Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BRANT & SON INC

Founded 1985 • With Angi since September 2005

4.5

(47) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

346 N. Goldenrod RD

Orlando, FL 32807

Description

Brant & Son, Inc. is Florida's premier insulation and acoustical company. Being family owned and operated for over 30 years, we take pride in our workers and their skills, as they do in us. No other company commits to and delivers positive results like we do! LICENSE NUMBER: 3200-0037037...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

10/05/2020


Samuel I.

They DESTROYED my home within 2 minutes of being there. They arrived 2 hours late. Broke my window screen, then after being warned about the fire pipes at least 5 times, fell on one and broke it open within 2 minutes of being in the attic. Never even blew any insulation. The guy who did it was sick and the boss told him to go into work anyway. He said he was rushing and that's why he tripped on his own hose. They damaged 3 units total. I've been bouncing around hotels for a month, cleaning up their mess, spending so many hours on fixing this all because they sent a sick worker who wanted to rush through a job. I called them to talk with them and they wouldn't speak to me. They directed me to their insurance who is refusing estimate claims. I will be months out of a home. I suggest you hire anyone else.

Description of Work
Insulation Installation

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] , this is Christina from Brant and Son Inc . I apologized for what happened as far as I know we are paying for all damages threw are Insurance Company . The guys need to take their time and pay attention more . If there was more I could do I would . Accident do happen everyone once in awhile but are company is handling for you .
1.0

06/08/2019


Christy M.

We hired this company to insulate our attic because they are supposed to be insulation experts. The installers blew insulation into the attic taking no care to avoid spraying it into the air handler for our HVAC system. Our drain line became completely clogged, and we had to hire a heating and air technician to clear the line. And it only gets worse from there. When I called to complain, they sent someone to clear away the excess insulation from the air handler, but the employee was immediately rude and confrontational. While I was on the phone with his manager , he mocked me, screamed that I was a racist, and stormed out not having fixed anything. When I asked the office if they would send another employee to remove the excess insulation, the response was, "Well, if you want us to". As a customer who paid for the service in good faith, I have every right to question the way the job was done. Their customer service is abysmal and from start to finish, it was a terrible experience.

Description of Work
Attic Insulation

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

We're sorry to hear about your bad experience . We're normally known for our exceptional attention to detail and regret that we missed the mark . If you would like to further to discuss this , please contact our office and ask for Christina .407-6581925. We would like to resolve this . Thank you
5.0

08/25/2017


charles C.

Excellent. After doing the Duke Energy review of our house, we realized we needed to increase insulation to from R19 to R38 to help reduce our extremely high electric bills from AC loss. We contacted Brant because of their great Angie's rating and were not disappointed. They came on time, made a fair estimate of our attic needs, and also applied the $200 maximum allowed rebate which helped a lot on the price. Expecting our bills to go down now.

Description of Work
Increase attic insulation.

Category insulation

5.0

07/19/2017


Martha H.

I'm impressed. Kent was great and I intend on using that company but can't right at this moment because I have to get everything out of the attic first.

Description of Work
Attic insulation.

Category insulation

5.0

06/09/2017


Brian B.

Brant & Son Inc. is very professional and honest. Installers were on time and very professional. Gave me my invoice and then started and completed the installation in a timely manner. Cleaned up the garage when they were done. Would do business with them again.

Description of Work
Had insulation blown in to bring entire attic area to R38.

Category insulation

5.0

05/30/2017


Sean M.

Went well. Showed up a little late, but probably due to the job prior to mine taking longer than expected. Not a big deal. Got $200 off due to Duke Energy rebate by going with R38 insulation. Could tell the difference in my house almost right away. Definitely worth it to get attic insulation if you think you need it.

Description of Work
Attic Insulation

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback! Sorry about being late to your job but we appreciate your understanding greatly! We're glad that you enjoyed your experience with us!
5.0

03/31/2017


Brent H.

They gave an excellent service. They fit right into my schedule that needed with other contractors and were very efficient in the work they did. And with competitive price and very professional. When I called them up and talked to the owner, a lady, I felt comftable with her from the beginning for my first contact.

Description of Work
Insulation Services

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

thank you
5.0

03/28/2017


debbie M.

Great company. They beat the other guys prices and also emailed the insurance, reference letter and lisc upon my request to make me feel comfortable. The job was done four days after I called them. My house is already cooler and I can't wait to see the difference on my electric bill. Please ask for Christina as she offered excellent customer service :) No pictures because I won't crawl in the attic :)

Description of Work
Attic insulation blown in

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind letter Brant & Son Inc really appreciates doing business with our homeowners and helping out where we can . thank you again Christina
4.0

01/03/2017


Molly-Rose M.

He was nice and only doing his job. Very honest. However, he turned me into the power company saying I didn't qualify for the credit. I went with a different company due lower bid. I would use them again if needed.

Description of Work
I was given a free estimate for insulation.

Category insulation

1.0

07/01/2016


Rosina E.

Left a web site form request for evaluation and estimate. No response.

Description of Work
Evaluation and estimate

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

I apologize if you only left a message on the website. Computers and site are not perfect. Our phone number is listed on our front page and actually right above the form on the internet. We would have been happy to have given the opportunity to give you an estimate.
3.0

01/25/2016


Mike P.

Condensed from copious notes... <><> History: Our current Central Florida house, with a hip roof, was built in 1970. We have been living in it since 1995. In 1997, we upgraded our A/C to a 11.0 SEER unit, plus had all of the original duct work replaced. (It cost $4140 back then.) In 1999 we had the utility company perform their energy audit, and ended up adding R-19 insulation to the attic then. That improved, but did not solve the overall comfort problem, and our electric bills still were higher-than-typical for a house our size. Over the years, we've had roofers, attic insulators, A/C contractors and even two utility company engineers specifically investigate. They all failed to figure out why our A/C runs and runs and two bedrooms in particular are uncomfortably hot, when the rest of the house is nominally comfortable. The utility company engineers' reasons were more elaborate, but NONE gave us a solid, fixable, solution. <><> Brant & Son was one of three contractors contacted to assess rodent damage severity in the existing insulation and determine what needed to be done to improve house comfort, thereby reducing our electric bills. They were contacted on 06/01/2015. I spoke to ?Deanna? and explained what I wanted. <><> Right away, it was clear that she wasn't going to schedule for someone to come out and assess what I needed. Instead, she asked for the house square footage to do a sight-unseen estimate. Maybe that works for their business, but it doesn't work for me. I was looking for a solution to my house comfort problem. <><> The estimate was received the same day. At $6162, it was the highest of the three bids. So high, that is was more that 2-1/2 times (270%) more than the company we hired. We did not hire Brant and Son, Inc.

Description of Work
Provided an estimate for clearing my attic of rodent damaged insulation and adding more insulation to the attic.

Category insulation

4.0

12/08/2015


Wayne F.

The owner came out promptly and gave a quote. We arranged for the work to be done at 8:30 the next morning. At 9 the next morning the owner called and rescheduled for the next Tuesday. Tuesday they showed up on time and compleded the work quickly, I paid them and they left. Apparently the work in the attic is satisfactory, however they left a mess in our garage and driveway. Pieces of insulation and other trash that my wife had to clean up. I got the impression that they were in a hurry to get to the next job.

Description of Work
Insulated attic and knee walls.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review , I apologize for the reschedule. We had some call outs that forced us to reschedule. I also apologize for the mess, we strive to leave the area in the same condition that it was before we started working. Unfortunately problems do arise and we address them so we can provide excellent customer service. Thank you again for the review
5.0

09/26/2015


Juliana S.

They provided an estimate over the phone based on input that the Duke Energy rep had given us. They were on-time, courteous, finished the job in the amount of time that they had predicted. We were pleased with their service.

Description of Work
installed attic insulation to bring it up to level suggested by Duke Energy

Category insulation

5.0

08/19/2015


Darren C.

They arrived promptly and worked even with the extreme heat at the time (late June in central Florida). They did a very good job getting a nice even blanket of insulation over my entire attic (I had the garage covered as well). The only thing I would ding them for was the quality of their equipment. The large plastic hose used to blow in the insulation had numerous patch jobs and it suffered a blow out during the job and dumped a nice (small) amount of insulation inside my garage. That stuff gets everywhere. They did get it taped up in no time and completed the job without further incident. For the quality of work and their responsiveness I would certainly use them again - I would just be sure the door leading to the garage was closed before they started.

Description of Work
Blew in fiberglass insulation in my attic to a thickness for R30.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

We do strive to give great customer service and unfortunately sometimes things do not go perfectly, but we do try to minimize the risk. Brant & Son has been in the same location since the mid 80's. Before that they branched off from Brant Brothers, so basically over 50 years in the central Florida area. Unfortunately with Florida's extreme heat is does damage the hose quite frequently . We do replace the hoses several times a year and I do apologize on behalf of the company for the hose breaking and getting insulation in the garage. Also, thank you for taking the time out of your day to write the review, we understand people live busy lives and appreciate when someone takes the time to give us a positive review.
4.0

05/22/2015


Blaine A.

They coordinated nicely without roofers to blow in insulation when the roof was open. We haven't yet noticed a difference in cooling costs but the heat has just started to pick up. It was an over all pleasant experience until they started calling and leaving threatening voicemails to file for a lien when we were still waiting for a final invoice. We wanted to pay the day they did the work and were told they would send an invoice. The invoice they sent had the wrong total amount, not to mention didn't include any information such as types of payments accepted or anything. I find it very insulting and annoying to be treated as though I'm taking advantage of someone when they refuse payment on delivery and then can't send out a proper invoice. We do not recommend.

Description of Work
Blown in insulation

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

The install date is a Saturday , we do not run the blow truck on weekends. I also tried to find by address , name and city for any dates around that area. I could not find anything, On our invoices it does says make checks to : Brant and Son Inc. If a customer ask we tell them every form of payment we can accept. If it was a roof job , it could be involved with a 3 rd party. This would be a reason we would not send a invoice out when doing the job. This can also cause a issue with getting a invoice if a 3rd party was the contact person.
5.0

08/21/2014


John J.

Called Monday 8/18/14 to get an estimate and scheduled for around noon Thursday 08/21/14. They called to say they would be just a little late and arrived around 1 PM. Very nice and personable. Got right to work and cleaned up when they were done.

Description of Work
Installed Insulation to R-30

Category insulation

5.0

06/17/2014


Paula R.

Two man team arrived right on time as requested. They politely introduced themselves to me and proceeded to perform their job working with Robert Batson Roofing as a team. Excellent job performed just as Brant Insulation told me to expect. Also Christine and Deanna in the office were extremely professional and were more than helpful in assisting me in filing the necessary paperwork to obtain my OUC energy rebate. Great job!

Description of Work
Blown in fiberglass roof insulation from R-8 to R-19"

Category insulation

5.0

10/21/2013


Dwight P.

They arrived as promised, went right to work. Completed installation quickly and an excellent job. Yes I would recommend this company. They

Description of Work
Installed ceiling bats for me

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. At Brant & Son Insulation we strive to make are customers happy. We have been in business since 1986 . We have been able to be here so long because of valued customers like you. Thank You,
5.0

12/11/2012


Sara P.

Excellent service! Ed was very knowledgable and honest during the estimation. The team was prompt and courteous on the day of service. They were in and out in no time. I would highly recommend Brant and son.

Description of Work
Insulation added in attic to bring rating up to r-30.

Category insulation

5.0

12/02/2012


michael W.

They showed up on time as appointed and completed the work in a couple of hours. The site was left clean and they showed us their work before they left. Very professional, prompt and polite. An awesome experience.

Description of Work
They provided blow-in insulation into my attic.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We are very fortunate to have Ed working for us. We appreciate your review and thank you for your business
5.0

11/20/2012


Steven Z.

From the estimate to the actual installation the service was great. The actual insulating took about 30 minutes. They pumped the blow insulation from their truck parked outside into the attic. I'd advise making sure there is a clear unobstructed path to your attic.

Description of Work
Complete reinsulation of the entire attic

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We strive to give each customer excellent service. We have been in business since 1986 because of all our valued customers
5.0

11/18/2012


Sofia A.

It was very easy, since the moment I called. They even advice me of a rebate with Progress energy, which was wonderful! very affordable, they came in time and were very courteous. I was very please with the overall job. They cleaned after themselves and they did exactly what I wanted. I will definitely recommend them and consider hiring them if I need them in the future.

Description of Work
They put insulation R-30 in my attic.

Category insulation

5.0

10/10/2012


Anthony L.

They were great. I was very pleased and would use them again. They were excellent and did a good job. The prices are competitive. Great value!

Description of Work
Attic insulation.

Category insulation

5.0

08/01/2012


Jerry B.

Two technicians arrived and quickly got to work. I watched as they added 30 bags of blown in insulation............

Description of Work
Added R-19 blown in insulation to attic for 3274 sq ft living area..Repaired batt on knee wall in attic.

Category insulation

5.0

02/18/2012


Wayne C.

They arrived a slight bit late, but that was because they were held up a little by a brush fire that was burning in the area. They introduced themselves and go right to work. I had the garage door open and the latter down. They setup and started blowing insulation in the attic. They brought the insulation up to R-30 and pickup up there stuff and I paid them and they left. Very professional crew. They worked very well together. I highly reccommend there services for insulation.

Description of Work
Had fiberglass in sulation blow in to the attic. Had the insulation brought up to an R-30.

Category insulation

    Other local Pros in your area

    groundupconstructiongroup

    groundupconstructiongroup is a family owned local business backed with over 10 years of experience. We are committed to excellence in every aspect of our business. We uphold a standard of integrity bound by fairness, honesty, and personal responsibility. Our distinction is the quality of service we bring to our customers. Accurate knowledge of our trade combined with ability is what makes us true professionals. Above all, we are watchful of our customer’s interests, and make their concerns the basis of our business.  

    Sebastian Home Improvements LLC

    **FREE CONSULTATIONS!!** Sebastian Home Improvement has been in business for over 15 years. Our team has over 40 years of experience and can handle a wide gamut of household handyman services including: Kitchen and Bathroom remodeling, Carpentry, Tile and stone, Trim, Power Washing, Painting, Drywall and Texture coatings. Sebastian Home Improvement makes your Honey-do list into a Honey-done list! Licensed work as electrical, plumbing etc. will be subcontracted with state licensed provider.  

    Offers by Sebastian Home Improvements LLC on Angi
    South Shore Construction Services Inc

    We are a design and build company with over 30 years of experience that handles every phase of your remodeling project from building permits to the very last coat of paint. We are fully state licensed and insured construction company and have a complete reference listing. Our professional team provides a more streamlined process that translates into faster completion times and an enhanced communication process between you and our team to make sure everything is right the first time. Kevin Morrison has dedicated his career to making the dreams of others come to reality. He personally manages each project from beginning to end. That includes our first meeting, the estimate, the contract, architectural designs if needed and lastly, building the project. There are no stand around supervisors to drive up the cost of the project at South Shore Construction Services.  

    General Remodeling
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    WE OFFER BLOWN FIBERGLASS INSULATION, BATT INSULATION AND ACOUSTICAL.

    Services Not Offered

    WE DO NOT FIX AIR DUCTS

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BRANT & SON INC

    How is BRANT & SON INC overall rated?

    BRANT & SON INC is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are BRANT & SON INC open?

    BRANT & SON INC is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does BRANT & SON INC provide

    BRANT & SON INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does BRANT & SON INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, BRANT & SON INC offers free project estimates.

    Does BRANT & SON INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, BRANT & SON INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by BRANT & SON INC?

    Yes, BRANT & SON INC offers warranties.

    What services does BRANT & SON INC offer?

    BRANT & SON INC offers the following services: WE OFFER BLOWN FIBERGLASS INSULATION, BATT INSULATION AND ACOUSTICAL.

    Are there any services BRANT & SON INC does not offer?

    WE DO NOT FIX AIR DUCTS