Upper Left Wealth Management

About

Founded 2005 • With Angi since December 2012

I focus on people in or near retirement, who want to reduce risk and taxes. UpperLeft Wealth Management is here for anyone planning for and trying to figure out if they're on pace for retirement, or are looking for investment management, advice on social security, home mortgages, taxes in retirement, or other financial questions. Our data-driven processes and strategic planning mean we help you face the curveballs life can throw at you. I am a CFP® and fiduciary, and hold an M.B.A. in finance from Columbia Business School. My reputation is built on your trust. If you're ready to look at improving your odds of success, contact me at www.upperleftwealth.com. ...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+3 more images

Verified Reviews

5.0

(28) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

27

4

0

3

1

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

5.0

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0
Showing 1-25 of 28 reviews
5.0

07/21/2021


Zaneta G.

I learned more from Randy in our introductory call than I did from any of the financial advisors I’ve spoken to before. He suggested concrete steps for my situation and gave straightforward answers to questions I’ve been researching for months. I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for honest, practical guidance for their financial future.

Description of Work
Financial Planning

Category financial advisor

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2021

5.0

11/02/2020


Stacie G.

Randy was extremely helpful with our situation! He was very thorough with his explanation and advice. He provided scenarios that we hadn’t thought of that we will be using. Highly recommend. Professional and courteous.

Description of Work
Financial guidance

Category financial advisor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2020

5.0

10/06/2020


Vina W.

I requested on online for appointment they call me with in few hours and confirmed. I asked many questions about financial guidance they clearly explained and supportive.

Description of Work
Financial Guidance

Category financial advisor

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]! Thanks for the review, but... 1. I don't believe we have spoken before. 2. If we had there would have been no charge, and certainly not $5,000. Best, Randy

5.0

02/19/2020


Pat L.

Randy was very straightforward and quickly grasped what I needed. I asked him about financial guidance and he was able to explain what I needed to do in a way that was easy to understand and implement. Will follow his advice.

Description of Work
Financial Guidance

Category financial advisor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/18/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]!

5.0

05/09/2019


Bill K.

Very well. Even though services probably not right for my situation Randy was courteous, helpful and answered all my questions.

Description of Work
retirement planning

Category financial advisor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/06/2019

5.0

12/05/2018


Chris M.

My wife and I had a consultation with Randy back in June. We were extremely pleased with not only his knowledge, but also the amount of advice he was willing to give for free on an initial call! After our call we felt comfortable with our current financial situation and are acting on some of his suggestions. We wouldn't hesitate to call Randy again if we need more guidance in the future. Thanks, Randy!

Description of Work
Financial advise

Category financial advisor

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/07/2018

Service Provider Response

My pleasure [Member Name Removed]!

5.0

04/24/2018


Pamela J T.

Thanks Randy for your time and advice! Your advice was very helpful.

Description of Work
Financial Planning

Category financial advisor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2018

Service Provider Response

My pleasure [Member Name Removed]!

5.0

02/28/2018


Diana S.

Randy Kurtz is an extremely knowledgeable financial advisor. He is straightforward, attentive and helpful. His guidance showing me how to make better choices with managing my money was valuable.

Description of Work
Financial Planning

Category financial advisor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!

5.0

09/13/2017


Mark K.

From the first call, Randy was the consummate professional yet friendly. I've been using his services for over two months and already pleased with the results. He is willing to advise on other financial events unrelated to retirement funds. He keeps in regular contact with private quarterly calls. I couldn't be more pleased with his service!

Description of Work
Financial advice and management of retirement investments.

Category financial advisor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/05/2017

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]!

5.0

05/04/2016


bruce S.

Category financial advisor

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/28/2015

3.0

03/03/2016


Toshiko B.

Description of Work
retirement financial plan. If somebody has good amount of investment, may be he can help. If no investment , can not help.

Category financial advisor

Work Completed On 10/29/2015

5.0

09/20/2015


Samuel P.

Randy performed a free review of my current portfolio and was extremely helpful in making suggestions and answering any questions I had. He took the time to explain everything in detail and was really nice. While I am not yet ready to make the leap into a globally diversified portfolio, I would definitely recommend him as a financial advisor Sam

Description of Work
Portfolio review and financial advice

Category financial advisor

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you! I appreciate the compliments! Best, Randy

5.0

09/08/2015


Anthony W.

Randy and his team do a terrific job. They are very different from other financial advisors I have had, and in my opinion are much better. Not only is Randy a super smart advisor, but he is trustworthy. He has a great ability to think critically and to develop approaches that deliver great solutions for our financial needs. I cannot recommend his team more highly.

Description of Work
Randy has managed our assets for years, and he does a fantastic job. He operates as a fiduciary, which is very important to me and ensures that my family's best interest are front and center. He is great at investing and I feel confident with him overseeing our finances.

Category financial advisor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/25/2015

Service Provider Response

It is my honor to be working with you! Best, Randy

5.0

08/18/2015


Meryl C.

Randy Kurtz is amazing and one of the most honest business people I have ever encountered. He spent about 45 minutes on the phone with me discussing my financial standing as I wanted to move my IRA to another company, having fired my prior financial advisor for unresponsiveness and not being happy with the funds I am invested in. Not only did he analyze my situation, he explained that he didn't feel I needed an investment advisor....that I just need a more conservative set of funds to transfer my IRA to and basically let it sit and accumulate in a more even fashion than my current one has done. He even suggested where I place the funds to maximize my stability at a low expense ratio. I highly recommend Randy as, after having listened to him, he is honest, hard-working, has reasonable fees for investment advisement, and a great hands-on approach that I have to assume he would have in his advisor capacity. Fantastic experience!!

Description of Work
Provided a free financial consultation from an Angie's List coupon

Category financial advisor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/18/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words! Best of luck! Best, Randy

5.0

08/05/2015


Vishal N.

I had a very productive phone conversation with Randy. That I am based in Atlanta and he in Chicago would not make a difference in his providing quality service, in my opinion. Unfortunately, I cannot at this point invest the minimum amount that Randy requires to take me on as a client. He explained to me that he does this so that he can keep his client base small and provide better service, something I completely understand. He was however, generous enough to dispense some financial planning advice gratis and answered all my questions very patiently. I (hopefully) look forward to working with him in the future.

Description of Work
Provided me guidance on how to invest my finances.

Category financial advisor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you and best of luck! Don't hesitate to reach out! Best, Randy

5.0

05/10/2015


JoAnn H.

I am not currently able to utilize Randy's services, but he was so gracious to spend time talking with me informally about my financial picture and retirement planning. I don't know anything about investing but he patiently explained to me, in layman's language, basic issues I should be aware of and his recommendation of a general investment strategy. Randy is a really smart, kind, helpful, decent person. I hope my review will encourage you to contact him. He is a pleasure to talk to, and in a half hour I went from major anxiety and confusion about how to proceed to a state of clarity and calm.

Description of Work
Gave suggestions about financial planning for retirement.

Category financial advisor

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you and best of luck! Don't hesitate to reach out! Best, Randy

5.0

04/30/2015


Jane K.

Randy is a super guy. I had a couple of questions about retirement plans and investments, and what to do with my assets in case of an upcoming market crash. He was pleasant, knowledgeable, and willing to give a stranger some financial direction at no cost. I would definitely recommend him as your financial advisor.

Description of Work
He gave me solid financial advice.

Category financial advisor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/30/2015

Service Provider Response

It was my pleasure to help you out! Thank you so much and best of luck! Best, Randy

5.0

04/23/2015


Andrew R.

Unfortunately Randy couldn't accept my account due to logistical constraints, but he was nevertheless kind enough to spend some time and analyze my portfolio and make recommendations. He was an absolute pleasure to interact with and, once my constraints are removed, I will definitely be back.

Description of Work
Randy constructed a model retirement portfolio for me

Category financial advisor

Cost $950

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/23/2015

Service Provider Response

It was my pleasure to help you out! Thank you so much and best of luck! Best, Randy

5.0

10/07/2014


Brandon S.

I just recently hired Randy and BetaFrontier, and I could not be happier. Their method for managing investments is a breath of fresh air, and it is very different from my past experiences. It seems that everything they do is different, in a very good and refreshing way. I highly recommend giving them a call.

Description of Work
Created a diverse, safe and inexpensive retirement portfolio.

Category financial advisor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/29/2014

Service Provider Response

It is my pleasure to be working with you! Thank you so much! Best, Randy

5.0

10/05/2013


Megan F.

He spent half an hour on the phone with me, explaining things in the markets, and what possible investments would be best for me. He even sent me a book called, "The Little Common Sense Book of Investing," and had added handwritten notes of advice. I couldn't believe that a stranger, and someone that wasn't able to actually take my business, would put so much time and effort into helping me regardless. It really made me wish I made enough money to invest with him. Very shocked by this experience, and how above and beyond this guy went for me.

Description of Work
I was seeking financial advice, and unfortunately don't have enough to invest to be able to work with this man. But he was incredibly helpful, and seemed to genuinely want to make sure I was set on the right path anyways.

Category financial advisor

Work Completed On 08/15/2013

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! Best of luck! Best, Randy

5.0

08/28/2013


Karen F.

Randy puts a real emphasis on safety and taxes, and he delivers that in spades. I feel very confident with him managing my estate assets, not only because of how they perform, but because I actually understand my portfolio! That is what really gives me confidence that I am doing the right thing. Randy is one of those people, who when you hear what he proposes, you realize that he is different, and that my interests come first. I highly recommend talking to him.

Description of Work
Randy manages my estate assets. I feel he does a great job. He cares about what I care about... that my money is safe, and that it grows sensibly.

Category

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/27/2013

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed]!

5.0

06/25/2013


Karen F.

Randy has been great. He is very bright, and has a knack for making complicated topics easy to understand. It is clear that he has spent an inordinate amount of time thinking about and researching how to make a well-thought out portfolio. He has certainly created a very diverse offering that I feel very comfortable with. I highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Helped re-make my portfolio into a stronger, safer, more tax efficient one.

Category financial advisor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2011