Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Innovative Construction

Founded 1997 • With Angi since April 2012

In business since 1997, our company specializes in all aspects of Residential and Commercial Remodeling, including Custom Cabinetry, Counter-tops, Kitchens, Baths, Doors & Windows, Flooring, Lanais, Pool Cages, Acrylic Rooms, Garages, Carports, Additions and Whole House Remodels as well as New Construction.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.2

(22) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-22 of 22 reviews
Michael C.
1.0
02/18/2015
Left with the money, never finished the job and did not pay the subs. This operator is criminally fraudulent in spite of good reviews previously. They left many homeowners in worse shape than me
Description of Work
Bedroom/bathroom addition in existing double garage.
Category
remodeling, garage builders, home remodeling
Kathryn M.
1.0
01/09/2015
I had called Innovative Construction to get an estimate on having one of our Florida floors tiled. Mr. Larry Fife responded. He explained his situation and came out to measure our project and provided his estimation for the job. I have not made a decision as to whom will be selected (all were Angie's List recommendations). If selected, I will certainly provide a review for Mr. Fife.
Description of Work
Alas, this provider is no longer in business (retired I understand), but a contractor who had been associated with the original business has maintained the Innovative phone number is starting up his own company.
Category
remodeling
Dante L.
2.0
08/01/2014
At first they were responsive and timely. They came out to estimate the work, submitted a proposal soon thereafter and we were prepared to have them start. At that point they stopped calling or returning calls.
Description of Work
Nothing.
Category
remodeling
Thomas L.
5.0
06/30/2014
It was good. They are consistent with what they do. The price was good.
Description of Work
They fixed a couple of basic services.
Category
handyman service
Jan H.
5.0
06/30/2014
We did a remodeling job on our house and I can't begin to tell you how helpful they were in giving us ideas and making sure that when the job was completed, we were completely satisfied. They workers excelled at their job and were enjoyable to have around. They were also very neat and made sure to clean everything up at the end of each working day, which made life easier for us during the entire project. I would not hesitate to use them again and highly recommend them to anyone needing home remodeling of any kind.
Description of Work
Turned out covered lanai into a room of the house, under air. That required new flooring, new counters, painted cabinets and new cabinets. We also had them redo our guest bath, a new counter and cabinet painting for the entry of the house and new flooring in our master bedroom. They also painted the entire house, inside and out. They took down and put up a new cage over our lanai and removed and rehung our storm shutters.
Category
flooring contractor, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters, hurricane shutters
Albert C.
1.0
06/30/2014
unknown
Description of Work
I signed a contract to have a deck put on. I was told the material was special order and I would have to pay the full amount of the special order material for a deposit. I did and waited the 6 weeks that it was supposed to take for the material to come in and called them about the installation. They then informed me that tha railing was no longer available. I called the manufacturer to see if it was available and I called Lowes to see if it was available. It was available as a special order item, which that is what I was told from the comtractor in the begining. I informed them that the material was available because I called both Lowes and the manufacturer. After that call they would not answer my calls. After my brother-in-law called twice and threatened them and two months later they returned my deposit money. They make promises to get you to sign a contract then don't follow through.
Category
custom cabinets, electrician, flooring contractor, remodeling, house painters

Service Provider Response

I have been in this business for over 50 years and have have learned a lot. One of the things I learned is that in some situations the best course of action for both parties is to end the relationship. In this situation, even though we had spent a considerable amount of time and money on meetings, designing their deck and attempting to resolve the material issue, we mutually agreed to a refund of 100% of the funds. I wish them success in finding a new contractor. Barry Gerber, Pres.
Nancy L.
5.0
06/16/2014
I manages a mobile home park and a lot of the people in the park are elderly and they need help finding someone to fix a leak in her floor of her mobile home. The leak destroyed the whole floor. I found Innovative Construction and they were excellent. They installed a whole new floor and they painted the walls. It was expensive but I think the insurance paid for it. They kept in touch with me which was important. He did really well.
Description of Work
They installed a new floor and painted a wall.
Category
flooring contractor, interior painters
Keith A.
1.0
06/01/2014
UPDATE - This turned out badly. Contractor filed for bankruptcy. They did not pay most sub contractors. Barry Gerber held the license and Larry Fife collected the money. I recently filed a criminal complaint against both. Hopefully charges will be filed. This will be my 1st review on AL but I will try to be as helpful as possible. My wife and I purchased a foreclosed home in P**** Gorda 4/14. We have hired Innovative Construction for a complete remodel. Top to bottom. We are early in but so far everyone involved has been very professional and easy to work with. I will give complete details when we are complete.
Description of Work
Whole house remodel
Category
home remodeling
Charles M.
5.0
02/11/2014
Went flawlessly
Description of Work
Drywall repair. Hung curatin hardware and pictures
Category
interior painters
Nancy L.
5.0
12/12/2013
These guys were great! They totally gutted a mobile home who had experienced a water leak. From the leak repair, floors, walls,windows, they did it all. The best part was they kept in communication the whole time so I knew what was happening. They were prompt, courteous and clean. I would not hesitate to recommend Innovative Construction and Larry Fife.
Description of Work
A complete interior renovation
Category
remodeling, mobile home remodeling
Peter O.
5.0
07/17/2013
We had two bathrooms that needed renovating -- new vanities, counter top, tiling and new shower. Innovative Construction gave a competitive quote for the first bathroom and in meeting with them it seemed that they would be effective. We accepted the quote. We hadn't wanted to be there when the work was being done so we went back to our main home in the mid-west. They kept in touch very well with us, e-mailing us photos of the work in progress. They completed the work in the scheduled time and the work was done very well. We went back to check when the work was done and were pleased with the quality of the work. We then arranged for the second bathroom to be renovated and this was done in a similar way. Overall we would recommend Innovative Construction very highly.
Description of Work
Renovated bathroom. Did such a good job that we asked for a quote for the second bathroom and we accepted the quote. The work was completed very well.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, remodeling, home remodeling
Richard D.
3.0
06/22/2013
They called us today and told us they sent an email to us on 5/1. They forwarded this communication to us after their conversation with my husband. Their price was higher than the quote we accepted. Our view is they should have followed up their email with a phone call since they did not hear back from as we had not received the original email.
Description of Work
Came out and looked at the project and took pictures. We did not hear anything further so we called them to ask about the quote. He had some sizes wrong on the lumber so he told us he would redo the quote and get it to us within the next couple of days. We heard nothing further from them.
Category
remodeling
Joyce A.
5.0
06/03/2013
Prompt service - professional - crew did a complete clean up and were always courteous and on time. The owner stopped with samples and made sure we had a good choice of color and style. They explained the process completely and satisfactorily. We had some concerns after the job was complete and the owner stopped by right away and dealt with them.
Description of Work
Cement overlay on an existing cement driveway and sidewalk.
Category
concrete driveways, remodeling
Mary K.
5.0
05/13/2013
I had a fantastic experience with them. The person that had installed the cabinet was just phenomenal. He was an immaculate finish carpenter. They were very good and I was quite surprised. Their price was a little below average.
Description of Work
Innovative Construction provided kitchen cabinets for a remodeling job we did in our kitchen.
Category
custom cabinets
Chuck H.
5.0
05/07/2013
I have worked with this company several times and the end result is always the same. 1) Job quoted 2) job completed on time 3) Price was same as quoted 4) All workers are professionals 5) All work completed on time. I would not call in another contractor to do the job because the trust factor is high. I would recommed this company anytime.
Description of Work
Replaced mising and cracked tiles on roof
Category
remodeling
David C.
1.0
04/28/2013
After searching Angie's list we found Innovative with multiple A ratings. Although their price ($12,000+-) was higher than we anticipated, we signed a contract (January 29, 2013) after they added our most important requirement - "All work to be completed by April 1, 2013." I called them around Feb. 21 to ask why we hadn't seen anyone yet. Larry said their engineer (apparently a subcontractor) had been sick, but there would be no problem completing the project by our deadline of April 1. On March 11, his email said they could not complete the project by our deadline (three weeks away). They said they needed a survey of our property ($500) because the county was requiring it. But in subsequent conversations with county enforcement, we learned that Innovative had not even applied for a permit. This was apparently a violation of county licensing requirements. According to the enforcement officer, if a contractor gets more than a 10% down payment, they must apply for a permit within 30 days. After we personally demolished the addition, we found anchor bolts from an old structure and showed them to the enforcement officer. He told us that we therefore would NOT need a survey since there had been a previous structure and we would not be increasing the building foot print.
Description of Work
We bought our home in Sept. 2012. In January, we learned that a cinder block shed addition on the back of the garage had been built by a previous owner without a permit. County code enforcement required us to remove the addition. We signed a contract with Innovative on Jan. 29 to demolish the shed, dig up the foundation and remove all materials. They were then supposed to pour a new slab and build an acrylic window room in its place for about $12,500. Since we were returning home to Maine on April 5, the contract stated - "All work to be completed by April 1, 2013." After getting a $1500 deposit on Jan 29, they failed to do anything to our home and emailed me on March 11 saying they could not complete the project by April 1. They did not refund our deposit until we threatened to go to the county licensing board. See below.
Category
concrete repair, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking
Glenn L.
5.0
04/02/2013
Very good service and very good results. showed up on time and did the work in a workmanlike fashion
Description of Work
Innovative construction painted exterior or our house, including pressure washing whole house and roof. Additionally the installed a new vent over the stove and removed the microwave that previously installed
Category
remodeling, house painters
Joan B.
5.0
12/28/2012
They came out to the house the within a day of calling. The rep was professional and helpful with ideas but we decided to postphone the work as it turned out to be a much larger job than anticipated.
Description of Work
Estimate for a ceiling/roof in a 3 season room
Category
remodeling
Bev H.
5.0
12/21/2012
Innovative Construction were very good. They are very thorough. They make sure they sure they follow all the rules and regulations for the city. We were very impressed with them. Very impressed. I think their prices were pretty comparable.
Description of Work
We used Innovative Construction to put a cage on and did some cement work for us.
Category
concrete repair, remodeling
Tirsa H.
5.0
11/08/2012
While we did not end up using Innovative Construction I wanted to review our experience with them here because they were really wonderful. We had them bid on a full kitchen remodel and tiling 1100 sq ft of our home. Larry showed up on time and was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and competent. He offered up ideas and suggestions and seemed an excellent problem solver. We had done a lot of leg work already securing some 3rd party vendors/deals which Larry was very open to using Our bidding process resulted in several very competitive bids however and Innovative simply got beat out--but I would definitely call them in again for another job in the future and will be recommending them to our neighbors.
Description of Work
Large kitchen remodel (full gutting) new counters, granite, moving appliances & electrical, creating custom cabinetry doors and retiling 1100 sq ft of flooring
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Adrian S.
5.0
08/22/2012
All work went very well, I would not hesitate to use them again.
Description of Work
Great workmanship!! We had an addition put on our pool cage work was done according to speck.
Category
remodeling, screen repair, sunrooms
Donald S.
5.0
04/22/2012
Construction is approximately 2/3 complete. We are extremely pleased with this contractor and would HIGHLY recommend them. After interviewing multiple contractors, we were so impressed with the way Innovative Construction approached the project. We were pleased with their professionalism, knowledge and way they were so willing to work with us and our ideas. The project is about 6 weeks in, they're on schedule, and we expect to move in within a month! We will update this review at the completion of our home. We expect that we will be giving them an excellent rating.
Description of Work
Complete remodel. removed wall between kitchen and livingroom removed all existing kitchen cabinets, appliances and dropped ceiling removed all existing tile and carpeting throughout the house removed drywall and repaired termite damage removed all existing exterior windows and doors removed master bedroom closet and bathroom (including all walls and fixtures) removed all tile and fixtures from main bath removed existing electrical service, removed all plumbing and heating and air conditioning removed old landscaping, driveway and repaired/added stucco to outside of house Install new electrical service throughout, completely replaced all plumbing and added all new heating and air conditioning piping and vents Install new cabinets, counter tops and appliances New flooring throughout Re-do main bath, all fixtures and tile Remodel of Master bedroom with completing new closet and bath Added 3rd bath, fourth bedroom and laundry room Installed new hurricane windows and doors on exterior. All new woodwork and doors in interior. New concrete driveway and entry. Resurfaced pool deck.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling

Phone

Address

511 Dewhurt St.

Port Charlotte, FL 33954

Other Information

Services offered

In business since 1997, our company specializes in all aspects of Residential and Commercial Remodeling, including Custom Cabinetry, Counter-tops, Kitchens, Baths, Doors & Windows, Flooring, Lanais, Pool Cages, Acrylic Rooms, Garages, Carports, Additions and Whole House Remodels as well as New Construction.

Services not offered

Ask for details.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Innovative Construction is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

Innovative Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Innovative Construction offers free project estimates.

Yes, Innovative Construction offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Innovative Construction does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Innovative Construction offers warranties.

Innovative Construction offers the following services: In business since 1997, our company specializes in all aspects of Residential and Commercial Remodeling, including Custom Cabinetry, Counter-tops, Kitchens, Baths, Doors & Windows, Flooring, Lanais, Pool Cages, Acrylic Rooms, Garages, Carports, Additions and Whole House Remodels as well as New Construction.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

When dealing with Advanced Seamless Gutters you get experts in the field. We only work in these trades and are the best at what we do. We custom manufacture and install all sizes of K-Style gutter (5", 6" & 7"). Additional choices and options include aluminum, copper, half round and box gutter profiles in residential, commercial and industrial applications. We also install new as well as repair damaged Soffit and Fascia.  

Solar N More

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Solar N More

Solar Installs Roof Back Yard Workshops Portables Black Out Boxes Roof n Yard Across the USA Residential n Commercial  

Energyn

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

Energyn

As the premier Solar panel Installation Company, we can help you go solar in three easy steps: 1. We will measure your home and create a plan for your solar energy system. 2. We will obtain the necessary permits from the city and install your solar panels. 3. A City Inspection will be performed to ensure that your installation is up to code.