Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Born Again Interiors

Founded 2001 • With Angi since April 2012

4.3

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

522 Highview drv.

Clinton, IA 52732

Description

Family owned and operated residential and light commercial, contracting and sub contracting services. Additional Services: Handymen. Hardwood Flooring Sales, Installation, Refinishing. Interior Design & Decorating. Painting - Interior. Remodeling - Basements. Remodeling - General. Remodeling -

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

06/30/2015


Dean K.

esInitially it started out well but as is typical in this industry, things start to fall off. He is able to do most phases of construction but prefers trimwork. The scope of work that we had didn't fit where he wanted to be. If it was a single job that he was being hired for, I think he would be good. He did good work but we do a lot of custom stuff and that throws our subs off sometimes. Super nice guy and I felt that he was trustworthy.

Description of Work
He worked for us as a sub-contractor on multiple jobs.

Category remodeling, woodworking

5.0

04/08/2015


Bradley W.

Sam was available fast (I called Friday, he came Monday), got the job done quickly and accurately, and cleaned up after himself when he left. He had to go buy a part, but even so had the job done within a couple of hours. Fan looks great and works perfectly. Have saved his number in case other jobs come up.

Description of Work
Replaced a ceiling fan that had fallen out of the ceiling with new; repaired wiring first.

Category remodeling, ceiling fans

4.0

04/03/2015


Victor E.

Sam worked in some of the worst weather of the winter and did everything it took to get the building up. The scope of the project increased from the time he quoted but he was fair in his requests for additional costs.

Description of Work
Erected a metal post building.

Category remodeling

1.0

12/30/2014


Gina A.

I thought because he received such good reviews on Angie's List, I was getting an honest contractor, but I was so wrong. I was asked for half the money up front in order to book the date for my job. I was received a date but was told 11 days before he was suppose to start the job would be delayed one week. These things happen but the new time frame became a problem with my work schedule. It was also at this point he told me that he only worked 6 hours a day and my project would take 3 weeks. There is no way this could be case because we had been told by two other contractors that this was a 2 week or less project. I asked him the charge for each item and he said he charges a flat rate of $500 per day. I tried to scale back the project due to my work schedule and he was upset by this because he "was counting on the money". He said, "I don't have $3000 laying around!" He became very inappropriate and unprofessional. He would not take into account that because he rescheduled, the scheduling issue was partially his fault. I tried to cancel and get a refund but he refused to give me a refund. There was no contract stipulating this or any mention of these terms when we made our oral agreement. I felt forced to proceed so I would not loose my $3000. Big mistake! He only worked 3 days and was not worth $500 a day. He was civil during the first two days and there were no issues and minimal conversation. The quality of the work became an increasing concern. On the third day, he barged into my kitchen without saying a word and put a bill down on a package of food I had been preparing. I was there with my children. He then said I owed him more money and the payment was due the next day. He still had my deposit of $3000 and had only worked 3 days and spent $300 on materials. He said I owed $1000 for a week of work! Then he said his work week was Monday to Thursday, so he could look for more work on Friday. This was just crazy! How could I owe him if he still has my deposit. He said he was expecting the total of $6000, because now he will be charging $1000 per week. I tried to tell him again that we didn't have time for the complete project because he rescheduled. I did not want to have a negative conversation in front of my children so I told him we would talk tomorrow. He said that I could wash my hands and talk to him downstairs now. He started walking around and went into my sunroom next to the kitchen. It was evident that I was dealing with someone who had serious issues and my main goal was to get him out of the house and away from my family. I was able to convince him that we could talk tomorrow. He finally agreed and left. There was no way I was letting him back in my house! I sent a very professional email asking him not to return. I didn't realize his tools were still in the house and he came back and made a scene and the police were called because I would not let him in without my husband being there. This was the most bizarre experience I have ever had. Please use caution with this man, the other reviews are really good, so I don't know why he tried to cheat me and behaved so inappropriately. Know your terms up front, especially when it comes to deposits and make sure you have a contract. He uses the guise of being a Christian, but clearly this is not the case.

Description of Work
Completed: Installed a partial wall, Moved location of closet opening and reinstalled a smaller door, Removed door and widen the entry. The quality was very poor. We fired him before the entire job was completed.

Category closet systems, remodeling, home remodeling, doors, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Im Sorry for (Member name removed) experience. Unfortunately all our issues are a matter of impression and perspective. Although I refuse to publicly bash (Member name removed). I will say that her issues were all caused by her and she told me at the estimte meeting that they have had multiple contractors do previous work and leave work undone witch was part of the project I was hired for. Clearly there are some underlining issues with her and Contractors and I was lucky enouph to fall into her melting pot of "bad contractors" This experience is exactly why I charge a half down deposite so I am not left with expenses and unscheduled workless days as a result.
3.0

10/15/2014


Vicky T.

Description of Work
Demo drop ceiling, paneling, carpet, old bathroom. Replace with drywall, laminate floors, new doors, new bathroom fixtures. Had issues with drywall installation. He brought in someone else to paint and that person was very sloppy. I did a lot of repainting, touching up, scrubbing paint off brick, etc. I was paying him to do that. He seemed to feel that he couldn't work past 1pm except for about 3 days. He told me he worked Mon-Thurs, which was fine. One Thursday he just didn't show up and when he didn't show up the following Mon, I called and he said he took a long weekend but couldn't be bothered to tell me he wouldn't be there. The project was several weeks behind schedule, some of it due to waiting for materials, which was not his fault, some of it due to his only working half days. The finishing touches were sloppy. Dented a brand new steel door upon installation. I had to fill in a lot of the nails holes on the new trim and repaint. Sam is a nice guy and the major work seemed to be done correctly (except for the drywall issues) but I would not use him again.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your experience. i would like to defend myself a little though. first the issue of how long i work in any given day. i understand how any client might be deceived on my work schedule. I average 6 to 7 hours per day on the job site itself and note i take no lunch or breaks. Also just because i'm not on the site does not mean i am not working. i usually have to visit the lumberyard daily for supplies to use the next day. I also attend meetings with new and existing clients. Also allot of the time i am spraying trim and doors at my shop for the projects. which on your job i was spraying well into midnight on a couple of nights. As far as nail holes and touch up paint on the trim, i was told by you that you wanted to take care of that yourself over the weekends. I have learned from this experience to get any decisions like that in writing to help keep everyone honest. You also mentioned that i dented a door upon installation. I'm afraid i have no knowledge of any dents in any doors and considering i painted them all i believe i would of noticed a dent. Unfortunately nothing was ever brought to my attention while i was on the project so i cant confirm or deny any dent even exists. Also there were other crews on the site working on the deck and plumbing which also could have been responsible for any damage. To claim the job was behind schedule is a misleading statement and i don't feel like my work was behind at all. All the delays came from all the different special order items and indecision on finishes that should have been decided upon and ordered by you and your designer before i reached the point of install.a few examples of this includes door style, shower base and surround, trim and base style and finish... also the fireplace mantel which your designer was going to supply and didn't. I was more then happy to help you with these, but to not consider all this in your review is very misleading. I normally work alone i chose to keep my business small and personal which ultimately produces a slower turn out and lower overhead which also passes a lower price along to the customer. At our initial meeting this was brought to your attention and i believe you said this was why you chose me for the job. So Again thank you for your business and i wish all the best to you. Sam
4.0

08/07/2014


Diana F.

Category remodeling

5.0

07/03/2014


Peter C.

Description of Work
Sam was excellent! Professional, courteous, true to his word in all aspects of the project. He handled the "general contractor" role. He also did the framing, drywall, finish carpentry, and painting for us. I would definitely use him again as he proved to be very trustworthy, honest, and professional.

Category remodeling

5.0

11/16/2013


Michael M.

Called him and he arrived at our home the same day and provided an esimate. The work was agreeded upon and a time scheduled for the installation. Showed up exactly when he said he would and performed the installation expertly. Would not hesitate to call him again.

Description of Work
He installed a door in a doorway that had never previously had one.

Category handyman service, greenhouses, doors

5.0

09/28/2012


Marie S.

I am a widow & can no longer do major projects myself. Overall I highly recommend Sam & will call him again if any other project crops up. He is patient with a capital P! Efficient, kind ,caring,courteous, very reasonable , very good at problem solving. He took pictures of before and after. I am very happy with the end results. Now there will be no more rain & snow blowing across, No more ice puddles forming at the door. No more bats, raccoons ( yes we found a pair nesting inside the damaged soffit), bees, mosquitos, flies, or gnats to bother you and the house will be warmer. Pure heaven!

Description of Work
First I found him on angieslist. Then emailed him. He called & came out to discuss & measure the area to be worked. In fact he personally came out on more than one occasion to discuss various matters I had in mind. We decided the best way to resolve eliminating my bat problem would be to simply enclose the breezeway. My husband had built the breezeway by simply setting a roof between the house & garage. The contractor installed storm windows & an access door on each end, repaired a water leak in my soffit & gave advice on how to resolve my existing gutter problem. He even went beyond the job & repaired a broken door latch into the garage. He said the work could take two to three days but he finished in less than two days. By himself with no helpers. Highly recommend! He was clean & neat always cleaning up the worksite at the end of the day.

Category decks, remodeling, replacement windows, doors

5.0

08/20/2012


Laura I.

Sam was great to work with. He was efficient, conscientious, and careful. We had him come back a second time to do some additional work for us. All work was done very well and looks great!

Description of Work
First, he met with us to review and discuss what we wanted, share some suggestions, and provide quotes. He helped secure and install some downspouts, repaired and installed deck supports, replaced garage door framing, and replaced some wood siding on the front of the house.

Category decks, picture framing, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking

5.0

08/19/2012


Connie W.

Excellent - easy to do business with and very dependable. Quality of work is 100% plus very reasonable charges. Follow ups to make sure the customer is satisfied! Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Replaced outside Iron Railings of Home. Honest worker, excellent quality and on time!

Category remodeling, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, doors

5.0

06/26/2012


Louise P.

We began to prepare to lift our house in May, 2011, put in a new basement and add an addition while also gutting the entire first floor and the second floor bathroom of our 100 year old farmhouse. Sam started by repairing sill so the house could be lifted and has helped gut, move walls, build the addition, add new walls, windows, doors, a wood burning fireplace, and so much more. Due to circumstances beyond our control, Sam ended up doing the majority of the building by himself including framing in the entire basement, addition and all structural changes. We ended up replacing the sill around the entire house, insulating, residing, and rewiring everything. Sam has done almost all of the carpentry and finish work of trimming it out. He has always been prompt and pleasant to work with. He listens to what you want and works with you to accomplish things and does not get upset over the constant changes that are an inevitable part of working with an old house and finding all the "patch jobs" and mistakes of former owners or workmen.He has even built pieces entirely from scratch such as my cedar lined window seat and a clothes chute between floors from scratch with no specific plans, but just an idea from my head. He widened all of our doors and helped us to make our entire first floor and basement handicapped accessible. We replaced every door in the house, all the cabinets, reconfigured floor plans, changed floor coverings and moved windows and closets. Sam has worked very well with all the other contractors who came in to do wiring, plumbing, tiling, cabinets and landscaping. He even did the computer work to come up with floor plans when we only had my hand drawn pictures of what i wanted. We are not finished yet and he is still trimming out the final rooms and his finish work is excellent.

Description of Work
We lifted our 2600 square foot home, added another 1400 square feet of Kitchen/Great Room with a bedroom above it, added a new basement under it all, plus gutted and remodeled the entire first floor and second floor bathroom. Also added a wood burning fireplace.

Category contractors, closet systems, picture framing, remodeling, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Bath Planet of Quad Cities

    Bath Planet has been offering customers an affordable, attractive, and custom-designed alternative to costly bathroom remodels since 1999. For over two decades, Bath Planet has been putting its expertise to work creating spa-like retreats with durable, custom-fabricated products backed by Good Housekeeping. Bath Planet’s expertly trained local team of consultants, designers, and installers work with you from concept and design through installation to guarantee you get the bathroom of your dreams at an affordable price. Contact Bath Planet to schedule an appointment today!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Midwest Homes Services

    Midwest Homes Services is proud to offer a revolutionary, self bathing system that will change the way that seniors bathe themselves in the comfort of their own home. Our revolutionary hydrotherapy walk in spa tub/ walk in shower takes the place of your old bathtub and helps to relieve various ailments you deal with day to day while also helping you to live in your home for as long as possible so you can continue to live your life on your own terms. Reach out today to schedule your, free quote. Also, ask about our Angi's discount and financing.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Green Valley Roofing Siding Windows

    Green Valley has been a full service Roofing & Siding Contractor in the Quad Cities since 2001. We've grown steadily, due largely to the fact that customers have been extremely generous in recommending Green Valley to friends and neighbors. Today, we serve the entire Mississippi Valley region around the Quad Cities, with satisfied customers in Bettendorf, Davenport, Moline, Rock Island, and nearly every nearby town, from Aledo to Muscatine, Milan to Clinton, and beyond. Aside from nearly all Roofing imaginable, we install Siding, Windows, Patio Doors, Gutters, and Gutter Guards. We also tuck-point chimneys and other brickwork above the roof line. We're 100% locally owned and operated, with some of the most stringent training requirements of any contractor in the region. That allows us to maintain a high level of quality in our work as well as ensure the most efficient processes and techniques in the industry. If you have any questions about roofing, siding, windows or gutters, feel free to contact us from our site, message us on Facebook, or give us a call! Locally owned & operated. Additional DBA - Green Valley Construction, Inc. Also serving Des Moines, & portions of Jones, Louisa, Washington, Bureau, Carroll, Henderson, Jo Daviess, Kendall, Knox, Lee, Macoupin, Randolph, Stark, & Warren Counties.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Builders - Garages, Barns, Sheds. Builders - Homes. Cabinet Making. Cabinet Refacing, Restoration. Carpentry - Unfinished. Carpentry - Woodworking. Ceiling Fans. Ceramic Tile. Closets. Countertops. Decks & Porches. Doors. Fencing. Framing. Furniture - Custom Made. Furniture - Refinishing & Repair. Garage Doors. Greenhouses, Nurseries.

    Services Not Offered

    Sorry we do not offer any electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or roofing services we believe in achieving excellence and rely on the professionals in these fields for there expertise.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Born Again Interiors

    How is Born Again Interiors overall rated?

    Born Again Interiors is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Born Again Interiors open?

    Born Again Interiors is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Born Again Interiors provide

    Born Again Interiors accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Born Again Interiors offer free estimates?

    No, Born Again Interiors does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Born Again Interiors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Born Again Interiors does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Born Again Interiors offer a senior discount?

    No, Born Again Interiors does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Born Again Interiors?

    No, Born Again Interiors does not offer warranties.

    What services does Born Again Interiors offer?

    Born Again Interiors offers the following services: Builders - Garages, Barns, Sheds. Builders - Homes. Cabinet Making. Cabinet Refacing, Restoration. Carpentry - Unfinished. Carpentry - Woodworking. Ceiling Fans. Ceramic Tile. Closets. Countertops. Decks & Porches. Doors. Fencing. Framing. Furniture - Custom Made. Furniture - Refinishing & Repair. Garage Doors. Greenhouses, Nurseries.

    Are there any services Born Again Interiors does not offer?

    Sorry we do not offer any electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or roofing services we believe in achieving excellence and rely on the professionals in these fields for there expertise.