Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Sun Air Services

Founded 1988 • With Angi since March 2002

4.6

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

501 S Falkenburg Rd C-21

Tampa, FL 33619

Description

Sun Air Services was created in 1988 as a family owned and operated business to provide heating and air conditioning maintenance, repair and replacement to the Tampa Bay area. Our owner, Randy Kizer, has almost thirty years of experience in the related areas of air conditioning, energy management

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Bruce S.
5.0
08/28/2017
Everything with them is always an "A". It took most of the day, maybe six hours. They had to take the old unit out and replace some wiring. They did a lot of work that day. They left everything clean. They communicated with me and kept me up to date with what was going on.
Description of Work
They replaced a smaller, ductless unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Bruce S.
5.0
08/28/2017
We have been using them for close to 15 years. We have a maintenance agreement, so they come every six months. They are always an "A+" company. They are great. They are very honest. They are not going to charge you for something you don't need. I wouldn't have been using them all of these years if they weren't good. I would absolutely use them again. We have two separate units and they try to work on both of them the same day. It typically doesn't take very long. It maybe takes an hour to thoroughly check everything out. They always clean up well behind themselves.
Description of Work
The clean everything and make sure it's running well.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Chad B.
1.0
05/23/2017
The first time that I used Sun Air, everything was fine. A year later, I called them back out when my unit stopped working. I was told that the capacitor was blown and that I needed a new one. No problem. That's pretty common. I paid and the tech got my unit working again. Fast forward about a year, and my unit stopped working again. Because it was a Friday night after 5:00 pm, I called Acree instead. When the tech from Acree informed me that it was the capacitor again, I was surprised. Then he showed me what the previous tech had done. When the Sun Air tech replaced my capacitor, he connected the wires to it by pressing them on and then wrapping electrical tape over them. Then he put the capacitor back in the cardboard box that it came in, and just sat it in the unit. I would not have believed it if I hadn't seen it for myself. No wonder it shorted out. When the Acree tech replaced the capacitor, he properly attached the wires and then mounted the capacitor to the unit with a plastic strap. AVOID THIS COMPANY.
Description of Work
Replace capacitor.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Julie G.
5.0
04/14/2016
Sun Air Services has been servicing our very old York A/C unit for years. Every time we call they are always so polite and have a technician out to our home with in a couple of hours. They alway take the time to explain our A/C unit's problem and assist us in way to extend it's life. Any other service would have tried to sell us a new unit years ago since ours is so old. This company really is the epitome of great customer service!
Description of Work
Replaced a part on our unit that would assist the compressor from having to work so hard.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Bruce S.
5.0
09/09/2015
We have been using Sun Air for almost 10 years. They do a wonderful, quality job. They do not try to "sell" you on something that you don't need. They have always been very accommodating of my schedule and are always there within the time frame given. I can't say enough nice things about this company.
Description of Work
Service call due to ductless system leaking. Cleaned and serviced unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hey [Member name], Thank you for your loyal confidence in Sun Air. If we can help you or a friend, give us a call. Again, thank you! Randy
Julie G.
5.0
08/24/2015
My experience with Sun Air Services has been nothing but excellent! Each time Oscar comes to our home he is prompt and friendly. When we called on Sunday for after hours service, Oscar called us with in 20 minutes of our call to office. He arrived to our home with in an hour after his call. He performed diagnostic tests and quickly found the problem. Less than 3 hours after hour first call to the office we had cold air again!
Description of Work
Sun Air Services has been doing yearly maintenance on my very old York A/C unit for years. On Sunday Aug 23 our unit was blowing hot air. Oscar came by to diagnose and fix the problem. What I appreciate most from this company is they do not try to sell me a new unit even though mine is so old. They are honest and trustworthy.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed]- Thank you for the kind words. Earning and maintaining the trust of long term customers like you is the true value of being in business. Again, thank you, Randy Kizer
JOHN K.
5.0
06/12/2015
Scheduled between 11 and 1. Arrived shortly after 11, called first. Checked entire system made recommendations to keep unit operating.
Description of Work
Tested compressor found bad capacitor. Replaced. Added freon to system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], We welcome you as a new customer and will continue our best effort to maintain your trust. Thank you for the kind words, Randy Kizer President
Chad B.
5.0
04/14/2015
Job was done well. Did not try to sell me anything extra. Was honest that my 13 year old unit could last 3 weeks or could last 3 years. Didn't recommend to do anything right now. Seemed honest and upfront.
Description of Work
Check up and service air conditioner
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hey Chad, Thank you for allowing Sun Air Services the opportunity to serve your comfort needs. We will strive to continue to earn your trust. Again, thank you! Randy Kizer, President
HARDY H.
5.0
04/09/2015
Oscar was very thorough and professional. He took the time to explain things to me, and was very helpful and knowledgeable. Sun Air Services does a great job for our heating and A/C system. We really appreciate Oscar and Sun Air.
Description of Work
Part of our PPMA. Oscar, our techincian, inspected the system, cleaned the coils, drained th eline and drain pan, and the full checklis tof PPMA.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[removed member name], I just finished writing a thank you to a new Angie's List customer. NINETEEN years ago, you and Kim were new customers. We are honored and thankful for your loyalty. We will continue to earn your trust. Thank you, Randy Kizer President
Julie G.
5.0
06/14/2014
They were great! This was the first time I used Sun Air Services. However, my grandmother has been using them for years on the same A/C unit. I purchased my grandmother's house last year. The A/C unit was original to the home (1978) and I wanted to be sure I used SunAir since they were familiar with the unit and have kept it in great shape over the years. When I called to schedule and spoke to the woman I mentioned that I bought the house from my Grandmother. She knew my grandmother's name immediately! When the technician arrived, he said he had been here several times that he remembered my grandmother and was familiar with the unit. The entire experience was wonderful! Because my unit is an "antique" I was appreciative to have a company that serviced the unit and not push me to buy a brand new one.
Description of Work
They performed an A/C check on my unit to be sure it was running good for the summer.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words, Julie. We will strive to continue to maintain your trust. -Randy Kizer
Robert M.
5.0
05/27/2014
See above answer.
Description of Work
Oscar came out for the semi-annual preventative maintenance contract work. He is very thorough, always give us advice and pointers, lets us know exactly what he's doing. SunAir has done great work for us keeping our old unit running. They've also performed some repair work on the unit over the last four years and we believe they've extended the life of our unit and have delayed us from having to purchase a new one.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thank you for allowing us to serve you. Your trust is very much appreciated. -Randy Kizer
Mary C.
5.0
10/30/2013
The office called prior to the arrival of the technician who arrived on time. He was extremely courteous and knowledgeable and he took the time to explain everything he did and answered all my questions. I was completely satisfied with Sun Air Services and plan on continuing to have service my HVAC system in the future.
Description of Work
Inspected and serviced HVAC system. The cost was for a 1-year maintenance agreement that includes 2 inspections at 6 month intervals and a 10% discount on additional parts and service during the agreement period.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Sylvia K.
5.0
04/25/2013
They do a complete service such as cleaning the coils and add coolant as necessary. They come out twice a year. They are very thorough and my air handler and compressor are 11 years old and I have never had an issue. They are prompt clean and provide a good service. I have used them for 12 years.
Description of Work
They check my heating and air conditioning.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
JASON P.
5.0
12/28/2012
2-4 times for ac repairs and scheduled maint. They do good work at a fair price.
Description of Work
Always show up on time and do there work. I even had a little problem on one occasion and the owner made it right. Would recommend.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Liane K.
1.0
01/12/2011
Because of the incompetence of their inexperienced employee, who ruined the existing unit, they had to replace the blower in my attic, and charged me for it. Needless to say, I don't use their services any longer.
Description of Work
Replaced blower in attic.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
CRAIG A.
5.0
07/12/2010
Great, will use again.
Description of Work
My AC company failed to come to my home on Sunday to repair my AC. I callled the comapny and they were out and repaird my system within 1 hour. When your ac dies, its great to be able to count on a company that understands customer service.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
JoAnne D.
5.0
04/18/2010
Randy, the owner, was prompt for our initial meeting, thorough in his estimate and very knowledgeable. After agreeing on the date of installation, the guys called that morning to let me know they were on their way - right on time. They walked through the installation, verifying exactly what was to be done, answering my questions with patience. They immediately covered the area from the front door to the air handler so that they wouldn't track in dirt. Alex and the crew were courteous and made sure they kept things tidy along the way. At the end of the day, Alex walked around the installation with me to be sure that all was satisfactory, again answering my questions with a smile. We love our new heat pump, it is soooo quiet and cools our house so fast that we hardly have to run the unit at all!
Description of Work
Removed the old heat pump and air handler; moved the outside compressor to a different side of the home and installed new wiring; installed an energy efficient Amana heat pump and air handler with a uv light and 1-year air filter.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
SYLVIA D.
5.0
08/09/2009
Sun Air came immediately, listened to us and diagnosed the problem. The other AC company had really taken us for a ride. It was refreshing to be treated in a straightforward manner without smoke and mirrors. Sun Air came the next day and fixed everything. They used common sense and made the most of our system. We are now living comfortably and efficiently in our home. What a wonderful quality company!
Description of Work
These guys are wonderful! We can't say enough about them. By mistake, we went to another AC place. What a powerful mistake! The other company tried to say we had a duct problem and it would take 9300 dollars to put new ducts in!. Sunair came and saved us quickly and professionally. They noticed ducts had accidentally been closed in cleaning and a duct was crushed in the attic. They fixed our coolant problem and put in another vent in the bedroom. We now have a beautifully cooled house for around $500.00. Don't mess with other shady AC places that just want to take your money. Go to SunAir and get treated right! Thanks SunAir. We are both teachers and replacing our ducts would have meant not eating this summer and maxing out our credit cards. We can't be more thankful.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
craig B.
2.0
09/20/2008
Found another A/C repair company to come out.
Description of Work
Called for emergency home A/C repair at 10:00 pm Saturday night. Would not come until the morning. Repairman said couldn't repair the A/C in the dark. So my advice is not to call them after sundown because they do not provide 24 hour emergency service.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
TONY B.
5.0
09/28/2007
Everything went very well. Randy the owner took the time to call me after getting Oscar's report, and he explained what the part was that need to be replace, he explained it had been ordered and when he expected to get it and would have the job done ASAP. Mike called to tell me the part came in and he would be here with the hour to do the job. He was very polite, neat and professional, as well as knowledgeable and patient with me and my questions. I am completely satisfied with the whole transaction that took 3 work days. I am happy to have Sun Air service and maintain my A/C and heating units.
Description of Work
Air condition unit stopped cooling on a Wednesday afternoon and I call Sun Air and they had a tech here the next day. It was determined the coil had a leak a and needed replacing. The part needed to be ordered but they were concerned enough about us having cooling since the temperature was in the 90's to recharge the unit so I would not be without cooling while I wait for the part to be installed. They called to tell me when it would be in and were here that morning to replace the part and everything went well. Sun Air had installed the unit 2 years ago and it was covered under the warranty which made me very happy since they was no charge except a small refill which was certainty fair.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
SYLVIA D.
5.0
09/03/2007
Came promptly and did stellar work. They even returned without charge late at night when I thought the air wasn't fixed. It was fixed but had not had a chance to catch up. I can't say enough wonderful things about this company.
Description of Work
Diagnosed problem and replaced bearings in motor.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
BRIAN S.
5.0
08/02/2006
Sun Air did an outstanding job removing all the existing older ducts and replacing them with new ones. I inspected many of the joints, and it looks to be a professional job.
Description of Work
They replaced existing duct work in the attic.
Category
TONY B.
5.0
12/11/2005
I would highly recommend T.J. DeLones and Sun Air, their office people and their owner Randy who was available when I called with a few questions. The work was done at the time we agreed, and the crew was neat, courteous and extremely concerned about my happiness and the care of my property. The replacement unit was in the attic, accessed through the closet in the Master bedroom and outside behind some scrubs and no damage was done. I have a zone system and Sun Air is servicing the other unit as well. I was concerned about choosing the right company because I consider this a major purchase and required quality installation. I am convinced I choose the right company and expect years of comfort with out worry.
Description of Work
My air condition unit and air handler was 14 years old, rusting out and expected to fail at anytime. After a lot of research because of rating requirement changes, I contacted a Sun Air technician, T.J. DeLones who came out to appraise the situation. He outlined my options thoroughly and presented some estimates to replace the whole system. I was very impressed with his knowledge and professional approach. I contacted two other companies for estimates and found out they used sub-contractors, so I confirmed the fact that Sun Air used their employees which make me much more comfotable and assured the warranty and service would be performed as promised. The installation went without a hitch, the unit works perfect and the county inspector commented that usually only half of these change outs pass on the first visit, but I had a very satisfactory job done and pass completely. I am very satisfied with the entire transaction.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
DEB T.
5.0
07/29/2005
EXCELLENT JOB BY COURTEOUS EMPLOYEE. I HAVE USED THIS COMPANY FOR YEARS, AND WOULD RECOMMEND HIGHLY.
Description of Work
REPLACED PART AND CLEANED SYSTEM.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
CARRIE E.
5.0
01/06/2004
THEY HAD A TECHNICIAN CALL IN, SO MY APPOINTMENT RAN A FEW HOURS LATE. I BELIEVE THEY WOULD HAVE BEEN ON TIME IF NOT FOR THIS, BUT IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO GET A CALL IN THE MORNING TO LET ME KNOW THE TECH WOULD BE SEVERAL HOURS LATER THAN SCHEDULED.
Description of Work
LOCATED AND FIXED TROUBLE WITH A/C SYSTEM. WORK (OTHER THAN $45 COPAY) WAS COVERED BY MY HOME WARRANTY, IF IT HADN'T BEEN, THE WORK WOULD HAVE COST APPROXIMATELY $250.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Air Masters of Tampa Bay Inc

    All service employees are factory trained and drug tested. We never sub-contract out our work. Won Best of Tampa A/C Co. 5yrs in a row.5 Star Trane Specialist. A+ rated on BBB. Family owned business since 1983. We provide a life time warranty on our workmanship. Award winning. Additional contact names - Phillip Gonsalves. Additional DBAs - Christian Air Conditioning, Commercial Systems of Tampa,Quint / Brown & Spivey and Central A/C .  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    AAA Commercial & Residential Services INC

    We offer quality and affordable HVAC services.  

    Angi Certified

    Expert Home Service

    Air Conditioning service, replacement, and maintenance and home appliance repair across all of Hillsborough, Pinellas, and Pasco counties since 1996. We offer HVAC emergency service 24/7. We repair all makes and models of central air conditioners including Carrier, Bryant, Trane, Lennox and many others. We do not provide service or repairs on window ac units. We service all electrical home appliance brands including GE, Whirlpool, Samsung, LG, KitchenAid, Kenmore, Maytag, and many others. We are US Military veteran owned and operated and promise you a better experience.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Installation, sales and repair of heating and A/C, duct cleaning, home filtration, UV light sales and whole home de-humidification sales & installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Sun Air Services

    How is Sun Air Services overall rated?

    Sun Air Services is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Sun Air Services open?

    Sun Air Services is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 AM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 AM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Sun Air Services provide

    Sun Air Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Sun Air Services offer free estimates?

    No, Sun Air Services does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Sun Air Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Sun Air Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Sun Air Services offer a senior discount?

    No, Sun Air Services does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Sun Air Services offer emergency services?

    Yes, Sun Air Services offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Sun Air Services?

    No, Sun Air Services does not offer warranties.

    What services does Sun Air Services offer?

    Sun Air Services offers the following services: Installation, sales and repair of heating and A/C, duct cleaning, home filtration, UV light sales and whole home de-humidification sales & installation.

    Are there any services Sun Air Services does not offer?

    Ask for details.