thought, it was coming from my air conditioner (I have since had the air conditioner fixed, it had a broken pan that allowed water to be dumped onto my floor}. I have called the Mid-American Basement systems I don't know how many times trying to get this resolved. They say they are transferring me to the service manager and I get hung up on. I will call back 4-5 times and the receptionist is always very apologetic but I still get hung up when she tries to transfer me. This has been going on since July. I was told a note would be put on the service manages desk, I waited 2 weeks for a call back and did not receive one. I started calling everyday again and got the same type of response, I will put a note on the service managers desk and I would get hung up when trying to be transferred. I finally did get a call back from the service manager who was pretty rude. She told me she had literally just been put in that job. She asked me what my issue was and I explained that I still had water coming in after they did their job because the water was not coming in where they told me it was. She then asked me what I think should be done. I told her that I should get my down payment back and that I should not have to pay anything. She told me that I signed a contract with them. I told her that the contract was from Mid-American Basement System because they told me that the water was coming in from my walls. As it was not coming from my walls, that means that they misdiagnosed the problem. She told me that she could not may a decision like this and she would need to speak to the owner, I asked if I could and she said he was on vacation. I have not heard back from them again in 2 weeks yet I did receive 2 more bills. I am hoping to talk to someone who can discuss why I was misdiagnosed and expected to pay for a service that was not needed. The picture is not a great quality picture but this was taken on July 11th 2017.

Description of Work
I had water coming into my basement. As I did not know how to fix it I called the experts at Mid-American Basement systems that I got off of a TV advertisement. I was told by Clayton at Mid-American Basement Systems that the water was coming in at 2 locations. I have a very large basement and asked that the quote be split into 2 separate quotes as I was going to have to tear apart my walls in the basement and did not have a lot of free time. I was told by Clayton that it could not be split up. I called the company and emailed them several times over the next few months before they sent Clayton back out and he broke my quote down into 2 sections. He did not go into my basement the second time as he said he already had the drawing and pictures from the first visit. I finally got the time to tear out the walls so the work could be done by that Mid-American Basement Systems stated needed done to stop the water from coming into my basement. They completed most of it within the day and they were going to come back and finish the rest because they didn't bring some tool they needed to finish the job of connecting to my sump pump and burying the line outside.

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair