Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc

Founded 1985 • With Angi since February 2006

4.9

(70) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1717 E Busch Blvd

Tampa, FL 33612

Description

Professional, certified wood floor installation & refinishing. Our extensive showroom (Call for an appointment.) offers superior products in a full range of colors, from pale pearl to dark espresso. Our wide plank, distressed & other character styles, are coated with durable finishes, many with a

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/17/2020


Adam Y.

Through the Woods is one of those companies that makes you happy you chose them. They are very good people, extremely dedicated to their craft and left us with a fabulous update to our home. The owner, Chris personally worked with us throughout the process. He actually stained our stairs and was very patient with us as we struggled a bit to determine just which colors we wanted to highlight. He did not pressure us, and quite frankly was fine with us making modifications on more than one occasion. This job required us to move all of our downstairs furniture into storage and while we did a lot of this ourselves (actually my wife did all the work), their crew was very efficient in the larger pieces moving them safely out, and even more importantly, moving them back in. They took so much care of our items, it alleviated so much stress and concern that I had. During the two week process of demolition and then laying the floors downstairs and upstairs, they always showed up on time, let us know what was going to be done that day and the upcoming days, so we always felt part of the process. When they needed our input on things like direction and centering, they got us involved very early on so things didn't slow down. This was a lengthy process, but I am very glad that we chose Through the Woods. I would highly recommend them. The floors we chose are beautiful and will last a very long time. It's added so much value to our home and updated the look to something we are very proud of.

Description of Work
Complete replacement of our downstairs hardwood floors, stairs and upstairs hallway

Category hardwood floor, woodworking

5.0

08/06/2019


DUDLEY B.

We had a leak in our kitchen which ruined our engineered hardwood floors. I interviewed two other companies and chose Through the Woods for a few different reasons. When I first met with the founder Dennis I was really impressed with his knowledge of wood and flooring in general. Not that I know anything, but he was the third contractor I talked to so I had some knowledge at this point. He took quite a bit of time with me exploring my options and describing different product options. Since we had oak floors and wanted to stay that way, Dennis recommended Somerset Red Oak Engineered Hardwood. He explained the cost benefit of the product in that the veneers are sawn instead of rotary peeled like some cheaper brands. Also they offer generally longer length boards and are made exclusively in America from American wood. He seemed very meticulous in his attention to detail in explaining the process and his estimate. Once we had the schedule nailed down the owner Chris took over and managed the project. The crews were timely and polite and left the job site very clean each night. They communicated regularly through the whole process and did what they said they were going to do when they said they would do it. The crew finished the job ahead of schedule and results are fantastic!!! The floors looks beautiful and the installation appears flawless. I highly recommend this company. Thanks, Through the Woods!!!

Description of Work
Complete replacement of hardwood flooring and refinishing of stairs.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

01/21/2019


Melissa H.

We had an excellent experience with Chris, Dennis, and the entire team at Through the Woods. Tile and carpeting was removed from the entire house with the exception of bathrooms and the laundry room. The installation of our floors was handled very professionally. You can feel confident when contracting with this company.

Description of Work
Wood floor installed throughout the house.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

10/31/2018


Jennifer S.

I highly recommend Through the Woods. From the first call they were very professional. Dennis came out and quoted my job and went over every detail with me. Bryan who did the work on my floors has been doing this for years and is highly talented. He showed me multiple stains until we found the perfect one that he created by mixing two colors. I couldn’t be happier! Him and his helper did a beautiful job and my floors look fabulous! Chris the owner is super nice and came by before and after the job to inspect everything. He brought me a Bona mop to take care of my floors. If you use this company you will definitely be happy you did!

Description of Work
Our living room, dining room, hallway and bedroom 65 year old hardwood oak floors needed to be completely sanded, stained and have a top coat put on.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

07/21/2018


david S.

Their work was outstanding in every way. Another vendor informed us that our floor couldn't be refinished and suggested that we would need to replace the floor at a cost of about $20,000. After careful inspection Through the woods concluded that they could sand and refinish the floor. They saved us about $13,000 and did a wonderful job on the floor. They are extremely knowledgeable and professional

Description of Work
Floor Refinishing

Category hardwood floor

5.0

08/08/2017


Charles B.

While we did not use Through the Woods, they were the most knowledgeable and professional vendor we contacted. They asked pointed questions about floor use and offered additional steps in the stain and refinish processes that showed an exceptional attention to detail. They were punctual and very responsive to our questions (we had several email exchanges with them). The invoice they provided was customized to our situation, citing specifics that we discussed when we met for the estimate, and was broken down thoroughly, including additional options we could take if we wanted. While we did not use them, we would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone looking for quality hardwood work and knowledge.

Description of Work
Floor stain and refinish

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

08/07/2017


Stuart J.

The entire project could not have gone better from start to finish. Dennis, Chris and the crew were fantastic throughout. The entire project took two weeks to complete and we are very happy with the final result. I'm glad we decided to hire Through the Woods and would recommend them without hesitation. They do quality work for a fair price.

Description of Work
Remove approximately 1800 sq ft of carpet and install wood flooring and new molding.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

08/03/2017


PAUL J.

The project went very well. I was impressed by the professionalism and expertise of the entire team. It was necessary to perform their work in conjunction with a general contractor working in the house at the same time and they worked very hard to accommodate the schedule. Chris was extremely thorough during the process of deciding on the stain color and the results look fantastic. The repair areas blend seamlessly with the existing oak floor as if they were originally there. The entire crew was top-notch! They discovered a water leak in a newly remodeled adjacent bathroom that we had the contractor fix before they began their work, one of the Spanish-speaking members of the crew was nice enough to translate for me with one of our other subcontractors, and they even fed our outside cats while we were out of town during the week they stained the floors. I recommend this company without reservation if you are looking for quality craftsmanship, in-depth knowledge, and thoughtful customer service.

Description of Work
We had approximately 2,400 square feet of original oak flooring that needed to be sanded down and refinished in a darker tone. Due to the removal of kitchen and dining room walls and the reconfiguration of a wet bar, we had several areas where new oak flooring needed to be patched in to match the existing floor. There were also a few small repair areas due to previous water damage and the reconfiguration of a threshold near the patio french doors. Entryway stairs and handrails were also sanded and stained a darker tone.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

06/28/2017


barrie S.

3 other companies wanted to replace entire first floor so that it would match and said that the same parquet (50 years old) was not available anymore. Through the Woods custom-made the parquet wood tile to exactly match the original floor and blended into the living room floor so that no one has ever been able to detect the transition. They are true wood floor artists. Incredible appearance. Looks gorgeous and saved 1000's of dollars. Thanks Through the Woods.

Description of Work
repair and replace water-damaged parquet wood floor in tv room which opens into undamaged living room floor

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, water damage restoration

5.0

02/13/2017


Lauren R.

Chris and his team saved our floors! Where the boards were too far gone, they relocated filler boards from another area of the kitchen and dining room that was going to be covered over by cabinets or tile and wove them in with the good boards. They also matched our floors with reclaimed wood they brought in to create a new floor area around our fireplace hearth. We chose a matte finish instead of a stain or shiny varnish for a fresh, clean look and the floors look beautiful! Chris came back a couple times for touchups and to fill in old nail holes that had been missed at no extra charge. They even came back to buff out an area after our contractor spilled something on the living room floor that we could not get out ourselves - again, no charge and prompt and friendly service! Through the Woods Fine Floors will return your calls, show up when they promise, are true craftsmen, and Chris and his crew are a pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
We had some what I would call "challenging" heart pine floors in our 1922 bungalow. They had fairly significant damage over the years - deep scratches from the large dog of a previous owner, discoloration from water, termite damage with holes all the way through the boards, etc. Wood floors in the kitchen and former laundry/bath area had been covered by previous owner with grouted tile.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling

5.0

01/31/2017


Bob G.

It went very well. He was on time and finished as promised over Thanksgiving weekend with no issues

Description of Work
Refinish vintage oak floor

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

01/06/2017


Wallace G.

I talked to a lady there named Suzanne, who was very knowledgeable. So much so, that I made a not to myself. Their minimum work is $3000. I mean they are really high end stuff. I did not use them because my job was not of that scope. But I was very impressed with the time she took to counsel me on what I did need. I can only assume they do very fine work based on their quality and her knowledge of the product. I certainly would use them if I had such a need.

Description of Work
Provided estimate for flooring.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

11/17/2016


Melissa D.

I wasn't able to hire this company due to a timing issue. However, I will hire them in the future!

Description of Work
I called this company because I needed to have some wood flooring refinished. My impression from the first phone was extremely positive. Dennis is very knowledgable, and he gave me great advice. He puts the customer's needs first. Due to a timing issue, I wasn't able to hire him at this time. However, he will be my choice in the future!

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

02/09/2016


Charles S.

We made an appointment with Dennis, he gave us a private showing of their offerings in the showroom. He gave us an overview of the different kinds and types of wood flooring. He explained the specifications and care. We felt Dennis was very respectful of our budget and desire to find a quality product that would suit our home. We chose a few samples that we liked, Dennis was happy to let us "live" with them as long as we liked. We feel this really help us choose the right wood. After we signed the contract, a date for installation was set for 3 weeks out. Dennis called a few days later and said they could begin a week earlier if we preferred, we were thrilled. Chris, the on site supervisor, gave us instructions on how to prepare, which was not hard, they moved the furniture. On the morning of installation, Chris arrived on time with the work crew, the process was explained, and the work began. The entire crew was very respectful and kept us updated on the progress. The work was done in a timely manner and on schedule. The wood floor and installation completely exceeded our expectations. We feel that Through the Woods was the best company we could have hired for our needs.

Description of Work
Provide and install engineered hardwood flooring through our home.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

02/09/2016


Bruce M.

Very professional. Great quality. We needed to do this job in 2 sections - moving furniture around to perform the work.

Description of Work
Sanded and refinished bamboo floors in our condo

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

10/14/2015


Thomas B.

Dennis was my original contact person and patiently answered many questions. Chris came to do the estimate and supervised the the job. We had quite a few boards that had been damaged by water or termites so we decided to tile the bathroom and a laundry room and use all the salvagable oak flooring in those rooms as "donor" boards for the rest of the house (my general contractor performed the removal). They gave us a start date 30 days in advance, showed up when they said they would, and finished the entire project in a week. Chris also gave me some good advice regarding sealing options (we went with a Bona product). I have had floors refinished in two other houses and no one ever did as good a job as these guys do. I'm very happy with the finished product and recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Refinished original oak floors in a 1925 Bungalow.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling, water damage restoration

5.0

09/24/2015


Rose M.

It was a wonderful and productive experience. Mr. Prieur offered advice, conducted himself with great professionalism and answered all my questions.

Description of Work
Mr. Prieur evaluated our flooring requirements, conducted moisture tests and advised against the action we planned to take. He was the only contractor that performed the moisture test. His recommended course of action eliminated his company as a potential vendor. Not only did he not take advantage of us, he provided a reference to help us identify the appropriate vendor. Mr. Prieur was professional, knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend Through the Woods Fine Floors.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

08/23/2015


Sally N.

Chris Kritzer managed the project, Brian and Dee put in all the actual floor work. I wanted satin finish for my floors to bring up the "timber" quality to the wood so that we could really enjoy looking at it without blinding glare from all the windows and direct sunlight. The floors came out just beautifully. I couldn't believe that Brian could get such a perfect match when he replaced boards on a continuous, open-format, dining room floor. Also was esp. impressed with his ability to cut a flat-top to new quarter-round, which had been totally missing from one room. It had to match the triangular shape of the quarter-round in the rest of the house; and it did. It was just a fantastic job done, the guys were totally trustworthy and self-starting. I'd hire them again in a second if I had another house! Chris offered good, solid, and knowledgeable advice on how to get the floor I wanted. His knowledge and experience with all kinds of varnishes is enviable. These aren't just workers trying to get a job done as fast as possible, these are truly craftsman who respect wood and take the time to get their work done right. Chris also ordered new wooden registers for my house, and he stain-matched those, too.

Description of Work
Vintage white oak floors: Replaced dog-stained boards and match-stained, sanded two rooms and corridors with two coats of prep varnish, buffed others, prepped all floors and then double-varnished all floors of my two-story house. Also, from scratch, re-cut a roomful of new quarter-round to a triangular shape to match rest of 1930s house, and match-stained.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, woodworking

5.0

08/09/2015


GRANT L.

Through the Woods is the most professional company I have ever come across in regards to work specific to my house. Meaning- contractors or anyone doing any type of work. They are obviously concerned with actually doing the job right. Imagine if every one you hired to do work on your house did the work as if it was their own home. This is the type of professionalism and attention to detail you will get with them. I had wood floors installed by another company and although they looked great there were some issues after installation. Needless to say, they of course tried to blame it on everything else (the wood/the humidity/etc) and also did a poor job of trying to fix it/rectifying the situation. I contacted Through the Woods due to the reviews I had seen as I didn't want to go through another bad ordeal and waste more money. And they really delivered. Not only did they fix every thing, they also thought "outside the box" for some great solutions- and I'm actually happier with the results due to that! They are not the lowest priced company out there but if you are looking to go low price then that is exactly what you will get with your final results. So, if you want professional work done well I would not chance it at all and would recommend for wood flooring that you do not go anywhere else but Through the Woods. I guarantee they will do the job beyond your expectations and back it up. (FYI- there is probably a LOT more than you know that goes into wood floors and wood floor installation). Everyone will certainly tell you they do a great job but once floors are installed and you've been through all of that it can easily change to a different story. I would read the reviews here and on Google for this company as you'll see not only you can't go wrong but I'd honestly recommend not going any where else.

Description of Work
Through the Woods fixed some wood floors that I had installed by another "professional" wood flooring/contractor company.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

08/09/2015


Michael D.

I bought a 1925 Bungalow with original heart of pine floors. Floors had scattered insect damage and poor previous repairs that included yellow pine. I researched extensively to find a local Tampa provider that would do things right. I wasn't as concerned about cost as restoring the floors to the best shape possible. This is an investment in my home. The team at Through the Woods obviously take pride in what they do. As soon as Dennis visited, he walked around, then sat on the floors to tell me about them and what they could do to repair them. Chris and team were punctual and provided regular updates on arrival time as well as text messages with pictures of progress and of joist damage uncovered during their process. They replaced many of the boards with reclaimed 90 year old heart of pine. Yellow pine repairs that were rectangular were replaced with properly staggered heart of pine boards. The bedroom that was 3/4 yellow pine replacement was custom stained to look like the original 1/4 heart of pine These guys are artists. I would recommend Through the Woods for any project, small or large.

Description of Work
Repair, sand and varnish hardwood floors. Repaired joists as further damage was discovered.

Category hardwood floor, woodworking

5.0

08/08/2015


Sandra C.

Dennis was a great first contact, responsive around my need and availability. He went above and beyond with allowing time for me to choose and choose again my wood floor. Paul the lead installer was careful and obviously concerned that we were happy with his work and with the job. My husband has high standards in detail, quality, and communication and even he was very pleased! The one critique I would offer is that the job could have been done a little faster if the full installation team came each day and that they worked a full day each day. STILL - I would work with them again because my floor is a specialty wood and absolutely gorgeous! Thank you Through the Woods!

Description of Work
Worked with me over 5 visits and 10 phone calls to explore contract, select choices for me, and took me to see my #1 choice at another job. Pulled up carpet in entire house, baseboard. Layed wood floor throughout. (All except laundry, kitchen, 3 baths, laundry). Worked well with us for a start date, working around buying and selling 2 houses. Throughout job, all employees were professional, responsive, and nice. *We decided to stay in the new house and "rough it" and the Through the Woods worked really really well in planning the project that accommodated our living needs. **The nose for the stairs that was delivered did not match the wood well. The installer brought it to our attention and offered that we should expect a good match. After exploring options, a solution came that was terrific.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

06/26/2015


KATIE D.

I am not sure I can put into words how delighted I was with the job that Chris and his team did on our floors. My husband and I traveled for work during most of the refinishing and we totally trusted the team with our house. They treated our house like it was their house. The floors are just stunning. If there was more that 5 I would rate them even higher! I just want to say Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! to Through the Woods - They made our home and our floors beautiful!

Description of Work
Through the woods refinished all my hardwood floors - which is throughout our entire house.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

10/19/2014


Eric K.

It could not have gone any better. Everyone we dealt with from beginning to end was fantastic. They take pride in their jobs and it shows. Too many companies want to get in and out as quickly as possible by taking short cuts, Not the case with Through the woods, they take their time and do things the right way.My wife and I could not be happier with our floors. Thank you

Description of Work
Came out looked at what we needed done, Removed carpet , leveled floors , Installed about 1500 sq feet of hardwood flooring.Installed new baseboards.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, woodworking

5.0

09/09/2014


Christopher W.

It took just a little longer than expected to get the wood floors delivered but once they arrived and the team got to work, the project moved along at full speed. Israel and Leon, the installers, arrived by 8 am each morning and got to work meticulously prepping, measuring, cutting and installing the floors. They moved from room to room and took tremendous care to make sure the work areas were neat & tidy before they left each day so there was very little dust on anything. There were several very uneven spots in the original floor which they leveled as best they could (which was a huge improvement) and over the course of about seven days (including 1/2 day Saturday), they got the new floor installed. The lines of the wood look amazing - everything is even, straight, solid and very precise. We are extremely pleased with the results.

Description of Work
The floors in our 1925 bungalow were in pretty bad shape. There was some termite damage, and we had done a bad job of painting and sealing the floors in our great room a darker color ourselves. We cut out the damaged wood and patched the areas with plywood and tried to reinforce the joists under the weak spots in the floor, thinking we could install a laminate from one of the big box stores over the original wood and be done with it. Unfortunately, we learned after purchasing the laminate that our plan wouldn't work -- the floors were too wavy so the laminate would pull apart. I called Suzanne in a panic thinking we had damaged our house almost beyond repair. She was amazing! She talked to me for about half an hour just educating me and reassuring me there was hope. She took detailed notes and at the end of the call said that although they were pretty busy they would try very hard to get out to the house ASAP. Dennis was at our home by the end of the week and gave a detailed estimate with multiple options, explaining the benefits and limitations of each approach. In the end, we decided to install new oak floors over the original pine - it was more expensive but ultimately would give us a better outcome than trying to patch and refinish the existing floor.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, floor cleaning

5.0

08/18/2014


Elaine L.

He was excellent. Ir was not an easy job and he did a very good job. I would recommend him. His service and cleanup was excellent. Everything was just perfect. We had a problem with the crown molding and he had someone come back in and they replaced all the crowns because they said something wasn't sharp enough. If we had any complaints, he would come back out. He was a very good guy.

Description of Work
He put in hardwood flooring. They were European oil floors.

Category hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    FLOOR CLEANING EXPERTS

    We Clean Polish and Seal Any Floor  

    Rojas Carpet Cleaning and Restoration

    At Rojas Carpet Cleaning in Tampa, we utilize some of the best professional cleaning resources to make sure your home is effectively cleaned. We use truck mounted steam cleaning and deodorization for long lasting results. Our carpet cleaning service uses a proprietary hot water extraction cleaning method. To extend the life of your carpet cleaning, we can apply a protector that aids in the prevention of damage from harmful dirt and spills. Offers 20 years of experience in home service cleaning and complete home sanitation, including carpet, tile, upholstery, mattresses, stains, pet odors, dryer vents, tile regrouting, marble polishing, carpet repair, stain protection, and air duct cleaning. We service homes, boats, RVs, and autos. 24-hour flood service, water extraction, and damage restoration, including carpet repair and restretching .  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Marcal Pro Flooring

    Helping you select the perfect flooring for your home or office has been our family business for 14 Years. With affordable price and quality service, Marcal Pro Flooring is the right choice. With certified installers and staff always improving themselves, we offer a three year installation warranty for your peace of mind. Visit our website for more information and Reviews. Marcalproflooring.com  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Wood floor installation, repair, historic restoration, sanding and finishing, water damage repair & cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Laminate flooring.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc

    How is Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc overall rated?

    Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc open?

    Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc provide

    Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc?

    Yes, Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc offer?

    Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc offers the following services: Wood floor installation, repair, historic restoration, sanding and finishing, water damage repair & cleaning.

    Are there any services Through The Woods Fine Wood Floors Inc does not offer?

    Laminate flooring.