Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc

Founded 1991 • With Angi since February 2012

3.8

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1643 Donna Rd

West Palm Beach, FL 33409

Description

Since 1991, Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical has specialized in HVAC system design, indoor air quality, energy efficiency and insurance repairs, among other great services in West Palm Beach and Port Saint Lucie, Florida.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Edward S.
1.0
11/22/2022
Worst AC company in Palm Beach County- please give them the winning award for worst AC repair service provider for 2022-2023. Company will provide bait and switch pricing tactics. Technician quoted me $300. for a repair and a three months later when they got around to the warranty work, another technican (ISSAC PENNA) now quoted $751.00 for a warranty repair after the job was completed! STAY AWAY and you will be much happier---please trust me! Miss Holly in no customer service is a witch- I would never hire her for my businesses. (She must have different colored brooms for each day she works). But guess this is all the company can afford, with its bait and switch tactics. I will continue tell all my neighbors in PBG and PBC to STAY AWAY. Hopefully they go out of business or hire competent employees. BUYER BEWARE- PREFFERED AC and Mechanical IS BAD BAD BAD. Look at the other low Google reviews. Its only getting worse. Service: HVAC system repair
Description of Work
Warranty repair
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Traci W.
5.0
06/10/2022
Alex went above and beyond to help my mother receive and install her new unit! The technicians worked so hard and did a great job! Alex and the technicians are so knowledgeable that it made the install go so smoothly! My mom is a repeat customer and this is the reason why!Thank you again for doing such a great job with great service! Traci
Description of Work
New Carrier AC
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
David H.
1.0
11/30/2020
After showing up to inspect my clogged drain the tech called his office. They decided they wouldn't work on the problem as it was :such a mess: after 4 months I received a bill from a collection agency. I called the office and they said they had sent bills to a address I haven't lived in for 6 years. The bill collector had no trouble getting my address straight. Now they say they have a right to charge a service fee even if they refuse to fix the problem American air fixed the problem in about an hour. Needless to say I will not pay them or let them anywhere near my property again. They are just thieves.
Description of Work
Clear a clogged ac drain line
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Johanna P.
1.0
10/29/2020
I was forced to leave this review to warn others of the horrendous service and poor workmanship that this company provides. I have had the displeasure of dealing with their ineptitude and their lack of taking responsibility for their service. Unfortunately, the builder Divosta-Pulte that built our home of two years, used AC Preferred as their vendor of HVAC installations & install of ductwork for many of the homes of my community. After close to two years our garage ceiling started to show a dark black stain. AC Preferred was sent to my home by Pulte to check out the issue with the leak. The ac tech opened up the drywall and he couldn't determine what was the cause but based on how drenched the insulation, the wood beams and drywall was he estimated this had been occurring since the house was first built. His true main concern was who would pay for his $147/hr rate. The tech didn't even bother going up to the attic to check ductwork there considering that the garage ductwork and distribution box was sweating. After more than two months of having Pulte and AC Preferred battle as to whom would be responsible for the damages to be repaired on the ductwork of the HVAC for my home- I get another service work order to be performed by AC Preferred and this time they did go to attic and moved ductwork around but then didn't seal any of the ductwork that was sweating and they completely disregarded the garage ceiling hole they had done 3 months ago. The box was that was initially sweating just got worse after being out in the open with no insulation and drywall. As I figured they had no idea what had to be done to correct the issue of the leak so instead they informed me that the reason of the sweating ductwork was due to the fact that we kept our AC temperature below 75 degrees. AC Preferred paid an expert and this was the bright conclusion that they had come up with. According to AC Preferred as long as I kept my AC unit below 75 degrees, the problem will continue to get worse. Here we pay more than 500k for a home where we are being dictated as to what our temperature for the thermostat should be. The company just wanted to take absolutely no responsibility for the subpar work they had initially performed to my home. We ended up changing our HVAC unit which we bought from Kyzar Air Conditioning, to a better energy efficient one but unfortunately the ductwork done by AC Preferred is causing issues as it was not corrected by them. They are dishonest and there is not one once of integrity at this company. If building a brand new home just beware if this is the vendor being hired by your builder. Neither should they be trusted for regular service maintenance of any kind as their ineptitude is beyond outrageous. Kyzar Air Conditioning ended up fixing AC Preferred's inferior and shoddy work.
Description of Work
Install new HVAC & Ductwork
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Susan M.
5.0
09/06/2017
Excellent service
Description of Work
Very nice tech, very good services
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
jerry K.
5.0
06/28/2017
I pay them annually. They are really good. They are very knowledgeable about Carrier equipment. They installed it in this house and they know how to take care of it. They installed all of the units in our neighborhood and that's why we use them.
Description of Work
They come out every three months for routine maintenance.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
David A.
5.0
06/05/2017
They are all expensive, but all these places are. But we have three units and they all have these condensation lines. They can get mold on them and such. Being almost impossible to clean out. The poor guy sent a couple hours here trying to clean one line. They have been very responsive when I call to get them out here. The only problem I have is that I have to initiate the call.
Description of Work
They performed fall cleaning and maintenance.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
David A.
4.0
06/05/2017
They are pretty good. We have a service contract with them, but we did have some special work done so our service contract may be about $400 a year. They come out twice, but we had them fix and run a new line and it was a couple hundred dollars. I am happy with their work, but sometimes I have to nudge them a little bit to get them out here. My only gripe is that we have a contract and part of that contract is that they come out and service our three units twice a year. It seems like I always have to initiate the call rather than them having an automatic list to call me for every six month appointment, so I find that a little odd. This is not some huge, national HVAC company. They are just a small kind of operator and I remember asking what happened and they said they changed their computer system so you get those kind of things. These smaller firms probably can't afford to have a full time person there to handle that kind of stuff so you get those kinds of things happening with smaller firms. The quality of their people has always been good and they are very nice to deal with. I have not had any problems with them. They do have people in their service group and there is not a lot of turnover because I recognize names when I call. It just seems their systems could be improved. This is typical of a smaller firm, they can't keep up with the things the same way as a bigger firm. This is not a two or three truck firm; they've got a number of mechanics that work for them, but it is not huge.
Description of Work
Preferred Air is the one we use for heating and air conditioning service.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
David A.
5.0
06/05/2017
I'm not gonna say they are cheap. They were fair. If I felt like I had gotten a steal, I would say A. But I don't go out to find the cheapest mechanics either, I want quality.
Description of Work
They replaced three units.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jason A.
1.0
10/27/2016
Been a loyal customer for 5 yrs for both home and office - was told it would take roughly 2 hours for install - pushed back appointment to obtain first call of morning (9am) - technician arrives at 11am because he had an emergency appt according to manager but tech new nothing of emergency.... when I showed him the thermostats he said it would take possibly 2+ hours each and he might even need to call ecobee for instructions - manager stated she wasn't sure if the house was wired correctly although they did the initial install at construction - Neighbors had same thermostats in same house installed in approx 20 minutes each by tech who has never even been to the house... Tech also said it would take an hour+ for the UV filters but according to salesman and UV company, should take no more than 30 minutes each... I blocked off 3-4 hours for install but was told that still might not have been enough time...manager made no offers to come back another day if not completed today...decided after arguing with manager that just best to take ALL my business + roughly $1500 to another company.
Description of Work
2 Nano UV filters to my 2 units that they installed/serviced as well as install 2 ecobee (nest-like) thermostats - was quoted $1050 for the filters and $147/hour/thermostat + materials -
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jacqueline P.
4.0
08/11/2016
They really got it done in an efficient way. We have a service contract with them. We thought we should have another service call but they kind of wanted to put a new air conditioner in as a service call. I don't think they should do that. That's the only misunderstanding that we have. Their responsiveness was good. Punctuality was also good.
Description of Work
We had Preferred. We had a new unit put in last year.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Roxxana M.
2.0
08/18/2015
I have not use them so not sure if they have improved or not.
Description of Work
Install showered and toilet. The plumber was polite and nice, but the receptionist at the company a not polite when talking to clients.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
lois R.
5.0
06/26/2014
I am very pleased with the quality of care and service from ALL staff. See above for details.
Description of Work
I just purchased a condo and the AC stopped working. Jose came and was very diligent and inspected the entire system, electrical panel. he found that the compressor had burned out. The system was within the 5 yr. warranty period. They ordered a new compressor immediately. Michael installed the new compressor and made sure everything was operating perfectly. All done with honor and at no cost to me. I found them to be very professional and honorable. Time frames for install were met...if not early.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Yvonne Z.
1.0
05/14/2014
Install went great, when service problems arose, providor completely disappeared and would not return phone calls. The poster child for excellent responsiveness on the sales side and non existant responses on the service side
Description of Work
Installed new a/c system
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
William D.
5.0
01/22/2014
I like their professionalism and follow-ups. They sent several people out to test different things. They were just very particular on how to do things. I have had quotes from three or four other companies, and I did not feel good to their approach to the job. They were also very highly recommended by the manufacturer of the equipment. Continue to be amazed at this company. I had a concern about the Air Purifier that was installed, they not only came out but brought the company's representative to a**** the problem and a solution. Can't be any better than that.
Description of Work
Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc. replaced two air conditioning units.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jennifer B.
1.0
12/24/2013
Brand new house, AC unit has humidity problems. Humidity inside my house is regularly around 65%. NOT acceptable. Because neighbors don't have this problem, and I have had them out MANY times to fix this, I told them it's time to replace the unit, because it's not working like it should. He (one of the owners whose name I don't know) only cares about the temperature. Temperature is fine... I should not sweat in my own house. Period. He still won't replace the unit. Back in June, the first time we called him out, he said, and quot;75 should be a very comfortable temperature.and quot; I replied that it WOULD BE if it weren't humid inside. Keeps saying and quot;DR Horton may tell you this is a high efficiency unit, but it's not.and quot; WHATEVER... Take your defective product out of here and get me one that works. BAD BAD BAD customer service... BTW, the definition of Air Conditioning is DEHUMIDIFYING the cool air!!!
Description of Work
Not much.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Steven G.
1.0
09/23/2013
PLEASE, PLEASE,PLEASE, DO NOT USE THESE GUYS !!!Preferred Air Conditioning DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU !! They made me and my whole family, which consists of an 8 month Infant Girl also an 86 year old GrandFather. We Waiting 17 Hours for a tech to show up at our house to fix the Air Conditioner. It was 86 Degrees inside. I called them at 3:30 pm Saturday afternoon , Told them i needed service, that the A/C unit was not working. They did not show up until Sunday Morning at 8:30 am. ***** THATS 17 HOURS LATER, IN A HOUSE THAT WAS 86 DEGREES **** But Back to What Happened, : I did get a Returned Phone Call at 3:30pm Saturday Afternoon from the Tech on Duty,and quot;Donald Dand quot; is all he wrote on the work order, Too ashamed to write down his full name. So i explained the Situation to him and Mr. Donald Duck told me that he had one other stop before me up in Vero Beach , which means he would have to pass my home to go 1 hour north to service the vero beach Customer. I said and quot; OK and quot; see you in about 3-4 hours then .... Yes, Mr Donald Duck said to me .That sound about right.. Tick,Tock,Tick,Tock,Tick,Tock.......Now it is 8 p.m. 4 and 1/2 Hours Later But No Mr.Donald Duck. So i called back the answering service operator , Spoke with Tom. Tom i said , I spoke with the Tech Donald D, At 3:30 pm and he said he had one stop in Vero Beach and then he was coming to my House. Can you tell me Tom ,Where is he ? Is he coming ? Is there another Tech working tonight ? The only Tom could tell me with 100 % certainty is that and quot; There is no other Tech working Tonight but Mr. Donald Duck ... I am smarter than the Average Guy so when Donald Duck called me the first time @ 3:30saturday Afternoon i saved his cell number. So i start calling and quot; The Duck and quot; Myself, cutting out the middle man Tom. Donald Duck Fell for this Trick only Once, He answers my First call, What Happened? Are you still coming ? We are burning up in the house and it is getting Late .. The Duck Tells me , and quot; I am, Working and will be there No Matter What Time It Is ? ******* NOTHING FOR HOURS, I try calling The Duck , Even * 67 my phone number Hiding it from The Duck . But the Duck is smart to my tricks. So, I start calling Tom again, and quot;Tom Whats going on ? I need someone here to fix the A/C.......What are we going to do ? Tom has NO ANSWERS !!! He says those exact words, Steve I have NO ANSWERRS FOR YOU . I CAN NOT GET IN TOUCH WITH DONALD DUCK.. Sunday Morning 8:30 a.m . After My family Slept outside in the backyard All Night Long with 5 Fans turned o on high speed to try to keep them somewhat comfortable.......Mr Donald Duck shows up.looks at the A/C Unit and tell me that the person from his company Preferred Air Conditioning Mr.Scott who install this 10 month old A/C unit and Mr.Scott who also started up the A/C unit on 12/10/2012, Installed the wrong Thermostat........and that Mr. Scott install a thermostat for a HEAT PUMP !! PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE DO NOT USE and quot;PREFERRED AIR CONDITIONINGand quot; Save your Time , Save your MONEY, These guys DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU !! Call me direct and i can let you know who is a good Air Conditioning Company to use in the Treasure Coast Area in Florida . Steven Greco 516-965-9200
Description of Work
Repair A/C Unit
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
joseph G.
5.0
08/19/2013
Prompt, suggestive sell a package that would save me money on this trip let alone a follow up maintenance good for 1 year. I used them last year for the same item and it did cost me slightly more. Suggested offer was truly a good offer. BEST SERVICE AROUND....USE THEM ALL THE TIME
Description of Work
maintenance and repair of my AC
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
THOMAS M.
5.0
03/01/2013
They did a very professional job and I was very happy with their work. They answered my questions, were very responsive in every respect and did everything very efficiently. They offered the best price and their service overall was as good as I had hoped.
Description of Work
They installed a new central AC/Heating system in my home - new indoor air handler, UV filter and heating coils in my attic along with exterior compressor unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Harriet S.
5.0
12/19/2012
overall it was a very good experience every thing that was promised was delivered on time and in a professional way.
Description of Work
installed new airconditoning unit
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Joy P.
5.0
10/29/2012
Estimator arrived promptly, was very knowlegeable, noted my requirements and said the sales manager would follow up with prices. The sales manager was prompt, courteaousand provided prices with several options. No high pressure and willing to answer all my questions. Installation was scheduled for my convenience and completed effciently.
Description of Work
Replaced 13 year old Rheem A/C system with new Carrier system and eletronic air cleaner. By far the best price with exact comparisons to 4 other reputable companies. Fast, efficient service. New unit excedes my expectaions. They said the new unit would be more efficient than the old one but made no predictions or promises as to savings. I was amazed to find that my electric bill has been over $100 less each month of the summer since the new unit was installed.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
steven B.
2.0
09/27/2012
Technician talked to his girlfriend on his cell phone the entire time he was doing work. He failed to find a problemmatic capacitor that was going bad. The scheduler also refused to send a technician that we had experience with.
Description of Work
Semi annual a/c check up.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Per our records we have not been to this home since 12/29/2010 for any type of work whatsoever, I think there may be some mistake within this review maybe it was another comapny. We never ever refuse to send a homeowners requested technician, I personally schedule ALL service calls and have for the last 10 years here. We will always send the homeowner the tech they request there are times that specific techs are not avaliable at the specific time requested but we make every single effort to schedule the tech they want at the first avaliable time frame. I encourage all consumers to contact companies 1st with their concerns.
Brian R.
5.0
05/08/2012
It was fast and good service. They came on time and fixed the problem. Very professional.
Description of Work
They figured out the problem. A bad capacitor that powers the fan motor. Now the A/C is fixed and everything is working.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Merle E.
5.0
02/09/2012
I liked them and they were very good. They were knowledgeable, reliable, and did a very good job. They interacted well and the communication was good. They responded immediately to my requests. They were recommended and acknowledged that recommendation. They were appreciative and delivered what I asked. They gave me a small discount and were just good. I got what I wanted. I interviewed several air conditioning companies and they would say that they would make it fit. I was told that a certain air conditioner couldn't fit in my attic. At the end, they told me that the air conditioner that I had previously hadn't been installed properly. I was just impressed because it is kind of a small company. I probably could have got a better price, but I would still rate them highly because the price was okay with me. I didn't feel the need to go further with the price.
Description of Work
I last used Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical, Inc. for installation of an air conditioner 3 weeks ago.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Phyllis C.
5.0
02/08/2012
It was excellent. They were here on time. The did not leave a mess. They could have left a huge mess but they cleaned up nicely. They did a great job. They answered all of my questions and never looked down on me for asking. I would refer them to anyone.
Description of Work
They did a change out of our furnace and air conditioner. They checked the ductwork.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    AIR DUCT ASEPTICS

    Air Duct Aseptics provides comprehensive sensible indoor air solutions to Floridians such as duct cleaning, repairs and replacement, mold removal and mold remediation. air conditioning repairs and replacement  

    Angi Certified

    Quality Air of America

    Serving all Of Palm Beach, Broward, Port St Lucie, and Miami Counties. We are a customer-first business. We specialize in A/C Repair & Installation, New Air Duct Systems & Duct Cleaning & Attic Insulation. Our technicians are licensed and insured. It would be our pleasure to help you with your air comfort and quality needs.  

    Angi Certified

    HVAC Specialist Air Duct Cleaners

    AIR DUCT CLEANING SERVICES  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Air Conditioning Repair, Duct Cleaning, Indoor Air Quality

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc

    How is Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc overall rated?

    Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc is currently rated 3.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc open?

    Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc provide

    Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc?

    Yes, Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc offer?

    Preferred Air Conditioning & Mechanical Inc offers the following services: Air Conditioning Repair, Duct Cleaning, Indoor Air Quality