Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

EJS Roofing LLC

Founded 1995 • With Angi since July 2010

4.6

(87) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3206 Prairie Dr NE

Cedar Rapids, IA 52402

Description

At EJs Roofing, you are going to get a company that is licensed, insured, and experienced. We are focused on providing you with quality service at an affordable price. From offering manufacturer warranties to backing up all of our work with a 100% workmanship guarantee, you can rest assured that we

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

02/02/2016


Adam V.

The initial contact was good and the price was fair. So they started the work and replaced the flat roof which went well. Then when they started on the chimney they found they would need to remove some of the roof to access everything which would be some additional cost. I agreed to this and they started the work but then there were delays and communication issues for over 2 months. They ended up not completing the job and leaving me high and dry to complete it myself.

Description of Work
They gave me a bid for doing some tuck-pointing on a chimney and replacing a flat roof.

Category masonry, roofing

Service Provider Response

I apologize this is very unlikely my company. We recently had made changes and our company suffered because of it. We are under new management and new staff and hopefully all our customers notice that we are back to being the local roofing company you can depend on. I apologize about your bad experience and hope if in the future you will allow us to service your needs once again.
1.0

12/01/2015


Caroline J.

I contacted EJS Roofing for a quote to repair a cracked soffit. Fifteen minutes after the appointment was supposed to start I received a call to reschedule the appointment. I had taken the morning off work for the appointment. The person I spoke with agreed to come to the house that evening for the quote. He did and he gave us a reasonable quote. Because the job was small, they were going to fit us in between other jobs and couldn't give us an exact date for the work to be done. That was fine. We signed the agreement and they said they would be in touch. A few weeks later we got a call and the work was scheduled for Friday, October 16th. On the 16th I received a call stating that they were behind on a different job, and could they come out the next day. I said that was fine. Saturday came and went and I heard nothing. Giving them the benefit of the doubt (maybe he meant the the next business day) I waited until Monday to get in touch. I left a voice message. I never heard back. We were in the process of selling our house and a cracked soffit isn't super desireable during inspections. We had hoped to get the work done before the inspection. Everything worked out fine in the end and the buyer took a credit, but the fact that I never heard back from this company is ridiculous. I realize the job was small, but that was no excuse for agreeing to do the work and never following through.

Description of Work
Nothing.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Again we attempted to try to change the way our company serviced our customers and it obviously did not go over well. All I can say is we apologize and are being owner managed and back to the company thay many grew to trust and depend on for there roofing needs.
1.0

11/03/2015


Lorri J.

Roof now leaks. Company seems to be out of business. Phone is DISCONNECTED. No response to emails or Facebook

Description of Work
Put on a complete new roof in Dec 2013. Roof is now leaking and the company appears to be OUT OF BUSINESS. Phone is disconnected.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry we were making changes to better our company and the way we service our customers. You can reach us on Facebook and by email ejsroofing@aol.com our number 319 241 4191. We went with new phone company and could not keep number we do apologize for any inconvenience we are not out of business and feel free to contact me personally. Or tomorrow I will try to reach out to you. As always we stand behind our roofs our warranties and will be around for a very long time. Again I apologize for any inconvenience and our crews have always will be out servicing our custoners. Unfortunately this issue is our falt but please understand our company had to go thru these changes in order to continue to offer our custoners the quality and experties they have grown to expect
1.0

11/02/2015


Deb B.

They called to schedule a date four times ... and were flat-out no-shows all four. I'd call/email when they didn't arrive on scheduled date, would be ignored, they'd call, set a new date ... and didn't show again. Four times over six weeks. My husband tried to track them down, but their "office" was a burnt-out residential home. The fire had melted the siding of the neighboring house - my husband spoke to the neighbor (who happened to be outside), who said EJS had made no gesture toward taking responsibility for the damage. And with the neighbor saying, quote: "If I had a good reason to hit that guy in the face [meaning, my husband presumed, the owner], I would." Very disappointed. This company was supposed to be the best. And again, the estimate was very thorough - had every confidence in their ability and intention. If only they had actually shown up. Four times. Did I say four? Four times.

Description of Work
EJS made a very thorough inspection of the roof, giving what stills seems to have been a fair estimate.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

I apologize for this and would be happy to restimate with deep discounts and my word that this will not happen again. We have gone thru some changes in our staff and management. Attention to our customersband quality as well as customer service suffered surfing this time. I do appologize andvtheres no exscuse. I only hope that customers understand that these kind of reviews are not typical of my company and are exactly why we made the changes we made. Quite frankly we tried to do too much for too many with a staff that clearly didn't reflect our company goals. Hope that in the future you will gives a call and let us show you we are back to being the company folks called for all there roofing needs. I'm sorry for those that were effected during this transition
3.0

10/23/2015


Mark T.

I called the company in August, left a message, and recieved no reply. I Called again in October and they came out the next day. The main problem was that they overestimated the area of my roof. I have a 28 square roof (2800 square-feet). They said i have a 35 and one-third square roof. Companies charge between $200 and $300 per square, so this is a large difference. I went with Affordable Pro Roofing which used 31 squares (28 squares + 10% waste) at a cost of $6000, which was $2000 less than EJs estimate.

Description of Work
They provided an estimate for my roof. The usual services estimated were 1-layer tearoff, 6 feet ice barrier, felt underlayment, ridge vent, gutter cleaning, and cleanup. The worker took over 1 hour to measure the roof and write up the estimate.

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

Service Provider Response

I will look into this. We are always striving to provide quality with affordability
5.0

07/21/2015


Lin K.

This is a very professional organization.

Description of Work
Provided an estimate of roofing services.

Category roofing

5.0

07/17/2015


brent C.

Ed was very easy to communicate with. He returned calls and e-mails promptly. Came out and did the estimate. EJS was actually not the lowest bid but I really liked that Ed contacted me a few days later to follow up. No one else did that. As soon as we had financing secured Ed sent his crew out the next day. The guys were fast and efficient. They showed up about 7:30 Wednesday morning and didn't leave until 8 that night. The next day they showed back up at 8:00 in the morning and finished shortly after noon. They did a good job with the clean up. I will definitely recommend them to anyone who asks.

Description of Work
Replaced roof on both house and detached garage. Complete tear off on both.

Category roofing

5.0

06/30/2015


Cathy T.

They did a great job. The lead person took lots of time to answer any and all of my questions while going over the estimate and during construction. I was never pressured to make a decision on materials or to hire them for the project. Only took 1-1/2 days for the entire project. They were always courteous and friendly and worked very well together as a team. The finished roof looks really nice. They had huge dropcloths to help catch the old roof material, besides the dumpster, and removed the debris from each area as they finished with it. The clean up was awesome. Haven't found any stray nails at all. I would definitely recommend them for any roofing needs.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced old shingles, etc and replaced some of the plywood on house and garage. Also installed a roofing material for roofs with a low incline over the addition in back. Installed a vent running across the peak of the roof, new drip edges and reset gutters.

Category roofing

5.0

06/09/2015


Lloyd F.

Responded promptly to: Request for estimate, to starting job, to completing the job. Said what they would do, when they could do it, what it would cost and then they did itl

Description of Work
Reroof our home.

Category roofing

2.0

05/03/2015


Brandon G.

Everything seemed to go really great with EJS. I did originally have our appointment scheduled for Monday of this last week, bit they weren't able to show. The owner Ed reached out to me with a reschedule, and we got it done. Thursday all the workers showed up right on time, and got right to work. They finished in mostly one day and the quality was fantastic. They came back to clean up the next morning and the property was spotless. Amendment to my previous review: Since July I have been trying to reach EJS roofing regarding my warranty that I was supposed to receive for my roof after purchase. For the first 3 months of contact I got no answer on their phone. October rolls around and I finally get an answer on the phone. This person seems less than interested to speak with me, and tells me that they'll look into the issue. Assured that it would be taken care of, I wait another month, and nothing happens. I then contact EJS again, and get Ed the owner, who tells me to send him an email with my information, and that he'll look into it and get back to me. I emailed him my info, and he asks me to send him a receipt. I inform him that I have no receipt because I've misplaced it, and he tells me that he can't refund my warranty that I paid for that he couldn't fulfill because I don't have receipt. I informed him once more that I didn't have a receipt, and informed him of what I paid for the warranty. He then wrote a very rude email back saying that they had a total loss, and that walmart wouldn't give you a new receipt if you lost it. He agreed to refund my money if I gave him my information, and it remains to be seen if this will happen. I have to say I'm disappointed, and that first impressions aren't everything with this company. Buyer beware.

Description of Work
Replaced roof on my house.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve and scheduling is something we are adressing
5.0

04/20/2015


Amy A.

They did a nice job keeping in contact with me and explaining everything to me. Yes the estimate went up, but they had no idea what was under the shingles.

Description of Work
They put new boards and a new roof on.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post. Yes bid from time to time goes if there is unforseen damaged decking. We try to be up front with bids at all times and put cost of unforseen decking in our estimate. again hope you are pleased with work we have done
1.0

01/07/2015


Pawel K.

I called EJS for a roof maintenance appointment which was scheduled for the end of the week. When the estimator failed to arrive during the scheduled time, I called the office. The office person/manager told me that the estimator would not be showing up because of a personal matter so we'd have to reschedule for the following week. At least give me courtesy call to tell me that this person won?t be able to make it, I did take time off of work to make this appointment. Fortunately the owner was able to show up a couple hours later to provide me with the info needed. I did end up hiring EJS after obtaining a few quotes, they weren't the highest price nor the lowest. As for the repair, it seems like it was a job well done but there hasn't been any rain nor thaw to determine if it done correctly. I received their bill in the mail; it was a little higher than what was quoted because of some extra material. Their contract stated that there may be additional costs due to roofing repair parts like wood, nails, etc. Called and paid the bill over the phone with my CC and the person said that the receipt will be mailed out. Received the receipt and noted there was +6% fee to use my card. No one told me that there would be an extra fee for using a card and there wasn't anything stated when I signed the contract that one would be charged one. I reached out to the owner who said he'll look into it, it took a few emails before he actually had someone tell me that it their standard process to charge a fee to use credit card. Being that I wasn't informed about a supercharge and it clearly states in VISA's policy that "customers must be told about the fee in advance". I told the office manager that I would be doing a charge-back with my CC for the $69.00 fee. The office manger threatened me that if I did do a charge-back for the fee my entire bill of $1200 would be refunded and a lien would be placed on my home, She also mentioned that I would be responsible for any interest and court fees. I emailed the owner after this response and received the same type of treatment. Here are his words; "Not threatening if any part of payment not received we lean. Childish would be to keep on with this conversation no one made you pay with credit card and no one can force us to accept them. We don't charge you a fee your credit card company does we do not get money your card company charges fees to let you use card to pay bills. I think you are assuming we some how benefit from this fee we do not. Just a middle man on fees you card charges to run your card. Do you honestly think company's should pay for the luxury of you using a credit card? Good day sir we have spent all the time we are going to. If they take funds back we will lean the fees are an administrative fee for us doing the work. Posted in our office you chose to pay over the phone and could not see posted sign" No one at EJS told me about this fee when they decided to run my credit card. I wasn't in your office to read your posted sign, you came to my home and that's where the contract was signed, there was no mention of a fee on the contract. Some words of advice for the employee and owner that I dealt with. Don?t threaten people with liens when there was clearly a mistake made, make it right not wrong by damaging you reputation. If you think using a credit card is a luxury and you feel you're being taken advantage of then please don't accept them If you do, let your customers know that they'll incur a fee, don?t expect that they?ll see a sign in your office when they call in a payment. Unfortunately, I do not recommend this bullying business and highly suggest you do the same.

Description of Work
Fixed a leaking roof above garage.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Simply put we offered to reverse charges and allow him to pay in some other way. Most company's there is an administrative fee. To be honest in most cases at most merchants there is this fee. The fee is what the credit card company's charge merchants to let you use a credit card. Most company's including mine don't make any money on fees associated with running a card we off that ability to use a card to give our customers another way to pay. I wish he would of spent two pages explaining the most technical part of roofing is repairs and the skill and knowledge it takes to diagnose and fix a issue on a roof we did not install. So much so that most company's don't do repairs or tell you there schedule is full. In this case we got it dead on and fixed first time very affordable. We offered this gentleman to refund him and allowed him to pay in different manor. He did not. I wish credit card company's were not so greedy and were up front with there customers so that we don't get reviews like this were the cc company's fees have out shine the wonderful work we have done here. Thank you- Ed Schroder
5.0

12/30/2014


Kathy T.

The roof doesnt leak anymore so Im pleased. I was getting rather frustrated though because it took awhile before they got to us. I almost said forget it, but didnt because EJS was the only company that actually showed up to give a quote. Once they got us on the schedule though, they showed up on time, completed the job quickly and cleaned up well after. I did feel the cost was slightly on the high side for what was needed, but to be fair, i'm pretty naive about roofing costs and really have nothing to compare it to. Like I said, I couldn't get anyone else to come out even to do a quote. Happy overall.

Description of Work
Fixed roof/chimney leak

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Many company's will not even perform repairs. Hope next time we can get to you sooner. We take on as many repairs as we can each year to help as many customers as we can and to save them the cost of full replacement. Repair take a well skill technician to complete properly. Many company's won't take the risk of liability if they find they don't know what the problem is or how to fix. We will look into our scheduling process and see if we can make some changes to allow us to get to repairs more quickly
4.0

07/22/2014


Van F.

His staff was good. The price was fine. Quality of work was good. Responsiveness was good. They get right into it.

Description of Work
They took the overhang and put the new gutter on.

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post. As always we are strive to make the changes in staff and product to offer the very best of both. We hope as these changes are implemented that the great quality and service EJS Roofing is known for remained at a high level.
4.0

06/13/2014


Cindy N.

They did a good job. They came out pretty much when they say they would and they did get it done. I found them from Angie's List and they have a lot of good reviews but the thing that I didn't like was he said that it would only take like a day or two and it sounds like he didn't communicate well. The first time I called they didn't call me back and I tried to contacted them through the e-mail from Angie's List and the owner that comes checked that out really quick. So he came, he check and saw that I e-mailed and I talked to one of his workers between that. He got right back to me as soon as he got involved. He got the estimate and we talked about the job. They came out here and they ended up working week and what it sounds like was however he delegated the job, he didn't delegate enough people for the job that needed to get done. It rained when they are in the middle of working and they covered my porch roof but it leaked a little bit. It didn't turn out that anything was really injured, they really felt sorry about that and offered to do anything that I needed to to make it right. I got my job done and got it done well but there were definitely some glitches. They cleaned up nicely. The employees were nice and the employee that was on site felt terrible, he felt that it was taking so long for it to go through, he felt that he must calculated and I guess what happened was he had ordered the roofing for the porch and it was suppose to be delivered but our delivery time was off. He felt like it can get it done before the rain comes but then because it wasn't delivered on time he was not able to do that and got into trouble. Then the owner came out to find out what was going on, he's going 'Oh my God, we really didn't put enough people on this job which the guy actually out here didn't say all along', but generally they were professional group and they know what they were doing.

Description of Work
They totally roofed my house and they took down an old chimney.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

This was a project we took and i personally wanted to take a hand in because of the fact we didn't respond to angies list customer as quickly as we would of like to. This project was a large very steep old roof project three stories in the air. That being said we did take a day or two longer which i always would rather do then rush a project like this one. Im not sure owner realized how difficult a project this was as we tend to make it look easy. We do always intend on keeping our start date and our end date. Im not sure the quote of " oh my god" is quite accurate as i rarely use the word God in such a manner. This owner does have it right in the fact that looking back after completing this job because of the distance from our material providers and additional staff we should of had one or two more guys on the job to help meet the dead line we set. The foreman on this job responsible for tearing off our customers porch with rain in the forecast and our nearest provider an hour away is no longer with us. We offered to hire a contractor or replace any and all damage as she saw fit. Asked for appointment and never was granted one to see were it leaked and what damage she may have. This foremans dismissal as well as others along with the hiring of quality workers i hope will prepare us for the future in a better way. Our customers property and the roof system along with all we offer in our estimates is always our number one priority. I hope over all this customer is happy with her new roof as i personally think old Victorian style roofs when complete are a beautiful site.
2.0

05/14/2014


Mei Fang Z.

The estimator was friendly, though the two-week lead time was more than what we wanted. I was quoted O.C. 50-year shingles for a bit less than other companies quoted me for 30-year off-brand shingles. I stayed home to keep an eye on the progress. It was done in one day an looked great to the unkeen eye. The problems were either covered or not noticeable until on the roof. The ice dam was not up to code and the step-flashing was incorrect and exposed nails were not sealed. I fixed the step-flashing myself (out-of-pocket) and the roofing crew came back days later to fix their other problems. After the second trip, they still didn't fix everything, so they had to come a third time. A lot of headache and the owners genuinely seem to care, but they hired one heck of a tool who knew less about roofing than me.

Description of Work
Complete tear-off and re-roof of our house, estimated at 21 sq.

Category roofing, roof snow removal

Service Provider Response

Yes unfortunetly the crew on that job that day was not at its best. They were terminated from EJS Roofing imediately after this job was complete. We hold our company and workers to a very high standard the way we do this and as we did on this piticuler job is as follows; First same day they were done myself the owner was out to inspect and to speak with customer on how he felt the project went. He was unsure about if my crew did infact cut corners at this point he had not been on his roof yet. We imediately call the forman to the job and discovered he had only used one row of ice and water. Were this piticuler job required two. A common mistake but one we pride ourselves on not making. We had rain coming in and were not able to tear off and add second row of ice and water barrier imediately or as quickly as we were on top of situation. It was our company thru inspection varified that it was in need of second row of ice and water berrior. And to my knowledge [member name removed] was not out of pocket any money, i instructed same day job was finished to purchace more material tear off what needed to install proper amount of ice berrior. My point is only this...this peticuler crew made a bad judgement call this soffit was long enuff it could of called for second row giving him six feet and our crew without question should of gotten it right first time. Had there not been chances of rain we would have had them back the same day they completed job to fix this error. So next available day they were on it. And stayed on it till it was done to our standards and the owners.I even instructed my guys to work on sat or sunday as job was completed on friday. The owners said no they did not want to disturb nieghbors on weekend or this problem would of been solved next morning. So we are all clear, Ice and water berrior is to be installed so that it extends two feet past your exterior wall. So if your soffet is only 6-12 inches one coarse will be enuff. My point is that theres not a broad stroke rule besides the one i just stated that applies to all roofs or sections of roofs. Some get 9 feet (3 rows) Some get 1 row (3 feet). Thats why we spend alot of time training our staff and forman to make the right call in these situations. The owner allerted us to the fact that our forman may have made a mistake and owner and estimator without hesitation made sure it was corrected. This forman and crew was terminated, as we hate to eliminate jobs, this lack of good judgment can not be tolerated. This forman had worked on many of the jobs that are rated A on this angies list. So he was skilled but made a bad call. All the same we took swift action to see that it was handled correctly to owners satisfaction and ours as soon as wether permitted. Crew members make mistakes from time to time. That is why at ejs roofing there are safety nets in place to catch these mistakes such as owner inspection after complete and communicationg with home owners to understand if all was to there liking. This is why two hours after complete i was inspecting job site and talking to owner. We didnt need to be called or chased down or any of those other horror storys you hear about when a roofing company makes a mistake. As this owner knows and probabley why he hired us we have one of the best workmanship warrantys in the industry to protect our customers and allow them comfort in the fact that we will not only stand behind roof with initial problem but A FULL TEN YEARS 100% will come back and stand behind our roof with a warranty that cost the customers no additional costs. Along with a full 100% warranty on material thats a full 50 years non prorate 100% coverage. If we were not dedicated to our customers we would not back our roof systems with the best warrantys out there. At no additional cost were other companys charge near 500.00. All these warrantys to protect our customers in the rare instance our crew makes a mistake. In addition we were lowest bid with best warrantys he could obtain. We are also a preferred contractor with a nation wide come name Owens Corning which we have standards to meet with them as well. I do understand this customers frustration in it not being done right the first time. I only hope he reflects back and knows that once a mistake is made the true test of a company is what they do at that point. Do they make exscuses or apologize and immediately try to correct the problem and continue on it untill we meet that goal. I wish this job and every job 100% of the time went perfectly. Believe it or not that is what we strive for. Once in awhile do we fall short of that goal..yes. When this rare time surfaces you will always see my staff no questions asked front and center to correct the problem to our customers satisfaction. I will be contacting this customer as part of our follow up process and refund any money this gentleman spent as we were not aware he purchaced anything for this job. Also we invoice our roofs as well. this gave our customer as much time as he needed to decide that he would pay and that we gave him all that we agreed to. Then he sent us a check. All our roof systems are designed from the first phone call to many years later to put our customers in a protected situation that they never have to fear being taken advantage of or ignored in there time of need. Ed Schroder
5.0

04/03/2014


JOHN Z.

Calls were returned promptly. A fee is charged for an estimate. If you proceed with the estimated repairs, the estimate is credited against the total charges for the repairs. The work was scheduled for a specific date and time and was completed exactly as promised. The roof was shingled in 2001 and EJS found the exact shingles used so that the repair is entirely invisible. The source of the leak turned out to be improper initial installation of the shingles around the vent stack by another roofing company. All the interactions with EJS were professional and they let me know they stand behind the work they have done. I would use this company again because of their obvious expertise, skill, dependability and courtesy.

Description of Work
Fixed a leak in our roof around a vent stack that had been previously repaired by another roofer.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you(Remove member name) for taking the time to post on angies list. Glad we could help.
5.0

03/16/2014


Paul F.

EJS Roofing uses Tomlinson Cannon to do gutter work and downspouts. Tomlinson Cannon called shortly after I had estimates in hand, to set up a time to do the work. And that work was done in a professional manner, and it looks great. The entire process of looking for the correct company, getting the estimate and having the work done, was about two weeks. I couldn't be happier with the entire process.

Description of Work
EJS came out to look at the roof and guttering at my request, and within a few days, I had the estimates I needed. At this time I went with the gutter work only. EJS also provided plenty of material about the guttering and roofing. I am a visual person, so that was greatly appreciated.

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to post as we use the good and the bad to try to give our customers the most well trained staff possible. Glad we could help.
3.0

01/20/2014


CHRIS A.

We called and got an estimate from EJS Roofing. After receiving the estimate we had to contact them and let them know they could not have measured correct. Their estimate did not measure the correct house. Roofer then remeasured and issued an estimate. Work proceeded not long after estimate given. Work was completed in a quick manner. Clean up was not near as good as expected. While the work was being done we notified damage to our vehicle. Alerted the job foreman who said he would communicate to his boss. After the job was done we received an invoice for the roofing work. Two days after receipt we sent certified bank check for payment. Emailed sales rep asking about damage on vehicle? After a couple of weeks I get a very rude call from the owner of EJS. This man could not be farther from a nice person to deal with. Owner proceeded to tell me that we still owed him money because his office staff did not add a cost to the invoice they sent. Explained to me I should have caught his mistake. Sent me emails saying that if we did not pay his 500.00 mistake he would not pay his contractors or suppliers so they would file leans on my home. Called me a week later on Friday night telling me he would assault me for the difference he says is owed. As of this posting he still has not repaired damage to my vehicle. Continues to issue threats. Work looks good but be warned this owner is not a nice guy when he does not get his way. We would not ever recommended this company to anyone for any reason. If you would like to see the emails from this company please let me know.

Description of Work
Roof House

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

All im gonna say is this. he had no complaints untill he misunderstood our bill and thought he got away with over five hundred dollars worth of gutter guards. When he realised he was gonna have to pay he then a full two months later begain to make claimes we damaged his property never one phone call never one letter for two months. in fact he mailed a check to us for the amount he decided he wanted to pay not what we invoiced and no letter or mention of any complaints what soever. then when we finally told him we were gonna lean on his property for the remainder of invoice out came physical threats and threats to slander us on angies list if we did not leave the debt he owed us and now almost three months later he claimed he had a car in drive way next to our tear off trailer(which we ask customers not to do) and it was damged conviently was gonna offset what he owes. thats all i care to speak on this manner as we intend to littigate were we at all costs dont like to take this route but with these lies and alligations we have no choice i normally dont speak poorly about our customers even when they are wrong but in this case he was stolcking my home and we attempted to get restraining order on him as when we try to investigate his claims he became very agressive and begain using terms dealing with my staffs nationality. In short i believe this gentalman is mentally ill and in short a con artist. We at ejs roofing usually pay off damages immediately in a rare case we do damage. Even if we feal we are not at fault. We feel its not worth the customer feeling disappointed in our services.I have emails were he black mailed our company threatened physically and was stalking my staffs private homes. Meaning he had to put in the effort to even know were we live. All this becouse he felt the invoice left him a loop hole not to pay a portion of his bill. Please think if we damaged your car angies list customers what would be the first second and third thing you would do? you would call me or my office. write us a letter, email etc. Nothing was ever reported. He clearly thought he got over on us when it came to the bill and when after two almost three months of him not paying we had to take leagel action then all this came out. Then he suddenly had damage. All in all his behavior was so crazy that we had no choice to cut off comunications and begain the leagel process. We had to contact the police on advice as to what to do or how to hand this situation. Even then we offered to pay it two weeks ago. If he would only make one of three estimates one from a shop of our choosing. He denied that once again. Instead tried to turn it into his insurance company. After stolcking my staffs homes he even emailed us after braging on how many sq foot house he had in comparison to ours. You cant make this kind of thing up. It was like out of a movie. I have documentation and emails of it all. sum 450 of them. All the while we would of payed damages just to make him go away if he only would made one of three estimates at an autobody shop of our choosing. Not sure why this was such wrong thing to ask and why he would not agree. Read his angies list statement we did complete roof replacement in -30 temps per his request. also gutters and down spouts. His angies list post has not one complaint about the quality or the instullation. Only problem here is he congradulated himself on pulling off a 500 dollar theft too soon. And when we alerted him to the fact we knew he owed it thats when it turned ugly. I will repost after court with details. Im not sure what this man does for a living but please be aware of his temper and childish ways of dealing with things. In the end i was in fear for my family and had to contact him per advice given and ask him what his intentions were by stalking me and staffs private homes. Sorry to all involved especially my staff. It takes all types to make world go around i guess. Please look at over all post and try to understand how isolated this incident is even if you believe we were in error here. Thank you Ed Schroder
5.0

12/26/2013


Lorri J.

The workers arrived by 8:00 a.m. on the day after Thanksgiving and worked until dark. They came back the next day and finished the job. The owner stopped by and realized they had made a mistake on one section of the roof and he instructed the workers to tear off the roof and do it again. This was at no extra cost to me. The workers were professional and they left the yard clean and debris free.

Description of Work
Four layers of shingles were removed and a new roof was installed.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. If theres anything more we can do now or in the future please let us know.
5.0

11/30/2013


John P M.

Very responsive and excellent service. I was impressed.

Description of Work
I used EJS Roofing.

Category roofing

5.0

10/21/2013


Dawn L.

Excellent...from start to finish! Everyone was very professional, everything was done in one day and clean up was awesome! Thanks Ed for having such a great crew!

Description of Work
Took off old shingles and put on new roofing.

Category roofing

5.0

09/24/2013


E. James S.

The crew showed up at 7am, put out tarps and got right to work strippng off the shingles. The tear off was done by noon and they got to replacing shingles and adding the ridge vent. In all our encounters with the workers they were very polite and professional and answered our questions knowledgeably. They stayed until 8pm to finish the roof and then came back at 6am the next morning to clean up. Our neighbors have all commented on how quickly they worked and how good the end result looks. We absolutely would recommend them.

Description of Work
Complete tear off and re-shingle entire roof plus replace any bad sheathing and add ridge vent.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to comment. If there is anything we could of done better please let us know
5.0

09/20/2013


Ann H.

With some slight confusion due to start date everything else went well and work was completed as stated in work order and professionally done with complete clean up and consideration for residents at our condo building.

Description of Work
Evaluated roof leak and determined repairs needed. Replaced plywood under neat and shingles on one side of roof where leak occurred. No more leaks with last storm 9/19/13.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review if theres anything we felt short on please let us know.
5.0

09/16/2013


Barbara J.

Everything about EJS Roofing was fantastic. The cost was where I didn't cry, they answered all my questions and some of those question were silly. They came in the morning and were done by end of day. We had a very dry summer so I waited until a good rain to see that after years of battle, I had no leaks None. Beautiful roof and garage roof. Very friendly.people. They also did a great job cleaning up, Not a nail or a tiny pieace of shingle to be found. I have given a number of people I know EJS's name..

Description of Work
New roof and tucked chimney

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Osman Masonry

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Reiss Construction

    Local business with over 10 years experience in residential 5 and 6 inch k style gutter installation and repair. We also offer gutter inspections and cleanings as well as gutter guard installation. We specialize in gutter services, installs, replacements, repairs, guards, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Five stars concrete llc

    We are a concrete company established in iowa city,iowa offering our service in all kind of concrete  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial. Roofing repairs & installation. Gutter installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about EJS Roofing LLC

    How is EJS Roofing LLC overall rated?

    EJS Roofing LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are EJS Roofing LLC open?

    EJS Roofing LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does EJS Roofing LLC provide

    EJS Roofing LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does EJS Roofing LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, EJS Roofing LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does EJS Roofing LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, EJS Roofing LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does EJS Roofing LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, EJS Roofing LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does EJS Roofing LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, EJS Roofing LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by EJS Roofing LLC?

    Yes, EJS Roofing LLC offers warranties.

    What services does EJS Roofing LLC offer?

    EJS Roofing LLC offers the following services: Residential & commercial. Roofing repairs & installation. Gutter installation.