Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

L & D HANDYMAN

Founded 2001 • With Angi since April 2001

4.7

(86) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6143 OAK CLUSTER CIR

Tampa, FL 33634

Description

OWNER OPERATED. USES SUBS. COST DETERMINED BY THE JOB. TRAVEL CHARGE MAY APPLY. LICENSE #009242001....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

02/11/2013


Frank N.

He did a lot of work for us and did a great job. I thought the price was a little high but other than that I was totally satisfied with the service.

Description of Work
He replaced an electrical box.

Category electrician

5.0

07/24/2012


BARBARA D.

They were excellent. They were prompt and professional. I was very pleased with the quality of their work.

Description of Work
They did various handyman work, installing ceiling fans and light fixtures and removing the old ones. They also re-hung a door and hung curtain rods.

Category handyman service, doors

3.0

07/10/2012


Danny H.

L and D Handyman was okay, but I don't know if I would use him again. It was a one time deal.

Description of Work
I used their handyman services.

Category handyman service

5.0

04/26/2012


Diane J.

I liked the fact that he came when he would for the estimate and he came when he said he would for the door. He did a good job.

Description of Work
I had a door installed in between my garage and laundry room.

Category doors

5.0

02/20/2012


RICHARD P.

They are wonderful. The overall experience was excellent.

Description of Work
They put new drywall on a ceiling in a dining room. Also, I asked them to re-touch all of the paint on the outside areas of the house that were showing some wear. They did a lot of different things but mostly they are a drywall repair company.

Category drywall, house painters

5.0

05/03/2011


Gurubux S.

Dobie arrive promptly and was very professional. The price agreed to jointly was good and the job performed well within 2 hrs. Nice touch in that he cleaned up everything, refusing our offer to do it politely by pointing out that it was in his professional duty to leave the house as clean as it was before he began. A very pleasant change from some of the contractors (non-Angie's list) that I have had the misfortune of hiring. No hesitation in recommending this Handyman's service to other users.

Description of Work
Requested cutting/removal of a cabinet from an integrated kitchen cabinets unit to accommodate a taller fridge. While fairly straightforward, the job required attention to detail to ensure that the trimming was neat and straight. I expected the removal of the whole unit to accomplish the task. Dobie the handyman was able to assess the task, figure out a plan and ended up doing the job in situ with the integrated unit in place..

Category handyman service

5.0

04/29/2011


gregg N.

Great work at a reasonable price. Done well and on time even though we gave very short notice.

Description of Work
demolish and remove a shed from the side of our lot

Category handyman service

5.0

03/25/2011


RICHARD P.

I had leaking pipes that ruined my ceiling drywall. I alled in a plumber to repair the pipes. Then I called in an electician to install new lighting cans. Finally I called in L and D Handyman to repair the drywall. The damage to the drywal was more extensive than anticipatd and the entire ceiling was removed and repaced. It wold have been better to have L and D Handyman a first crack at the work. I coud have saved about $200 in effort and about two days time.

Description of Work
Call ahead and have Dobie evaluate the effort first. You can save money by using his exertise.

Category drywall

5.0

11/10/2010


Mavish H.

Overall my experience was great and I would definitely use this company again. I got an upfront reasonable price for the work and he was able to go out and purchase the parts I needed for the problem and come back and fix it.

Description of Work
I used L& D Services recently when my bathtub handle broke which caused water to leak through the drywall to my downstairs. I called Dobie and he was available the same day where other handymen services either didn't answer the phone or were too busy to do an immediate job. He showed up on time and was able to stop the leak immediately and fix the problem as well as an electrical problem I had with the bathroom light switch. He also replaced the wet drywall and was able to come back several times to sand and then eventually repaint the surface. He did an excellent job and was always on time and professional.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service

5.0

05/18/2010


RICHARD AND VICKIE J.

He did a very good job. It really made the house look a lot nicer.

Description of Work
He washed the outside of my home before it was painted.

Category handyman service, pressure washing

4.0

04/18/2010


TJ J.

(04/18/2010) He came over immediately, went to the home improvement store and started the repair without consulting me about the cost. This was both my fault and his. He did a decent job but the cost seemed a bit high for the scope of work performed. Personally he seemed to be a very nice man, which is part of the reason I was so lack in being firmer on the estimate. However, he did say if I had any further problems, he would come out. (?) UPDATE (04/26/2010) He answered my call and immediately came over. To ensure we were on the same page, I verified with him there would be no charge because I had previously paid for this service. He did not charge me and fixed the problem again. In the event this continues, we may have to find alternate solutions to the standard "supplies" at the home improvement store. I was very happy with his willingness and professionalism to stand by his work. In today’s world, once paid, they seem to blow off customers that have problems. I commend Mr. Dobie for his due diligence and professionalism in standing behind his work. Thank You!

Description of Work
(04/18/2010) Mr McCaskil called a couple of days after I left a voice mail. Upon his call he made an appointment to come over and look at what I needed to have done. He did not provide an estimate......he stated he had to see how much the parts would be. (It was for replacing the dryer vent hose and the assembly to the outside of the house. It was not a complex job and I could have done it myself, but just was too busy and aggravated to bother.) I thought there might need to be a modification done to the vent hole that was already drilled on the exterior wall, so I elected to have a "professional" handle it. Yet there were no modification that needed to be made. All the parts that were used by Mr. McCaskill were parts that I had knowledge of the cost, as I had purchased them previously at one time or another. The part costs could not have exceeded $30.00. The total I was charged was $ 91.71. Although Mr. McCaskill was very polite, and mild mannered, I feel he should have given an UP FRONT ESTIMATE, which any "professional" should do. The price I was charged was more than what I would have agreed to had I been told up front, unless it required modifications to the exterior wall, which it did not. This experience has taught me to be clear and firm in obtaining an estimate for the scope of work that is to be performed. It does not matter if the company or person you are working for seem "likeable" ....it is still a business. As a business in keeping with professionalism there are aspects to doing work or giving estimates that should be followed. As a consumer, it is your right and responsibility to insist on getting the estimate and have all the specs laid out in writing. Although you may have aides such as Angies list, it is still up to the consumer to do their research. For this reason, I can not score this experience any higher. UPDATE (04/26/2010) Re-contacted Mr. Dobie due to my Dryer vent coming off again, which he was previously here to fix.

Category handyman service

3.0

04/16/2010


ROSENDO C.

Everything went alright. The vents weren't symmetrical. He gave me a price in the beginning but it almost doubled near the end.

Description of Work
He worked on my barn.

Category handyman service

5.0

12/16/2009


Paula G.

They did a good job. They were dependable and did whatever I asked them to do. They fixed out things without any problem when I pointed out some stuff that I didn't like. I liked the handyman a lot who did the work. The price that they charged seemed to be pretty good compared to others. They were average in terms of their price. If I have any more projects, then I would use their services in the future too.

Description of Work
I hired L & D Handyman for the drywall work in a bathroom in the beginning of 2009.

Category drywall, handyman service

5.0

06/10/2008


Stacy K.

Dobie was terrific and had to really be creative with the fix. He determined that the bullnose tile was placed incorrect. He removed the previous shelf, built an angle to the new shelf to allow better water runoff and laid the tile and bullnose tile correctly to avoid future issues. He guaranteed his work and followed through with one follow-up call to check the grout. He also is just a really nice guy - my tenants liked him so much that they left him a nice note during the job, too! He's very honest, and dependable and never gave up - when I would have with this job. Way to go, Dobie! I will definitely call him for my next tile job.

Description of Work
Repaired shower/bath. Built in shelf from previous LICENSED general contractor had been designed poorly-leading to water leaking and breaking down shelf and wall tile. Shelf redesign and tile replacement needed.

Category ceramic tile, handyman service, woodworking

1.0

10/25/2007


Mike S.

I called the company for a free estimate spoke to Dobie Maccaskell. He scheduled an appointment for an estimate on 10/18/07 between 4 and 5. He was a no show, no call as well.

Description of Work
I wanted a attic ladder installed.

Category handyman service

5.0

06/29/2007


Doug H.

They arrived promptly and got to work. They did a good job overall and in the time frame, that they estimated.

Description of Work
We needed someone to come in to hang window blinds. We tried to do it ourselves and ran into problems. We wanted someone that day or next, he was able to come in the next morning.

Category window treatments

5.0

05/24/2007


Suleman M.

Excellent person to work with. very honest, responsive, good quality of work. Can't look for a better for handyman type of work. I will use him for all the projects in my home.

Description of Work
Dobie has been very honest, professional and timely in his responses to our request. We needed to have three bathrooms re-grouted and asked him for a quote. He made an appointment to come and check out the project before quoting the price. He showed up for his appointment and gave us the quote. He provided the schedule for the work and finished the job within time and money quoted. Job WELL DONE!

Category handyman service

5.0

05/14/2007


LISA J.

Great! He removed our old door, installed the new door frame and door, and then installed a doggy door. I'm adding him to my daytimer for future projects.

Description of Work
Replaced an exterior door and door frame. Also installed a doggy door.

Category doors

5.0

04/16/2007


JON R.

Dobie is an excellent worker and was always on time for his appointments. He works continuously and does not stop except for a smoke break every few hours. I worked very closely with Dobie and he makes sure to do the job just the way you want it. I made several changes to final design and Dobie made sure to complete it the way I wanted. I will use Land D Handyman again because I know the quality of work and the attention to detail for any job will be met.

Description of Work
Dobie Performed several jobs over the course of one month. He installed framing for new walls. Moved existing framing to create more room in a bathroom. Moved framing to shrink a hall closet and bathroom closet. Installed a new exterior window in the bathroom.

Category contractors, replacement windows

5.0

11/01/2006


VIRGINIA G.

Dobie responded to my call immediately, set up the appointment for the next Thursday and came prepared to do the job. It was not easy to correct the previous contractor's work as the door frame had not been properly installed. Dobie found that he needed to get some missing hardware for the door so he went and picked up the items and within a couple of hours the door was complete. It not hangs straight and can be closed properly.

Description of Work
I needed to have an interior door that had been previously installed fixed. The previous contractor did not shim the door to level it and it did not close properly.

Category handyman service, doors

5.0

09/15/2006


TIMOTHY P.

VERY good work! Showed up when he indicated he would. Price was very reasonable for the amount of work!

Description of Work
Fixed drywall, painted and fixed rotted wood on outside of house.

Category contractors, drywall, interior painters

5.0

08/29/2006


KAREN N.

Dobie was quick to respond to my request. He came same day to review job and provide an estimate. He was good about offering options to try and solve my issue at a lower cost. I opted for the complete resolution but then I chose another vendor because my job required a special order door to ensure a true fix. I would very likely use Dobie for other handyman projects as needed.

Description of Work
The back entrance utility door to my garage had been improperly installed and leaked whenever it rained.

Category contractors

5.0

08/02/2006


BRIAN S.

Dobie came up with a product that I had never seen to replace my older home soffit wood frame screens. He did an outstanding job and it looks great.

Description of Work
Replace 56 soffit screens by removing old wood frame replacing it with metal frame and screens.

Category roofing

5.0

07/21/2006


JOHN S.

Responded immediately to my call which was made urgent by pending rain.Explained charging policy,quickly analyzed the problem, fixed it, gave me a discount because it took so little time and he was on his way. I will use him in the future.

Description of Work
Patched hole in air vent on roof

Category handyman service, roofing

1.0

06/19/2006


ANN-MARIE W.

We specifically asked Dobie if he maintained insurance and licensing for his business. He stated that he no longer carried insurance. He had gathered the information, that he needed for an estimate for the work he would be doing. However, he apparently did not want to give us his bid, after we requested proof of insurance and liability to do the job. Dobie was most gracious. Wish that he could have helped us with our job. We feel that today we have to have licensed, insured and bonded people work for us in our home, due to the high number of accidents in this industry. We would not want to have any problems at our residence without any recourse.

Description of Work
We asked this young man to come for an estimate for a small remodeling job. He was very personable and knowledgeable with his suggestions. Dobie promised to send an estimate for his work via e-mail. We never did receive an estimate from him via e-mail or US Mail. We did not see any references for his work.

Category handyman service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Apex Paint and Repair

     

    Personal Pitstop

    Reliable on time & attention to detail -Commercial Power Washing -Residential Driveway Power washing Services ONLY  

    The Deep End Washing Co.

    Give us a call or click to schedule an estimate, today!  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    BASIC HANDYMAN SERVICES INCLUDING DRYWALL, WOOD FRAMING, CERAMIC TILE, PAINTING INTERIOR, ROOFING, SIDING, WINDOW TREATMENT, DOORS & WINDOWS. CUSTOMER IS RESPONSIBLE FOR OBTAINING MATERIALS OR MATERIALS CAN BE OBTAINED FOR A FEE. HAULING SERVICE.

    Services Not Offered

    YARD WORK & CLEANING GUTTERS.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about L & D HANDYMAN

    How is L & D HANDYMAN overall rated?

    L & D HANDYMAN is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does L & D HANDYMAN provide

    L & D HANDYMAN accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal

    Does L & D HANDYMAN offer free estimates?

    Yes, L & D HANDYMAN offers free project estimates.

    Does L & D HANDYMAN offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, L & D HANDYMAN offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does L & D HANDYMAN offer a senior discount?

    No, L & D HANDYMAN does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by L & D HANDYMAN?

    Yes, L & D HANDYMAN offers warranties.

    What services does L & D HANDYMAN offer?

    L & D HANDYMAN offers the following services: BASIC HANDYMAN SERVICES INCLUDING DRYWALL, WOOD FRAMING, CERAMIC TILE, PAINTING INTERIOR, ROOFING, SIDING, WINDOW TREATMENT, DOORS & WINDOWS. CUSTOMER IS RESPONSIBLE FOR OBTAINING MATERIALS OR MATERIALS CAN BE OBTAINED FOR A FEE. HAULING SERVICE.

    Are there any services L & D HANDYMAN does not offer?

    YARD WORK & CLEANING GUTTERS.