Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Grout Doctor

With Angi since April 2009

3.8

(20) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4952 Laurel Hill Dr

Venice, FL 34293

Description

License #CRC1329693. dba: The Grout Doctor Sarasota, Florida & Grout Doctor.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/23/2021


Ray P.

We contracted The Grout Doctor to restore our dirty floor tile and grout to a like new condition. I cannot say enough good things about them. We had a large area consisting of 5-6 rooms tiled with Travertine and had two large medallions that were particularly dirty. They now look brand new! Brett was beyond professional as well as his assistant, his wife. They definitely have the experience and knowledge required to do a quality job as Brett formally installed tile for a living. They not only cleaned our tile but restored our grout with two treatments of colored sealer, filled in missing or damaged grout, repaired loose tiles and paid special attention to our two medallions, which they also sealed with epoxy. They showed up on time and were at our house for approx. 6 hours, we have a lot of tile! They got a quick start and Brett left about half way through for another job. His wife stayed and finished and I have never seen someone work as hard as she did to finish the job! I would definitely recommend them to restore your tile to like new condition!

Description of Work
Tile and Grout cleaning and restoration

Category ceramic tile

5.0

12/05/2020


Brett G.

Excellent. We had a great transition

Description of Work
Research for business

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, floor cleaning

5.0

07/24/2020


Michele B.

I cannot say enough good things about Brett Brett and his staff. They showed up at my front door ready to work with their masks and gloves on. Brett combine colors to create a perfect blend of what I was imagining for a color stain. My grout looks like brand new and it has improved the looks of my kitchen immensely. Brett and his team also repaired my tiles were they were chipped and it looks like a brand new floor. This is the second job that I have had Brett perform. The first job that Brett did about a month ago was repairing our cracked grout in our shower. He picked out the perfect color to match our existing grout and it was a seamless job. He makes his work seem effortless and his professional ability is above reproach. I am recommending Brett and his crew to my family and friends. I intend to recommend him to people who I know who are renovating their homes. They are a fantastic team. Below you can see for yourself. The taupe/gray tile is the new stain. The terra cota is the old. Thank you Brett

Description of Work
Grout repair, grout staining, tile repair.

Category ceramic tile, floor cleaning

1.0

07/13/2020


Tony O.

Brett and his staff were unprofessional, insulting, and condescending. We hired them to stain seal our grout. Though we had selected a color mix previously, They proceeded without verifying the color with us. When we requested that they simply show us a different color, Brett called us ‘difficult’ ‘impossible to please’, and his technician stormed out of our house, saying ‘good luck finding another company to do your floor’. They left us stuck With our floor half done! Despite his attitude, We asked Brett to return to finish the floor. Brett FINALLY agreed to show us different sample color, as we initially asked, which we quickly approved, and he completed the work himself. We’ve never been treated so poorly by a contractor. WE DO NOT RECOMMEND Grout Doctor Sarasota.

Description of Work
Grout staining and sealing

Category floor cleaning

2.0

01/11/2019


Robert L.

When we moved into our house, there were many lines in the white grout that were badly discolored and couldn't be cleaned up. We had scrubbed with everything we could find, with no improvements. The Grout Doctor regrouted the tile on the walls and floor of our master bath shower nine months ago. Initially, after the regrouting, we were very satisfied with the appearance of the job. However, within a few months, the black moldy lines began to reappear in parts of the floor. Scrubbing would lighten them, but doesn't remove them. Since the contractor gave us a 180 day warranty, I contacted the vendor before that time frame expired. They didn't return to our home to inspect the work, as I would have expected. They just suggested another cleaning product to try. I purchased that product, but it didn't do any better than what I'd been using. Once the warranty expired, my later attempts to contact them (emails, phone message, and a letter) have all been ignored. No reply to any of my contact attempts. It looks like I'll have to pay another company to re-do the job. That's unacceptable for a supposedly reputable company.

Description of Work
Regrouting ceramic tile shower walls and floor.

Category ceramic tile

2.0

01/11/2019


Robert L.

When we moved into our house, there were many lines in the white grout that were badly discolored and couldn't be cleaned up. We had scrubbed with everything we could find, with no improvements. The Grout Doctor regrouted the tile on the walls and floor of our master bath shower nine months ago. Initially, after the regrouting, we were very satisfied with the appearance of the job. However, within a few months, the black moldy lines began to reappear in parts of the floor. Scrubbing would lighten them, but doesn't remove them. Since the contractor gave us a 180 day warranty, I contacted the vendor before that time frame expired. They didn't return to our home to inspect the work, as I would have expected. They just suggested another cleaning product to try. I purchased that product, but it didn't do any better than what I'd been using. Once the warranty expired, my later attempts to contact them (emails, phone message, and a letter) have all been ignored. No reply to any of my contact attempts. It looks like I'll have to pay another company to re-do the job. That's unacceptable for a supposedly reputable company.

Description of Work
Regrouting ceramic tile shower walls and floor.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

07/23/2018


Brett G.

Excellent job.

Description of Work
Floors color sealed

Category ceramic tile

5.0

06/19/2018


Lana T.

Great!! Very professional! On time! Did a quality job!!

Description of Work
Master Bathroom shower needed to be regrouted, kitchen floor need to be touched up

Category ceramic tile

5.0

11/24/2017


Wilson J.

It went very well. We are very pleased with this company and their work. They were on time, professional , they cleaned when they finished. I would strongly recommend this company. WE plan to use them again!!

Description of Work
Floors Clean floor, Grout clean, Neutralize Grout and Restore Grout 2 coats and Color Seal to original.(Living and Dining room, Bathrooms, Kitchen, and family room.

Category ceramic tile

2.0

11/29/2016


Ben B.

Two young men came out with mop buckets,power bush and a shop vac which didn't seem right. I guess I was expecting a stream cleaner with a vac truck. They were very nice and proceeded to mop floors and then apply stain and sealant. 3 hours later they were done and the floor "looked" great. In a few hours the floor was dry and I put the furniture back. The next day was Thanksgiving and I had several people over and we talked about how good the floors looked. At the end of the day my guests noticed how dirty their socks and feet were from walking on my supposed clean floors which was quite embarrassing. I wiped the floor and noticed a lot of residue. I spent the next few days using my hoover wet vac cleaning the floors again. I also noticed a few grout lines were missing stain in the shower which I'll have to call them back for. I didn't want them to try cleaning my floors again because I don't care for the mop and bucket approach. I paid way to much for dirty floors. I'll do more research next time.

Description of Work
2000 sf of tile and grout cleaning and sealing including shower.

Category ceramic tile, floor cleaning

1.0

11/27/2015


Edward W.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

11/10/2015


Melanie N.

Description of Work
Very professional, my floors look like new. Very happy with GroutSmith.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

02/15/2015


Marty B.

Doug came out and provided an estimate which was lower than other estimates & encompassed more work than the other companies included in their estimates. Doug showed up on time & answered all of our questions & explained how the work would be performed. The work was performed by Eric & Bret. They showed up on time, were professional & did a very good job. They truly seemed to enjoy their work & took pride in the finished product.

Description of Work
In the master bathroom a new tile floor was put in the shower; the grout between the tiles on the shower walls was cleaned & sealed; and areas around the double sinks & floor were recaulked. The grout in the guest bathroom was cleaned & sealed & recaulked where needed in the tub/shower area & along the floor & tube. The work was performed on two visits since the shower in the master bedroom could not be used for two days.

Category ceramic tile

3.0

08/12/2013


Lewis W.

This review is mixed because I was happy with a lot that was done, but the end result was a lot of work that had to be done on my part. I called to get an estimate on replacing the grout in our bathrooms and they were able to come out that day. The owner came through, gave an estimate and we told him to go ahead and do the work. He had 2 people come in that afternoon, and they did a good job in the bathrooms. One of the employees noticed dirty grout on our floor tiles throughout the home, and explained the process they go through to clean that also. I was not happy with the discoloration of that grout and told them to go ahead and do it. They proceeded to apply a colored sealant to the grout throughout the house, and it made a huge difference. That was when things started to go bad. They mopped the floor multiple times to get up the excess sealer, but there was still residue on the floors. I asked about it and they told me I could mop it the next day and it would all easily come up. Long story short, I spent the next week on my hands and knees scrubbing with a brush and cleaner getting all the residue off the tiles. I did not call them to fix the issue because all the furniture had to be moved when they did the initial work. They put the furniture on the lanai, and there was a large mark going across the floor from where the furniture was scooted. Additionally, we had recently moved into the home, we had other things going on that I just did not feel confident in them coming in to correct the problems with all the other activities going on. They were very nice, personable, and the owner even gave me some solution for subsequent ongoing cleaning/washing the floors, but with the residue left on the floors I could not in good conscience recommend them or ask them to come back again for any service.

Description of Work
cleaned and replaced grout in both bathrooms, and put a sealer on the grout throughout the house

Category ceramic tile, floor cleaning

5.0

02/05/2013


Edward B.

two servicemen arrived promptly at the appointed time and worked straight thru, about 3 hours. Very personable and efficient, very careful of furniture and rug moves, put everything back when done. A very good job.

Description of Work
Cleaned all tiles, then sealed the grouting including the master shower.

Category ceramic tile

4.0

12/02/2011


Charlotte C.

They were okay. They did a good job. Their price was good. Their quality of workmanship is kind of debatable as they didn't do it like I thought they were going to do it. Their responsiveness and punctuality was good. I would probably try somebody else that uses a different method.

Description of Work
I used the services of The Grout Doctor about a month ago. They cleaned my shower.

Category ceramic tile

3.0

10/08/2011


Jane B.

See Above! I really can't say I would juse this company after the bad experiences I had with others. I would really have to do my homework. I didn't use them. You are asking me questions to rate like would I use them again, etc. when it doesn't apply.

Description of Work
I had the Grout Dr. out for an estimate on Grout Staining. He didn't tell me anything about the product he uses. I asked for a list of references & he supplied that. I think there was only one over 3 months old. Well, the problem doesn't start until about 6 months it comes back like it was. So that didn't do me any good. I hired someone else & she did a beautiful job but came off in 3 months & she wouldn't make it right. That's the 2nd time I've been taken with tile people. Maybe I should have chose the Grout Dr. I don't think it could have come out worse. $2,000 down the drain so far.

Category ceramic tile

3.0

01/19/2011


Bill B.

We had another company do the work for us. This guy did not seem to understand the technical nature of the composition of our grout to know it did not need to be painted.

Description of Work
He came out to give an estimate for grout cleaning on our floor. They said they needed to paint it again, but the company we went with said we did not need to have it painted again. We asked to have it painted and the company that did the work said it was not necessary but the Grout Doctor said he was going to paint it.

Category ceramic tile, floor cleaning

5.0

05/21/2010


Patricia S.

Estimator was on time for our appointment. Thoroughly explained what needed to be done and how much time and money it was going to cost. The day of the scheduled job the owner came with his worker - got him set up, then the owner left. The worker kept at the job dillegently and did a very good job. The only thing I would recommend is that the owner should stop back at the end of the day to inspect the job himself. That would have made me a little bit happier. All in all I was very satisfied with the job.

Description of Work
Removed old unsightly grout from walk in shower walls and floor. Regrouted entire surface. Cleaned and polished tiles afterword. The shower looks and feels like new again. A little on the pricey side, but it was a large dirty job that my husband would not, or could not have done himself. Very pleased with the results!

Category ceramic tile

5.0

04/27/2009


Adam P.

I rescheduled three times and they were flexible. When they came to my house, they were professional and courteous. My insurance company took over and I was not able to use Grout Doctor but I would recommend them for any grout needs based on my experience with them.

Description of Work
None.

Category ceramic tile

    Other local Pros in your area

    FLOOR CLEANING EXPERTS

    We Clean Polish and Seal Any Floor  

    Sarasota Marble Restoration

    Sarasota Marble Restoration is a locally owned and family operated business based in Sarasota, Florida. COMPETITVE PRICING and HIGH QUALITY service is what we offer. We specialize in working with Granite, Marble, Travertine, Terrazzo, Concrete & other types of natural stones. We offer stone cleaning, polishing, honing, dyeing, repairing & sealing services. WE CARE about how projects are performed, by only using the finest materials and always taking the necessary precautions to protect surrounding areas (such as walls and furniture). We understand that customers do not have years of restoration, cleaning and maintenance experience, and that is why they trust our knowledge to perform quality work. OUR COMMITMENT is to work closely with customers, providing you with real solutions based on your needs. We take great pride in our work and in providing you with outstanding results. We believe this, along with honesty and integrity, is the key to obtaining and maintaining your trust.  

    Knock On Wood Flooring

    Servicing the Sarasota area for over 9 years and over 20 years experience. We pride ourselves on our workmanship guaranteeing the quality of work. We make sure that all of our installers are insured. No job is too big or too small in all of Sarasota County and Manatee County. We have been in business since 2003 and are woman owner-operated.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Tile Regrouting, Floors, Grout Cleaning and Sealing, Countertops, Grout Staining and Recoloring, Bathtubs, Grout and Tile Repair, Showers, Recaulk and Restore, Fireplaces, Bars, Natural Stone Cleaning and Sealing. Specializing in Residential Tile and Grout Cleaning and Care.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Grout Doctor

    How is The Grout Doctor overall rated?

    The Grout Doctor is currently rated 3.8 overall out of 5.

    Does The Grout Doctor offer free estimates?

    Yes, The Grout Doctor offers free project estimates.

    Does The Grout Doctor offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, The Grout Doctor does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by The Grout Doctor?

    No, The Grout Doctor does not offer warranties.

    What services does The Grout Doctor offer?

    The Grout Doctor offers the following services: Tile Regrouting, Floors, Grout Cleaning and Sealing, Countertops, Grout Staining and Recoloring, Bathtubs, Grout and Tile Repair, Showers, Recaulk and Restore, Fireplaces, Bars, Natural Stone Cleaning and Sealing. Specializing in Residential Tile and Grout Cleaning and Care.