Shingle Masters Roofing & Construction Services

About

Founded 2006 • With Angi since August 2008

Family owned and operated. Roofing and Construction Company. Owens Corning Platinum Preferred Roofing Contractor. Roof Repairs, Re-roofing, Gutters, Home Repairs, Remodels, and New Construction. ****If you are using the Angie's list message system to email us, please include all of your contact information, ie: phone number and address were work is to be performed. Thank you!****** Award wining. Additional DBA - Shingle Masters Roofing & Construction Services Inc. Additional email - mike@shingle-masters.com. Additional phones - (727) 536-7663, (941) 954-7663....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+1 more images

Verified Reviews

4.7

(299) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

246

4

15

3

5

2

11

1

22

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

roofing (294)siding companies (22)general contractors (16)chimney repair (7)gutter repair (36)roof cleaning (10)stucco (8)house painting (6)decks & porches (6)chimney cap repair (4)home builder (3)window replacement (3)
Showing 1-25 of 299 reviews
5.0

10/29/2020


AJ F.

Todd Fries was a fantastic rep for Shingle Masters. He thoroughly explained their whole process, was punctual with being on time for the original estimate, followed up with us up to signing the deal, and continued to follow up after the job was done. The craftsmanship by the roofers, themselves, was impeccable. Showing up so early the day of the re-roof and somehow managing to finish it in ONE DAY was remarkable. Cannot recommend Shingle Masters enough. Surpassed all of our expectations!!

Description of Work
Total Re-Roof

Category gutter repair, roofing, chimney caps, chimney repair, home builders

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2020

5.0

03/19/2020


Scott D.

Very well. Brock came out and evaluated the problem: water leaking out of front porch columns. He identified rot around the top column bases. He generated a proposal of roofing replacement, column base replacement (part of front dormer), stucco replacement, and painting. The crews showed up a few weeks later (as agreed) and had part of the roofing, near the problem removed, and the rotten wood at the top column bases removed all on the first day. Second day the roof decking was repaired and shingles replaced, new top column bases constructed and installed. The third day stucco was installed and allowed to dry for a week. Finally all affected stucco areas were caulked and painted to a perfect match of existing area not repaired.

Description of Work
Leaking Roof Into Front Columns

Category remodeling, roofing, stucco, house painters

Cost $4,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/06/2020

5.0

12/23/2019


Tiffany W.

The process went SO smooth!!! We started with a "meet and greet" where Shingle Masters visited my home to assess my roof and provide a quote. They explained the process in terms I understood, gave me options for roofing shingles, and gave me time to review all information without any pressure. They took time to answer all of my questions to be sure I felt comfortable moving forward. Once the crew started, the majority of the work was done in a day, and the remaining days were spent with final touches. Ensuring our stucco was repaired (AND PAINTED) where needed. They made improvements on weak design areas in the structure of our roof as opposed to just replacing shingles. Everyone I interacted with, from the office to the crew on site where extremely nice and professional. It's hard to find a company to trust with such a large project and from the "meet and greet" I had with Shingle Masters, I knew I was making the right choice to work with them. Everyone took pride in their part in replacing our roof and went above and beyond to bring our roof up to code and to look beautiful!

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2019

5.0

10/13/2019


Robert C.

Loved working with Shingle Masters and Todd Fries. They did a Fantastic job on our roof. Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2019

1.0

06/23/2019


Richard B.

Ok, where do I begin? I have used you guys to replace my roof 2 years ago and I recently asked for a quote to have my soffits replaced so Brock came out on Friday 14th to measure. He then proceeded to tell me he will have my quote the following Monday. I did not hear back and I texted him on Wednesday. Now today is Sunday the 23rd and still have not received a response from him. Needless to say I am very disappointed in your lack of response. You guys just finished a roof for my good friend referred by me. So now that's two roofs done thru me and I cannot get a quote and have to beg for that quote to pay you more money. Needless to say you will no longer get any more referrals from me and I hope you made your last dime off me. I will be spreading the lack of service you provide plus the fact you never answer your phones and that people can only contact you using website request form.

Description of Work
Replace my soffits

Category roofing

Work Completed On 06/14/2019

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with your roof replacement two years ago. Soffit replacement is not a primary business for us and typically takes place as part of the roofing replacement(at the same time). Soffit repairs and replacement quotes are not as straightforward and typically take more time to quote. Good luck with your project.

5.0

06/12/2019


ALAN M.

Excellent job, they came on time. they took two days to rip off the old roof and put on a new one. I've had it 3 years no leaks or missing shingles. I paid $10,000

Description of Work
New roof in Hunters green

Category roofing

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2019

5.0

03/27/2019


ROBERT C.

Very well.Replaced roof and delivered enough cedar facia boards in advance so that I could paint it before they came out.They replaced it as they did the roof. You get good honest workmanship. I will say this about Brock ,one of the family that gives estimates. I also had installation installed at the time. I thought Brock had he would add in an extra 5 sheets of plywood because they were going to take up some plywood to shoot in the insulation. Eventhough Brock didn't remember it he honored it. Very much recommend wind Miitigation report. I got a 700.00 refund on my homeowners insurance because of the thorough job Michael did showing what they did on the roof and adding in the improvements for storm shutters, Garage door and windows I was entitled to.

Description of Work
teardown and roof replacement

Category contractors, roofing, chimney repair, stucco

Cost $15,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2019

2.0

01/14/2019


Teodora H.

I had small leak in entrance of home which they only "temporarily fix" 2 years ago when I had the roof done (of course they did not say it was "temporary fix" back then), now is leaking again and they blame the wall which I even have new paint Sherwin Williams on now..they say it will cost $150 for them to come, would never rehire a company that does not stand for their work, this in not a customer service oriented company at all. In addition, they did a very poor job of picking the nails and cleaning after the job was done. Estimates came above others, I made the wrong assumption their job would be worthed, but I was wrong.

Description of Work
complete roof replacement

Category roofing

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/26/2016

Service Provider Response

I apologize that you are unhappy, however your description of what has occurred is incorrect. Two years ago when we came to Mr. [Member Name Removed] home we located the leak coming through an area on the gable wall where the fascia meets the stucco. We explained this to the homeowner and as a courtesy, caulked this connection point. Several months ago Mr. [Member Name Removed] contacted us again with a warranty request. We had a crew on site the same day. We were unable to reach Mr. [Member Name Removed] and no one answered the door. At this appointment we could not find any issues with the roof but noted a stucco crack on the same gable wall. Stucco cracks will leak. Since this visit we have attempted to schedule an appointment with Mr. [Member Name Removed] to schedule a water test, but he has refused this service and has requested that we come when it rains. Mr. [Member Name Removed] can contact our office to schedule a warranty inspection. To date his roof has not leaked. Thank you

1.0

12/22/2018


David T.

Never returned phone calls or requests through Angie's list. Not even a "we will schedule you later"

Description of Work
Soffit replaced

Category roofing

Work Completed On 12/22/2018

Service Provider Response

Mr [Member Name Removed], i apologize for not being able to quote your repair. I hope you were able to locate a service provider to make your soffit repair. Thank you!

1.0

12/07/2018


Bob W.

They went to the property to do an estimate. Called me and said it needed a new roof as well. I asked them to send me the gutter estimate and I would look at the roof when I could get to the property in two weeks. They never sent me an estimate. Did not return my calls or texts. In summary, they couldn't upsell me into a new roof and didn't have the decency to let me know they weren't interested in doing the job. Not very professional, and in my mind calls into question their integrity as a contractor.

Description of Work
gutters and downspouts

Category gutter repair, roofing

Work Completed On 11/19/2018

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Eric visited your mothers home as scheduled. Eric called you while on site and sent you photos of the roof damage he found. He noted rotten plywood and falling soffits. We do not install gutters on defective roofs. You told Eric that you would contact him after you came down from New York. Unfortunately we did not hear back from you. If you are still in need of roof and gutter work Eric would be happy to reach out to you and quote the work. Thank you!

2.0

09/27/2018


Cynthia S.

The sales guy, Brock, is slick... has the folders, pamphlets, sampkes & everything. Then come the workers who couldn't give a crap & not a single one speaks english. Tossed my sattelite off the roof & broke it. Left visible holes in the wood on my roof decking & simply papered/shingled over them. Left my gutters dangling. Used cedar for some beams & unpressure treated pine for others (in high moisture, exposed, visible area outside). They even nailed these 2 different types of wood for the beam repairs to each other! Hello rot & termites! I guess they ran out of cedar & used whatever was lying around. They even left some beams rotted, but replaced beadboard above the rot. This is all still after I had to practically stand over them for 3 days & catch all the other "getter-duns" that they tried to slip through. Imagine if I hadn't!!! Once they pack up - good luck getting anything fixed when you find it. They haven't even been away from my house for an hour & the games began. What you will get are excuses & accused of "heresay". Why should they care? They make you sign an agreement which allows them to place a lien on your house if you withold payment. Now I understand why... I would love to upload pictures, but the angie's list keeps giving me an error message. $14,000 for a 1,600 sq ft house. Proves that paying for the most expensive contractor doesn't guarantee quality of any sort.

Description of Work
Replace roof

Category contractors, roofing

Cost $14,000

Work Completed On 09/27/2018

5.0

07/22/2018


Jay K.

REASON FOR SELECTION: I reviewed Shingle Master's ratings in Angie's List and a colleague at work highly recommended them. PRICE: -Actual cost of just replacing shingles with the 50 year shingles was $17K. I spoke to many of my neighbors who have similar houses and they claim to have paid around $17K. So I figure this was okay. - I also requested the option of having insulation blown into my attic, this was an additional $1.9K. - I also have Peel & Stick placed all over the roof for $900 - I also paid $300 for an upgraded workmanship warrant that was transferable to the new owner - I was graciously given a $300 military discount for my service. - I also had to pay over $1K for 21 extra pieces of plywood (making 26 total pieces swapped out) (the contract provided for 5 pieces of plywood to be included). I expressed my concern over this issue and the salesman assured me this was typical and nothing to worry about. He led me to believe that in the worst case scenario, I might have to have 5-10 pieces replaced and his company would furnish me with pictures of the damaged wood. Upon receipt of my bill I requested those pictures and they don't account for 26 pieces being damaged, just a few. QUALITY: The final appearance of the roof looks good. However, I have reservations about a practice that was performed on my house. Upon returning home I noted that the roofing crew was blowing insulation through two square holes (my estimate of the hole size is 18-24 inches square) that were cut in the sheathing in at least two areas of my roof. I believe they cut more holes then the two I saw because I could see what looked like repair work on the peel & stick in other areas. What I could not understand was why they had to cut holes in the roof for insulation when they had to replace 26 pieces of plywood. Moreover, where one of the holes was cut was over the garage and my wife made it know she was home and could have afforded them access to the attic through the garage. I've been told this is not normal practice. I am enclosing a picture of one of the hold to illustrate. RESPONSIVENESS: Right from the start, communication was disappointing. Even though my first call was before 4:00 pm I got the answering machine that urged me to go to their website and fill out a form. I constantly got the answering machine. If my co-worker had not urged me to hang in there, I probably would have sought out another company. I even had trouble getting replies to my emails. PUNCTUALITY: No problems here. PROFESSIONALISM: I went with Good for a rating for a few reasons. - The day the dumpster was delivered (Tues) I found nails in my driveway (work had not even begun) - The next day (Wed) someone from Shingle Masters met my wife early in the morning; however he didn't return the rest of the day. We only saw the roofers. - The next day (Thu) no one from Shingle Masters dropped by to check on the work. We only saw the roofers. - On Wednesday when the roofers were done for the day they left the furniture they moved out in the middle of the front yard along with an insulation hose; they left tools (radio and ice chest) up on the roof; and just departed. Picture enclosed. - On Thursday when they were done, the did move the furniture back, tidied up before they left and took the dumpster. - Wood covered by a blue tarp was left in my yard for a few more days. - Met owner on 11 July; he was professional and amicable to talk with. I addressed my positive comments and negative concerns with him.

Description of Work
1. Roof Shingles Replaced 2. Peel & Stick installed on entire roof with 2 layers in valleys to gain secondary water resistance credit on wind mitigation inspection 3. Insulation (6-8 inches of Owens Corning attic cat insulation R-30 or R-38) blown into attic

Category insulation, roofing

Cost $21,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2018

Images

Review for Shingle Masters Roofing & Construction Services - 2502 Culbreath Cove Ct, Valrico, FL - 37258240

+2 More

5.0

05/13/2018


larry Z.

Everything went great, we had some problems with our insurance company, Mike helped us with that with no hassles. Everyone that we dealt with was great, the whole experience was so painless and easy for us. We highly recommend Shingle Masters, you won't be sorry.

Description of Work
need a new roof due to hurricane damage

Category roofing

Cost $13,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2018

5.0

02/27/2018


Charles M.

We contacted Shingle Masters due to a roof leak. Mike came by the next day to inspect. He thoroughly explained what he found and what our options were, and provided a written estimate. We gave them a go ahead to do the repair work. They arrived on time on the day we scheduled. They were clean and professional. All work was completed as per the proposal and they left the area cleaner then when they arrived. There were no additional "hidden charges"; we paid what was proposed (actually less, as they honored an Angie's List discount). We are very happy with the completed work and highly recommend Shingle Masters for your roofing needs.

Description of Work
Roof Repair

Category roofing

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/26/2018

5.0

02/14/2018


Donna P.

Shingle masters was very professional, and a pleasure to deal with. Eric worked with me to choose the right products for my home and budget. At 7:00 am on my start day, My project manager Chris was at my door - with a full crew, they worked from dawn until dark and had the job done in two days. Everything was done quickly and thoroughly - problems were addressed, not covered up. I definitely made the right choice by hiring them and would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Roof, soffit and fascia replacement

Category roofing

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2018

4.0

02/07/2018


Jodi K M.

“A” rating for George, the gutter expert. He found solutions to combine gutter downspouts to make our water evacuation more efficient. They came out and gave us a quote quickly. The only thing that could be improved upon was responsiveness, since we needed to follow-up to confirm scheduling of our small job. The workers showed up to check the roof and seal where required, and luckily we were home that day, since we weren’t informed they were coming at that time. In the end, however, we were pleased with both the gutter and roof work, and we would use them again.

Description of Work
Small job - Roof check and seal, move gutter downspouts

Category gutter repair, roofing

Cost $650

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/29/2017

Images

Review for Shingle Masters Roofing & Construction Services - 2502 Culbreath Cove Ct, Valrico, FL - 37779624
4.0

01/17/2018


John T.

This was evidently not their favorite job as almost 4 months elapsed from initial inquiry to completion, and might have been more without repeated nagging from me. In fairness it was a small job with a minimal roofing element. My contact Todd was courteous, helpful and always accessible. The work itself was completed to a high standard including a better-than-expected match of new aluminum siding to old vinyl. The work crews were capable, polite and friendly. Unable to rate price as I did not get other estimates.

Description of Work
Demolish fiberglass shingle patio roof measuring about 15' x 10' which was in danger of falling down due to widespread rot. Add building wrap and new siding (about 15' x 4') to the resulting gap in the house exterior wall.

Category roofing, siding

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/16/2018

1.0

01/10/2018


Alan M.

I asked for an estimate for a small leak repair due to a nail that was sticking up, roof is only 14 years old. when the gentleman came to look at it the first words out of his mouth were that the shingles were in bad shape and it didn't make sense to spend $1,000 dollars on a repair when a new roof was in order. he then told me the gutters were in bad shape and needed to be replaced as well, they are aged but in no way needed to be replaced. the estimate, for the roof only, came in at $18,000 2 subsequent estimates from different companies both came in at $16,000 and both companies said the shingles looked good and estimated the should last another 3-5 years. shingle masters was very dishonest and never had any intention of performing a repair, they only wanted to sell me a new roof and gutters. the small leak was repaired for less than $100

Description of Work
small roof leak

Category roofing

Work Completed On 07/13/2018

5.0

12/09/2017


Michelle P.

A tree had fallen on our house so we needed service fast. They were quick, knowledgeable, and professional. They worked non-stop until the job was complete. I would recommend and use again.

Description of Work
Full roof replacement after a tree fell on our roof

Category roofing

Cost $27,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2016

2.0

12/02/2017


cas P.

Leaks started less than a year later. Their record keeping is lowsey. Customer service is horrible when they are told to honor the warranty. Would not use again! They contract their work out and they don’t even keep records of who is completing the work. They have no customer service skills at all. They may get a lot of work but I bet they don’t keep the customers.

Description of Work
New roof install.

Category roofing

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

1.0

12/02/2017


cas P.

Customer service was horrible once they received their check. Record keeping is a disaster. They ask you to sign paperwork than cannot find a copy to send you when. Requested. Low and behold they have had to come out twice in the two years after the roof was installed to repair areas they forgot to seal. We had a leak in our laundry room that was not sealed properly around the vent and mold started to grow around it. Well I asked them for paperwork regarding their repair so I can submit to insurance and guess they will not call back.

Description of Work
Replace roof

Category roofing

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2015

5.0

11/16/2017


Christian H.

They were prompt. They did a good cleanup. They fixed the leak. They did everything they were supposed to. The price that they quoted me - there was no jacking up the price once they got on site. I reported another leak to them after they got on site, which they gave me an additional estimate for that repair. They went ahead and fixed that as well. In fact, I'm going to need a new roof in two or three years and I'm going to get them to come out and do it. They gave me an estimate for that when they were here.

Description of Work
They took care of a roof leak I had.

Category roofing