K Jack Ross General Contractor

About

Founded 1979 • With Angi since February 2010

DBA: K Jack Ross & Associates Inc. Florida State License# CGC060718 (General Contractor). Silver Service award winners for 2011, 2012, and 2013. We are a family-owned business (father and two sons). On small jobs we do most of the building ourselves (we have two to three additional employees) and we use sub-contractors for our major site work, electrical, plumbing, HVAC. On large projects we also sub-contract carpentry, masonry and concrete work. My sons and I act as project managers and superintendents on the larger projects and perform a good portion of the custom details ourselves. Most estimates are free. There are charges for emergencies--water damage, fire, smoke damage, etc.--and for estimates that require travel more than 100 miles away from Tampa. We offer Angie's List members a 5% discount on our already reasonable rates. Probably the most inportant aspect of our company is that we are builders and craftsmen first. The business part of the company is essential, but we believe a good product speaks for itself, We enjoy building; it is not just a job but a way of life. The roots run deep: my grandfather, the late Denton O. Skiles, was a stonemason who once did a large job for the great architect Frank Lloyd Wright. My grandfather instilled the sense of craftmanship in me at a very early age. We began as a custom masonry company in 1979 and in 1998 began working as general contractors. We have had projects in newspapers and magazines--we had one project in Southern Living. The last few years, we have had a number of jobs that we took over for fired contractors, jobs that homeowners tried themselves and were overwhelmed, and some jobs that just required a little more expertise than the designer and owners originally anticipated. Because of all our experience, we also skilled in historical work and custom restoration. Whenever possible we build "Green," and we strive to build structures that are harmonious with the environment....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+1 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(79) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

65

4

2

3

3

2

5

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (16)home builder (9)patio enclosures (5)woodworking (5)garage building (5)window replacement (3)masonry (23)electrician (7)plumbers (6)drywall (6)mudjacking (4)water damage restoration (4)
Showing 1-25 of 79 reviews
5.0

10/30/2020


Amy L.

We cannot say enough good things about Jack Ross. He and his team, along with every subcontractor they hire, are professional, they are all superior craftsman (Ryan's carpentry work is the best we've ever seen), and they are delightful to have around (an important component when your house is being renovated). Integrity is very important to Jack, and that shines through in everything he does and who he subcontracts with. Especially since one of us is a bit leery concerning strangers coming over, we were dreading having people in our home and now, when our project is complete, we will really miss having them around. They go above and beyond in everything they do - including dealing with our unruly dogs! I (the spouse whose not wild about dealing with strangers), have never trusted anyone with my dogs before, and Jack, Ryan, Kyle, and his whole team, I trust completely with my dogs! They are very affectionate with them and it’s obvious they love dogs as well. The quality of work they are doing, their friendliness and their care (they leave everything IMMACULATE when they leave) makes us feel like they're working for their own family, not just clients. We feel truly blessed to have found Jack and we can't imagine going through such an intense renovation with anyone else. These are good people - talented, ethical, honest - that you just don't see anymore. ~Chris & Amy Howland, and the Howland Pack of Dogs

Description of Work
Added new entrance, added new porch/deck, installed exterior siding, expanded living room and master bedroom, remodel of both bathrooms, etc.

Category remodeling, garage builders

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2020

5.0

12/22/2019


Kurt K.

The work went excellent ! Jack presented formal plans to the county for the permit. Jack's son Ryan was typically the supervisor onsite. Their carpenter Noah, did an amazing job on everything he did as well. Kyle, their young apprentice, worked tirelessly each day to make sure everything he did was correct. I am extremely pleased with the quality, price and time frame of their work. I will certainly use them again to remodel my last bathroom soon.

Description of Work
They remodeled a formal living room into a master bedroom and bath and also remodeled the upstairs bonus room into a beautiful bedroom and bath. Both remodels with wood floors and tile in the custom bathrooms.

Category remodeling

Cost $48,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/04/2019

5.0

10/27/2019


JAMES AND THERESA S.

It's the second time we've had Jack and his team work at our home. The last time they transformed a 90 year old outbuilding into a mother in law suite with fabulous results. This time they removed our 20+ year old deck and replaced it with a new one. Their work was far superior to the original deck, being far more sturdy. They also stained it beautifully. They are a pleasure to work with and are fully committed to quality workmanship.

Description of Work
Removed old deck and replaced.

Category remodeling

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2019

5.0

10/26/2018


David K.

We had a pretty good idea of what we wanted, but Jack discussed various ideas and options with us. His estimate was very detailed and competitive. They took care of all the permitting, which can be challenging in Pinellas county. The crew always cleaned up each day before they left. They always made sure the house was closed up and secure at night even after they'd cut big holes in the wall. We were in constant communication, so I felt like I was a part of the process and there were no surprises. Ryan did most of the work, sometimes with a helper. It's obvious that he truly cares about the quality of the work that he does. I didn't feel like he cut any corners or skimped on anything. He even put some extra reinforcing in the wall because he knew we were going to hang a large TV. Colin did the woodworking for the mantle and surround. We had numerous pictures and hand-drawn diagrams of what we wanted. He worked with us to integrate all that into the final vision. And he nailed it. The mantle is fantastic. Their attention to detail is superb. The tile we chose is a 1"x3" herringbone that was shipped from out of state and arrived with lots of little broken tiles. Those two spent an entire day replacing each damaged little piece with a good one so the hearth is perfect. I know people like to say they couldn't be happier, but in our case it's true. The finished product is exactly what we wanted and provided the room with a much-needed makeover. When we remodel our master bath in the next couple years, these guys will be on the top of our list.

Description of Work
Remove an existing gas fireplace, 2 windows, and some glass block. Install a wood-burning fireplace, mantle, and hearth.

Category drywall, electrician, remodeling, fireplaces, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/07/2018

Images

Review for K Jack Ross General Contractor - 923 W Patterson St, Tampa, FL - 37504976

+4 More

5.0

07/21/2018


david S.

Everything went very well. Jack and his crew did everything that they were contracted to do plus volunteering to address other issues that emerged during construction. I recommend him without reservation

Description of Work
Jack designed and build a custom bar, remodeled two bathrooms, performed maintenance on our guest house and build stairs and a deck down as part of a river overlook.

Category electrician, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2018

5.0

07/02/2018


Nicholas G.

We were impressed with Jack's professionalism and high standards. We enjoyed working with him and would happily do so again.

Description of Work
Remodeling 400 sq ft. detached cottage

Category drywall, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/30/2018

5.0

06/29/2018


Jeremy J.

Jack and his team did a fantastic job. He was easy to communicate with and the project was completed on the timeline that he provided up front. I felt that he was honest throughout the project and is up front with unknown factors that could complicate things. I truly enjoyed working with Jack and would definitely recommend to anyone looking to hire. We met with several different contractors and Jack was easily the best choice. Thank you!

Description of Work
Major Renovations throughout the entire house. Remodeled Kitchen, 2 bathrooms, sun porch, laundry room.

Category drywall, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, doors, sunrooms, mudjacking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/29/2018

1.0

11/02/2017


Juri T.

Did not keep promise to offer a timely proposal. When reminded, made a quicky proposal with unrealistically high price

Description of Work
Major remodeling

Category drywall, electrician, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, fireplaces, garage builders, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, doors, foundation repair

Work Completed On 11/02/2017

5.0

10/21/2017


LINDA H.

When he first looked at the walls he told me he would have to remove more drywall to see the extent of the leak and so provided a range of cost to repair. Jack and his team did an excellent job, showed up on time, kept me posted - I could not have asked for more. And the final bill was fair and in the middle of the range he gave me.

Description of Work
Jack repaired my front dining room walls which had water damage.

Category remodeling

Cost $3,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2017

5.0

07/07/2017


Julie B.

Perfect. Everything went very well and was completed in 3 weeks.

Description of Work
We had a kitchen added to an inlaw suite as well as windows and a wall to make a bedroom and a closet.

Category drywall, electrician, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/07/2017

5.0

04/26/2017


Nancy M.

We used them for a little refurbishing on a condominium. It's a condominium that we were trying to get ready for my mother to move into. We were shooting for the 1st of April and I think they were done but I wasn't quite done. I wanted to get in there and do a little painting on some things. I even told them when we were done that we may do some laundry work here at the main house and I'd be giving them a call if that's the case. No I was very happy with them. They're a good group. I called him up one day or emailed him I can't remember which, and my goodness, that afternoon I think we were meeting and talking about it so they're very good. I think they certainly did everything fine. The one thing I will say that I was certainly very happy about, my wife and I had an initial idea of what we wanted to get done and then we added a couple of things kind of midway and late in the period of time and they just kind of bent over backwards to make sure that all worked before they finished up so I was very happy that they kind of adjusted to what we wanted to do on the fly. When you have other jobs going on and you have other jobs to start, I mean they were very accommodating.

Description of Work
He's a general contractor so we had them do everything from drywall work to removing the popcorn ceiling. They enlarged the doorway and had to replace some kitchen tile or some bathroom tile. Put in a new vanity in the bathroom. Put in a couple new toilets. Put in new baseboards and new doors. It's just a wide, wide variety. And I know they used some subcontractor's too. They didn't necessarily do everything.

Category drywall, plumbing, replacement windows, woodworking, doors

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2017

5.0

03/24/2017


Rick L.

My 1943 house had a front porch that was enclosed several decades ago, and was not a very usable space, so decided to have it opened back. I got several quotes, but decided on K Jack Ross due to his professionalism and ideas for the work to be done. I had several ideas on what I wanted, and Jack worked closely with me, and provided his own ideas, many of which were used. The project ended up being a little bigger than either him or I thought, and each new hurdle was taken in stride, with reasonable quotes and time frames given for each. The quality of work at every phase was exceptional, with the smallest of details being addressed. His crew cleaned up after themselves at the end of every day, and removed all trash and debris. When the project was done I was more than thrilled at the outcome. Attached are before and after pictures

Description of Work
Convert an enclosed porch back to an open front porch. This involved opening and installing two closed up windows and installing a new front door. The bare block walls were also covered in cut brick stucco to match the rest of the house. The old front stoop was removed and new steps and sidewalls built. The entire ceiling need replacing, shutters replaced. I also had them prep and paint my entire house, shed and detached garage.

Category remodeling, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/03/2017

Images

Review for K Jack Ross General Contractor - 923 W Patterson St, Tampa, FL - 34668771

+1 More

5.0

03/04/2017


Kathryn K.

When I first called Jack and described the situation, he said it sounded like water had gotten into the wall behind the tile and if so we would be looking at the possibility of replacing all tile in the bathroom because it is an older home and it would be impossible to match the tile. He said he would come out the next day and look at it. One thing which makes his quick response so amazing is that his company's primary work is building custom homes and he certainly can make more money doing that than working on relatively small jobs like ours, and if you have ever tried to get a handyman to come give you an estimate, you know you almost never find one who will respond within 24 hours. The day following my initial call Jack called to see if it was a convenient time for him to come over and he was here within 15 minutes. He checked the tiles that had broken, checked the window caulking and checked the window from outside the house and found a crack in the window ledge. He said he couldn't be sure of what was going on without removing the window and the tile window sill and warned me that although they could replace the sill with marble, they may be unlucky and the tile trim around the window which is a deeper blue may be damaged. We scheduled a time for he and his crew to come do the work within the next two days and he advised us to cover the window and the area around it with plastic until they could come back in two days. They came back as scheduled, removed the window and window sill very carefully, but unfortunately two pieces of the trim tile did chip. They checked for damage and found only the wood framing had been damaged and they could replace that, do a treatment to kill and prevent any mold damage in case they had missed it, but were confident there was no mold or moisture anywhere else because there was no mold growth around the tub or fixtures and no mold on the tiles they removed. They said to be cautious they were going to bring a dehumidifier and have it run for the next two days, again as a precaution. They returned two days later, checked inside the wall again and when they were confident they had solved the problem, they reframed the window, cleaned all the old caulk off the window, put in a water barrier, replaced the window, fixed the crack in the sill outside the house, replaced the drywall around the window which they had to remove to check for mold and moisture and to take the window out, resurfaced the drywall and installed a beautiful piece of marble which they custom made to cover not only the sill, but the area of the chipped trim tile. When they were finished, it looked as if it had always been that way. Another bright spot was that unlike some contractors and handymen we have used, they cleaned up after they finished, including cleaning the tub. I cannot say enough about Jack and his son and other crew member. They came promptly when they said they would and always called before coming to make sure it was convenient. They were polite and kept us informed every step of the way what they were going to do and why and informed us after it was done. They take pride in their work and it shows. not only were we pleased with the work they did but when it came time to pay for the work, the price that Jack charged us for 19 hours of work on the project was an unbelievably, incredibly, more than fair price of $627.00. When it does come time to remodel the bathroom and the kitchen, as well as any other issues which may come up, we will most definitely use Jack again.

Description of Work
We had mold on the caulk in the bathroom which we could not remove and the tile in the window sill had cracked and we were afraid water had made its way behind the tile inside the wall. We needed someone to remove the window and the tile and check for water damage and mold and advise us what to do to fix the situation. We have used Jack in the past and have been more than pleased with the quality of his work and that of his sons who work for him, his professionalism and his prices so we decided to call on him again.

Category remodeling, water damage restoration

Cost $627

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2017

2.0

11/29/2016


Scott S.

Failed to make initial appointment. (Claimed truck difficulties and failed to note the appt. at the appropriate time day. Naturally the error could have been mine, but I was happy that he was available on a day I had entirely free, so I'm quite certain the error was on his part.) $49 for home consultation was lost as I took this as a bad omen of future professionalism.

Description of Work
Estimate on re-doing a back room into guest room: Plumbing, electrical, etc.

Category remodeling

Cost $49

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/29/2016

3.0

11/14/2016


Paul O.

Initial response good. After two weeks Jack asked me via email if I was available Saturday to look at the project, I said no, I have a scheduled commitment, can we look at an alternative date and time. No response.

Description of Work
Replace entry to house.

Category remodeling

Work Completed On 10/20/2016

5.0

05/08/2016


Craig J.

Excellent job of matching up to stone work done three years earlier. The stone siding and ledges look wonderful. The contractor is very detailed and careful. Even the cleanup work at the end was perfect. Mr. Ross stayed true to his estimates. He was careful about finding the correct materials to blend with earlier work. His craftsmen are just that, craftsmen. They do excellent stone work.

Description of Work
Provided stone masonry for three sides of the house, and did a small roof repair. Cost included the price of all materials and work.

Category masonry, remodeling

Cost $8,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2016

1.0

04/15/2016


Carolyn O.

$10,000 on an 8x8 bathroom?!? This contractor is on a different planet. We have already purchased all of the expensive items (vanity, sink, tub, toilet, fixtures, lights). We told him we wanted to purchase our own tile, but he didn't listen and included tile in estimate. He quoted us for things I did not ask for or want (like moving cold air return) and said they could not re-finish skylight drywall and must replace with tube light. Unless the bathroom was plated in solid GOLD, I can't justify 10k. All other estimates came in under 5k

Description of Work
Estimate cost for 8x8 bathroom

Category electrician, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $10,000

Work Completed On 03/30/2016

5.0

03/14/2016


Rodney J.

Jack was engaging and easy to deal with. As we talked through the renovation, he quickly understood what we wanted - a fresh look, but to retain the retro feel of the room. He recommended some refinishing instead of removal, and offered other suggestions that we found very helpful. Even though we did not end up hiring his company, we would definitely bring him out to bid on any future work.

Description of Work
Provided a bid for renovation of 1940s bathroom

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $15,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/25/2016

5.0

03/02/2016


Adam Y.

The job was done in two phases. The Dining room and back patio were done over a 6 day period and then the pressure cleaning, sealing, gutter work etc was done over a 3 day period. I've worked with this Company for years and have a very good relationship with them. They are extremely fastidious and keep me involved as issues come up. When we find touch up items, they are very good about getting them addressed quickly to our satisfaction. I originally found Jack Ross through a referral when I was looking for a stone mason, and since then have used them for at least five projects in total. I suspect I am one of their smaller customers, but they always treat me as if I am equally important as people who are building custom homes. His son Ryan has run all of the projects at my house and does a great job. I give them a strong recommendation in the residential construction category.

Description of Work
Several services were performed. Dining room was painted, drywall was replaced, caulking provided where needed, waterproofing window.. Wainscotting repairs were made as needed Back patio pavers were removed and base layers redone to cure settling issue. Pavers were then sealed. Pressure clean house, gutters, driveway pavers etc...then sealed. Stone masonry was sealed

Category gutter repair, masonry, remodeling, home builders, sunrooms, hardscaping

Cost $7,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/29/2016

5.0

01/03/2016


Joy N.

Even though the provider is closed on Sundays, and even though he was too busy to help me, he still took the time to respond to my inquiry to let me know.

Description of Work
Promptly responded to my inquiry

Category remodeling

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/03/2016

5.0

11/17/2015


Kathryn E.

Jack and his team do great work! They pay attention to detail and take their time. The only delays/changes, not on their part, were caused by the historical review committee or the engineer in charge of drawing up plans. I would definitely recommend Jack/his team and use them again in the future if we needed to.

Description of Work
We live in a historical home and had many projects we needed Jack and his team to perform. The first project, which was done last year included re-doing our driveway, shortening our back porch and adding windows to the back part of the house. The latest project included tearing down and re-doing our front porch.

Category remodeling

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2015

5.0

10/20/2015


Mary Beth H.

These guys were amazing. Jack even came out to look at the project several times before I could hire him! We wanted to hire someone local; we live in Seminole Heights and Jack's family business is based in Seminole Heights. He really understands the old homes and the way they were built and he knows the style of the neighborhood. We asked for the bungalow style in the posts and railings, and we got exactly what we asked for and wanted. We gave Jack an idea of what we wanted for the stairs and the gate, and these, too, look wonderful. They got started very quickly after we signed the contract, and the porch was essentially finished within a few weeks. The young men who worked on the porch, Jack's son and another colleague, were knowledgeable and friendly, and neat and clean in their work ethic. Every evening they straightened up and put things away before they left. Very professional all the way. Jack made sure he knew exactly what we wanted, and he was very straight-forward about the cost. He warned us ahead of time that the original estimate could change, depending upon what he found after he started. He was always very clear about any additional costs as soon as he realized what they would be. He went above and beyond regarding the safety of the foundation of the porch. Communication was excellent! We have gotten so many compliments on the new look of the house!

Description of Work
The porch had to be replaced. They had to support the roof, remove the porch, create the foundation for the new porch and completely build the porch, railings and stairs to the yard.

Category remodeling

Cost $14,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2015