Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Heartland Lawncare Llc

Founded 2011 • With Angi since February 2012

4.6

(59) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

33430 Glenn Hazel Ln

Adel, IA 50003

Description

Heartland Lawncare, L.L.C. is a small, family-owned lawn care, landscape and snow removal business that serves Des Moines and its surrounding metro areas - both commercial and residential properties. Heartland Lawncare is here for you every day. 2-4 employees. We offer FREE estimates for all of

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/25/2018


Steve B.

Had contacted through Angie's List messenger. Had a time set for them to come out and quote. They messaged me and asked if we could move it to another date/time due to wanting to finish the job he was on. No problem, but they never showed. I tried to contact two more times but no reply.

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category lawn service

5.0

08/16/2017


Angela G.

I have used Heartland's service for the past several years and depend on them to maintain my yard and keep my walkways and driveway free of snow in the winter. They definitely make my life easier and Jenny & Jeremy take great pains to see that their customers are happy with their service.

Description of Work
lawn mowing, spring & fall yard clean-up, snow removal

Category lawn service, snow removal

5.0

08/16/2017


Angela G.

I engage Heartland for all of my yard care. I depend on them to make my life easier and Jenny & Jeremy never let me down.

Description of Work
lawn mowing, spring and fall clean-up, snow removal in the winter.

Category lawn service, snow removal

5.0

07/31/2017


Debra S.

Every week they are polite, do a great job, and leave the yard looking nice and trim.

Description of Work
I am on a weekly service, they come and mow the yard, trim, clean up.

Category lawn service

5.0

10/24/2016


Nellie S.

Great. Jeremy was very professional, he came out and gave me a free estimate for the project and gave me a few other ideas for it as well. The crew did the work very quickly and they cleaned up the yard when they were done. They were very hard working and did a fantastic job. The stone that Jeremy chose for the design was perfect and the wall/garden space turned out even better than I had envisioned. I will be having them back when I expand our landscaping.

Description of Work
I hired Jeremy and his crew to build a retaining wall and garden area for our backyard.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

1.0

11/10/2014


DOUGLAS S.

Lawn service only. very poor communication between crew and owners. Please check your monthly statements to make sure you are paying for services performed. We also made it clear not to mow when the lawn is wet. Had to stop the crew once when they started and the last time they mowed it was wet. Can not recommend on those reasons

Description of Work
mow and trim

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

We have been servicing this client for numerous seasons and we recently had an incident in which we completely made a mistake on their invoice. We overcharged them for one mow. They emailed us, I talked it over with my crew and then realized the client was right and we made a mistake. I called him later that same day and I acknowledged we made a mistake - that I misinterpreted what the crew wrote down - we explained that the office person doing the invoicing is not with the crew on a daily basis and then we showed and explained to the crew this is why it's important to write everything down properly so that incidences like this does not happen. The crew was very apologetic as well. The customer seemed to understand better what had happened when we talked on the phone. We understood that they were upset and we apologized for our mistake. Regarding the quality of service when mowing...typically after rain storms etc we would not mow this client since that is what he requested. If the ground was saturated, meaning, water came up around your shoe as you stepped, we would then skip their residence. However, recently there were a couple of times that it was dew, not actual ground saturation. The property needed mowing before heading into the winter months. We started to mow and the client stopped us. We thought it was ok to mow since the ground was not saturated as if it had rained. It was just morning dew. When we talked to this client, we thought everything was ok and that they would continue services for the 2015 mowing season,. However, after reading their review and seeing the score given for our services, I think perhaps it's best if we part our separate ways. Yes, we made a mistake this time and we acknowledged it to them so we deserve an F for that aspect this one time, but overall service and what not, I think we fare much higher and I think the fact that this client has been with us for multiple seasons shows us that we've been doing well overall.
5.0

10/23/2014


Bob D.

The guys did an excellent job! They paid close attention to detail - making sure the landscaping blocks were level and placed in a pattern to our satisfaction. And the new deck looks fantastic! I've received several compliments on their work. Jeremy is very skilled and excellent to work with, as were the other members of his team. Friendly group of guys who are dedicated to insuring our objectives were achieved. within the desired time frame. They also seem to enjoy what they're doing. I would highly recommend Jeremy for landscaping or deck services in the future. He'll be the first one I call if I have future projects.

Description of Work
Provided landscaping services both in front and behind the house. Also rebuilt an existing deck using cedar deck boards and a new deck rail.

Category decks, landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping

2.0

08/26/2014


Kate R.

Jeremy did some landscaping for me last summer. He was prompt, efficient and pleasant to work with. I actually wrote an Angie's review giving him an A last August. Recently I called him to get an estimate on the next phase of landscaping I plan to do. I left a voicemail describing the work I'm interested in and requesting a call back to set up a time to get an estimate. Although his voicemail message promises to call back by 5 pm the same day or soon after, I've never received a response from him. Since I had a good experience last year, I decided to give them another call in case there was some mix-up that caused them not to respond. But now I've not received a response from the second message. I did receive an immediate callback from his phone when I left the second message, but before I could answer the party hung up. I won't be calling them again and would not use them now. This experience makes me feel they are unprofessional and unreliable.

Description of Work
Nothing because I didn't receive a response to my attempts to contact them.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

08/21/2014


Susan K.

Great, these guys come in as a team, they are in and out quickly.

Description of Work
Mowed my lawn and trimmed.

Category lawn service

2.0

08/17/2014


Trisha R.

I was looking for someone to mow our yard just once because my husband had broken his foot and we were going out of town. I explained it hadn't been cut for a week or so and since it was going to be a one time thig which he doesn't normally do, the price was a little more which I was totally fine with. He was very friendly and understanding. Arranged everything to be done while we were out of town. I had even texted Jeremy and said if he drove by and thought it would cost more that was fine just send the invoice and if take care of it. As we were headed out of town, I texted him again just to make sure he had us down on his schedule, which he said he did. When we returned we saw it had not been mowed. No email, text, or call. Very unprofessional and disappointing.

Description of Work
Arranged a one time mow while we were out if town, returned to see it was not completed.

Category lawn service

4.0

07/21/2014


Steven A F.

He didn't get to the second project last fall so we thought he would get on it this spring. I had to email him and call him to remind him. He finally came by and we went over it again and he said he was out 1-2 weeks but that he would get it to it. He did email me on July 3rd and let me know he hadn't forgot about us but that he had a lot of yards to mow for his regulars and patios to build etc. I, just today, 7/21/2014, emailed him to cancel our request for his services. He is a very nice guy and does a nice job but I don't think he is able to handle the amount of business that he is getting. If you hire him you just have to be patient I guess. I would recommend him but only to people that are not in a hurry...

Description of Work
We used Jeremy Boeck on a complete front yard redo last fall on a house that we rent out and he and his crew did a very nice job. He was as on time and resonably priced. We decided to use his company to do some work at our our personal home after that. We met and went over the project and told him to go ahead with it.

Category lawn service

5.0

07/02/2014


l G.

He's been doing my yard work for the past several years. He also takes care of my raised flower beds and does snow removal. He's going to put some rock gravel down behind my garage soon. He's very dependable and willing to get back to you and work with you. He's got reasonable prices. He's really good. He does a lot of wonderful stone work. He's very competitive with his pricing. A lot of other people want to charge me $40 or $50 to mow my lawn. If you recommend him to others, he gives you a free mow. If I have any trouble and I call him, he's out there that night, resolving it. He always gets back to me within the same day. If he says he's going to be there, he'll be there. If he's tied up, he calls you and lets you know he's going to be late. He lets you know when he's running behind, so you're not just sitting there. He's very professional and friendly.

Description of Work
They come out every Monday and mow my lawn.

Category landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping

5.0

06/25/2014


Andrew Y.

Overall, they've been very consistent and their price is pretty reasonable.

Description of Work
Heartland Lawncare mow our lawn for us.

Category lawn service

5.0

06/03/2014


Mary K.

Lawn aeration was done quickly and done well. Jeremy and crew came and did our yard last fall as well, and the yard has never looked so good. Jeremy answers his cell phone messages promptly and comes when he says he will.

Description of Work
Lawn aeration

Category lawn service

5.0

05/12/2014


Lisa S.

Heartland's lawncare services have been great. Our yard has been mowed well and regularly, and our snow was removed completely and in a timely manner each time it snowed. For a medium-size city lot, he charges us $40/mow and $60/per snow removal up to 8 inches. No complaints at all.

Description of Work
Provided mowing services in the summer and snow removal in the winter.

Category lawn service, snow removal

5.0

05/05/2014


Vanessa W.

Very good communication. Very congenial.

Description of Work
Mowed lawn and used weedeater

Category lawn service

5.0

05/04/2014


Jody F.

The owner of the company, Jeremy, was very polite and professional and easy to work with. He returned my call right away and we spoke on the phone about the project. He put together an estimate within just a few days that we were happy with, and then he and his crew arrived at our home the following week to start the project. They showed up on a Tuesday and it was completed by Friday, and that was with a day of rain in between. His crew was also very professional and they do great work. My husband and I are very pleased with our new walkway and would definitely hire Heartland Lawncare again in the future.

Description of Work
Heartland Lawncare removed an existing paver walkway that was falling apart. Jeremy and his crew then dug a trench to prepare a new base of rock and sand. Then the new walkway was designed and completed.

Category lawn service, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

3.0

04/21/2014


Brandon H.

Jeremy came out and walked around the property with me and quoted me $500-$600 for spring cleanup of my residential property. Him and his team came out the next week to do the work. The day of the cleanup, he called me around 3 pm and said that he and his team had been there since early morning and were still going to be there for another couple hours and that the price for them to stop immediately would be $700+ which was still over the original estimate but without completing the job. I ended up giving him the green light to finish up the entire job as previously agreed upon. Jeremy called and said that this was the largest residential job he had ever done and there were more leaves than he thought initially. Needless to say, I was very upset that the estimate was so far off of the actual price. I am not disputing the amount of leaves that were removed, the time it took to clean the yard nor the quality of the work. What frustrated me the most was that the actual cost was nearly double the estimate. The only reason that I wanted an estimate was to get a professional opinion on what it would take to clean the yard. The amount of leaves present on the day of cleanup did not differ from the amount of leaves present at the time of the estimate. In my eyes, the scope of the overall job didn't change. At the end of the day, what I agreed to was to get the yard cleaned up for $500-$600 dollars. Not to have 'X' amount of leaves cleaned up for $500-$600. I feel as though a more thorough estimate would have helped us both be realistic with our expectations. At the end, the yard looks great but I'm disappointed that the estimate was essentially worthless and the costs ended up being much higher. The fault lies with both of us in that he didn't know the true time it would take to clean the yard and mismanaged my expectations and with me in that I wasn't more thorough in walking him around the property. I wish we could have shared the financial burden as well.

Description of Work
Yard cleanup. Leaves, tree branches, etc.

Category lawn service

5.0

04/15/2014


Carrie B.

Jeremy and his team are amazing. The work they did on our front flower beds was beautiful and done quickly. Jeremy listened to everything I wanted and gave us some good ideas. They installed brick edging, added mulch, weeded, and trimmed our plants back. They even used some extra mulch around some of our bushes. Jeremy has always been professional with us and is great at communicating with us. Price is fair and reasonable. We will be hiring them again.

Description of Work
Landscaping on front flower beds.

Category lawn service

2.0

04/12/2014


Jason P.

I had contacted them through their website. Jeremy sent me an email response and scheduled to come out for an estimate on Wednesday. I left work early to meet with him, then at the last minute he cancelled. He said his previous client was running long. He later called me back to apologize, so I rescheduled for Friday. He told me he would be there for sure as he had no one scheduled. So Friday...again left work to meet with him. This time he was a NO SHOW. No phone call, nothing. I am glad other people had a good experience. I really wanted this to work based on other reviews on here and was hoping it would lead to other services, but I cannot recommend him based on his lack to follow through. I will looking for another service provider.

Description of Work
Our lawn need some repairing and general TLC. We also wanted some landscaping done around the house.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

02/09/2014


Daniel S.

I was on a deployment and needed them to tend to my yard. The service was great and communication was perfect even though I was out of the country.

Description of Work
Mowed and trimmed my lawn

Category lawn service

5.0

01/27/2014


Robert A.

This young man (the owner) cares about his customers telling me the extra things I should do to help take care of the yard. I heartily would recommend this organization to others.

Description of Work
This organization is the best. The owner took care of our father's yard throughout the growing season and did so in a quality way.

Category hardscaping

2.0

01/13/2014


Alexander K.

This was an unpleasant, negative experience. The services were never performed as scheduled. The owner charged me for lawn services that were not contracted. I asked to sign something written before signing up for services, but the owner said that he uses verbal agreements. Because we did not have anything to refer to, we were overcharged over the work, when lower prices were quoted. I believe that the law states that all treated lawns must have a sign posted that the lawn was just treated with chemicals. No such sign was ever posted, yet the owner charged me for treatments. Plus, I have pets and small children and found this quite unsettling. Bottom line, I was unsatisfied with the services and would not recommend Heartland Lawncare.

Description of Work
The owner was contracted to provide weekly mowing, lawn treatment services and an overall clean up of the yards.

Category lawn service

5.0

12/27/2013


Angela F.

We have used three previous snow removal services since we purchased our property 9 years ago, and Heartland is the first one whose end result was exactly, precisely the way I expected my driveway to look after snow removal. I can’t tell you how pleased I was! Our driveway has a slope to it and it is situated between our house and our neighbor's house to the south, resulting in a section that is constantly in shade. This causes that part of the driveway to get snow and ice build up if the snow isn't completely removed in the initial attempt. And once the snow gets a foothold, unless we get several warm days in succession where it can completely melt, we will have that snow/ice buildup the entire season, compounded with each successive snowfall ... which is dangerous for us in getting the car up the driveway and in walking to our back door from the garage. Our neighbor across the street does his own driveway and is diligent with the snowblower and shovel to where he gets down to cement when he is finished. I had always thought that was how our driveway would look when we contracted for snow removal service but it never did and I had resigned myself to the old saying "If you want it done right, you have to do it yourself". Unfortunately for us, doing it ourselves is not an option. I expressed my concerns about this to Jeremy and he made certain to clear the snow off down to the cement and then paid extra attention to the problem area by applying salt to prevent the icing issue. We had never had a service meet our expectations so precisely until Jeremy and Heartland. I have no doubt that this thoroughness of clearing the snow from the paved surfaces is what we can anticipate after each storm, and they have definitely eased the anxiety I felt every time I heard the meteorologists forecasting snow. Thank you, Heartland! You are our 'go-to guys' when it comes to maintaining our yard.

Description of Work
removed 5" of snow from our driveway, parking pad, front walk and sidewalk & used salt in problem areas to prevent ice buildup

Category snow removal

5.0

12/27/2013


Holly T.

I requested lawn mowing service for the season and fertilizer treatment. After I called, they offered to come out that same day to give me a quote and were also able to perform the service right away. They were always very timely in taking care of the lawn each time it was needed. It was wonderful to not have to worry about it at all! I will definitely continue to use them for my lawncare needs.

Description of Work
Lawn mowing, trimming, blowing and fertilizer service.

Category lawn service

    Other local Pros in your area

    CPW and More LLC

    When you need a Pressure Washing that you can trust, call CPW and More LLC in Des Moines, Iowa and surrounding areas for all of your Pressure Washing needs. At CPW and More LLC we specialize in a variety of pressure washing services, including House Washing, Concrete Cleaning, Concrete Sealing, Soft Washing and Deck Cleaning Services. You'll know that you're in the right hands when you call the pressure washing service experts from CPW and More LLC in Des Moines, IA.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Squeegee Squad - Des Moines

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    lees land managment

    We strive to provide the best quality service for our clients. Lees Land Management provides a wide range of Serivices.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Commercial & Residential, Hardscape Surfaces, Retaining Wall Design, Patio Retaining Wall Install, Mow, Trim, Edge, Flower Bed Maintenance, Hedge Trim, Prune, Mulch, Landscaping, Landscaping Design, Spring & Fall Cleanup, Aeration, Snow Removal

    Services Not Offered

    Irrigation

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Heartland Lawncare Llc

    How is Heartland Lawncare Llc overall rated?

    Heartland Lawncare Llc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Heartland Lawncare Llc provide

    Heartland Lawncare Llc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Heartland Lawncare Llc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Heartland Lawncare Llc offers free project estimates.

    Does Heartland Lawncare Llc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Heartland Lawncare Llc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Heartland Lawncare Llc offer a senior discount?

    No, Heartland Lawncare Llc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Heartland Lawncare Llc?

    Yes, Heartland Lawncare Llc offers warranties.

    What services does Heartland Lawncare Llc offer?

    Heartland Lawncare Llc offers the following services: Commercial & Residential, Hardscape Surfaces, Retaining Wall Design, Patio Retaining Wall Install, Mow, Trim, Edge, Flower Bed Maintenance, Hedge Trim, Prune, Mulch, Landscaping, Landscaping Design, Spring & Fall Cleanup, Aeration, Snow Removal

    Are there any services Heartland Lawncare Llc does not offer?

    Irrigation