Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Sonshine Roofing

Founded 1987 • With Angi since September 2013

4.6

(38) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2555 Porter Lake Dr Ste 109

Sarasota, FL 34240

Description

Sonshine Roofing has been in business and used the same phone number since 1987. They specializes in utilizing proven procedures which are omitted by many roofers because they are not required by the building code, but when properly utilized roof's useful service life have been extended by up to 15 more years then what is typically expected. Their first visit with you will inform you of your options. "Without knowing your options the concept of choice is merely an illusions" says the owner. They offer 4 different financing options and accept all major credit cards. www.sonshineroofing.com to view more of our particular service....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/25/2020


Larry A.

Sonshine Roofing were fantastic to deal with from start to finish. I got 4 estimates and Sonshine was the only contractor that went up on my roof and thoroughly inspected it. They found a lot of wind damage that I didn't even know I had. They had me call my insurance company and they got it covered under my policy. The only thing I paid , was my deductible. They even installed a solar powered attic fan and I cannot believe how much cooler my attic is already. Nathan and his crew are first rate. I would not recommend anybody else.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

5.0

06/12/2018


Jeffrey C.

Everything went great. No delays, and no issues. Very professional. Would hire again.

Description of Work
New Shingle Roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We enjoyed working with you! Thank you for your feedback!
2.0

02/11/2018


Marion P.

We have used Sonshine roofing for several years, both on our own home (tile) and with rental properties (shingle). Prior to this year, we were very happy with them. This year, we had a leak develop in the corner of our laundry room. Sonshine came out and fixed it, at a cost of $4800. We repainted the ceiling, and about 2 months later, saw leakage again, in the same place on the ceiling. We called them out again, and a different serviceman came. He said there was a second leak, about 2 feet away from the first one, and from the staining on the wood, he could tell it was an old leak, not a brand new one. He told us they should have noticed it before. Sonshine wanted to charge us another $700 to fix this second leak. Since they removed all of the tile in an area at least 10 feet across, which encompassed the area of both leaks, we did not understand how there could be continued leaking from a place 2 feet away, if the work had been done properly. We felt the repair should have been covered under the warranty of their work. We wrote a letter and even met with the owner to complain about being charged again for something that should have been addressed when that section of the roof was repaired. He refused to repair it without us paying again. He recommended we replace our roof, at a cost of $80,000. Since then, we have gotten estimates from other roofing contractors that are about $20,000 less.

Description of Work
Tie roof repair

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We are truly sorry to hear that you are disappointed with our service. From our very first visit to your home and on later visits, we advised that the roof needed to be replaced. We explained that the underlayment below the roof tiles was deteriorating and with the underlayment in such poor condition, more leaks would turn up. Another important factor that we discussed with you is the radiant barrier in the attic that makes it very difficult to see where all the leaks and problems are stemming from. Our Roofing Specialists had covered the leak risks associated with keeping the old roof as well as the financial benefit of replacing rather than repairing in your situation. Wanting to be of service to you, we accepted your decisions to repair rather than replace the roof. With regard to comparing roof replacement estimates from other companies against the cost of a SonShine roof, we would have gladly measured your roof, talked with you about material options, and provided you with a firm estimate had you wanted one. Instead, we were asked what a ballpark figure might be without measuring or having your materials chosen and priced out. We wish you the best, SonShine Roofing
5.0

11/13/2017


Gerard D.

Project started late because of need to remove solar panels by another company. Work went smoothly and efficiently after this was done.

Description of Work
Roof replacement.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for taking the time and sharing your review! It was our pleasure to be of service to you!
5.0

10/23/2017


wilson B.

Great honest assessment.

Description of Work
Roof inspection

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your feedback! It was our pleasure to be of service to you!
5.0

10/22/2017


June M.

Extremely pleased with service. Would definitely recommend this company,

Description of Work
Examined roof and made minor repairs. Found the source of the problem was the a/c duct system, not the roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! It was great working with you!
2.0

09/20/2017


Deborah G.

Horrible experience. I have never encountered such an unprofessional company. The foreman on the job gave us one cost for the additional wood that he and his crew were installing and the invoice came back 4 x the estimate. The owners response was his foreman should have never given us the estimate. However our reply was that he shouldn't have been the foreman. Next during the hurricane we lost one shingle on a brand new roof of less than 30 days old. The company refused to reattach without us paying over $100.00. Yet our neighborhood received zero damage from the storm and other houses in the development have roofs over 20 years old and never lost one single. This was a workmanship issue and should have been replaced at zero cost. The owner is a cranky greedy man and needs to retire. We paid a premium price for what we thought was a reputable company and got ripped off. Lesson learned and I will never recommend this company.

Description of Work
New roof and wood

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

To clarify, the wood charges mentioned were only an estimate of the in progress costs of where work had been completed up to that point. As for the services requested post hurricane, our workmanship warranty does not cover roof damages done by acts of nature or any other situations outside of our control. We are not able to provide free repairs in such cases. However, as stated, we would cover issues that we find to be due to workmanship errors if that be the case. Service was ultimately declined.
5.0

09/19/2017


Robert M.

.

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great rating!
5.0

01/20/2017


Chris B.

The job started exactly when we wanted it to. We were informed of the progress on a daily basis. The workers were friendly and hard working since the temperature on the roof was very high. Nathan and Bill were great to work with. The end result is a beautiful, warrantied roof that prevents any access into the attic by local critters (i.e, rats), etc. The vents are now properly covered, the solar vents keep the attic "cooler" (and are tax deductible), the microwave vent is now the proper type (the old one was not the correct one). and the warranties are terrific. The old roof was 20 years old (so we were worried about leaks) but now we have piece of mind with a solid and long lasting roof. We are joining the roof club which gives you a yearly roof inspection and gutter(s) cleaning. A roof by far is the number one expense for home repair so having it examined yearly is the smart play. Oh, and my neighbors are impressed with the final result. So, hands down, this is the Company to hire to install a new roof.

Description of Work
Sonshine Roofing removed from our old roof all the shingles, solar panels that were not working, and an old satellite dish. They installed the GAF Timberline lifetime shingles ( and the rest of the GAF roof protection features), two solar vents, a microwave vent, and capped off the other vents. Along the way, they replaced rotted wood, damaged fascia, and other items that were damaged. New gutters were also installed along with a duro-last covering for the flat roof over the lanai which carries a 20 year warranty.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to be of service to you.
5.0

09/13/2016


Terry M.

Because of my house being build in the 50's they did a great job. So far I am really satisfied and they did a great job.

Description of Work
roof repair and wood facia repair.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to rate us. Thank you for choosing Sonshine Roofing, it was a pleasure serving you.
5.0

08/12/2016


A B S.

It went very well. We met- the representative was on time, completed his work quickly and he took the time to clearly discuss his findings. He was helpful in offering us realistic options for roof replacement.

Description of Work
Roof analysis and assessment.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We are glad we could be of service to you. Thank you for your kind words.
5.0

04/25/2016


Cheryl L.

We have had Sonshine do two previous repair jobs on our roof, so when it came to choosing a company to replace the roof, there was no question that we wanted to use Sonshine. They are honest and upstanding. They let you know what all of your options are and don't try to sell you things you don't need. They work with a local distributor who helped us pick out a color. They gave us addresses of places that had the roof colors we were considering so that we could drive by and see what the finished product looked like. From start to finish, it was a good experience. You can probably get cheaper, but we wanted to work with a reputable company who has been in the area for years and who will be here in the future. Thanks Nathan and Bill. Our roof looks wonderful! Bob & Cher

Description of Work
Replaced the entire roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words and taking time to submit a review. It was a pleasure serving you!
5.0

04/18/2016


David G.

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great rating!
4.0

04/14/2016


Chris S.

They didn't do any work for us. They were good people, but we chose another company to do our roof. They were right in line with price.

Description of Work
They came out to give us a quote.

Category roofing

4.0

04/14/2016


Ray C.

They cleaned the roofs and the gutters. It went pretty good except he made a mess of the pool. Other than that, it was okay.

Description of Work
We used Sonshine Enterprises.

Category gutter cleaning, roof cleaning

5.0

04/13/2016


Eileen B.

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

4.0

04/13/2016


Robert M.

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

5.0

04/08/2016


Mary K.

Description of Work
Roof inspection and repair of minor problem. I had another roofer out before them for an estimate, they wanted to repair the problem differently for nearly $1000. This company is fair and honest.

Category roofing

5.0

04/07/2016


Miriam S.

Description of Work
Sonshine replaced our roof. It has been 10 years and no problems, so I would say it went well. Absolutely reliable people. Excellent business practices and human values.

Category roofing

5.0

04/07/2016


Marlin Y.

Description of Work
Replaced my roof in 2010.

Category roofing

5.0

03/30/2016


Cheryl L.

Sonshine did a great job. Bill, stopped by almost every day to let us know how things were going. The new roof looks wonderful.

Description of Work
Replaced tile roof

Category roofing

5.0

04/28/2014


Dennis B.

I was concerned about two fascia board corners that were water rotted. I had a and quot;Freeand quot; quote from another roofer for $1200.00 to repair. I was trying to determine whether to repair for $1200 or replace the roof. Sonshine didn't give a and quot;Freeand quot; estimate but charged $39.95 to do a thorough evaluation. Nathan from Sonshine showed up on time, evaluated the roof from inside the attic and out and determined that the wood rotted fascia didn't need a roof repair just some carpentry repair for about $80. He said the roof should last several more years but to check it annually.The best $39.95 I have spent. I was impressed by his honesty and professionalism.

Description of Work
Roof Evaluation

Category roofing

5.0

09/05/2013


Alisa A.

SonShine staff was very communicative on the phone setting everything up. I am an out-of-state owner and this is a rental property so I needed all the details to provide to my tenant. They showed up exactly when they said they would and did everything they said they would do. They also called me daily during the job to provide me updates. My tenants even commented on their professionalism, timeliness, etc. There was some other siding work that needed to be done the same time as the roof but not in their scope - SonShine recommended a contractor who was great also (and reasonable compared to other quotes) and they coordinated everything without me having to be the coordinator. SonShine was not the cheapest or most expensive of the bids I received but I just felt a great confidence in them when I met them. They were not dramatically more expensive than my lowest bids and I am extremely pleased I went with SonShine.

Description of Work
Installed new roof and some fascia.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for you kind words. It was a pleasure to be of service to you.
5.0

08/13/2011


Miriam N.

My roof was in need of replacement due to insurance for better rating. We reasearched many roofing companies but the one that was recommended highly from my neighbors was Sonshine Roofing. They did a great job and my roof looks great!!

Description of Work
Replaced the entire roof of the house.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words [Member Name Removed], and your continued trust and confidence in Sonshine Roofing.
5.0

04/06/2011


Patricia R.

They did a terrific job for me. The previous roofers did not take off the shingles, and just put the shingles over the old ones. They had to do alot of extra work. They were fast and efficient. They worked with me to keep the job cost low. They made sure to clean up after themselves. They were very nice and were very friendly. I have not had any problems with the roof after the job was done.

Description of Work
They took off all the shingles and replaced the entire roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

It was our pleasure to be of service to you. Thank you for the kind words and great rating.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Clean Roof: Cleaning and Sealing Services

    Clean Roof SoftWash, coating and sealing is your solution for a broad range of outdoor cleaning services for your home. Our trained, fully insured, professional service technicians ensure to get there on time to restore your house back to its original beauty .Do not waste time on a service that’s undependable and not reputable, and don’t let just anybody on your property. When you require professional outdoor cleaning services you can trust and depend on us to do the job right. Don’t void your roofs warranty by having the pressure cleaners on your roof! You can rely on Clean Roof SoftWash. Restore your roofs original appeal by letting us seal and waterproof your roof, driveway or pavers. Call now for a free estimate. All of our customers are provided with before and after pictures of process.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Clean Roof: Cleaning and Sealing Services on Angi
    Window Genie of Sarasota

    We offer a streak free guarantee on window cleaning and discount programs to keep your windows and home exterior clean, protected and looking it's best all year long. Our technicians wear uniforms and name tags and will arrive in easily identifiable vehicles. Also we are licensed and insured.  

    Aquamen Pro Sarasota

    At Aqua Men Pro, our team handles tough outdoor cleaning tasks with ease, such as: gutter cleaning, pressure washing, roofing cleaning, window cleaning, and more! If you need your home or commercial property cleaned in SW FL, we're the team to call. Your property is an investment and our cleaning improve your property's curb appeal so you can focus on other tasks. We can also help with installing outdoor pavers for your landscaping. Check out all of the services we offer below and call -- or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Aquamen Pro Sarasota on Angi
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    CCC1331483
    Trade License Locale
    Florida
    Trade License Authority
    Florida: General
    Trade License Expiration
    08/31/2024
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Senior Discount
    2%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Shingle, Tile and Flat; Leak Detection, Roof Maintenance, Roof Repairs & Complete Roof Replacements. They also specialize in waterproofing commercial roof restoring and energy saving roof system on low sloped and flat built up, modified and metal roofing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Sonshine Roofing

    How is Sonshine Roofing overall rated?

    Sonshine Roofing is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Sonshine Roofing open?

    Sonshine Roofing is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    What payment options does Sonshine Roofing provide

    Sonshine Roofing accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Sonshine Roofing offer free estimates?

    Yes, Sonshine Roofing offers free project estimates.

    Does Sonshine Roofing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Sonshine Roofing offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Sonshine Roofing offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Sonshine Roofing offers a 2% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Sonshine Roofing?

    Yes, Sonshine Roofing offers warranties.

    What services does Sonshine Roofing offer?

    Sonshine Roofing offers the following services: Shingle, Tile and Flat; Leak Detection, Roof Maintenance, Roof Repairs & Complete Roof Replacements. They also specialize in waterproofing commercial roof restoring and energy saving roof system on low sloped and flat built up, modified and metal roofing.