Sanford Electric Co II Inc

About

Founded 1925 • With Angi since March 2006

Additional contact names - Jim DePoy.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.8

(144) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

117

4

7

3

5

2

3

1

11

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

electrician (140)lighting (28)ceiling fan installation (17)landscape lighting (1)well & water pump repair (1)appliance repair (2)water heaters (1)
Showing 1-25 of 144 reviews
5.0

02/01/2020


Suzi D.

Gary instructed me what to purchase and why. He spent quite a bit of time on the phone explaining exactly what I needed. I had no IDEA they make smoke detectors with 10 year batteries! Whoo hoo! No more 9 volts! Darren arrived a little later than originally stated, but was just delightful to work with. He helped me make choices with the items I purchased and was super quick on the installs. Very happy with the outcome and the price was very reasonable. These gentlemen are going to be my go-to guys for anything electrical.

Description of Work
Replace 4 hardwired smoke detectors and replace bathroom exhaust fan.

Category electrician

Cost $130

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/30/2020

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to post it. We truly appreciate your business! Best regards, Sanford Electric Company II, Inc.
5.0

05/29/2019


Frank G.

I am satisfied, he did exactly what I asked him to do

Description of Work
Repaired outside light fixture

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/16/2019

Service Provider Response

Please enter what you would like the response to look like: [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the excellent review! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you with any future electrical needs! Best regards, Sanford Electric Company II, Inc.
5.0

02/06/2019


John K.

I've remodeled several homes and had experience with many local electricians. Sanford Electric is tops. They are responsive, offer great service and have never failed to solve a tricky problem or an electrical mystery. The two electricians who have worked with us (Darren and Charlie) have been professional and courteous.

Description of Work
Resolve open ground, repair broken circuits, rewire lighting/fan controls

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

Cost $110

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2019

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review! We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you again in the future! Best regards, Sanford Electric Company II, Inc.
5.0

12/13/2018


Paul H.

Sanford Electric's Darren showed up exactly on time and worked to quickly solve the problem. When I called for service, Gary answered and was able to schedule a service visit within 2 hours of my call. Courteous, responsive, punctual. Cost was typical for this type of call. They accepted the Angie's List coupon and applied the $20 discount to my charge.

Description of Work
Needed to troubleshoot a popped CB in the MBR.

Category electrician

Cost $70

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/13/2018

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to post it. We truly appreciate your business! Best regards, Sanford Electric Company II, Inc.
5.0

11/29/2018


Angela N.

It went very well! We scheduled the appointment on 11/28 and were told that a technician would be available the next day on 11/29 (today). We would be the 3rd appointment, and they would be there after 11am. Darren was right on time, and showed up at 11:30am. Darren called my husband to let him know that he was at the house (my husband was in the back yard with our dogs), and my husband was able to meet him out at the front of the house right away. Darren tested all of our outlets on the outside of the home and determined that there was power going to the outlets, but the new GFI outlet was installed backwards which was causing the issue. Additionally, we had an exterior light outside of our home on the 2nd story of our home by our entry way that needed to be fixed and was not working. Darren was able to isolate the issue and fix everything (power to outlets and exterior light on the 2nd floor) in about an hour for a very reasonable price. Darren explained everything as he went along and was very knowledgeable, professional and personable. I would recommend him and this company!

Description of Work
Exterior Outlets and fix Exterior Lighting

Category electrician, lighting

Cost $130

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/29/2018

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the excellent review & for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate it very much! Thank you for your business! Best regards, Sanford Electric Company II, Inc.
5.0

07/22/2018


Steven P.

on time, worked hard. Had to figure out the confusing lighting and wiring left by the home's previous owner who had left a mess of wires without any history or diagram. Sorted it out and added some switches to make it correct and usable. When I need more electrical work, this is who I will call.

Description of Work
Fix Light switches, Install light fixture

Category electrician, lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2018

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the excellent review! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you with any future electrical needs! Best regards, Sanford Electric Company II, Inc.
5.0

06/15/2018


Shannon C.

Sanford Electric was excellent to work with. We called around for several quotes to take down 3 light fixtures in the kitchen and replace them with new ones. They offered the best price. They were also able to come out the next day. John arrived on time and worked really fast! Since they charge by the half hour, it was really appreciated. He was professional, polite and again, he was quick! We will definitely call them again for electrical needs.

Description of Work
Changing 3 kitchen light fixtures

Category electrician, lighting

Cost $110

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2018

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the excellent review and for taking the time to post it! We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you with any future electrical needs! Best regards, Sanford Electric Company II, Inc.
5.0

05/21/2018


Vandon J.

If I could give an A+ I would of. They are extremely professional, fair pricing, and kind! They by far exceeded my expectations, In fact I’ll will use them for future projects.

Description of Work
Replaced a dangerous 200A FPE MCB Panelboard with a brand new 200A SQD MCB Panelboard.

Category electrician

Cost $570

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2018

5.0

12/21/2017


Maryanne M.

The electrician was professional and really knew his stuff. Would use them again without question

Description of Work
Multiple fans installed and a few other switches replaced

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2017

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the excellent review! We apprecite your business and look forward to assisting you with any future electrical needs! Best regards, Sanford Electric Company II, Inc.
5.0

08/31/2017


Charles S.

They were extremely professional and fixed my problem at a very reasonable cost. If I have any future electrical problems I certainly will call them.

Description of Work
Non functional GFI

Category electrician

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2017

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the excellent review! We truly appreciate your business & look forward to assisting you with any future electrical issues. Best regards, Sanford Electric Company
5.0

06/19/2017


Richard K.

They are amazing. On time and professional. It about 4 hours to complete job and clean up was amazing.

Description of Work
They reconnected some switches in my bathroom.

Category electrician

Cost $160

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/19/2017

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the excellent review! We appreciate your business & look forward to assisting you with any electrical issues in the future. Best regards, Sanford Electric Company II, Inc.
5.0

04/24/2017


Nicol V.

Great service - was all done in under an hour- would definitely use again.

Description of Work
Had an new outlet put in and also replaced a second broken outlet.

Category electrician

Cost $140

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/19/2017

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the kind review! We appreciate your business & look forward to assisting you with any future electrical needs! Best regards, Sanford Electrical Company
3.0

04/21/2017


Frank B.

I previously wrote that Sanford Electric was a no show and didn't call. After my previous review. I was contacted by both the business manager and the president. Apologizing for the poor customer service. They were trying to make it right. So I did hire them. They were scheduled to show up on Thursday at 745a. The tech was early and already working by 745. I felt Sanford Electric did a great job after learning of my experience.

Description of Work
Replaced conduit. Reattached ground wire and replaced outlets and switches

Category electrician

Cost $305

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for revising your previous review. We appreciated the opportunity to complete your work & provide you with a better experience working with Sanford Electric Company! Again, we appreciate your business & hope that you will consider Sanford Electric for any future electrical work. Best regards, Sanford Electric Company II, Inc.
1.0

04/18/2017


Frank B.

I called Sanford Electric and told them what I needed done. That was a Wednesday. I was told it would be either Friday or Monday. They did not show up on Friday so I called on Monday morning to make sure I was on the list and they were coming. The guy who answered said yes and it would be later in the day. Problem was I hadn't given him my name or my address. So how would he know who was asking. No show no call.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category electrician

Work Completed On 04/18/2017

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Please accept my sincere apologies that our scheduling Tech did not keep you updated regarding the arrival of our electrician in a timely manner. He should have contacted you both on Friday & Monday early in the day regarding our ability to arrive at your rental property. I have addressed this issue with him & believe that the issue will be handled properly in the future. He told me that he called you Tuesday morning & was unable to reach you. He called again & spoke to you on Tuesday before 1 pm to advise you that the Electrician would be at the property to investigate the conduit issue that afternoon. He was told by you that the painters would be there as well. The Electrician arrived at approximately 1 pm. He located the reported problem & noted how best to repair it. However, as you were unavailable for him to advise you what it was going to require & the cost, he drew the area out, & measured for the needed lengths of conduit to make the repair to conduit. Again, please accept my apologies for our breakdown in customer service. We hope that you will provide us the opportunity to repair the conduit for the dryer at your rental property, earn your business, & your respect!
5.0

04/05/2017


Beth P.

They are very good. Just one came out, took about an hour, left it very clean. He is really good at explaining what he is doing, just very good.

Description of Work
I used Sanford Electric Co II Inc to install some lightening.

Category lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/05/2017

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the kind review! We appreciate your business & look forward to assisting you with any future electrical needs! Best regards, Sanford Electrical Company
5.0

11/09/2016


COKE B.

The socket came out of the fixture while changing a bad bulb. I was unfamiliar with this one screw mounting of the socket deep inside a ceiling can and needed experienced help to get it squared away again. The serviceman knew instantly what the problem was and quickly got the pieces back together.

Description of Work
Strange, to me, mechanical problem in a ceiling can while changing a light bulb. Need help getting the fixture put back together and operational.

Category electrician, lighting

Cost $80

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/09/2016

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your kind review! We appreciate your business! Kind regards, Sanford Electric Company
5.0

07/26/2016


Kimberly D.

All went very well. Called main office and within 20 minutes service man was at my home. Twenty minutes later it was fixed. No need for a new pump! Awesome service!!

Description of Work
Serviced well pump.

Category electrician, wells

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2016

1.0

10/02/2015


Joseph V.

They were scheduled to come to my house this morning, second job, my next door neighbor called them too and they were doing his job first thing today. So by 11;00 am I did not see a service vehicle in the neighbors driveway so I called. They said I was rescheduled for this afternoon around 2. But no one called me. They said they didn't have my number to call. How unprofessional is that ?? I'm in the phone book. Why they did not get my number is beyond me. But what makes them think I will just be here waiting all day when it was 10:00 am? I rescheduled my day for this. And if I did not call I would be waiting and waiting. My time is valuable. They won't be getting my business.

Description of Work
They were supposed to remove an old ceiling fan and put a new one in.

Category electrician, ceiling fans

Work Completed On 10/02/2015

1.0

09/21/2015


Sally M.

I called the number listed in the reply. Through the phone menu I received Gary's voicemail; I left one shortly after the 8am opening time that morning. I did reach Gary on my second call ... pm same day since I had not heard from him. Gary and I had difficulty finding common ground. I was focused on the ESTIMATOR but gathered this was not a singular service. So ... it was left that a Technician was scheduled to come 10am or after on Monday, Sept. 21. Knowing we possibly had a number of future to-be-scheduled larger projects, I was not clear how the ESTIMATOR was to be factored into this service call. At 11:50am Mon. Morning, Sept 21st Gary called to tell me that no one would be coming for a service call today. Everybody is 'OUT'; Gary had no idea why. I queried why he didn't call earlier. Gary's explanation was he was occupied with other things. He did ask me for times to reschedule ... he would work me in. This is a clear case of Customer NO-Service [Clark Howard]. Totally unprofessional, rude, explanations ill-defined. So much for all those glowing reviews about this company. Thank the Lord, no one from Sanford Electric stepped foot in my home ... NOR WILL THEY. I do not want any contact from this company ever again. Being disrespected before the job begins from a highly-thought-of company does not shed a good light on Angie's List. Sally Mitchell

Description of Work
This is my first experience using Angie's List: Last week I contacted Sanford Electric II by email. Our home has a number of electrical issues. Knowing where to begin or what needed to be done was perplexing for me. I received a friendly and encouraging reply from Sanford Electric stating an ESTIMATOR could evaluate and provide a FREE quote. This is exactly what we needed based on the number of possible electrical issues [large and small] we have going on in our home.

Category electrician

Work Completed On 09/21/2015

Service Provider Response

Ms [Removed member name], I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our Electrical Contractor was out of town & a number of electrical emergencies occurred that required Technicians to remain on jobsites longer than expected & required Gary to handle a number of additional, unexpected issues. Our scheduler has been reprimanded regarding the slow response time in advising you that we would be unable to make it to your home in a timely manner. Adain, we apologize for not meeting your expectations.
5.0

06/29/2015


Mavis M.

Scheduling was easy and done at my mother-in-law's convenience. The repairman arrived on time and was professional and efficient. My mother-in-law is getting to the age where unknown people in her home make her nervous and uncomfortable and she said that she felt at ease with the electrician and felt like he did a good job. She was pleased with the entire process. Since she had two recent bad experiences with two different electricians she was expecting another bad experience and was both relieved and satisfied with the work that was done and the person completing the work.

Description of Work
Replaced a non-working recessed light in a shower and fixed an outlet.

Category electrician, lighting

Cost $175

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2015

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that your mother-in-law felt comfortable as we feel that is an important aspect of having a service Tech in one's home. Your business is appreciated!
1.0

06/17/2015


Victoria M.

My husband and I both spoke with Gary several times, who repeatedley assured me that he would send an estimate. For us the estimate was a formality, we needed to verify the price so we could schedule the work. This was extremely disappointing, as we used Sanford Electric once previously (because of Angie's) and had a great experience. I can't recommend someone who doesn't return calls or send estimates.

Description of Work
I first contacted Sanford Electric in the last week of April and had a wonderful man, Frank, come out to give an estimate. He looked at the situation (adding a 220v line in the garage) and said that the new line would run around $200 but that he'd send us an estimate. After several calls to Gary, who said he'd get an estimate to our twice verified email we still haven't received an estimate! It is now mid-June.

Category electrician

Cost $200

Work Completed On 05/01/2015

5.0

06/16/2015


Nancy C.

The electrician arrived on time, we reviewed the work to be done and he started on the project immediately. He worked almost four hours without taking a break. He worked quietly, efficiently and cleaned up, a real professional. Prior to the appointment we agreed to the supplies needed - which supplies I would purchase in a advance and what supplies the electrician would have with him. The price was very reasonable. Everything worked out perfectly. We highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Repaired garage ceiling lights, installed garage stairway light, repaired clothes closet light, replaced outdoor flood, closed off electric connection under kitchen sink

Category electrician, lighting