Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Alvarez Plumbing Co

Founded 1976 • With Angi since October 2005

4.5

(82) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1623 S 51st St

Tampa, FL 33619

Description

Additional phone number - (813) 247-1144.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/21/2021


Donald H.

Have used Alvarez Plumbing and Air Conditioning for some past jobs and each time they set the bar of quality and professionalism to a new level. AC Tech Romero and a new to company Giovanni showed up right on time with a courtesy call 40 mins out. When they arrived they had boot covers in hand and a mask (I told them not needed but they insisted due to company policy) my mini split unit needed service and a good going through. During inspection a small tear in line insulation was discovered and was immediately fixed no more water drips. They had the tools needed plus as where in past unit had to be taken off wall to clean these guys had a steamer and a portable pressure washer with splash kit. They covered everything near units with plastic and went to work. Did a very through job on both units. They looked brand new inside and out. They reassembled units did a complete function test and cleaned up every bit of dust a fist bump and on their way. Total time 2.5 hrs due to how detailed they were. Gave me suggestions on how to keep units cleaner and cooling better. Immediately home cooled 5x faster. Wish every company done this but if this was so would not be able to distinguish the true 5 star stand out businesses in our community.

Description of Work
Air Conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

06/22/2020


Kim M.

Service representative was very cordial. The service for the first and second visit was prompt but incomplete. Their online presence seems to be efficient and responsive. In terms of a definitive repair, that has not been reached. In the first visit, water was run down the drain for about 20-30 seconds after being "cleared," and drained. The evening after the first visit a short small bath was taken and the water drained very slowly with clear initial back up. We contacted them the next morning and they promptly set up a time to address the slow drain. The same service rep came and was observed doing the work. He did the same running of water, videotaped the drain clearing for evidence ? and my husband said the water drained fine. Another short bath was taken over the weekend and both my daughter and I saw that the water backed up and drained slowly. We have limited our water use to about three instances since the repairs with nothing being dropped in the drain. **Note The service rep stated that if they needed to return it would not be free. We paid $264 for a tub drain to be cleared and went by the repair recommended by the service rep. The drain does not drain as efficiently as it did. It is likely we will be hiring a new plumber as I do not want to use this business again. Again the rep was courteous and seemed genuine in wanting to repair the drain. The business response has been prompt. Our tub drain does not drain properly despite the attention and time given.

Description of Work
Clearing or Unclogging a slow drain

Category plumbing

1.0

12/27/2018


Jeanette M.

I called Alverez Plumbing on Christmas Eve around 12:30 pm when I discovered that my gas hot water heater had sprung a leak and water was all over my garage floor. I talked to the lady who answered the phone. She took down my information and told me that a service man would call me. Hearing nothing, I called back 2 hours later (2:30 pm) to see if a service man would be dispatched. I got their answering service and the lady confirmed that my information had been sent to the service man on call and he would be calling me. It is now 2 days after Christmas and I NEVER received a call from Alverez Plumbing who advertise 24/7 service including emergency service. The shut off valve to the water to the water heater would not close so we had to shut off the water to the whole house. Given that we had no water, we had to spend Christmas Eve and Christmas Day at a relative’s house. I finally called another company and had the gas water heater replaced the day after Christmas! I know how difficult it is to get repairs done over the holidays and the fact that you will have to pay “holiday pay” which I was willing to do. I would at least liked to have a “courtesy” call back from Alverez plumbing letting me know that a repairman WOULD NOT be coming. I could then at least have called some other plumbing companies. Needless to say, I will NEVER use Alverez Plumbing again and my Christmas was not Very Merry!

Description of Work
Gas water heater had a water leak

Category plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

12/26/2018


Julie T.

Alvarez consistently provides excellent customer service.

Description of Work
Garbage disposal repair.

Category plumbing

4.0

05/25/2018


Wanda B.

I haven't had any more problems with said fixtures.

Description of Work
Toilet mechanism repaired/replaced.

Category plumbing

5.0

04/19/2018


John M.

Developed a sudden split pipe in main waterline into house. Contacted Alvarez Plumbing and was promptly assigned/scheduled and within a very short time, Dunieski arrived and quickly assessed the trouble, and in minutes had it under control. Within the same hour, we were back and connected to water service once again. ALVAREZ PLUMBING is our plumbing service of choice. Their service is always prompt and efficient and their workmen always professional and courteous. Thanks, Alvarez!

Description of Work
Emergency repair of main residential waterline

Category plumbing

5.0

11/08/2017


Jim B.

On time and finished project in a reasonable amount of time.

Description of Work
Replace two bathroom faucets - single handle

Category plumbing

5.0

10/18/2017


Ken W.

They were the lowest cost of 4 contractor estimates. Also, they worked every hard to minimize the cutouts and future wall patch jobs. Provided insulation for the cold water line in my very hot attic. We able to handle several unique aspects of my home without additional cost. Were very considerate when moving about the house. Outstanding job, will definitely use again.

Description of Work
A PEX whole house repiping. 4 bedroom, two bath home with several other water fixtures. My in-slab piping leaked yet again. Instead of more jack-hammering, decided to replace with 25-yr PEX through the attic.

Category plumbing

4.0

10/11/2017


Joyce B.

It went fine other than I felt the tech they sent should have been more knowledgeable. He did call and get answers so it worked out ok.

Description of Work
A/C Repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/14/2017


Jane D.

They came to repair my broken pipe the day after Hurricane Irma came through the Tampa Bay area--when most area businesses were closed. They were on time and they even went to the store when they needed a part they didn't have on their truck. My repair was completed the same day that I called in for service. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I would recommend them to everyone.

Description of Work
I had them replace and repair a pipe that had burst.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/21/2017


Tammy Z.

Great! Quick response, great customer service and very reasonably priced. Our air is colder than ever.

Description of Work
Air conditioning work

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

06/21/2017


Dana S.

We are very pleased with the service we received front start to finish

Description of Work
Great service from the initial phone call, to the estimate and working out the details to the finishing of our house repipe. Everyone was very knowledgeable, polite and answered all our questions. The gentleman that came to our house to work cleaned everything up and explained the process to us. We are very happy and would definitely recommend.

Category plumbing, water heater repair, drain cleaning

4.0

03/14/2017


james H.

They were expansive to my recollection, but they are pretty big. They did a B job. The people they sent were C's, one of them. They did their own but just a crappy employee, I think they terminated him finally. It was expensive. It was a total re plumbing. In this case, they are expensive and they are not people who are not people who are willing to come back and do something for free. I found that they were very cautious about making sure that there was something to be done even though they had done it. One time they did come back and didn't charge me. They are a good size company. They are known in the area, and they have a good reputation of doing the work. They just are not the cheapest guys around. Their cost seems to be a little high. I would not use them for small jobs. I would call someone else.

Description of Work
Re-plumbed the house.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/17/2017


Jan J.

He's excellent, always shows up and gets the job done. He's on time. He does it all; little or big jobs. I've been using him for 4-5 years and would definitely recommend him.

Description of Work
Had to snake line

Category plumbing

5.0

02/02/2017


Suzanne G.

Awesome, over the top, family owned, they are the best

Description of Work
Repipe entire house, plus toilet issues

Category plumbing, water heater repair, drain cleaning

5.0

11/05/2016


Douglas B.

They showed up on time and worked until the minimum time charge was up. Thus they were able to clean out an additional lateral for the minimum charge. Other plumbers wanted to charge higher prices and billed per line cleaned. Would call again.

Description of Work
Hydrojet sewer lines to clear clog.

Category drain cleaning

5.0

10/11/2016


Carl P.

Everything went fine and the price was very reasonable $626

Description of Work
Alvarez Plumbing installed a new vanity and sink top and a new toilet bowl also changed out the shuttle off and put new faucet on new vanity sink

Category plumbing

2.0

06/27/2016


TRRE P.

With hindsight, it was a simple fix. Cut the pipe, attach a plastic extender and done. Yet, the "plumber" that showed up, had no tools any different than that of owner. This guy proceeded to destroy the outlet pipe by bashing with a hammer. He did not have a "easy out"... something any professional; plumber would carry. Alverez seems only a marketing service, the "employees" seem to be independents under their banner. Then the owner ( me) had to go out and get the new parts, as the plumber did not want to . He then does a poor job installing, tearing up the inside of the wall. A one hour job then becomes a 4 hour job because it was not diagnosed right in the beginning. Plumber left house every 10 minutes to smoke ( part of billed time). After finishing, and he left, it started leaking. Called Alverez, they sent out a better tech. Fixed. Called and left messages for manager to discuss feeling that dishonest approach was used. Calles never returned. Avoid this company like the plague.

Description of Work
Goal was to remove pipe inside outlet in bathtub. Ended up replacing all the piping behind the wall.

Category plumbing

1.0

02/18/2016


Nicole C.

They have a commercial on TV stating that if your current plumber is giving you a hard time about replacing a water heater that's still under warranty, to call them and they will take care of everything. I called them, they came out and confirmed I needed 2 new water heaters and said it would take "maybe" 3-4 hours labor to replace them. They said, contrary to their commercial, that they don't call the Water Heater company, I needed to do that. So I did that and got everything straightened out. I called them with the information I received from the Rheem people. They said they didn't know where the Rheem warehouse was to go get the new water heaters. Buck the guy who I delt with on the phone for over 2 weeks, said he was waiting to get paperwork from someone else. The next day, he still didn't have it. The day after, still nothing. The next day he was going to mail me a form to fill out. I didn't understand, but figured I'd read the form and understand. I waited for the form that never came. I called about the form today and he said he thought I had moved on and he doesn't even know where my paperwork is! By biggest complaint was that they would not give me an estimate to install the water heaters, they just kept throwing out an estimated number of hours it "might" take to install them. I wasted 2 weeks waiting on them to replace my water heater, I did all the phone calls for them, and then they lose my paperwork! Why bother paying to advertise on TV, if you're going to treat your customers like a nuisance?

Description of Work
Came out, made a guess at how much it would be to install 2 new water heaters, Then told me to call the manufacturer.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

1.0

08/03/2015


Thomas D.

Was provided an estimate to install a water softener approx a year ago or less for between $800 and $900. I finally called them back to get the job done, expecting the price to change a little due to changes in material prices. I was told that they could not even come close to their own estimate and that labor alone would be more than the estimate. They are apparently writing bogus estimates.

Description of Work
Was provided an estimate to install a water softener.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/15/2015


Nikki V.

We had a slab leak. The Alvarez consultant presented options of repairing leak or repiping all house plumbing. We decided to repipe and the install went well. The crew that did the work was quick, friendly, quiet, and professional. They finished our entire house in 2 days. My only criticism is communication through the office staff. Getting correct appointment times and correct types of appointments was a problem. I had three different issues with scheduling. If they can tighten this area of customer service up, they would be flawless.

Description of Work
Repiped all internal plumbing.

Category plumbing

5.0

05/26/2015


Brian H.

Actually re-arranged the plumbing in the room so that the issue could not happen again. Went above and beyond the call and did not charge for it. They cleaned up the area as well before leaving.

Description of Work
Repaired a broken downspout in the laundry area.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/30/2015


Kerri C.

Everything went great! Very nice gentleman, up front about options and pricing. We will definitely use them again!

Description of Work
Replace Hot Water Heater

Category plumbing, water heater repair

3.0

07/31/2014


Robert G.

I tried to change this myself with a cartridge puller but the plastic sleeve was left behind so I called Alvarez. The appointment was almost immediate, however I didn't ask the labor rate or estimate. I found out the cost for the job on the arrival of two men. $171.00 to replace this is way out of line, I found out the price while they were here. I couldn't turn them away because they were here. I also got an estimate to change a simple valve in my garage. $299.00!!! really?? Since they were here already they said it could be done for $135!! really?. So, the tech was chipping away with a hammer and screwdriver inside the valve until all pieces were removed. He put it together within 30 minutes, turned on the water and...bam...from hammering away, they busted a pipe, then they tried to say I did it!!! I reminded them that the valve in the garage is preventing me from shutting the whole house water off. We shut the water off at the mixer valve in the shower. Then the two had to bust tile away for the repair. The hole was covered by a bigger trim plate which they didn't charge me for..thanks. Chriss's plumbing rate is $85 hour, I used them before but Alvarez was a friend recommendation. We are still friends.

Description of Work
Changed the cartridge in a Moen shower faucet

Category plumbing

5.0

05/06/2014


Pat S.

Punctual, knowledgeable, and provided work in a timely manner.

Description of Work
the service was included in my estimate from Naffco/Brandon. He connected sink, and faucet and disconnected disposal as well as reworking plumbing.

Category plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    A#1 Seamless Gutter Solutions

    Veteran Owned & Operated. Serving the State of Florida. No Sub-Contractors Used. We care enough to answer our phones! Give us a CALL, We offer... 100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED! We stand behind our company and the products we use. If you're not completely satisfied; we will come back as many times as necessary until you're happy and you remain happy at no extra charge to you.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Bayside Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

    Bayside Heating and Air Conditioning is proud to have consistently earned the Angi's Super Service Award since 2000 and maintain more positive reviews than any other Air Conditioning company in the Tampa Bay Area. We are a family owned business and strive for old fashion values of integrity, good service, and value. Like our motto says " Our cstomers are always comfortable". We are fully licensed, insured, and bonded. We offer very affordable yearly maintennance agreemnts, with bi-annual service, for more reliable comfort. Our agreement customers enjoy priority service, discounts on repairs, and discounted or free diagnostic fees during normal business hours. Ask about our Bayside Comfort Club. Let us earn your trust, and be your first and final choice.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    REM Air Conditioning of Tampa

    CALL TODAY FOR AN IMMEDIATE RESPONSE! Professional air conditioning company, servicing Tampa Bay air conditioning systems for over 40 years. We live by our honesty, quality, and dependability. We will impress you.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial plumbing, drain cleaning, high pressure jetting, plumbing repairs and remodeling, backflow testing repairs and installation, repiping, faucet, toilet, water heater & fixture installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Alvarez Plumbing Co

    How is Alvarez Plumbing Co overall rated?

    Alvarez Plumbing Co is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Alvarez Plumbing Co open?

    Alvarez Plumbing Co is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Alvarez Plumbing Co provide

    Alvarez Plumbing Co accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Alvarez Plumbing Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Alvarez Plumbing Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Alvarez Plumbing Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Alvarez Plumbing Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Alvarez Plumbing Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Alvarez Plumbing Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Alvarez Plumbing Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, Alvarez Plumbing Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Alvarez Plumbing Co?

    No, Alvarez Plumbing Co does not offer warranties.

    What services does Alvarez Plumbing Co offer?

    Alvarez Plumbing Co offers the following services: Residential and commercial plumbing, drain cleaning, high pressure jetting, plumbing repairs and remodeling, backflow testing repairs and installation, repiping, faucet, toilet, water heater & fixture installation.