Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Zehm Inspections

Founded 2004 • With Angi since August 2010

4.8

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2043 Larchwood ct

Trinity, FL 34655

Description

Home Inspections

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/03/2016


William M.

Description of Work
They did the following: Complete finishing of previously empty basement space, replacement of flooring on ground floor (tile and engineered wood), design and renovate master bathroom (floor to ceiling), renovate kitchen (counter top, refinish cabinets, vented fan, lighting, sink, etc), paint entire residence, and other updates throughout the residence. |They did great work! Their suggestions and ideas were very helpful as we conducted the entire design and item selection via email, as we were living overseas. They provided status' and photos during the work and the results were even better than we expected. I would highly recommend them.

Category gutter repair, replacement windows, home remodeling

5.0

11/16/2015


Theresa D.

Terrific job well done on a short timeline. Very professional and responsive.

Description of Work
Put in sprayed ceilings in lower level, kitchen lights, ductwork, etc. they did an awesome job!

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

04/07/2015


Cade H.

Provided great suggestions on where to place windows, etc. as well as decorative advice (door knobs, trim, etc.). Was also flexible as we weighed out size, location and design of both sunroom and shed. Generally fair priced. Some unexpected delays with sickness, personal time, etc. of his contractors but this is typical with most projects of this size. I'd say the delays numbered in days and not weeks. Finished product looks great and we are very happy we chose Mike.

Description of Work
4 season sun room and outdoor shed

Category replacement windows, home remodeling, sunrooms

5.0

02/20/2014


Gary Z.

Went wel. Called Mike made appt. left up to Mike to perform. He came out, did the job.

Description of Work
Replaced gutter on garage.

Category gutter repair

5.0

02/19/2014


BOB S.

The work went extremely well and turned out better that expected. We had the stone around the gas fireplace replaced with river rock and also had the fireplace itself replaced. Larry, the project manager, did a fantastic job putting the rock in place, making sure that the stones had the right look. While the job took a little longer than originally anticipated, the wait was well worth it. Both Larry and his assistant Brian also made sure to clean up everyday, especially before a weekend, so that we were not put out. They also did a great job building our new linen closet. There is a long hallway on our second floor, and with Mike's help, decided on taking out a portion to build the closet. It only took a few days, and when it was completed, it actually looked like it should have been there all along. Great job. There were also a couple of other minor projects that the team did a great job completing, including building better quality steps in the garage, fixing a couple of doors that were not closing properly, and completing a caulking job left over from the previous owners. All executed extremely well,

Description of Work
Re-built fireplace and added new linen closet on second floor.

Category remodeling, fireplaces

5.0

10/07/2013


Jean E.

The actual job starts in about 2 weeks. So far we have had the meetings and estimates and gathering everything for the actual bath remodel. Will let you know when we get started and finish this project. So far, TOTALLY PLEASED WITH ZEHM BUILDING CONCEPTS!

Description of Work
So far he responded to our call for an estimate to remodel our bathroom. He called back the next day, came out in a day or two, was punctual, friendly and professional. He came back in a timely fashion with a good estimate (just what we were thinking). Very detailed, obviously knows what he is doing, easy to talk to and looking forward to working with him. He told us to go out and choose our stuff for the remodel and gave us a list. We did that and called him. He came back out with his foreman of the project to meet my husband. We are totally pleased with every thing about Mike Zehm and his company so far and expect nothing less when the project starts in about 2 weeks. Looking forward to working with them and feel confident we are going to love the end result.

Category home remodeling

5.0

09/23/2013


Andrea A.

Mike and his team did a great job. I love both of my new bathrooms. Mike was easy to work wth, communicated clearly and otten. He gave clear guidenc and suggestions. His people did a great job keeing the muss and fuss to a minimum.

Description of Work
Complete tear down to studs and remodel of two full bathrooms in a 40yr old Wasau home

Category home remodeling

5.0

07/24/2013


Carol G.

It's a work still in progress. Have one more bathroom to do & cosmetic work in living room & bedrooms but the most difficult & time consuming work is done. Per my request & needs, the whole project is taking longer than anticipated; the cooperation I've experienced is great. I can't speak highly enough for Mike & his subcontractors; his prime concern is being sure you've got the end result that you're aiming for & are happy with the work his subs are doing.. . Fred Coulter was fantastic about demolition, insulation, framing, tile work getting cabinets up & the island.; I don't think there's anything Fred can't do! Mike Buffy with Sunset Electric, Derek Lewis with Lewis Heating & Air, Mark, doing drywall & ceilings. Mark Brown with plumbing. I've just had a terrific experience with Mike & his people! Money spent through Zehm Building Concepts is money well spent! These people are professionals, listen to them! They'll be listening to what you want to accomplish & remember it's a team effort. If you get Mike for a contractor you're a lucky person indeed! :)

Description of Work
Provided supervision of all subcontractors throughout the on-going remodeling of my 30 year old house, advised on all aspects of each phases of the work-we've literally rebuilt the half of the house that was in extreme need of revamping. Gutted kitchen, dining room bath, & laundry. Made dining room the kitchen & kitchen the dining area. Enlarged the bathroom, built pantry in new kitchen & island for new kitchen, patio door in new dining area. New efficent ductwork in the basement. New wiring for the kitchen, bathroom, laundry room & back hall. Ceramic tiled new kitchen, laundry bath & hallwayl When actually done with everything we'll have pix on his web site. ( www.zehmbuildingconcepts.com is the site if i'm not mistake). Mike & his sub-contractors listened to what I wanted to accomplish & guided me to reach that end with valuable suggestions on making my home a safe & functional environment for a aging baby-boomer.

Category egress windows, remodeling, replacement windows, home builders, architect, home remodeling

5.0

07/10/2013


Patricia K.

He was 2.5 times over our budget (which was admittedly very tight) so was not in the running for our project. He did have some great suggestions that helped us ask the right questions when others came to give us estimates. We were very impressed with his knowledge, his honesty and his professionalism. Even though we didn't use him, if you can afford him I got the feeling he would do a very thorough job and he is very conscientous. Had he been in the range of our budget, even at the top end of the range we probably would have gone with him. It was only the price that was the deciding factor for us.

Description of Work
He gave us an estimate (rough) for a sunroom we were looking to build.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind remarks. I try to always be competitive on projects we look at and not the highest price. Being we didn't formally go through the estimating process, I wonder if we may have been an applies to oranges scenario here. Thanks again for the nice review on our meeting.
4.0

06/25/2013


Flint C.

The experience was neither good or bad. It was as I expected. I don't really have any negative things to say, and I don't have any positive things to say because all I got was a quote from them. They did it in a timely manner.

Description of Work
Zehm Building Concepts gave me a quote for my roofing.

Category roofing

5.0

04/22/2013


Jerry A.

The complete story appears above.

Description of Work
Our home was hit by lightening on 8/18/12, fire started in the attic of the garage and spread through the upper portions of the East 3/4 of the home, causing water and smoke damage as well as structural damage to the underside of the roof. Total deconstruction had to be done, all walls, ceilings and floors were removed, and the roof had to be replaced. The townhome was rebuilt from the roof down. All appliances and the furnace had to be replaced. Mike Zehm, general contractor, had to coordinate all work through the Insurance company, the President off the Board of the association, as well as with us, He did an excellent job keeping everyone informed and in agreement. The entire process was estimated to take between 6 and 7 months and it was completed in that time frame. Mike hired excellent people to do the various jobs, including deconstruction and cleanup before actual rebuilding was begun, and he supervised every aspect of the work to completion, that included rebuilding/ remodeling bathrooms ,kitchen, dinning room, upstairs bedroom and loft areas, as well as the total roof replacement. He made and completed various recommendations that he felt would be an advantage to us. We moved back into our home in exactly six and one half months. Some outside work remains to be completed because temperatures have to remain above freezing to do this work. We expect this to be completed in the next two weeks or less. We felt blessed to have had Mike Zehm and his workers complete this project, and would recommend him to anyone building or remodeling their home.

Category remodeling, roofing, siding, garage builders, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

08/28/2012


Gary Z.

It went very well, ordering, supplies, scheduling, and workmenship very best. And what I really think is great after Mike and his crews talk with you, they give you ideas on what you can do to make it even better.

Description of Work
Mike and crews that work with him are pros. He has done gutters, finish basement, roof, garage, most anything needed for home improvement.

Category gutter repair, remodeling, roofing, garage builders, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you Member for the nice review. You and her were great to work with!
5.0

01/28/2012


Gary Z.

As stated above we have worked with Mike Zehm. on other projects. On this project we wanted primarly our basement wired for both outlets and lights/switches and half to be dry walled and finished. Our basement is apx 1500 sq feet. we wanted it all wired and and only apx 600 feet finished as an extra living space area for recreation for our son. During the estimate with both Zehm and the electrician we discovered the off-peak basement infloor wiring we had installed when home was built could be hooked up. We had been told that it was bad. The electrician ran the OHM Test and informed use it either would work or not, since it has been hooked up and it has been working great and is helping heat the entire home. We had another issue with insulation/barrier when I had been wrongly informed that plastic sheeting needed to be removed from direct contact with basement walls, not true. It is code. Mike offered to remove studding and resheet basement walls with a sealed 2" thick foam to solve insulation problem and it has been working great. Dry walling and painting was done and looks awesome as our son said. All and all the project was done very well and we have been very pleased with Mike Zehm's work and workers. They do the job right the 1st time, but if you have issues, Mike will work with you to correct the problem.

Description of Work
We have worked with Mike Zehm. before this project, with re-roofing after a storm, the installation of gutters and down spouts on our home as well as garage and he also constructed a special enclosure for our spectic/health system equipment. In addition, Mike installed a new and improved skylight in our master bath.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business. It has been a pleasure working with you on multiple projects over the years.
5.0

01/17/2012


Gina M.

Our house had issues with ice dams so we hired a Energy Consultant to evaluate our house. We discovered some major problems with the ventilation in the attic so the consultant referred us to Mike Zehm. Mike came out and spent a lot of time looking in our attic, roof and other areas that were affected by the ice d*** damage. We discovered several problems with our roof so Mike gave us his suggestions and emailed me a quote for the work with in a couple days. We didn't have any experience in major home repairs before so we had a couple other companies and a friend come out and look at the roof as well. Mike's bid was less then the other companies and he spent more than twice the amount of time here and found many other problems that the other guys missed. He spent a lot of time educating us on the whole structure of the roof so that we understood what was happening. Had we not gone with Mike we would have never discovered the moldy rotted wood in the soffits and attic or known how bad the venting was in our house. The roofing crew came out and both roofs were done in three days. Everything was cleaned up nicely. We ended up not dreading the project as much and were actually excited to have a 'healthy' house. We appreciated Mike's suggestion that we select a new color of shingles for our roof. We liked the new look so much we decided to have our garage roof replaced as well! Mike was always available if I called him with more questions or color ideas and was able to work within our budget. What a difference, our house and garage look great. We would definitely recommend Zehm Building Concepts and plan to use them again!

Description of Work
Tear off roof on house and garage. Replaced with GAF Timberline Prestique HD shingles Included: Ice Barrier - two courses at eaves, one foot around chimneys 15 lbs felt Filled in gap on roof at bottom that was open across the entir bottom edge New Ridge Vent & closed off existing vent holes New plumbing pipe roof flashing New aluminum drip edge Replaced wood needing repair Removed soffit at eaves and replaced with center vent paneled soffit on both front and back of house. Replace rotted wood in soffit and vented wood in soffit. Disposal

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great response. I hope we can help you in the future!
2.0

01/14/2012


Matt or Janelle B.

7 windows ordered, one had to be reordered. Siding cut wrong on house so windows were reordered to fix this problem which we paid extra to do this. Second installer hired workman ship bad, cost more money to have someone else to finish the job correctly. Seemed like our job wasn't important enough to have a crew finish the job in a timely matter. They had other jobs at same time so it took longer for our project to be completed. Updated April 10, 2012: Grade F I would never recommend Zehm Building Concepts to anyone based on the nightmare experienced and the sub-par workmanship displayed by his workers. Zehm Building Concepts failed miserably on attention to detail and did not oversee/supervise the project.

Description of Work
window replacement install Updated April 10, 2012:   Mike is a General Contractor (doesn't perform work himself), who gave a quote on the replacement of 7 windows on our home. He was relatively new to window installation on older homes, because he had not done one that required lead testing, or the certification required for lead testing (1st red flag). His 1st test came back negative, then he learned his results were null and void, since he wasn't certified and couldn't begin the project until becoming certified (2nd red flag). He measured all windows several times to get the correct size and tried to make standard size windows to fit, but unfortunately custom size windows should have been ordered as we quickly learned later. When the windows finally arrived, he had his brother do the installation. His brother attempted (I emphasize the word ATTEMPT) to install, because his quality installation was extremely poor. He cut the siding on my house to wide to receive the exterior trim. He left roughly a 1/2" to 3/4" gap around the outside edge between the window trim and the siding. His brother then attempted to cover up HIS MISTAKES with caulking. I was outraged by the results. I gave Mike a second chance to make things right, so he remeasured again and this time to order custom size windows to compensate for the mistake his brother made for the gap between trim and siding. I told Mike I did not want his brother to do any further work on my home. He hired an arrogant guy who he knew that had some degree in construction, but his quality wasn't better than that of his brother. The second installer installed exterior window trim that was damaged and unplumbed. When I learned this, I mentioned this to the installer, but his arrogance shined through and walked off the job. At that point, Zehm Building Concepts was fired. I obtained another installer who listened to my concerns and who was willing to focus on my project and giving it his full attention, which Mike failed to do so. I later learned that Mike never ordered the second set of custom windows to the correct jamb size. This of course left more interior work to be done.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We acknowledge we had some issues with original install of windows. We met with owner on site and gave options to reuse windows and custom cut trim boards which would have meant trim boards 5 3/4" instead of 5 1/2" boards for around windows which would have not effected appearance or function. Owner wanted new windows, so we reordered new windows of which we paid approx. 70% of cost. Owner paid part because of custom height he wanted and was a compromise on both parties. 2nd set of windows install went well, but owner was unhappy with exterior trim boards installed around windows. We explained that the trim boards are rough until painting completed. We informed owner that once caulked & painted, trim boards would have finished look. Owner demanded trim boards be removed and new put on most of the windows. We felt that was not reasonable. Owner wanted another contractor to finish, we decided it was in everyone's best interest to agree to cancel contract. We gave owner $700.00 credit over and above owner's estimate from another contractor to finish for his troubles. Have emails as proof of this. After contract was cancelled and settled with owner, owner called us to report a warranty claim on windows, we assisted with claim on windows and had our lumber yard provide warranty service. We have worked with many customers of the 8 years we have been in business. We make every effort to rectify issues when they arise, and work with clients to give them great service.
5.0

11/03/2011


Patricia M.

They did a great job. They worked long hours and came on weekends to make sure they completed the 9 buildings that were scheduled for this fall before the weather turned too bad. It was amazing how hard they worked the entire time. They were respectful of the homeowners and the roofs look great. Mike Zehm went out of his way to get us the best price he could find on the materials for the project. We will definitely use Mike's company again and recommend them for other associations and homeowners. Pat MalonePresident, Stonepine Townhome II AssociationHudson, WI 54016

Description of Work
Zehm Building Concepts has just completed re-roofing the first 9 of 26 roofs for our townhome association. The first 9 were to be completed this fall with the remaining 17 buildings to be completed next spring and summer.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your report. We look forward to phase 2 this coming spring. Great people to work with.
5.0

07/03/2011


Jean W.

I am very happy with the new roof. The work was done on schedule. They even worked on Saturday and Sunday to finish the job after being rained out during the week. My landscaping was tarped and cleaned up well. I have not found any nails or other trash in the landscaping or yard. I was especially pleased that Mike Zehm listened to my ideas about what brands of shingles I was interested in, and then he did some research on performance and warranties to help me make the best decision. I would recommned Mike Zehm to others, and I would also have them work on my house in the future.

Description of Work
Zehm Building Concepts replaced my roof (house and yard shed) this spring.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great report and the confidence you have shown our company to work on your home with multiple projects. Such great people to work with.
5.0

05/02/2011


Debra F.

We found Mike Zehm very easy to work with. He listened to our ideas, made suggestions, and did not complain when we changed our minds numerous times on details, even when it meant reworking plans. If we needed two hours to discuss the project, he stayed two hours. In addition, we were impressed that crews actually showed up when they were supposed to show up, and did a nice job of cleaning up afterward. His prices were reasonable and fair, and he did everything he could to meet our expectations. We definitely would hire Zehm Building Concepts again, and plan to.

Description of Work
We originally hired Zehm Building Concepts to install an egress window in a bedroom remodel and were pleased with the outcome. Subsequently, we hired him to build a 14 x 14 sunroom off the second story of our home. The room has a tongue and groove wood vaulted ceiling a beautiful heated tile floor, and is lined with windows. In addition to uncooperative weather, as we live in a log home this addition would have provided unique challenges to the average builder, including scribing the inside walls and outside cedar siding to the logs on the house (dealing with very irregular logs in various conditions) and finding a sawmill to cut and kiln dry large beams to be installed to frame the opening into the sunroom from the house, yet we were pleasantly surprised at how well all challenges were met! In addition, a door was added to the outside along with a deck extension along the back of the house and around to the side door, outside lighting was updated, and gutters were added to the front and back of the house.

Category egress windows, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Thanking for trusting us with your home. The porch really is a beatiful addition to your home. I hope you can enjoy it for years to come!
5.0

04/09/2011


Jean W.

The project went very well, and was completed within days of the original promised time, even with all the extra structural and duct work that we hadn't planned for. Mike Zehm and his people were here every day, and Mike was masterful in coordinating everything to keep the job moving. From the time of the pre-estimate scoping to the final punch list, Mike listened to our wants and needs carefully and offered valuable suggestions. During demolition we discovered the original building had some structural and airflow issues. Mike was great about all the re-design and repair work that had to be done during the project. The increased costs were clearly itemized and valued fairly. All through the project, I felt like Mike was advocating for our house to be safe, sound, meet buidling codes, and for us to be satisfied with the results. I will definitely work with Mike again not only because my house turned out beautifully, but also because Mike has proven to me that he works hard for his customers' best interests and satisfaction.

Description of Work
We hired Zehm Building Concepts for a major remodeling project in our 22 year old home. The project included moving a structural wall to create a new, larger kitchen, relocating 2 bathrooms, and updating the other bathroom, trim, and finishing throughout the house. We also replaced the siding and all windows as part of this project. When hidden structural and duct work issues were found during demolition, the project expanded to include necessary repairs. The kitchen and bathroom plans included installation of 2 Viking ranges (ovens, griddle, and grill) as well as a unique triangular island and custom cabinetry throughout.

Category gutter repair, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks again for trusting us with your home. Your kitchen is such a great layout for your home.
5.0

04/05/2011


Jill M.

The work was completed in 3 days. Tarp was laid over all the foundation below their working area so as not to ruin any plants, sidewalks, decks, etc. Clean up was outstanding every night. No nails were left behind on the ground. I would recommend Mike to everyone. He is definately a professional contractor. We will be having Mike perform other construction on our home this year

Description of Work
Mike Zehm did an outstanding job on my roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for trusting us with your home projects. We look forward to working with you in the future with your home improvement needs.
5.0

03/30/2011


Lawrence D.

We received several bids from area builders for our project, including the company that built our house. Mike wasn't the lowest bid, but wasn't anywhere near the highest either. We went with Mike becasue he had some unique ideas that the other builders didn't consider, his bid was reasonable and we felt comfortable with him. The final job was done in time and within the original bid. We are very happy we went with Zehm. Quality work and a beautiful job. Whenever someone comes to our house, they always comment on the porch. I have and continue to recommend Zehm Building Concepts. Funny thing is, a friend of ours had a smaller project done and used the company that was the lowest bid on ours. They regret it.

Description of Work
We hired Zehm Building Concepts to design and build a three season porch with fireplace along with a new deck.

Category sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Thanks for allowing us to build your porch and deck- a great space to relax in!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Watertight Roofing Services LLC

    We are so confident that our customers will be happy with their new or repaired roofs that we only take payment on completion of work for most jobs under $20,000! Customer satisfaction has always driven us, and through word-of-mouth, our customer base has grown over the years. Watertight Roofing is proud to be a GAF Master Elite roofer, which allows us to offer you three different types of roofing warranties. When the owners of Watertight Roofing entered the building-industry arena several decades ago, we knew that a reputation in this business means everything. We have always treated our customers’ homes as if they were our own, which has created a successful business and a very long list of satisfied homeowners.  

    Angi Certified

    Lifestyle Remodeling

    We are Florida's #1 Four Season Sunroom installer. We specialize in year-round, all season glass sunrooms and patio enclosures. Keep out the heat, humidity, dust, pollen, bugs, rain and the harsh Florida elements. Enjoy the outdoors...indoors! Turn your unusable space into a game room, office, craft room, den, family room, playroom or just a place to relax. We can design a sunroom for any lifestyle, need or budget. Contact us today for your FREE design consultation.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Total Home Roofing

    Total Home Roofing, is here to install a high-quality roof that protects your family. We’re committed to providing homeowners with the highest quality service and the strongest, most lasting results. We offer virtual and in-person appointments with a wide range of financing options to make the most of your budget. Total Home Roofing is dependable and unfailing when it comes to your new roof. Our team of installation professionals lives in neighborhoods just like yours, so we know exactly what kind of weather your home contends with.Total Home Roofing is here to get the job done right, the first time, on time.  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    New home building, kitchen, bathroom remodeling, basement finishing, sun rooms, additions, roofing, siding, deck, porches & gutters.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Zehm Inspections

    How is Zehm Inspections overall rated?

    Zehm Inspections is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Zehm Inspections open?

    Zehm Inspections is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Zehm Inspections provide

    Zehm Inspections accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Zehm Inspections offer free estimates?

    Yes, Zehm Inspections offers free project estimates.

    Does Zehm Inspections offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Zehm Inspections offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Zehm Inspections offer a senior discount?

    No, Zehm Inspections does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Zehm Inspections?

    Yes, Zehm Inspections offers warranties.

    What services does Zehm Inspections offer?

    Zehm Inspections offers the following services: New home building, kitchen, bathroom remodeling, basement finishing, sun rooms, additions, roofing, siding, deck, porches & gutters.