Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Charter House Real Estate

Founded 2005 • With Angi since February 2012

5.0

(60) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

107 NE Delaware Ave Ste 4

Ankeny, IA 50021

Description

Charter House is a full service real estate team helping buyers find amazing homes, and offering sellers amazing service, while saving them thousands, thanks to our unique commission model! At Charter House, we want to be different. We know you have heard this a thousand times from many companies and see no real difference. Here is what we are talking about! 1. We make our clients feel VALUED, while providing exceptional value for them! 2. We understand that "good enough" rarely is. 3. We believe that communication with our clients is imperative to our success. Nobody wants to be in the dark! 4. We understand that if money is our goal, we will ultimately fail. Either as a business, or personally. Clients come before cash. 5. We WANT to work with people who WANT to work with us! We do not do pressure sales. Never have. Never will. Charter House is a team office operating under Space Simply, a licensed Real Estate Company in the state of Iowa....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/05/2019


Cameron H.

Mark was great to work with. He listened to our needs and wants and assisted in finding the right home. He was quick and responsive to our messages. He thoughts of things we didn’t espececially when it came time to close!

Description of Work
Home purchase

Category real estate agents

5.0

06/05/2019


Zach O.

This was our third time using the Charter House for a home purchase & sale, and they have only gotten more efficient as time has passed. Mark is straight forward & tells it like it is, they save you money, and guide you through the process to make sure the transactions are seamless (even when the other parties may not be fully cooperative). They go above and beyond what I would expect from a realtor, and do so at a lower cost than most out there - win/win!

Description of Work
Bought a Home & Sold a Home

Category real estate agents

5.0

05/21/2018


Krisha L.

Mark and his team made selling my town home extremely easy. They were able to list my home within just a few days, and they made the closing process very quick and smooth. I would highly recommend them to anyone selling their home.

Description of Work
Listing and Selling Home

Category real estate agents

5.0

05/20/2018


Steve H.

We recently worked with Mark Charter on selling our home. He was engaged throughout the entire process, answered our many questions, and responded to us in a timely and concise manner. We did not think it was necessary to have open houses and Mark agreed. He worked to find us buyers who were truly interested in purchasing a home. We turned down the first offer that he brought to us. We appreciated that there was no pushiness or pressure from Mark to finalize this deal. Shortly thereafter, another offer was received and we accepted it. Paying a flat fee versus a commission saved us a great deal of money. We have already recommended Mark Charter to others based on our positive experience. Thanks again! Steve and Sue Hasso

Description of Work
Selling of our home

Category real estate agents

5.0

05/11/2018


Stephenie J.

Mark and his team are AWESOME to work with! I needed to sell my property while living three hours away and I needed an agent that could handle that seamlessly. I also had a tenant in the property, so Mark had to coordinate with her and he did a great job. Charter House got my home sold quickly and they were always fast to answer my questions, and their emails do a great job of telling you what is happening next. I felt communicated with. I also LOVED saving money because of their reduced commission rate they offer sellers. I know some people feel you will get less because of what they charge. Those people would be wrong! They provide full-service and excellent customer service. Do yourself a favor and hire Charter House and save some money in the process!!!

Description of Work
Sell My House

Category real estate agents

5.0

05/10/2018


Rachael B.

Mark Charter and his team were amazing! They were efficient, effective and reliable. Mark helped us sell our first home during our process of moving out of town and starting new jobs. Even through all the chaos and long distance, communication was a breeze. Mark and his team were always efficient at returning messages and very knowledgeable when it came to the current housing market and helping us negotiate the best deal for us. We had tried to sell our home for sale by owner due to the high commission rates, but then we discovered Charter House Realty. After 3 months of For Sale By Owner, we listed with Charter House in the middle of December. Our showings skyrocketed and we quickly received an offer on our house. In the middle of winter, Mark was able to get us an accepted offer equal to that of the surrounding houses the prior summer and save thousands in commission. I highly recommend Mark and his team at Charter House Realty.

Description of Work
Selling our home

Category real estate agents

5.0

03/29/2018


Ryan C.

I don't think the experience could have went any better. My wife and I had talked to a few agents about selling our home, both came back with numbers that we felt were low in comparison to the market. I reached out to Mark, and he agreed. We listed our house for more than what other agents advised us to, and SOLD IN 3 DAYS!. Not to mention, with the commission structure at Charter House not only did we sell our house for MORE, we paid LESS commission.

Description of Work
Selling my house

Category real estate agents

5.0

01/02/2018


John A.

We appreciate the absolutely perfect timing on the sale of our house. We want to thank Mark for his professionalism, careful research and guidance. He and his team (thanks Katie!) made a huge difference. We don’t anticipate selling another house in the near future, but if we did, Mark would be our first call!

Description of Work
Sale of house.

Category real estate agents

5.0

12/14/2017


Lisa M.

Awesome! I contacted Charterhouse and was immediately connected with Amy. She was wonderful! She worked around my somewhat odd schedule to show me several properties. She answered all my questions and was available anytime. She walked me through everything like I was her only client. And she let me know about the moving van Charterhouse has for its clients which took lots of stress out of that part of home buying and moving. I recommend Amy and Charterhouse to anyone needing a real estate agent.

Description of Work
Was looking to buy my first home

Category real estate agents

5.0

10/03/2017


Geneva F.

Both my husband and I have sold homes in the past with other realtors. Because of those experiences we were looking for something different. Mark was a high school friend of my daughter so we decided to give him a shot. That was the best decision we could have made. At the first meeting Mark put us at ease and assured us our home would sell. He was with us every step of the way. When I had questions either Mark or Katie responded quickly and either had the answer or worked to get it. We didn't have to wait days to hear back from him. The professional photographs and the virtual tour was an amazing way to showcase our home. Our home sold in 4 days in a tight market for 99% of asking price!! Mark was with us every step of the way making the process from listing to closing the best experience we've had selling a home. Call Mark today, you won't be sorry.

Description of Work
Helped us sell our home.

Category real estate agents

5.0

09/05/2017


Hilary J.

Mark and Amy at Charter House Real Estate were nothing short of AMAZING!!!! Mark was very friendly and knowledgeable from his initial visit with me. He answered all my questions about selling my townhome and was great to work with! He was honest about list price and the possible timeline for selling my townhome. He got my townhome sold quickly and made it effortless for me!! Amy helped me purchase my new dream home!! She was beyond WONDERFUL to work with! Amy answered all my phone calls, texts, and emails every time, even when she was on vacation!!! Amy worked so hard to make sure everything went smoothly with my new house from start to finish! I am so thankful to have gotten to work with Mark and Amy. If you are selling and/or buying, stop looking and calling Charter House Real Estate!!!

Description of Work
Selling my townhome and purchasing an new home.

Category real estate agents

5.0

08/30/2017


Greg D.

Mark and his team were a pleasure to work with! They always provided quick responses (calls, texts, emails, etc.) to my questions and worked extremely hard to make the sale of my house go as smoothly as possible. Things went so smooth that it sold in 3 weeks! I really appreciated Mark's honesty. He was very candid about our pricing strategy as well as the best selling package for me. Katie did a phenomenal job working through the details of the sale and keeping me up to date at all times. I never had to wonder what they were doing or what was going on. I was extremely thankful to have them working for me and will continue to use them in the future! They provide a truly unique experience centered around you, the customer!

Description of Work
I sold my home through Mark and his team!

Category real estate agents

5.0

08/14/2017


Aaron B.

Amy and Charter House were extremely responsive, informative, and worked very quickly for myself and my wife. Would gladly recommend them as they were recommended to us.

Description of Work
Buying Home

Category real estate agents

5.0

08/02/2017


Karen D.

Amy Meyer is an awesome Realtor! She is the “service” in Customer Service! We found out we were going to be re-located to Iowa and contacted her about a few listings we saw and really wanted to see in person. This was a few days before the Memorial Day long holiday weekend and we would only be able to drive up from out of state and see the available homes on Friday May 26th. She did not even hesitate to let us know she would be available to show us the homes! What a gem! She put us first ahead of any plans she may have personally had! We viewed and offered the same day, then had confirmation of our offer being accepted before we could even drive back down to Georgia! We would recommend Amy to everyone who is looking to buy a home - especially when you need to find a home quickly!

Description of Work
We needed to locate and buy a home in Ankeny Iowa in just 1 day.

Category real estate agents

5.0

07/12/2017


Lindsay F.

Fantastic! Our home sold in 22 days and we were able to close pretty quick. Mark and his team were professional, always helpful, and did a superb job leading us through the process of selling our house. Mark was always available to answer our questions. He was a trooper responding to all my calls and texts and did so promptly. This is a real estate team like no other, the real deal!

Description of Work
We needed our house sold and Mark got the job done!

Category real estate agents

5.0

07/11/2017


Bryan B.

Mark and his team did a tremendous job from start to finish. He and his team are always professional, prompt and extremely knowledgeable. At all times we felt we were in good hands. Mark's knowledge of the central Iowa real estate market was fantastic and we always felt we had the upper hand in negotiations. Mark sold our home for $70,000 more than we purchase it for just over 2 years ago..IN 4 DAYS. Most comparable homes have been on the market for months. As a result of selling our home so quickly he gained 2 neighboring clients and sold their homes before we even closed on ours. Charter House will forever have our business and I will recommend him to my family and friends. Great guy, great team and an outstanding real estate professional.

Description of Work
Sell our Ankeny Home

Category real estate agents

5.0

06/20/2017


Dawn C.

Mark and Katie both, were amazing and so easy to work with! We can't emphasize enough, how highly we have and would recommend Charter House Realty!

Description of Work
We had previously listed our home about a year ago through a flat rate company and it was a disaster. We had to show the home and have weekly open houses with no success. We contacted Mark and he did EVERYTHING for us! Our house went on the market at 4 pm on Tuesday and was sold Thursday at 6 pm! When we got down to crunch time, he even hired a contractor to help, as a last second job arouse in order to close the sale.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] for the kind words! We were happy to help!
5.0

04/10/2017


Pamela V.

After interviewing several real estate agents, we decided to go with Mark. He was open, honest, quick to reply, and seemed genuinely interested in helping us sell our home. It was a tough sell. No garage, busy street, but Mark got it sold. He replied to all my stupid questions very promptly. His office staff was wonderful to work with. Amy helped us look for our dream home. LOVE Amy! She makes you feel like you are her only clients. We looked at TONS of houses. She was always excited to help us find the perfect home, no matter how many we had to look at. When ending up having a bidding war, which we won, thanks to Amy fighting for us. She is hand down, the best real estate agent I have ever met.

Description of Work
Sold a home/Purchased a home

Category real estate agents

5.0

04/04/2017


Anthony S.

Overall, the selling of our old home and the process of finding a new one went very smooth. On the selling side, Mark was upfront and honest on the value of our home. Once the home was listed there was a line of potential customers lined up to look at the home and we ended up with multiple offers and I think that Mark did a great job helping us choose the best offer for us. Also, the NO open house policy was great compared to when we sold my wife's previous house when we were getting married. On the buying side, Amy Meyer was fantastic. She did a great job of identifying houses that fit our needs/wants list. She was not pushy and did a great job of pointing out the pluses and minuses of the houses that we looked based on our priorities list. I would definitely recommend Charter House Real Estate for both buying a new home or selling your current home. We would definitely use them again

Description of Work
We sold and purchased a house using Charter House Real Estate.

Category real estate agents

5.0

03/03/2017


Josh M.

Amy is THE best! If you need a new home, I would turn to no other person besides Mark Charter and his team. We had the pleasure of working with Amy Meyer, and she is hands down the best realtor in the business. Amy is a buyer's agent only which is great because that means she has only your interests as her main concern. She worked day and night to find us our dream home. While moving into a new area, with no knowledge of our surroundings, Amy went above and beyond the call of duty, and even located an secured us a townhome, until we were ready to buy a house. She is such a doll, and probably the nicest person you'll ever meet, not only does she take her job seriously, she does so truthfully and ethically (hard to come by in this business). Overall we LOVED Amy and will never use another realtor again unless they come from Mark and his team. *Bonus -- They have their own moving truck which they let every client use to help them move. They're the best in the business!

Description of Work
Buying a new home

Category real estate agents

5.0

02/22/2017


Zach H.

We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Mark Charter and Charter House Real Estate to our friends and family. My wife and I used Mark and Charter House for the purchase of our new home and the sale of our existing residence. We put our existing house on the market in the doldrums of winter. Regardless of the weather and time of year, Mark was encouraging and supportive in the sale of our home. During the move into our new house, the use of Mark’s moving truck was priceless. The convenience allowed us to move over our possessions over an entire week’s time and on our own schedule. Relieving a lot of the stress and pressure of moving. Mark and his team were extremely pleasant to work with. He has a great team of professionals to help you buy or sell your next home. Check out their website at [*** Link removed ***] to learn more…

Description of Work
Mark sold our existing home and helped us with the purchase of our new home.

Category real estate agents

5.0

10/28/2016


Michael J.

Honest, Friendly, Willing, & Efficient My wife and I had a rental property in Ankeny, Iowa. Our tenants did not renew the lease, so we needed to sell quickly because we were out of state and did not want to rent anymore. Honest; Mark and his team were recommended to us from a coworker and friend, the people you trust, who had used Charter House Iowa to sell their own property, so naturally we had to check them out. All numbers and estimates initially discussed in conversation remained true. Friendly; When I first met Mark at his office in Ankeny I was smiling when I walked in the door, it is not the typical real estate offices we have used before in a better way. We discussed many topics, including the property, and agreed to do business. In opinion, this approach is what sets his business apart from others. First impressions are lasting and I walked in smiling and left smiling. Willing: After reviewing the commission rates at other realtors we decided on Marks team because of the flexibility with his advertised commission rates. Each rate offering different services, instead of the one rate fits all approach. In addition, his elasticity and willingness to work with us even though we were living out of state was also welcomed and very much appreciated. Efficient: Once listed, within three days we had multiple offers and were amazed that some were better than expected. We left the negotiations to his team and ended up signing the contract about a month after listing, saving us a month of mortgage payments. We highly recommend them, Charter House Iowa, for selling property! Thank you Mark and team for the relief... God Bless The Johnstone Family

Description of Work
Sold Property

Category real estate agents

5.0

08/25/2016


Dustin R.

I worked with Amy to buy my home this summer, and she was wonderful to work with--knowledgeable about real estate in the Des Moines metro and helpful during every step of the process. More than that, she was extremely personable and truly focused on helping me find a home (at a price) that was perfect for me. I can't recommend her enough.

Description of Work
Helped me buy a home.

Category real estate agents

5.0

08/10/2016


Kattie E.

We worked directly with Sarah Halverson through Charter House Real Estate. Purchasing our home was a positive experience from the beginning. From finding the home, to making the offer and then finalizing the deal she was excellent. Sarah was always ahead of the game, always available day and night and never left us wondering what the next step was. She even called me while vacationing out of the country to make sure we were updated on the progress of our purchase. With our four little boys in tow this could have been very stressful however Sarah was remarkable in taking her time with our wild bunch and helping along the way. The excellent care did not end at closing, Sarah continued to follow up and offer help with the stressful process of actually moving into our home. We are so happy with our experience and grateful we were able to work with someone as professional and personalble as Sarah!

Description of Work
Helped us purchase a home

Category real estate agents

5.0

07/16/2016


joy A.

My husband and I absolutely loved our experience working with Mark and his team! We found out in March 2016 that we would be relocating from California to Iowa in July for medical residency. We had to quickly rent our home in California and figure out how to buy a home in Iowa-- especially since I was 8 months pregnant and neither my husband or I would be flying out to see the house we were going to buy in Iowa! So, obviously nervous, I started searching the web to find someone reliable and trustworthy to help us buy a house 1,666 miles away. We found Mark Charter on Yelp-- there was a review that sounded extremely honest and sincere about how wonderful Mark was, so immediately I called him and NO REGRETS. He first started by telling us about the great places to live, especially for a growing family. When I would send him listings, he was very responsive and quick to go check out the house for us. We felt like we were seeing the houses in person as he would Facetime us when he would get to the property; he was always very professional when showing us the properties, but more importantly, extremely honest! We had searched for a home for about one month and were getting a bit nervous to find "the one" and also have the opportunity to get the house as the market has been very competitive all over the place here in Des Moines, IA. One afternoon, Mark contacted us about a home that was listed "For Sale by Owner"-- this is the home we are now living in! It matched our California expectations perfectly! We were very excited the day we moved in-- new state, new home, new baby! When we moved in the first day, it happened that the air conditioner had an issue and was not working and it just had to fall on one of the hottest days in the summer! Mark and his team member, Sarah, worked extremely hard to get someone out that same Friday evening to the house to fix the air conditioner! It was fixed and Sarah even delivered us extra filters to keep use in our home for the first six months or so-- amazing team and amazing hearts. We definitely plan to use Mark and his team when we sell our home in the future. Thank you Mark and Sarah for an AMAZING experience!

Description of Work
Helped our family with our purchase on a home in Iowa as we were relocating from California.

Category real estate agents

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Full service real estate company serving central Iowa.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for detatils

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Charter House Real Estate

    How is Charter House Real Estate overall rated?

    Charter House Real Estate is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Charter House Real Estate open?

    Charter House Real Estate is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Does Charter House Real Estate offer free estimates?

    Yes, Charter House Real Estate offers free project estimates.

    Does Charter House Real Estate offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Charter House Real Estate does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Charter House Real Estate offer a senior discount?

    No, Charter House Real Estate does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Charter House Real Estate?

    No, Charter House Real Estate does not offer warranties.

    What services does Charter House Real Estate offer?

    Charter House Real Estate offers the following services: Full service real estate company serving central Iowa.

    Are there any services Charter House Real Estate does not offer?

    ask for detatils