Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping

With Angi since April 2011

3.5

(30) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4686 W Spencerfield Rd

Pace, FL 32571

Description

At Banfield’s Lawn care & Landscaping we have dedicated ourselves to our customers by providing quality services at a reasonable price. Our technicians will take the time on each lawn to answer any questions you may have. By working together we can make your lawn beautiful and healthy. We offer

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/08/2019


Penny B.

The landscape was great, they put new grass and they landscaped the backyard. Excellent quality of work. We've recommended them to our friends.

Description of Work
$40000.00 Landscaping project

Category landscaping

1.0

08/30/2017


Louis L.

I was not terribly good with interaction with this company.? They are expensive,and kept missing appointments.? They were very slow to respond.? I finally said I would do my own yard work.? I didn't have them do any work at all.

Description of Work
Lawn care services estimate.

Category landscaping

3.0

08/15/2017


Michael M.

I am still fighting with them because a year after the palm trees went in I have 2 dead palm trees and they do not want to replace them. I have one that is healthy and 2 other ones that are not. I am about order signs and put them in my front yard because the owner wont even talk to me after I spent $19000 with them. I would never use them again in the future.

Description of Work
New flower beds, concrete work, new front lawn, and palm trees.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service, hardscaping

5.0

11/09/2016


Suellen M.

.

Description of Work
I used Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping for Lawn Fertilization & Treatment. Treating the grass for bugs and stuff.

Category lawn treatment

1.0

09/11/2016


Donald F.

Over time, we would watch weeds form, I would call...brown spots...I would call...mole crickets, I would call and each time someone came out. The point is...I would get visits regularly, but simply spray the chemicals...no addressing "trouble spots." Both my wife and I work so only evidence was the lawn tag indicating some service was performed and the service attached to our front door. As I watched the lawn deteriorate more, I called and was here on a few occasions and each time, I was told either MY WATERING was the culprit or "that began before we took over." Bald spots were forming and I was told "they will fill in" meanwhile the Saint Augustine was being replaced with Johnson grass. It was as if I was on a schedule for spray and run...no true lawn assessment. No recommendation unless I would actively ask someone to evaluate and I would wait at home for it. As the 12 or 14 feet that parallels the street began to truly die off, Banfield recommended resod at over $1000. That's when I hired the professional company Sandbox Boyz to resod. If you truly believe in your product..perhaps YOU should pay for sod that your technique killed but NO ONE COMPANY that I know of in Pensacola has thay type of confidence in their product. Does Pensacola have ANY true, lawn maintenance companies who use scientific techniques instead of guessing? I am beginning to doubt it. I cancelled my service and will use the Scotts app for a year...nothing to lose.

Description of Work
Spent literally thousands of dollars on new sod for our home and hired our first lawn service to keep our investment whole. They failed miserably as we began to see brown, dying spots, constant weeds etc. Switched to Banfield over one year ago as per the recommendation of a friend. Heard the whole "your lawn is a crop" speech that I am sure everyone gets as well as the disclaimer on how "YOU need to be active in water management" or your lawn will suffer. I have to say, it sounded like a disclaimer. I purchased the whole service, aeration, lawn testing, everything.

Category lawn treatment

1.0

08/14/2016


Sean F.

I hired Banfield for 1 season (2013) of lawn care (weed control and fertilization). I had centipede grass that was lush, beautiful, and weed free. Best lawn on the block. I had taken care of my lawn previously, but didn't have the time and thought I would give these guys a try. After the second application, the weeds were popping out everywhere. Called and complained and was told that the excess rain was causing the weeds and that they were switching to a new product to control them. Someone came out a week later and put down an additional application. There was no change and the weeds were out of control with stress areas everywhere. I swear these guys were planting weeds instead of treating them. I had never seen my yard look this bad. I called and told them not to bother coming back out and voiced my displeasure with their terrible service. A month or so when by and one day I'm coming home, I notice Banfield is in front of my house getting ready to unload their machine. I told the guy that I called and cancelled their service and that I didn't want them touching my lawn again. The guy wanted to argue with me about it and said that he had to treat the lawn. I strongly urged him not to put that machine on my property. After an apparent phone call to the office, he finally left and thank God that was the last I have heard from this company. These guys are clueless on the how/when/what/why to treat a lawn. 3 years later finally got the front yard fixed, but I'm still repairing the damage they did to my back lawn. DON'T use these folks. Read the other reviews and make a sensible decision.

Description of Work
Seasonal weed control and fertilization

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

5.0

05/05/2016


Ashley K.

Description of Work
.

Category lawn treatment

4.0

12/31/2014


Shireen M.

2nd visit mowers bashed a sprinkler head and cut through the pipes on the sprinkler system! They sent someone out to fix it right away, tho. Mowers leave clumps of grass when they are hard to get to with equipment. They hire teen age boys who have no concept of customer service. And they race around the yard like it was the Indy 500! No personalized service for picking up limbs, etc. and placing them by the curb for pick-up. No thought of trimming anything like grass growing in sidewalk cracks or weeds against the house. Just mow the lawn and get on to the next job. I am seriously thinking about replacing them when the contract is up this spring. I would like more personalized service and attention. Fertilizing and weed control is very expensive - again nobody does anything about a clump of grass or weed that is growing in a crack or up against the house. Lawn looks slightly better than it did last spring but nothing to write home about for the money I have paid. Shrub pruning has to be scheduled extra (not sure about price on that as I couldn't get them to come out and do it - they recommended someone else who did a fine job but was expensive also. Also have to schedule leaf mulching and general clean-up separately now while lawns are dormant and mowing teams aren't out regularly. I switched to this company because they had marketed heavily and assured me they were good. I don't like the lack of personal service and attention and the cost for fertilizing, etc. is way too high. And i don't like having to order all the little extras that ought to be done automatically by a company that cares about giving personal service and customer satisfaction.

Description of Work
Mowed and edged lawn. Also treated lawn and shrubs with appropriate fertilizers, pesticides, etc. Above price is for mowing and edging only - every 2 weeks. It's a large lawn so price is fair. Chemical treatments, etc. are extra and are expensive over the course of the growing season. Pruning and even trimming of bushes in yard is extra.

Category lawn treatment

3.0

11/27/2014


Autumn W.

We've been with Banfield for approximately 2 years for lawn and shrub care and have just cancelled recently. From the beginning, they have been disorganized, running our soil samples twice and not knowing when our service was supposed to start. We have weeds in the grass that have never gone away, it took almost 4 months to have top dressing applied, and when it was, it was scant. Most of the issues we can live with--customer service has been professional enough, but the bottom line is that our yard looks no better than the other yards on our street that have not gotten ANY service, so we have decided to discontinue with Banfield.

Description of Work
lawn & shrub care

Category lawn treatment

1.0

10/02/2014


Helen M.

We hired Banfield's in 2013 for lawn service. In Feb 2013 we signed a $2275 contract for new sod (St. Augustine) to be laid in our back yard in May 2013. They promised to service and take care of our lawn. We also signed a one year mowing contract in May 2014 as we were going to be out of town for a month. If not for our neighbor and son, we wouldn't have known that they didn't mow our lawn for 2 weeks in a row while gone. Upon our return in June we noticed crab grass coming in really bad so we called, and they came and treated it. And boy they did! From mid June to late Sep 2014 the entire lawn gradually died and was totally dead, with the contribution by sod web worms and chinch bugs, by the end of Sep. During this time frame Banfield's was notified several times but only responded in person twice: once to check for Nematodes (Sep) and the other by the CEO (Sep). Between Jun and the end of Aug, phone calls and emails weren't returned, so we hired another lawn service in Sep for evaluation. That's when we found out about the sod web worms and chinch bugs so we hired them and had the yard treated. That same day we called Banfield's and terminated their service. Two days later their CEO, Kelly, inspected our yard and confirmed the grass was dead. He didn't find any of the aforementioned critters because they were dead. However, he said he would and quot;make it right.and quot; That was three weeks ago, and now he says since I cancelled service he won't provide a warranty! They killed my grass by over treating it and failing to notice bugs eating it! This is the worst lawn service I've ever seen. Not only do they not keep their word, the customer service is horrible. Their website and advertisements are misleading. Very, very bad service. Banfield's is also responsible for killing our son's yard.

Description of Work
Nothing. Tried to put blame on us "the homeowners"

Category lawn treatment

1.0

09/06/2014


Mark B.

Didn't do business as I called 6 times to get a quote. Get their voicemail during business hours often. It was like I was outing them out when I actually spoke with them.

Description of Work
Poor service!

Category landscaping

1.0

09/02/2014


Johnny S.

First, let me say that while I read reviews before I spend money, I have never written one. I just had to warn everyone about this company. I have received bad service and rude service in my lifetime but I have never been treated this badly by any company before. I hired them to treat my lawn in February. I even paid for the soil sample and core aeration they peddled (for an extra charge, of course) and paid $463.60 for all 8 treatments and the core aeration up front (something I never do) to take advantage of a pre-pay discount. The first issue I had was they never completed the core aeration. A technician showed up after the Pensacola flood earlier in the year and my yard was soupy. We agreed it was not a good time to complete this particular service and all I had to do was call the office and reschedule. No problem. I called the next week to reschedule and was told and quot;I am not sure when he is going to be back that way and to call back in a couple of weeks and see if we can set something upand quot;. So it became my job to handle their scheduling for them. Long story short, it never was rescheduled. My second issue was on 5/13/14 when they completed my second treatment on my lawn (the first treatment was in February when the grass was dormant). They spilled granular fertilizer on my driveway and into my front lawn and then left. This killed a section of my front lawn along my driveway. I came out on Saturday after the treatment and discovered it. I took close up pictures of all of the fertilizer in the grass and (since it was Saturday) sent them a detailed email along with my pictures. I received no response. I called them on Wednesday to see if they received my email and was told and quot;Yes. I made the technician aware of itand quot;. That's it. They didn't care. I was shocked at how little my problem meant to them. I was told Kelly Banfield would call me back. I never heard from him. A week later, very frustrated (more about how I am being treated than the issue at this point), I called back and wanted to talk to them about cancelling my service. I was told Kelly Banfield was the only one that I could discuss this with and that he would call me back. He never did. My next issue was with my third treatment on 7/1/14. Whatever they did left my lawn brown and dying. I have a homeowner's association and this is the exact opposite of what I hired them to do! I am not sure if it was their product or some type of retaliation from the technician because I had complained about him the last time but I had to cancel my service immediately before anymore damage could be done. I mailed them a letter on 7/14/14 expressing my desire to cancel my service and that I was due a refund. Not surprising, I received no response. I called on 7/23/14 to make sure they received the letter . I was told it was received and in my file. I asked how long it would be before I received my refund and was told and quot; Sydney takes care of refunds and she was not sure how long it would take but she would call me when the refund was processedand quot;. Then, even though I called them, I received an email telling me how great their service was and that I needed to give it the full eight treatments to get the full affect. It also stated that she would like to get Kelly Banfield out there to take a look at it. Great!.....but I have to call and schedule an appointment with him........ This is the same guy that was going to call me all of those times and didn't care to. Also, I am the customer. A new customer. It seems to me that Kelly Banfield would have scheduled something with me. He had many chances to make this right and show any concern for me. At this point, I don't want to talk to Kelly Banfield. I just want my refund and to move on. On 7/29/14 I called back and asked about the status of my refund and was told that she and quot;didn't know and she would have to speak with the owner (Kelly Banfield)and quot;. I asked if Kelly Banfiled was aware of my issues and was told and quot;he wasand quot;. I sent a final registered letter on 8/5/14 that was signed for on 8/6/14. I reiterated that I was owed a refund and how unhappy I am with how I have been treated. The right thing to do would be to refund the entire amount that I paid because my experience was all bad. But, all I asked for was what I am owed ($318.25 for 5 of the 8 treatments and the core aeration that were never completed). Unfortunately, so far, they have been unwilling to do so. Who does this? How is this even an issue? So, on top of making me feel deceived and disrespected, I now feel stolen from also. How frustrating. In my opinion, Banfield Lawn Care is like the proverbial “snake oil” salesman. They make a bunch of claims about how great their product is, sell you a worthless service, and the customer is the one that ends up cheated. The next step for me will be with the BBB and if that doesn't fix my issue, the next step will be small claims court. No one should be treated like this. I can only hope that you learn from my mistake and never do business with this company.

Description of Work
I hired this company to treat my lawn (fertilize, insect control, weed control).

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

4.0

07/18/2014


Denise M.

They do a schedule of services for me, putting applications on my lawn, winterizing, fertilizing, and such. I have been happy with thier services.

Description of Work
.

Category landscaping

5.0

05/23/2014


Donna B.

As of the end of May, we still have not had a response from them. We hate to lose them as our lawn care provider, but their lack of concern tells us that they do not care about us as a customer.

Description of Work
We have been using Banfield for about 4 years. They turned our front yard from a bunch of weeds into a beautiful lawn. We were very happy with them. In April, they came out to do our monthly yard treatment. There were spots that were over fertilized by a mistake from the machine they use to distribute the fertilizer. We called and had them note in on our account. The grass that was over treated began to look worse and we called to have someone come out and take a look at it. They asked that we take pictures and send them to the office so they could see what we were talking about. We took photos and emailed them. They never called. We finally sent an email via their contact section on their website and explained that we were disappointed and asked that they suspend our account until we decided what to do. They never called or emailed us back. How can a company just ignore a long term customer? If they thought we over reacted to the lawn treatment, then why not call us and explain what happened. The lawn eventually came back within a matter of weeks, but why did they ignore us? Did it not matter to them to explain that although the lawn was over treated in areas, with time it would be fine. What kind of company doesn't return emails asking for answers for service provided. We are very sad to lose them as a company because they did a good job, but the lack of concern on their part tells us they don't care about us as a customer.

Category lawn treatment

3.0

04/10/2014


Ginny G.

The company did not return and "roll" the sod to smooth it out making it extremely difficult to walk. It also allowed my dog to see the squares which were great fun to pick up. After I returned from travelling after Christmas, I noticed the sprinkler on one side of backyard was watering the fence. Called to have it checked. William came out 2/18/14 and said that he had adjusted the heads on the left side of the yard at the time of the work but someone else had adjusted the right side. He proceeded to correct the problem somewhat (fence is still getting wet) but they charged me a $90 service fee plus time for a total of $135 correcting a problem that wasn't done right in the first place. At the time I requested the sprinkler to be readjusted, I mentioned that the sod had not been rolled and was told the proper person would get the message. I waited 6 weeks and never received a call back. I sent a letter detailing all this and stating that I would find someone else to roll the sod or would rent a roller myself and deduct from the total owed as they are letting me pay it out over 12 months. I received a response immediately and was told Kelly would be out the next morning (3/19) at 10 AM to look at situation. Told him I was out of town but he could come look. Promised to call me back - it's 4/10/14 and I've heard nothing back and it still has not been rolled.

Description of Work
killed and removed all grass in backyard. installed drains from 3 downspouts leading to street as backyard flooded easily. Following drain installation, they sodded backyard and several spots in front and side yards and adjusted the sprinkler system to water the new sod.

Category landscaping, lawn treatment

4.0

03/03/2014


John M.

So far, Banfield's lawn service is satisfactory.

Description of Work
Standard seasonal lawn treatment . I have a lawn maintenance contract.

Category lawn treatment

5.0

02/24/2014


Annette D.

They are fine. They come when they are supposed to and they do their work and they don't give me any trouble; That's why I like them.

Description of Work
I use Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping to treat my yard. They do five treatments a year.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

5.0

06/24/2013


Joerg G.

Excellent overall, but too expensive for trimming trees, hedges, and shrubs. Estimate for sod also expensive and used someone else instead. Now use Banfield only for lawn cutting and fertilizer applications.

Description of Work
Cut and edge lawn. Also contracted for fertilizer applications.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

5.0

06/22/2013


Mary L.

They are dependable and you can always get in touch with someone. They do a decent job.

Description of Work
They cut my lawn regularly.

Category lawn service

5.0

03/25/2013


Blanche P.

Once again, the young man who treated our lawn initially was very professional and courteous.

Description of Work
This is a premature review since we've only had one treatment but the responsiveness and courtesy have been excellent so far. The initial sales call was almost immediate after we called for an estimate and the young man we talked to was very courteous and helpful.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

5.0

10/29/2012


James L.

Banfields comes to my house monthly to treat the lawn, eight months out of the year. They have done a great job, with few if any weeds now, and a much better looking appearance. In the back yard, they removed all of the Centipede Grass and replaced it with St Augustine. I am very happy with the appearance and quality of the finished product. The job required two pallets more of grass than what they figured, but they charged me the amount stated on the contract, not any extra for the additional sod. The workers were professional in all aspects. Only one negative for this job would be their timeliness. The contract stated they would install the sod on September 12 2012. I never got a call telling me there would be a delay. I went on a long time scheduled vacation on Sept 12, and was gone for 8 days. When I returned, there were quite a few calls on my answering machine from Banfields, wanting me to return my call, where they could come to the house to apply a weed killer to the old centipede grass. To shorten a long story, it was October 17 before the job was complete. In this respect, I was not happy with their performance. However, in all other ways, I am extremely satisfied with their performance. The finished job was great, the price was right, and their workers were polite and professional. I would hire them for a job like this again.

Description of Work
Banfields performs my monthly lawn care, which includes pest/disease control and fertilization. I contracted them to remove the Centipede grass in my back yard, and replace it with St Augustine Grass. I have five large oak trees in my back yard, and the Centipede does not grow well with so much shade.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

5.0

05/04/2012


tonya E.

They do a great job. We are going to continue using them.

Description of Work
We use Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping for lawn and yard work. They come frequently.

Category pest control, lawn treatment

5.0

04/20/2012


Robert S.

A couple of guys came over here in the early part of this week to check the soil in the front yard. That was free. When they were here two weeks ago, they treated the lawn with what we were low on according to the soil sample. I liked the treatment they gave us. I liked their promptness and their response. Hopefully they have done a good job. I talked to different guys and they were very personable. They were very interested in what they were doing. They didn't hurry. I guess the price is okay. We have never used anybody else so I don't know how to judge that. I hope the quality is good.

Description of Work
We have used Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping to do pest control for the yard.

Category pest control, lawn service, lawn treatment

4.0

01/25/2012


Karin R.

The price is reasonable. They are professional.

Description of Work
Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping cut our lawn and spray.

Category lawn service

5.0

04/19/2011


Frieda M.

It normally costs about $57 a month. If I have the extra stuff done, it costs an extra $100, but that's just the one time thing. I like them. They've been fine so far. I don't have any problems with them. I'm committed to use them throughout the year.

Description of Work
I used the services of Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping about 2 weeks ago. They clean my lawn, bushes and trees. They also do weed control, fertilization and that kind of things.

Category lawn treatment

    Other local Pros in your area

    Steel Detailing LLC

    Steel Detailing LLC is your one stop shop for all your Auto, Boat, and RV cleaning and detailing needs. We also specialize in Lawn Care and Pressure Washing Services to keep the exterior appearance of your home in top notch condition!  

    Angi Certified

    K & A Building Maintenance

    Here at K & A Building Maintenance, we sustain our business on quality and integrity. With over 15 years of experience, we are experts in our trade and are committed to quality from the beginning to the end of your project. We look forward to earning your business.  

    Angi Certified

    Taino Pavers LLC

    At Taino Pavers LLC we offer paved driveway, patios, walkways, pools and so much more. We do not offer brick walls or concrete work! With more then 15+ years of experience, We are committed to bring you the best quality work for a reasonable price.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    We offer an 8 Step Lawn fertilization program to treat and maintain your lawn. Landscape, hardscape, drainage, sod installation and mowing services. We also specialize in concrete work including patios, fire pits, outdoor kitchens and so much more! Stop by and visit our Garden Center open Monday thru Friday, 9-4 each day.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping

    How is Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping overall rated?

    Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping is currently rated 3.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping open?

    Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping provide

    Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping offer free estimates?

    Yes, Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping offers free project estimates.

    Does Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping offer a senior discount?

    No, Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping?

    No, Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping does not offer warranties.

    What services does Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping offer?

    Banfield Lawncare & Landscaping offers the following services: We offer an 8 Step Lawn fertilization program to treat and maintain your lawn. Landscape, hardscape, drainage, sod installation and mowing services. We also specialize in concrete work including patios, fire pits, outdoor kitchens and so much more! Stop by and visit our Garden Center open Monday thru Friday, 9-4 each day.